QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 12 2012, 05:45 PM)
Thanks bro. Solved it with ur solution. SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first
Feb 12 2012, 06:17 PM
1,360 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Federal Territory of Putrajaya |
Feb 12 2012, 06:22 PM
1,947 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Guys, i found a good deal from Jusco for sgs2 G version.
As someone who roots, messes with the kernel, use custom roms. Would it be okay/safe to get the G version, root, and install custom kernel, and custom rom? as i've been hearing that there's less roms, firmware, mods, for the G version than the non-G. |
Feb 12 2012, 06:24 PM
2,583 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(VinluV @ Feb 12 2012, 06:22 PM) Guys, i found a good deal from Jusco for sgs2 G version. Its safe, so long u follow the instructions. Just make sure u don't flash non g custom roms onto g version and vice versa. So far g version got superrom and juffo rom only at the moment I thinkAs someone who roots, messes with the kernel, use custom roms. Would it be okay/safe to get the G version, root, and install custom kernel, and custom rom? as i've been hearing that there's less roms, firmware, mods, for the G version than the non-G. This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 12 2012, 06:24 PM |
Feb 12 2012, 06:31 PM
1,371 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 12 2012, 06:10 PM) Thank you, and I suppose there is no CFroot for i9100G right? |
Feb 12 2012, 06:31 PM
6,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
QUOTE(VinluV @ Feb 12 2012, 06:22 PM) Guys, i found a good deal from Jusco for sgs2 G version. Yeah definitely less stuff on the G version. If your primary purpose is to mess around with it, would suggest hunting a non G version instead. Either AP or second hand SME warranty.As someone who roots, messes with the kernel, use custom roms. Would it be okay/safe to get the G version, root, and install custom kernel, and custom rom? as i've been hearing that there's less roms, firmware, mods, for the G version than the non-G. |
Feb 12 2012, 06:35 PM
1,947 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 12 2012, 06:24 PM) Its safe, so long u follow the instructions. Just make sure u don't flash non g custom roms onto g version and vice versa. So far g version got superrom and juffo rom only at the moment I think Juffo looks nice, with the tron lights from what i can see.Superrom, has bravia engine? interesting. Erm, couldn't tell from the xda pages. How are the apps on the custom roms? Is there a bareback version online or do i have to remove them myself? QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 12 2012, 06:31 PM) Yeah definitely less stuff on the G version. If your primary purpose is to mess around with it, would suggest hunting a non G version instead. Either AP or second hand SME warranty. one of the things i do, is use my phone to ssh and connect to boxes from time to time, so i need a root and device that's friendly with the customization.G version from Jusco Rm1899 2 year sme warranty. Non G version is around RM1800 from outside shop with 1 year sme warranty. mmm hard choice.. This post has been edited by VinluV: Feb 12 2012, 06:39 PM |
Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM
Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant?
I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process : Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages. |
Feb 12 2012, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM) Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant? I will try to write one larh, but I not really. I think let antt write better I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process : Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages. Do you want a simple straightforward guide? Or a super explainatory guide? This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 12 2012, 06:51 PM |
Feb 12 2012, 06:56 PM
779 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Everywhere |
QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM) Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant? I don't think you can backup your apps using Titanium Backup without rooting. A simple guide:I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process : Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages. -Download Odin and the correct CF-root zip file -extract both -run Odin and select the .tar file from the CF-root folder -Put phone into Download mode, and plug into PC, click flash -Disconnect phone once it says done -If it hangs at flashing, remove battery and repeat steps 4 and 5 Actually don't need to explain too much because the instructions in the CF-thread is already quite simple |
Feb 12 2012, 07:02 PM
6,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM) Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant? TB is a root app, you can't use it without root.I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process : Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages. Alternative is using MyBackup (Pro), but that one doesn't backup app data, just the apk of the app for easy batch reinstall. But it does allow for backup of other data like sms/mms/etc |
Feb 12 2012, 07:03 PM
10,873 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM) Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant? Just use the one from CF rootI looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process : Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « And you cannot use TB before you root. |
Feb 12 2012, 07:03 PM
Oh yeah, forgot TB is a root app, sorry
Feb 12 2012, 07:04 PM
10,873 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 12 2012, 06:03 PM) why not just seperate in different post for g and non-g rooting Obviously they will be in different post. But since its still the same thread, people dun read or know there are 2 variants and will still soft brick their phone. Better have as many warnings as possible.don't jumble up all together should be able to clear the confuse |
Feb 12 2012, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 07:03 PM) Here's my version of ashwin's tutorial -Download Odin and the correct CF-root zip file according to your firmware. To check, go to settings, about phone, scroll to the bottom. Look at baseband version, remember the last 3 letters, so let's say its XXKL1, then download the KL1 CF Root file. -extract both -Open Odin. Once its open, don't touch any other settings, leave it the way as it is. Press the PDA button, and select the cf root .tar file -Put phone into Download mode. To enter download mode, power off the phone, then press the volume down+home+power button at the same time. Once you see the GT-I9100, let go of all 3 buttons. The phone will display "warning" and some text. Press volume up button to continue. Your phone should show an android icon and "downloading" text. This means you are in download mode now. -Connect the phone to your PC. At the top left hand corner of Odin, there should be a yellow bar. If it does show that, it means Odin has successfully detected your phone. Click start, and let Odin do the magic. -Once it says done, your phone should boot up. Your phone has now been rooted. To double check, if you see an app called "superuser" in your app drawer, it means you're rooted. -If it hangs at flashing, remove battery and repeat steps 4 to 6 This is my newbie proof guide, even for the most newbie of newbies This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 12 2012, 07:15 PM |
Feb 12 2012, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 12 2012, 07:13 PM) Here's my version of ashwin's tutorial Thank you laptopdude, I will use the one in the CF root thread so even noobs can do it -Download Odin and the correct CF-root zip file according to your firmware. To check, go to settings, about phone, scroll to the bottom. Look at baseband version, remember the last 3 letters, so let's say its XXKL1, then download the KL1 CF Root file. -extract both -Open Odin. Once its open, don't touch any other settings, leave it the way as it is. Press the PDA button, and select the cf root .tar file -Put phone into Download mode. To enter download mode, power off the phone, then press the volume down+home+power button at the same time. Once you see the GT-I9100, let go of all 3 buttons. The phone will display "warning" and some text. Press volume up button to continue. Your phone should show an android icon and "downloading" text. This means you are in download mode now. -Connect the phone to your PC. At the top left hand corner of Odin, there should be a yellow bar. If it does show that, it means Odin has successfully detected your phone. Click start, and let Odin do the magic. -Once it says done, your phone should boot up. Your phone has now been rooted. To double check, if you see an app called "superuser" in your app drawer, it means you're rooted. -If it hangs at flashing, remove battery and repeat steps 4 to 6 This is my newbie proof guide, even for the most newbie of newbies |
Feb 12 2012, 07:19 PM
Feb 12 2012, 07:20 PM
Feb 12 2012, 07:22 PM
Feb 12 2012, 08:17 PM
Finished the new UI of the upcoming S2 thread, Only five post as I've got rid of multiple sections of the original post such as Accessories, Comparison and updated all the Rooting stuff
Feb 12 2012, 08:19 PM
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:02 AM |