SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

ashwin1234
post Feb 7 2012, 11:35 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

I tried out Bezke's ICS for a few hours. Really liked it but then found out that Sygic would not load properly...so back to my Criskelo nandroid.

That Criskelo ICS doesnt have any screenshots or changelogs.?
ashwin1234
post Feb 7 2012, 07:23 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 7 2012, 06:30 PM)
Try to uninstall any recent apps that you installed

Added on February 7, 2012, 6:46 pmHere's my initial impressions of AndyX ICS rom. The theming he has done is very good, I extremely like the status bar icons, looks super nice. Battery has been good so far, plug out from charger around 7-8am, now left 63%, screen on time 1h20min, so screen on battery usage has been good. Edge was on whole day,standby power consumption not that much too, drains about 0.67% an hour with data on. Performance has been decent o far, animations areok, but can still make out some lag, but that's if I really look into the screen.

Overall, I give AndyX ROM 7/10 smile.gif
Great review. Can you check if Sygic works?. It did not work on Bezke's LPB ICS.
ashwin1234
post Feb 9 2012, 11:16 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

Multiupload seems to be going to hell also. Even the google cached version cannot access the original links.

Great. Just great.
ashwin1234
post Feb 10 2012, 01:00 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

Is CheckROM v5 compatible with the ICS theme? It is based of LA2 right?
ashwin1234
post Feb 10 2012, 01:09 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 10 2012, 01:00 AM)
Yes.

Use ICS domination v1.9
Thanks. Downloading it now to check it out. Pretty sure it won't be as modded as Criskelo's KL1. Does it have call record, camera button mod, and a customisable home button double-tap?
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 02:47 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(Shiro HinSaek @ Feb 11 2012, 02:38 PM)
now now.who said 48hrs is nonsense?how about the otg?you interested?
Good job mimicking him/her. Now just need to copy his/her siggy and then nobody would know the difference.
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 05:59 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

What do you people think of this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1436854

westcrip has 300 thanks and says Sygic works with his ICS while Bezke with 550 thanks does not run Sygic yet.

Last ICS I tried was Bezke's and it was laggy as hell. Was better after a wipe and restore, but Sygic and some other apps did not work..Will try westcrip's ICS tonight
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 06:34 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 11 2012, 06:06 PM)
I used bezke before coming back to checkrom now, it was OK, performance was decent but battery was horrible.

Also, I wanna ask u guys something, I flashed vertumus ics just now, everything went fine, theme was themed properly, then I went into cwm and flash jkay deluxe, I boot up, status bar theming was gone, but apps like dialer and settings are themed. Advice? rclxub.gif
You were the one who said you got 2 hours 30 mins screen on time from 2 days of use right? I think that is very good already. With my use, I get less than 2 hours screen time each day and I recharge every night because my battery would be dead by then.
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 06:46 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 11 2012, 06:39 PM)
That was andyx rom, bezke not as good.
Checkrom V4. It doesnt work? Doesnt ICS v1.9 need jkay to work?
I will see how the battery life and performance of westcrip's ICS is. If it is not good, I will try out Andyx's ICS.
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 09:26 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Feb 11 2012, 08:23 PM)
Yeah on also wondering. I'm on CR v5. Without jkay I'm also wondering how to get the extra toggles when I hold the power button download. Need at least the reboot to recovery function hmm.gif
Use the CWM app. Can boot to recovery and also to download mode

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Feb 11 2012, 08:37 PM)
today free app: trial extreme 2 winter brows.gif
Free app from where? The one on the market is still a demo with 3 levels free.
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 10:34 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 11 2012, 10:16 PM)
hey guys i wan to ask. does sd card class speed affect phone performance? say i put gameloft games in sd card with a lower class speed. will the loading say take longer?
or longer to load apps?
class size only affects the transfer speed between pc and phone?
The class affects the write speed only, not the read speed. The read speeds are IDENTICAL between classes. Just try to avoid cheap or pirated mem cards as some of them have been formatted to show fake capacity and will crash if you try reaching the memory limit

Nearly all my gameloft games read off my memory card. More than 10GB of files, all no difference than using the internal memory
ashwin1234
post Feb 11 2012, 11:53 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 11 2012, 10:54 PM)
thanks.. these are d price i got from thundermatch.. thinking of getting the 16GB as it is cheap. would u recommend kingston or sandisk?

WOW, those are damn cheap. A 16GB should be like around RM100 is not mistaken. That price is considered ok for a 8GB..
ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 12:18 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 11 2012, 11:57 PM)
yeah. what do u think? could it be fake?
Check here : pricelist

Cheapest Kingston 16GB is RM52....so it seems like that one might be true
ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 12:45 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 12 2012, 12:32 AM)
i see. will buy that one tomorrow then, plus i dun think shop like thundermatch is trustable.. always wanted a sd card xD thanks again
I trust All IT and Jayacom as I have bought many stuff from them and made a desktop at Jayacom. Jayacom was the only place I could find that sold DDRI memory mid last year. And it wasn't overpriced.
ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 11:43 AM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Feb 12 2012, 11:39 AM)
wan me share u my umobile speed?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
wow uncle benny oso attracted by dat certain positron  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

You got the spoiler part completely correct. But technically, positron is a moron, so it would make no difference.
ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 12:28 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 12 2012, 12:10 PM)
IGNORE USER BUTTON, Y U NO WORK!!! I can still see positron's post vmad.gif
Works what. Now I can finally get rid of the parasite from the thread.

ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 05:50 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 03:44 PM)
Nah hint hint tongue.gif

Looks great, here are a few things that can be done:

-Remove the other rooting methods other than the CF method (some people root using other methods and then wonder how to get CWM)
-Remove the accessories section, now many places sell the S2 stuff and we don't have to rely that much online. Plus, there is always google which can give much newer and more varied answers
-Add a comparison between the i9100 and the i9100g : like this , and explain that some of the stock ROM problems of the G can be overcome with custom ROM's
-Put links to the Official ROM's and the CF thread for both G and non-G and make clear that the 'g' versions must use a different set of files
-And this is the most important : Warn all new visitors of the parasite that lurks amongst us

Anyone who feels differently please say, these are just my suggestions tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ashwin1234: Feb 12 2012, 05:51 PM
ashwin1234
post Feb 12 2012, 06:56 PM

║█║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█║
779 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM)
Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant?

I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD

I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process :

Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages.
I don't think you can backup your apps using Titanium Backup without rooting. A simple guide:

-Download Odin and the correct CF-root zip file
-extract both
-run Odin and select the .tar file from the CF-root folder
-Put phone into Download mode, and plug into PC, click flash
-Disconnect phone once it says done

-If it hangs at flashing, remove battery and repeat steps 4 and 5

Actually don't need to explain too much because the instructions in the CF-thread is already quite simple

0.0436sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:11 PM