4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 09:59 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Feb 6 2012, 09:54 AM)
Hi guys, i've just rooted my phone this morning. Downloaded Titanium Backup, under "Manage Applications" it shows that the app is installed, but i just can't find the apps under the application list. Anyone knows what's the problem? Thanks.
You downloaded the free version or the paid version? The paid version is a license key, you still need to download the free one iianm
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 10:08 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Feb 6 2012, 10:02 AM)
Problem solved. Thanks man.
Yup install the free one, that's your app.

Paid is just license to unlock etc

Edit : No prob smile.gif Have fun with the rooted phone lol

This post has been edited by ellimist: Feb 6 2012, 10:08 AM
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 10:15 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Feb 6 2012, 10:09 AM)
the problem already appeared even before she installed black market.

the funny part of black market is, some of the apps didn't managed to finish download, it will stopped/crash in the middle of download.
Well it's abit hard to troubleshoot your problem merely based on it's S2 white and hangs to be honest.

Is it G or non G?
Hangs when you do what in particular? When did the problem start (from the time you purchase the phone, after x months?, etc)

And if it's really an abnormal problem, you'll have to troubleshoot. Think alot of us here don't particularly get frequent hangs.
Quickest way to see if it's a software problem is to clean wipe and monitor for a bit, but I get the feeling your gf won't be a big fan of that.

If the problem occured recently (not from start of purchase of phone), uninstall apps one by one and monitor, from most recent one. To find the culprit. Might be a significantly more inefficient method.
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 10:29 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

@beck_ken:

As you can see, you're gonna get alot of replies. If it's confusing you, suggest you start with the easier ones and move on to the more time consuming ones later.

E.g. : If there is indeed an SD card on the phone, removing that and monitoring might not be too hard right smile.gif
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 11:18 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Feb 6 2012, 10:35 AM)
yes, she does has the SD in the phone and most of the apps she move it to the SD.

it hangs for many reasons:

1. continue flip on FB photo album
2. software auto-updating without notice
3. games
4. even you try to be funny and flip on the photo album fast just for fun also will hang

I was like wtf..my iphone never hang till need respring it.
Hmm I'm assuming she's on G version? As some have suggested, try moving apps back to internal phone memory.

My S2 doesn't hang either. Flies through tasks with thunderbolt tweaks in fact rolleyes.gif

Added on February 6, 2012, 11:20 am
QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Feb 6 2012, 11:14 AM)
Do i need to "wipe" the phone if install checkrom? After wiping means my internal memory will be formatted right? And I'll have to use the backup that I've made through titanium backup in the sd card to install back the apps and my phone contacts, am I correct? Thanks.
Yeah, it's recommended to wipe. Just follow instructions in the thread on xda or wherever, they'll tell you what to wipe.

Actually, it won't wipe your "internal usb" partition, but you could make a backup just to be safe. Or manually wiping if you don't have large amounts of data which you're lazy to backup and move back in laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Feb 6 2012, 11:20 AM
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 11:31 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Feb 6 2012, 11:25 AM)
Yes, it's GT-1900I
GT-I9100 or GT-I9100G

If just I9100, it's the non G version, which many of us here use, and hardly ever get hangs. Hmm rather odd, when did the problem start. When she first purchased the phone, or just recently?
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 12:40 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(@udio_jr @ Feb 6 2012, 12:08 PM)
When we are using the Titanium Backup, the backup files are save on the internal memory or sd card? Mine seems like is save on the internal memory. Are we able to save the backup in the sd card instead?

My main concern here is whether the backup will still be in the internal memory if I perform wipe during installation of ROM. If yes, does it means i need to move my backup to the sd card and upon flashing of rom only move it back to the internal memory for restoration?

