QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 10:31 AM)
then what makes you think you wont be dumping money (probably more than the BLM) on your choice of the car too?PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V19, Saga FLX SE 1.6 -> PRESSURE YOUR PEERS
PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V19, Saga FLX SE 1.6 -> PRESSURE YOUR PEERS
Feb 24 2012, 11:13 AM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
Feb 24 2012, 11:15 AM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 11:11 AM) if i had the money, i'll completely rebuild the car. strip the whole body and clean it up. overhaul the engine. replace with new parts. Well like I said, if you have the cash and time to spare.It's your money lor, you spend it as you wish, I'm just sharing my view with you. Maybe I'm just getting too old for this, different priorities. BTW I have no illusions my FLX will last me more than 3-5 years, that's why I am already looking for a replacement once the time is right. |
Feb 24 2012, 11:15 AM
7,951 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 24 2012, 11:13 AM) then what makes you think you wont be dumping money (probably more than the BLM) on your choice of the car too? dumping money to get it back to tip top condition is most definate. but when well maintained, it will go on and on..besides, no matter how i mod the blm, its still a proton, still a base line model, still limited. |
Feb 24 2012, 11:18 AM
784 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Rice Bowl of Msia |
Hi Bros...
Appears like this thread is going down the "Negative" path....downhill... Let's not paint such a disheartening picture of the Saga...juz becoz of a few lemons? ALL cars makers produces lemons....rber Bro V12K's post a few pages back? Frankly, there are 2 real life owners of Saga BLMs 2009 who are very happy with their cars....only minor probs incl the common IAFM replacement... So let's NOT discourage present & prospective future owners of Sagas...let's look at the Saga's POSITIVE points, ok? ps. Most Saga buyers truly kenot afford to buy those cars that cost so many times more than a Saga...AND the Saga was created for the common Msian... Not for those who can afford better... This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 24 2012, 11:25 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(zeone @ Feb 24 2012, 11:18 AM) Hi Bros... i'm merely higlighting the facts. for that rm40-50k for a new saga, for me, getting a better used car seems more logical. proton is still a proton. no matter how hard they try, evidently, its still the same.Appears like this thread is going down the "Negative" path....downhill... Let's not paint such a disheartening picture of the Saga...juz becoz of a few lemons? ALL cars makers produces lemons....rber Bro V12K post a few pages back? Frankly, there are 2 real life owners of Saga BLMs 2009 who are very happy with their cars....only minor probs incl the common IAFM replacement... So let's NOT discourage present & prospective future owners of Sagas...let's look at the Daga's POSITIVE points, ok? ps. Most Saga buyers truly kenot afford to buy those cars that cost so many times more than a Saga...AND the Saga was created for the common Msian... besides, zeone, u also mentioned that the new saga is a step back from the old saga, due to a few factors, need i remind u? This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Feb 24 2012, 11:22 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 11:15 AM) dumping money to get it back to tip top condition is most definate. but when well maintained, it will go on and on..besides, no matter how i mod the blm, its still a proton, still a base line model, still limited. so you're willing to do the above mentioned for a Nissan which is almost as old as you but not on your current car? |
Feb 24 2012, 11:25 AM
Feb 24 2012, 11:35 AM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: on my way to paradise |
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 11:15 AM) dumping money to get it back to tip top condition is most definate. but when well maintained, it will go on and on..besides, no matter how i mod the blm, its still a proton, still a base line model, still limited. how much money do you spend overall for this blm?btw, if let say u buy new car,,do you still active in this thread.. juz my concern This post has been edited by cuteyman: Feb 24 2012, 11:42 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 11:20 AM) i'm merely higlighting the facts. for that rm40-50k for a new saga, for me, getting a better used car seems more logical. proton is still a proton. no matter how hard they try, evidently, its still the same. Yup, Bro Eric...agreed re above. A Proton is a Proton. No doubt abt that. besides, zeone, u also mentioned that the new saga is a step back from the old saga, due to a few factors, need i remind u? However, when we bought it, we knew oledi that it IS a Proton. True? And as alwaz, Luck counts in any purchase of anything Man-made. Correct? And yup, me rber saying that, too. However, when I got the Saga, I had to look at the steps forward that the Saga now comes with...eg MPI, COP, DBW.... I hv oledi added those few "missing" accessories that the new Saga came without eg auto window. A minor inconvenience. All in all, the Saga is not such a bad car...that's the important point. Am very sorry abt the recent overheating probs yu're faced with...but i feel those probs can b overcomed if yr car gets the attention of a GOOD mech... Wish you all the very best...watever yr decision...watever makes yu happy! |
Feb 24 2012, 11:40 AM
When your car was fine you were so happy with it, saying how to 1.3 is gooding, touge like nobody's business and you even went as far as getting flamed for saying one is not Malaysian if one don't support Proton.
What's your story now? your car overheated so you retract all your statements? If you wanna change to a better car, I have your back. But you are spending money for all the wrong reasons and blaming Proton does not justify it. This post has been edited by dares: Feb 24 2012, 11:40 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 11:40 AM
ps. Advice to all prospective car buyers :
If yu can afford it, always go for the Top of the Range in the model yu've decided to buy. There IS a difference...a very beneficial difference... Moreover, buying a NEW car is not something we do every day, correct? Best wishes & Good Luck!! |
Feb 24 2012, 11:47 AM
Feb 24 2012, 11:48 AM
B4 I got my NEW Saga, I was also contemplating a USED City, Vios and even an Accord...my "Dream" car?
