82 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.

BeastX
post Jan 3 2010, 06:29 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(HanX1989 @ Jan 3 2010, 04:42 AM)
Hi everyone,

I had ordered aircraft models from USA.
Total cost me RM850 with delivery charge, but the company stated in the list as a gift that valued USD $40-45.

So my question is will my items still hold by Malaysia customs or not?
and I need to pay tax again or not?
If they hold your item, you'll have to prove the value is below RM500... invoice/payment slip and such (made-up/fake, in your case). They may say it is under-declared (which is true), you'll have to prove them otherwise. Good, convincing argument you may get your things through without tax. If you item is rather small, it should go through with relatively easy.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jan 3 2010, 06:34 AM
HanX1989
post Jan 3 2010, 01:20 PM

thanks for your advise BeastX.
I have 14 aircraft models in a Box. Its a very big box.
I hope they wont hold my parcel.
BeastX
post Jan 12 2010, 08:32 PM

5,987 posts

Post here as well for sticky info:

a.m.i [x2] EMS gives discount by EMS post (in addition to higher discount rate than HLJ or HS) while by Registered SAL is 700 yen more (420 to register + handling). Bringing EMS and Reg. SAL pricing very close. One thing of their international packaging (First experience)... too much protection, more than half of the shipping box contains paper and Styrofoam, increase weight too. Nice paper used not newspaper.

But unregistered SAL by HLJ and soon HS is still cheaper (but un-safe)

b.t.w. <RM500 CIF, no tax applies to SAL & Airmail too, not only EMS.
deejay220989
post Jan 12 2010, 09:52 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 12 2010, 08:32 PM)
Post here as well for sticky info:

a.m.i [x2] EMS gives discount by EMS post (in addition to higher discount rate than HLJ or HS) while by Registered SAL is 700 yen more (420 to register + handling). Bringing EMS and Reg. SAL pricing very close. One thing of their international packaging (First experience)... too much protection, more than half of the shipping box contains paper and Styrofoam, increase weight too. Nice paper used not newspaper.

But unregistered SAL by HLJ and soon HS is still cheaper (but un-safe)

b.t.w. <RM500 CIF, no tax applies to SAL & Airmail too, not only EMS.
I once ordered CDs worth RM180 incl. shipping using Airmail and they taxed me..they said if only I used EMS then its tax exempted..
leyley
post Jan 15 2010, 09:30 PM

2,096 posts

Even with EMS, there is still a limit of RM500 if im not wrong...over than that need to pay tax...check with custom for latest update
deathmoonz
post Jan 17 2010, 05:22 AM

Finding all ToHeart Character : Kousaka Tamaki's Figure
= =
angellus_riku
post Feb 2 2010, 11:53 AM

74 posts

i read a lot of SAL delivery throwing their packages into the house when no one is there to collect.
a bit scary......(later patah kaki kepala the goods)

how long usually does SAL delivery takes?
and..er..is it safe? (coz first time attempting to order from HLJ.

shinkawa
post Feb 2 2010, 12:36 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

Use EMS lo if scare. Fedex also quite safe but it took detour (JAPAN to CHINA to MALAYSIA)

EMS usually took 3 days and Fedex took 5 days.
I only use SAL for books,dakimakura or mousepad.

Btw, anybody here bought dengeki magazine from Japan b4?
Not about gundam magazine but pvc figurine.

bakabakayaro
post Feb 11 2010, 06:20 PM

46 posts

i ordered 2 figures from hobby search

total cost for the 2 items + EMS shipping is estimated RM507

both 1/8 figure.. can escape kastam ar? sweat.gif hopefully can meet a nice kastam officer and let me escape... or better still dont get detained in kastam! * cross fingers*

actually i dunno how much is the shipping cost, cuz its preorder, hobby search dun say the weight.. i check with other sites oso never say the weight.. but i assume one is 0.5 to 0.6 kg gua.. if both ngam ngam 1kg then total will be rm480 something if more than 1kg then rm507.. sigh.. problem with pre-order is dunno the weight.. hard to estimate
BeastX
post Feb 11 2010, 06:54 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(bakabakayaro @ Feb 11 2010, 06:20 PM)
i ordered 2 figures from hobby search

total cost for the 2 items + EMS shipping is estimated RM507

both 1/8 figure..  can escape kastam ar? sweat.gif hopefully can meet a nice kastam officer and let me escape... or better still dont get detained in kastam! * cross fingers*

actually i dunno how much is the shipping cost, cuz its preorder, hobby search dun say the weight.. i check with other sites oso never say the weight.. but i assume one is 0.5 to 0.6 kg gua.. if both ngam ngam 1kg then total will be rm480 something if more than 1kg then rm507.. sigh.. problem with pre-order is dunno the weight.. hard to estimate
HS like to export jp newspapers (not always, but I had one parcel with about 400g of newspapers, not including box and product), sometimes stacked and not crumpled which offers no protection just add weight, ... if you ordered now there will be the 15% discount (+ 5% points..... probably you can cancel and order again during this period, if it is prior to the discount).