Assuming you wipe from CWM recovery, it doesn't wipe your internal sd card. Factory reset from stock samsung does iianm.
So generally no, you don't have to move it out and back in. But to be safe, you might wanna back it up somewhere else as well. (e.g your laptop)

And as Laptop (the forumer tongue.gif) mentioned, TB supports both saving backup to internal and external. My old phone had low internal, so I saved to sdcard. When I moved TB to S2, it could auto detect where my save files were.
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 01:09 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 12:50 PM)
Nope i dont UV, not even a singl bit. No OC/UC too, i set governors to sio/conservative, since in ur android optimization article you said sio is best, so i follow what you say  smile.gif
I know that i have a crappy name cry.gif if can change name i sure change liao, this was originally only as a temporary acc to ask some stuff about my laptop here
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 12:55 PM)
Maybe should cr8 new acc  hmm.gif but i have to reearn my stars  cry.gif
Haha no la, didn't want him to confuse without previous mention of laptop tongue.gif

Your name is perfectly fine thumbup.gif
ellimist
post Feb 6 2012, 10:45 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Guys, let's not get too far off topic, won't want this to turn back into a non-count section. smile.gif

Just let him/her be
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 12:16 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

You guys get significant battery savings on UV?

Wondering wanna tinker or not hmm.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 12:21 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
I feel so but if it goes SOD, certainly no more battery saving.
Do you get alot of SOD? laugh.gif

Maybe UV the higher frequencies more aggressively while the lower frequencies lower it in lower steps?
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 09:09 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Not sure if this has been posted here:

https://market.android.com/details?id=org.n...ild.prop.editor

Just thought I'd share it if it hasn't already been smile.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 10:48 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Feb 7 2012, 10:41 AM)
Bros,quick question,which one do you prefer,ADW or Go Launcher EX? smile.gif
To add to tally above, I prefer Go. But I haven't extensively used ADW for a long period, and yeah, it's down to preference also smile.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 11:17 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Feb 7 2012, 11:09 AM)
Using TW 4.5 here laugh.gif

The app sorting is a godsend considering the stock one does not doh.gif
Can use appzorter also tongue.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 11:41 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Feb 7 2012, 11:36 AM)
I used to be a fan of Launcher Pro Plus, as I can say no launcher is smoother than LPP.
However after about 6-7 months of zero update, I decided to change to Go launcher.
It stutter slightly when scrolling through homescreen but the features and themes are rich, will stick with it for a while.
I used LLP too, was better on older versions of GB I felt. And yeah, with no update on LLP side and with new roms etc, I ditched it as well. Wasted bucks meh

Hmm Go Launcher was pretty smooth on my old phone, didn't really give it a go on S2. Been using Touchwiz laugh.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 09:29 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 7 2012, 09:26 PM)
Modern Combat 3 is free on Samsung Apps today! Go get it smile.gif full version.
Wah damn good deal. Those that don't have MC3 faster grab it while it lasts. Superb game thumbup.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 11:04 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Yeah I'm on kitchen pro 2 already laugh.gif
ellimist
post Feb 7 2012, 11:26 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Feb 7 2012, 11:21 PM)
hmm.gif dunno leh they all have the free at the end lol, let them try see
nice! i first time online play mc3 keep die die oni  rclxub.gif  you use hand or gyro to aim?
Use gyro!

Haha actually whichever suits you best. I played MC2 online without gyro (old phone didn't have it) and it worked pretty fine. Best is to use a combination of the 2 (swipe to navigate around and gyro for the aim) unless you have a nice swivel chair around laugh.gif
ellimist
post Feb 8 2012, 08:11 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Feb 8 2012, 04:37 AM)
Kitchen pro2 smile.gif

None of my downloads are working for checkromv4. Downloading not a problem, installs quite quickly in recovery mode (automated) when comes back to the phone OS... nothing is changed. Meaning the downloaded theme/fontpack or mod is not applied.
sad.gif
Hmm I've never tried theme, but mods work for me, and previously fontpacks work for me.

The guy suggests flashing theme last, i.e. flash mods first (through the automated process), then after reboot flash apps/widgets, then after reboot only themes. Followed by kernals if you want them from kitchen. Saw that somewhere in his post on his checkrom forum iianm
ellimist
post Feb 8 2012, 10:35 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Feb 8 2012, 10:10 AM)
Chrome beta is out......saw in market..but onli for 4.0 ics rom........zzzzzzz
Yeah got exited when I saw the word Chrome, then saw ICS only in brackets and was like meh sad.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:02 PM