Portable Players Please Recommend a portable media player please, version 3

Paladin
post Feb 4 2016, 03:40 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 4 2016, 03:13 PM)
Hope it's not too late to reply. Using DAP to stack with DAC amp, DAP only act as a source in providing digital files. However, the quality of digital out does affect the sound quality and sound signature as well. So different players pairing with Mojo will actually give you different sound.

This is also the reason that you can find very expensive media players that people use in their HiFi system, mainly providing digital source only.

So far from my findings, players digital out is definitely better than hand phone (micro usb otg / iphone lightning)
In terms of player digital out quality, I would rank it this way. (best rank first)
1) Cayin N6 (provide most details and good separation. Sound is solid and could be aggressive to some) -coaxial
2) Sony ZX2 (It's comparable with N6, with softer and smoother sound, more musical and very easy to control)- WM port -micro usb
3)iBasso DX80, DX90, DX50 (iBasso player actually has very good digital out quality, except DX80 is a little bit warm sound. For those who likes cleaner sound may prefer X7 over DX80) -coaxial
4) Fiio X7 (Quite clean and it's android base and support music streaming. UI is not as fluent as ZX2 as a source)
5) Fiio X5, Cayin N5 - coaxial
6) Fiio X3II - coaxial

Haven't really tested out AK players hand to hand with the above players so no comment. Usually coaxial sound quality would be better than optical base on our experience (referring to the same device with both optical and coaxial) and it's easier for you to find a better quality coaxial cable.

Hope this helps.  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the VERY details reply. It's help a lot. smile.gif
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 03:55 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Paladin @ Feb 4 2016, 03:40 PM)
Thanks for the VERY details reply. It's help a lot. smile.gif
Anyway DAP feel like very bulky, if you bring out on both hand with DAP and Smart phone, btw you might do more with smart phone as well.

Recently I had tested with AK 100II the sound slightly better than iPhone 6s only, but when iPhone 6s plug in with mojo the sound totally was different a lot.

Maybe you can try it out, cause my currently setup with iPhone 6s or Mi Note with Mojo and RHA T20I the sound really impressive very different signatures.

If wanna budget still can consider for Fiio DAC much cheaper to compare with chord mojo
shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 04:09 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 4 2016, 03:13 PM)

Haven't really tested out AK players hand to hand with the above players so no comment. Usually coaxial sound quality would be better than optical base on our experience (referring to the same device with both optical and coaxial) and it's easier for you to find a better quality coaxial cable.

Hope this helps.  biggrin.gif
Too bad, AK players only support optical cable output.
BTW, Happy Chinese New Year smile.gif
Paladin
post Feb 4 2016, 04:13 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 03:55 PM)
Anyway DAP feel like very bulky, if you bring out on both hand with DAP and Smart phone, btw you might do more with smart phone as well.

Recently I had tested with AK 100II the sound slightly better than iPhone 6s only, but when iPhone 6s plug in with mojo the sound totally was different a lot.

Maybe you can try it out, cause my currently setup with iPhone 6s or Mi Note with Mojo and RHA T20I the sound really impressive very different signatures. 

If wanna budget still can consider for Fiio DAC much cheaper to compare with chord mojo
Okay thanks for your sharing bro. Will consider it. smile.gif
Happy Chinese New Year to all of you here
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 04:17 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:09 PM)
Too bad, AK players only support optical cable output.
BTW, Happy Chinese New Year smile.gif
I guess low end or jk junior level does not come with optical input
shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 04:22 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 03:55 PM)

I always bring both: my AK100II on my hand, my Note 5 in my pocket, since my hand palm is big, I can use my Note 5 with 1 hand.

Sound quality wise, it is always a debate between smartphone and DAP, like my case, AK100II vs Note 5, definitely AK100II wins but not edges Note 5 too much, only in tiny details and dynamics.

If choosing smartphone as music player, users should opt for large storage capacity or with support of microSD, inaudible noise when paired with low impedance IEM, better stereo crosstalk (you can check in review of the smartphone). dynamic range etc
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 04:28 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:22 PM)
I always bring both: my AK100II on my hand, my Note 5 in my pocket, since my hand palm is big, I can use my Note 5 with 1 hand.

Sound quality wise, it is always a debate between smartphone and DAP, like my case, AK100II vs Note 5, definitely AK100II wins but not edges Note 5 too much, only in tiny details and dynamics.