Maybe you can request to ship separately if 2 different items, which are usually release at different dates. Packaging plus 2 figures will surely exceed 1kg. With HS you can log-in after pre-order and change the shipping/paying methods/details.

HS will inform you the final payment as it ships, you cannot change anything by then, exceeding RM500.... be prepared to pay tax. You're taxed on product and shipping (15.5% CIF)... you're looking at about 20 to 25% of product price.

HJL and Amiami's packaging are much better compared to HS.

Kastams page has the x-rates JPY which is updated each week, pray/hope that the JPY rate drops (at the week) around the time of your shipping. Currently JPY is at an almost all time high against MYR.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 11 2010, 06:55 PM
bakabakayaro
post Feb 11 2010, 07:04 PM

46 posts

i bought 2 same figure.. hahaa cuz i tot wanna keep one for myself and one to keep to sell later sweat.gif

guess i have to cancel and reorder 1

Added on February 11, 2010, 8:30 pmargh crap.. i wanted to change the shipping method to separate.. but cant cuz if its similar item they will ship together.. so i go send in the cancel email form.. then wanted to reserve again..

see see.. reservations closed.. WAT THE?!

i quickly send them another email to cancel my cancel form sweat.gif sigh. hope they dont cancel it. i rather pay tax than wait another few years for it to be restocked.

Added on February 12, 2010, 12:45 amdo i need to open my parcel if i wanna declare and pay the tax or watever?

cuz the figurine i ordered is abit "sexy".. so i dont want them to say its explicit and confiscate it.. i'll be really mad if they do! cuz its absolutely not a hentai figure! just sexy.

damn u K@$T@m!

This post has been edited by bakabakayaro: Feb 12 2010, 12:45 AM
shinkawa
post Feb 19 2010, 10:53 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

wat thing did you reserved?

My special promotion queen's blade from HLJ got retained by custom..

sob...waiting for someone pro to help me.
bakabakayaro
post Feb 21 2010, 12:34 AM

46 posts

nvm my bible black got thru kastam. haha. urs over 500?
shinkawa
post Feb 21 2010, 02:57 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

Nope, RM 240 for megahouse aldra and echidna included with shipping.
Bro Orestes said mine suppose got through but on my EMS tracking said Retention.
Monday I'll check with pos office.

Oh ya, becarefull if you want to curse kastam here. From the other tread, someone said there's kastam reading this forum too.

This post has been edited by shinkawa: Feb 21 2010, 02:58 PM
bakabakayaro
post Feb 21 2010, 10:01 PM

46 posts

ops scary blink.gif

gomenasai!

maybe cuz box big gua?
shinkawa
post Feb 22 2010, 09:43 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

Yatta, it got through, received today. The box as big as desktop CPU.

bakabakayaro
post Feb 22 2010, 10:14 AM

46 posts

no wonder kena detained tongue.gif

but 2 figures only.. how come the box so big.. 1/4 scale?

This post has been edited by bakabakayaro: Feb 22 2010, 10:15 AM
seeseong
post Feb 22 2010, 11:43 AM

71 posts

hello, I also ordered 6 SHF from amiami....total amount bout RM530.29...i think possibility of kena tax is higher lah. The thing had arrive at Custom office. The only thing is I stay at Johor, a small kampung call MUAR ler...if kena yellow card, I need drive all my way to KLIA post office to pay the tax and take the thing???? if like that...they are damn troublesome....I got checked my EMS it said in custom only...not saying retention ler

This post has been edited by seeseong: Feb 22 2010, 11:46 AM
ozak
post Feb 22 2010, 12:18 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(seeseong @ Feb 22 2010, 11:43 AM)
hello, I also ordered 6 SHF from amiami....total amount bout RM530.29...i think possibility of kena tax is higher lah. The thing had arrive at Custom office. The only thing is I stay at Johor, a small kampung call MUAR ler...if kena yellow card, I need drive all my way to KLIA post office to pay the tax and take the thing???? if like that...they are damn troublesome....I got checked my EMS it said in custom only...not saying retention ler
No need go KLIA ler. The KLIA post office will send a letter to you if stuck at custom. Either pickup by you or let the post office handle the tax for you. Once arrive at your muar post office, you go and pickup your parcel+tax. The max tax is 15% for toys category.

Buy online from Hong kong if can. The chance of get tax is less even over RM500.
seeseong
post Feb 22 2010, 12:41 PM

71 posts

hongkong online toyshop??? i dunno any ler....got introduce??? hehe

82 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:01 AM