QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 29 2012, 11:03 PM)
You can try lensrent.com but not much choice thought Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only
Jan 29 2012, 10:14 PM
1,693 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: THe Hell |
Jan 29 2012, 11:09 PM
653 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
hi sifu(s),
wanna ask your opinion, which looks better? ![]() or ![]() i help my friend take this with her camera.. then when see the picture.. dunno how see which is better.. @_@ actually both same picture.. but one is cropped to 1:1 format and another is cropped to 16:9 format.. also if can c&c on how to further improve it.. do share.. hehe.. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:19 PM
979 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
guys,why my nikon d5100 with kit lens can't do like this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qnLpMerZ1w is it the kit lens not support the auto focus single or what? |
Jan 29 2012, 11:23 PM
2,847 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:19 PM) guys,why my nikon d5100 with kit lens can't do like this? can, at menu, right side there.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qnLpMerZ1w is it the kit lens not support the auto focus single or what? D5100 cant change at body itself. This post has been edited by hidden830726: Jan 29 2012, 11:24 PM |
Jan 29 2012, 11:24 PM
11,861 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bangalasia |
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:19 PM) guys,why my nikon d5100 with kit lens can't do like this? kit lens should be support what...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qnLpMerZ1w is it the kit lens not support the auto focus single or what? do you accidently locked your AF? |
Jan 29 2012, 11:24 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:19 PM) guys,why my nikon d5100 with kit lens can't do like this? Use the 4 directional buttons to adjust for AF points to use..afaikhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qnLpMerZ1w is it the kit lens not support the auto focus single or what? Also try reading up the manual to see how to change to AF-S or AF-C.. This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 29 2012, 11:25 PM |
Jan 29 2012, 11:25 PM
Jan 29 2012, 11:27 PM
you have to half press it.. did you half press it?
Jan 29 2012, 11:28 PM
Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 29 2012, 11:09 PM) hi sifu(s), Well, im no sifu, personally if to choose between these 2, i will choose the second picture.wanna ask your opinion, which looks better? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « or » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i help my friend take this with her camera.. then when see the picture.. dunno how see which is better.. @_@ actually both same picture.. but one is cropped to 1:1 format and another is cropped to 16:9 format.. also if can c&c on how to further improve it.. do share.. hehe.. Comment on composition. The 1st pic is too distracting with those reflection in the water. Also, i quite cant get what is the message and subject the shooter wanna express. Which one is the subject? If the signage is the subject, it is not sharp enough i believe. If me, the 1st pics, the bridge is a good foreground subject. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM
funny.. i used d5100 and it can perform the selected functions mentioned in the video.. even on my kit lens..
just set to af-s and single point focus by selecting in the <i> and then you can move your red (focus) dot around by using the 4 way directional pad.. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM) funny.. i used d5100 and it can perform the selected functions mentioned in the video.. even on my kit lens.. I think you misuderstand me,I mean can perform the red dot thing moving but the lens wont focus onto the point just set to af-s and single point focus by selecting in the <i> and then you can move your red (focus) dot around by using the 4 way directional pad.. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:33 PM
Just guessing this might be your prob
@NecroPhilia, i think u need not to confuse af-s and auto focus area mode Auto focus area mode is the one that u must choose single. Choose the one that with flower instead of 2 kids star wars saber fight. This post has been edited by hidden830726: Jan 29 2012, 11:34 PM |
Jan 29 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM) Well, im no sifu, personally if to choose between these 2, i will choose the second picture. actually i was just telling her what settings to use when taking a landscape at night.. so i didn't really choose a good subject.. for a moment, i just felt the scene looked quite nice with the lights.. so i just fired away.. i admit i was careless and didn't find any story behind the shot.. haha.. thanks for pointing that out.. i think probably next time around i need to find a subject in the scene before taking the picture.. i usually shoot when feeling tells me to.. keke..Comment on composition. The 1st pic is too distracting with those reflection in the water. Also, i quite cant get what is the message and subject the shooter wanna express. Which one is the subject? If the signage is the subject, it is not sharp enough i believe. If me, the 1st pics, the bridge is a good foreground subject. thanks for the comment.. another side question.. to make the signage sharper.. i would have to take few pictures and merge it right? if i wanted to get the exposure right.. otherwise.. i either get blown out highlights or i get dark scene. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:31 PM) I think you misuderstand me,I mean can perform the red dot thing moving but the lens wont focus onto the point 1) Lens there put auto or manual focus?2) Half press then shoot? 3) half press got beep sound that signify focused? 4) any problem with your lens or camera? |
Jan 29 2012, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:31 PM) I think you misuderstand me,I mean can perform the red dot thing moving but the lens wont focus onto the point either you are on manual focus mode.. (the switch set to M on your lens) or you have switched the focusing feature from your shutter button to the AE/AF button.. that's my guess.. @_@ |
Jan 29 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 29 2012, 11:34 PM) actually i was just telling her what settings to use when taking a landscape at night.. so i didn't really choose a good subject.. for a moment, i just felt the scene looked quite nice with the lights.. so i just fired away.. i admit i was careless and didn't find any story behind the shot.. haha.. thanks for pointing that out.. i think probably next time around i need to find a subject in the scene before taking the picture.. i usually shoot when feeling tells me to.. keke.. i think u mean HDR, but why not just long exposure? not necessary u need HDR. HDR wont help u make the signage sharper. thanks for the comment.. another side question.. to make the signage sharper.. i would have to take few pictures and merge it right? if i wanted to get the exposure right.. otherwise.. i either get blown out highlights or i get dark scene. Focus will. or infinity |
Jan 29 2012, 11:40 PM
11,861 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bangalasia |
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:33 PM) Just guessing this might be your prob also....will it be.... too near the subject? like already over the minimum focus range?@NecroPhilia, i think u need not to confuse af-s and auto focus area mode Auto focus area mode is the one that u must choose single. Choose the one that with flower instead of 2 kids star wars saber fight. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:37 PM) i think u mean HDR, but why not just long exposure? not necessary u need HDR. HDR wont help u make the signage sharper. yea.. i was thinking of HDR.. you referring to the DESA PARK CITY signage? or other signage? i was referring to that one wor.. cuz if i expose the scene correctly, that sign's highlight will overflow until the word desa park city is a smudge of white.. if i under expose the scene, then it's sharper..Focus will. or infinity p/s: i forgot where i set the focus point to.. haha.. this was taken at f/11.. altho with f/11, there is a possibility that i pre-focused at wrong area and the desa park city signage was not in the in-focus range.. haha.. i can upload the darker version of it tho.. XD This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 29 2012, 11:45 PM |
Jan 29 2012, 11:42 PM
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:56 PM |