i just came back from NEX studio portrait workshop!
Model is new to modeling, so the posing is not much and not that natural.
other than that, it is a great FOC workshop for NEXers!
The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3
Mar 31 2012, 07:14 PM
790 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i just came back from NEX studio portrait workshop!
Model is new to modeling, so the posing is not much and not that natural. other than that, it is a great FOC workshop for NEXers! |
Apr 1 2012, 12:18 PM
Panadol,
NEX have very nice screen which make the photo looks vivid bright. PC monitor have various quality and it is not calibrated. that's normal. |
Apr 1 2012, 04:06 PM
now my turn for the NEX workshop. All by NEX5 + Konica Hexanon 50/1.4
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() First time doing studio shoot. still newbie in photography! Please C&C. |
Apr 3 2012, 01:56 AM
SEL18200 now retail at RM2999. best street price should be around RM2699.
even with the high price, there are not many shops will carry this stock, so it will be quite limited. I think now nowhere can get below RM2k since this is not those ciplak kit lens. |
Apr 3 2012, 10:43 AM
Apr 3 2012, 10:26 PM
i have seen a few sony center all got NEX7!
Apr 4 2012, 02:37 AM
if really new 5ND local ori set selling at RM2215 I will drive up to penang to buy!!!
Apr 5 2012, 01:10 AM
shukrie, where did you shoot this?
Apr 5 2012, 09:00 AM
yes, that is the point why i asked where the shot taken.
in malaysia also hard to get totally clear sky. |
Apr 6 2012, 02:44 AM
seems a bit hand shaked, due to low shutter speed.
Apr 6 2012, 12:52 PM
Apr 8 2012, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(nlik @ Apr 7 2012, 02:41 PM) I've just registered from the Home portraiture workshop 1st session on 29th April. Should i bring in the external flash if got time i will join. all this workshop got nice model one!!! |
Apr 8 2012, 01:41 PM
if you use bigger aperture, with shallower depth of field, better use MF assist enlarge view 7x or 14x!
subject in motion a bit difficult to MF, make sure you have enough shutter speed and DOF. |
Apr 9 2012, 02:56 PM
who interested on the classic Konica Hexanon 50mm F1.4?? ^^
Apr 9 2012, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(clearcase @ Apr 9 2012, 06:50 PM) just thinking to sell.. if price ok. indeed it is great lens, compare to other 50mm. It is my prime lens also, 90% time on the camera.And I just sold my SEL18200 to fund for the NEX-5ND!! But soon i going to sell all other classic lens together with the classic film camera to fund for Leica M mount lenses!!! |
Apr 10 2012, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2012, 09:21 PM) Wah...Funding for Nortilux 50mm F0.95? where got US410,000 that high? the bhphoto only selling USD10995!!! hahaha.. i wish i will be that loaded to go for the noctilux! btw, there is no point to go up to f0.95. the DOF is too shallow. even for f1.4 sometime hard to get the subject fully covered if get too close. actually for past year of search online, i found that Konica Hexanon is the best price/performance lens. the lens are very sharp especially 50/1.7, where 50/1.4 have better bokeh. 57/1.4 slightly less sharp than 1.7 and 1.4 but the old lens colour rendition and bokeh is very nice. those older Hexanon '70 and before have some kind of characteristic while maintain some high quality close towards Zeiss and even Leica. Konica produced nice Hexanon lenses with highest quality at that era, with their own optical formula. however, the hexanon are not that popular like Nikon and Canon, as their lens have shallower registered length than those lenses. So only a few camera can fit the AR mount, end up only Konica camera users. Of course they have higher range for Leica rangefinder, the ultimate M-Hexanon range!!! But now with Sony NEX and MFT camera, now we can enjoy this cheap but good quality lenses!!! If you live in US, you might get it at very cheap price depends on your luck!!! Here we have limited source for Hexanon, and the US shipping is really not pocket friendly!! My advise for ebay bidder, you must avoid shipping with USPS First Class mail at all!! it is just normal airmail without tracking number and not registered. you end up missing in the hand of local post office!!! Priority mail is better and Express mail is the best for tracking, and both will be handled here by poslaju EMS. now the reason i want to let go most of my Hexanon not because it is not good, but I prefer to have my NEX in more compact size. Hence I go for Leica M mount lens which is the lens is very compact as well as thin adapter, and it seems they fit the NEX body better than the SEL lenses! I still couldn't afford the Leica M lenses which more than RM3k. So first I got the Voigtlander 28mm F2.0 which have very good review from http://www.kenrockwell.com/voigtlander/28mm-f2.htm! ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Apr 10 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Apr 10 2012, 07:21 AM) The Hexanon master has spoken haha... I still only have 1 atm, the price for the rest (especially macro and f1.4) all ended up in high prices. How much for the Voigt? Looks sophisticated hahah.. i not master lah! just most ppl here think Konica is lousy brand for camera.I normally don't follow the majority, instead go for odd option by own research on best price/performance products. that's how i choose NEX also although quite a numbers of surrounding friends are C&N photographers! It's painful to let go those hexanons, but no point to keep them only in the dry cabinet. better let go for other ppl who can enjoy using it. I will try to do short review and sample photo for each i have then share with you guys. that's will take a while! The Voigtlander Ultron 28mm f2.0 brand new around RM2k, can order from Shashinki or some local shops. i got mine 2nd hand with slightly lower price. it is small but solid and heavy like those metal built hexanons. no time to test shoot outside yet. hopefully this weekend can bring out for shooting. |
Apr 10 2012, 04:21 PM
Hi Kurodo,
it's great to know another person who know well about konica hexanon lenses here. You are certainly better than me on appreciating the hexanon prime! Thanks for further elaborate on the sharpness against shutter speed!! I learn this by experience after some time. That's why when do without flash, a bit hard for me to get eye sharpness on the model when wide open at f1.4, with speed 1/50-1/60. During the studio shot with flash and up the speed to 1/125s, i can get razor sharp photo easily at f1.4!!!! I also found they are really good in shooting B&W, with the nice contrast and tone! for Voigtlander, at first i was thinking to get 40/1.4 or 35/1.4 which is really compact size. but after read the review on KenRockwell.com that the both are worthless for the price, it have change my mind to get the 28/2.0 which is just slightly below the Leica quality but with the price i can afford!! I still haven't got chance to test the lens. will do it soon. where are you from? if around KL then we can meet and try each others lenses!! Maybe can let others try the power of Hexanon too!!! This post has been edited by RX-78-2: Apr 10 2012, 04:22 PM |
Apr 11 2012, 04:00 PM
Thanks Joe. I still haven't got time to explore it's beauty.
but you have better choice on the true Leica!!! Cheers! Added on April 11, 2012, 4:07 pm QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Apr 10 2012, 10:56 PM) Any good Hexas in the 30mm focal range? 50mm doesn't really suit my shooting style yes true, i feel also 30mm is better for everyday shoot. and 28mm is even more close to my eyes view angle! 2K for a Voigt... I think I'll be staying away from it until I get a promotion or a major pay raise there is no 30mm Hexanon. But I have 28mm F3.5. I wish i have the UC Hexanon 28mm f1.8, but it is rare and now very high price to bid! There are 35mm f2 but very rare, maybe you can try to get 35mm F2.8. Hexanon 35mm f2.8 or else try the pancake 40mm 1.8. This post has been edited by RX-78-2: Apr 11 2012, 04:14 PM |
Apr 12 2012, 12:55 PM
| Change to: | 0.0273sec