If choosing smartphone as music player, users should opt for large storage capacity or with support of microSD, inaudible noise when paired with low impedance IEM, better stereo crosstalk (you can check in review of the smartphone). dynamic range etc
Agree with you.. Maybe I was still not finding the right dap to fit with me now.
shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 04:42 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 04:28 PM)
Agree with you.. Maybe I was still not finding the right dap to fit with me now.
Copper AK380 with Copper docking amp, that is it lah brows.gif
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 04:45 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:42 PM)
Copper AK380 with Copper docking amp, that is it lah brows.gif
Not my taste wow, after look at the leather case, feel like I am too older already, maybe will be my choice of Cowon Plenue S feels more sexy to me brows.gif
shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 04:47 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 04:45 PM)
Not my taste wow, after look at the leather case, feel like I am too older already, maybe will be my choice of Cowon Plenue S feels more sexy to me brows.gif
Well if there is your choice, please buy the Cowon dock for Plenue S too

my next upgrade is slightly of different than others ---> Sony PCM-D100 laugh.gif
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 04:52 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:47 PM)

my next upgrade is slightly of different than others ---> Sony PCM-D100 laugh.gif
No lah, my next will be on the little bro, cowon plenue D laugh.gif

I won't invest too much on dap as well, I would rather than buy more IEMs thumbup.gif
crazycrazyman
post Feb 4 2016, 04:57 PM

What about that?
2,706 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 04:52 PM)

I won't invest too much on dap as well, I would rather than buy more IEMs thumbup.gif
Is Cowon plenue D good? how much is it?

shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 04:58 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 04:52 PM)

It is not even upgrade compared to AK100II, may on par of

I stop invest in IEM after I get my SE846
SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 05:03 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:58 PM)
It is not even upgrade compared to AK100II, may on par of

I stop invest in IEM after I get my SE846
He he, cause I need try to have more defferent sound signatures.

SUSkimsim
post Feb 4 2016, 05:04 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Feb 4 2016, 04:57 PM)
Is Cowon plenue D good? how much is it?
Below Rm1.3k can get already, the sound very warm and quite good quality with detailed than smart phones

Check with E1-AKG

This post has been edited by kimsim: Feb 4 2016, 05:14 PM
liquidgal
post Feb 4 2016, 05:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 4 2016, 04:17 PM)
I guess low end or jk junior level does not come with optical input
Yupe, AK JR doesn't come with digital out.

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:22 PM)

Not sure if you are referring to the audio quality (DAC/amp) of hp & DAP, or just the digital out quality.
To me, the former brings huge difference. The good quality of DAC amp in a DAP provides us good sound quality. This is also why audiophiles would upgrade to headfi quality DAC amp from onboard sound card and handphone.

The latter is more for audiophiles who find that DAP can no longer satisfy them and prefer to stack up with a better quality DAC amp, OR they want a better quality digital source than a handphone.

Of course, whether the difference is huge, it is really depends and it's subjective.

Using handphone as digital source, I would say iPhone is rather safe even though you have to spend a little bit more money on the camera kit / lightning cable. But in return, not so many compatibility issues like android, also the digital out quality is better than lots of android devices. My previous MI3 with Mojo is a disaster to me. It sounds better when I switch to Note 5 and iPhone.
But again, pairing Mojo with DAP such as N6 and ZX2 give me even greater surprise.

liquidgal
post Feb 4 2016, 05:48 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Feb 4 2016, 04:47 PM)

Sony D100 is a good choice. Strong amp and good details just that a bit bulky. Hai Wei used to owned a D50 for recording live performance.
shin2l
post Feb 4 2016, 06:52 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 4 2016, 05:44 PM)

Using handphone as digital source, I would say iPhone is rather safe even though you have to spend a little bit more money on the camera kit / lightning cable. But in return, not so many compatibility issues like android, also the digital out quality is better than lots of android devices. My previous MI3 with Mojo is a disaster to me. It sounds better when I switch to Note 5 and iPhone.
But again, pairing Mojo with DAP such as N6 and ZX2 give me even greater surprise.
I prefer standalone DAP, bcs i use it outdoor, when I am at home, I listen to desktop setup. Anyway, different people different preference mah, I am still against stacking, haha. laugh.gif

IOS is better in terms of digital source, at least not giving much compatible trouble like android

MI3 is disaster, it is part of my reason I bought AK100II.

Having Mojo + smartphone vs Mojo + DAP is more like personal preference and finance, i definitely wont go for stacking sweat.gif

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 4 2016, 05:48 PM)
Sony D100 is a good choice. Strong amp and good details just that a bit bulky. Hai Wei used to owned a D50 for recording live performance.
I am amazed by the DSD playback and the energetic sound by D100, but still it is very bulky compared to other DAP since it is a recorder.

Lets see someone has legendary D1 or not laugh.gif
Calvin kuek
post Feb 5 2016, 06:31 AM

119 posts

Best mp3 below rm700?
SUSkimsim
post Feb 5 2016, 07:34 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Calvin kuek @ Feb 5 2016, 06:31 AM)
Best mp3 below rm700?
Fiio X3ii
http://www.connect-it.com.sg/all/x3ii.html

61 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:00 AM