However, after consulting ppl arnd me, I was strongly advised against doing so... I even hv a close relative who got a USED Accord instead of a NEW City (at abt the same price)...He got BURNT badly...in its 3rd year!! So the choice is alwaz OURS.... Juz be happy with our decision & accept what comes with it... Hv a nice wkend!! NB. Buying a car...any car...is NOT an investment... It's a LOSS! Juz do some calculations.... Added on February 24, 2012, 11:55 am QUOTE(dares @ Feb 24 2012, 11:40 AM) When your car was fine you were so happy with it, saying how to 1.3 is gooding, touge like nobody's business and you even went as far as getting flamed for saying one is not Malaysian if one don't support Proton. Yup, in this case Proton is NOT 2b blamed....nor the cause of it... What's your story now? your car overheated so you retract all your statements? If you wanna change to a better car, I have your back. But you are spending money for all the wrong reasons and blaming Proton does not justify it. Bro Eric, we feel for yu but pls...pls...keep a cool head, ok? As our Bro here says..."....have your back." And after all, this is a Proton BLM thread...AND yu are its TS.... This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 24 2012, 11:56 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 12:00 PM
133 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
proton is a proton, nissan is still a nissan..
Feb 24 2012, 12:10 PM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(zeone @ Feb 24 2012, 11:48 AM) B4 I got my NEW Saga, I was also contemplating a USED City, Vios and even an Accord...my "Dream" car? I am totally agree with your statement, "Juz be happy with our decision & accept what comes with it..."However, after consulting ppl arnd me, I was strongly advised against doing so... I even hv a close relative who got a USED Accord instead of a NEW City (at abt the same price)...He got BURNT badly...in its 3rd year!! So the choice is alwaz OURS.... Juz be happy with our decision & accept what comes with it... Hv a nice wkend!! NB. Buying a car...any car...is NOT an investment... It's a LOSS! Juz do some calculations.... Added on February 24, 2012, 11:55 am Yup, in this case Proton is NOT 2b blamed....nor the cause of it... Bro Eric, we feel for yu but pls...pls...keep a cool head, ok? As our Bro here says..."....have your back." And after all, this is a Proton BLM thread...AND yu are its TS.... My current car is year 2000 Perdana V6. Even though many of my relatives/friend said it will have lots of problem such as gearbox & stuffs, but it never occured. I really took good care of my V6. Just one time I need to do top overhaul. Just that. I am very happy with my V6 & it has serve me well for these years. But maybe its time to say goodbye coz I've got the FLX. Proton will be Proton, just we need to take really good care of our ride. Love it more & it will serve us better This post has been edited by Granite: Feb 24 2012, 12:10 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 12:13 PM
133 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
but its easy for us to say because we currently dont face the problem like eric..once we face it, we may give up..and thinking of alternatives
Feb 24 2012, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(Granite @ Feb 24 2012, 12:10 PM) I am totally agree with your statement, "Juz be happy with our decision & accept what comes with it..." Hahahaha and I thought from Waja to Saga I was the largest "downgrade" owner around here My current car is year 2000 Perdana V6. Even though many of my relatives/friend said it will have lots of problem such as gearbox & stuffs, but it never occured. I really took good care of my V6. Just one time I need to do top overhaul. Just that. I am very happy with my V6 & it has serve me well for these years. But maybe its time to say goodbye coz I've got the FLX. Proton will be Proton, just we need to take really good care of our ride. Love it more & it will serve us better Dahlah, Eric, do whatever you want OK? Just don't regret it like you did your BLM. Added on February 24, 2012, 12:14 pm QUOTE(xshiro @ Feb 24 2012, 12:13 PM) but its easy for us to say because we currently dont face the problem like eric..once we face it, we may give up..and thinking of alternatives This I agree. My drumbrake already make me wanna drive it into a wall sometimes. But now that I feel regret about selling my Waja, I'm a bit more patient with this car This post has been edited by dares: Feb 24 2012, 12:14 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 12:17 PM
this is the last thread i'm opening.
Feb 24 2012, 12:19 PM
Feb 24 2012, 12:20 PM
3,112 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 24 2012, 10:53 AM) the damn blm was also used I still think that your case is isolated and because your car had accident before.like i said, some older cars are built to last, not modern cars these days.. 10 years? tough luck.. see the civic from the 90s, they can yield 300k km or more with proper maintenance.. i doubt that the blm can even last 250k before something goes terribly wrong... once bitten, twice shy. this overheating problem will lead to more problems in the future.. once i have enough savings, i'm saying goodbye to this car.. maybe thats why ppl shy away from proton..it all boils down to your luck. if u lucky, ur car would be relatively trouble free.. since i am not so lucky, if and when i change, how can i ensure that i wont be pushing my luck again? simple, by not choosing proton..sure u may argue that other brands have their lemons as well, but to me, enough is enough.. since you mentioned spare parts and availability, have u been to the numerous half cut shops scattered throughout kl? thats a lot of parts for jdm and continental cars.. at least the quality of their used parts are still better than our local quality spare parts.. Well, they could fix/repair/change it no problem 'initially', but something might hiding and symptom only appear now. Maybe engine block got some hair line crack due to that collision, initially no problem, but now become a problem? Who knows, but you will never know. |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:36 AM |