--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day

neocyke
post Feb 1 2012, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(fixgd @ Jan 30 2012, 10:38 PM)
yeah its direct from inside the cabin / steering wheel, not from outside
open steering column covers, see if anything is loose. if no, remove steering & clockspring assembly and check (best you can). reassemble if not the steering wheel or clockspring. and check down the column. pray hard sound not there cos if yes, it's either the bearings or the shaft inside.. either way : replace steering rack... doh.gif shocking.gif
andie le-ta
post Feb 1 2012, 02:13 AM

38 posts

hey guys~ need ur opinion~

since i bought my savvy,it really rawks but 1 thing i feel "xbest" is the car is lowered,maybe too much..when i drive over a bongol with 2 passenger,it will hit the sideskirt..
now im thinking of changing the tyres so that the car heigthen abit..so is it ok for me to do this?
jtdc
post Feb 1 2012, 08:02 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ Feb 1 2012, 02:13 AM)
hey guys~ need ur opinion~

since i bought my savvy,it really rawks but 1 thing i feel "xbest" is the car is lowered,maybe too much..when i drive over a bongol with 2 passenger,it will hit the sideskirt..
now im thinking of changing the tyres so that the car heigthen abit..so is it ok for me to do this?
best to have it reverted to its original springs. changing tires (except to smaller tires which is not recommended) will not cure, it may even exacerbate the problem.
andie le-ta
post Feb 1 2012, 01:07 PM

38 posts

oo..but if i change into bigger tyres or rims will it help heighten the car?
DaBestOne
post Feb 1 2012, 06:21 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ Feb 1 2012, 01:07 PM)
yes, higher profile tyres and bigger rims will slightly heighten your car smile.gif
jtdc
post Feb 2 2012, 09:31 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ Feb 1 2012, 01:07 PM)
yes it will heighten the car. but since its bigger the wheels will be more nearer to the metal (wheel wells) and when the car is loaded it they will contact and cause problems.

BTW i like to ask, any recommendation of:
1. car cover and where to buy?
2. where to go for interior detailing (this is not just the vacuuming ok)... thanks!

This post has been edited by jtdc: Feb 2 2012, 09:33 PM
eistern
post Feb 2 2012, 10:05 PM

113 posts

hi reporting in..wanna ask where can do leather seat cover for savvy in sabah??any1 know?
fixgd
post Feb 3 2012, 12:17 AM

3,882 posts

today my car spun 270 degrees on the flyover near the ldp puchong toll. luckily theres no car or motocycle around. i dont know its the tyre problem or what. using nct 5 goodyear, grip sucks when the road is wet. careful guys.
neocyke
post Feb 3 2012, 05:05 AM

QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 3 2012, 12:17 AM)
today my car spun 270 degrees on the flyover near the ldp puchong toll. luckily theres no car or motocycle around. i dont know its the tyre problem or what. using nct 5 goodyear, grip sucks when the road is wet. careful guys.
at a turn / kona? if yes, next time don't brake while cornering. the brakes got no abs (for older & lower models) and can easily lock causing you to spin. I already kena several times. And yes, NCT5 sucks big time. Go change when possible. All my spins kena when on NCT5. One time almost masuk hutan liao. Now on wider tires with better threads even cross water pool no problem, only very slight pull instead of nct's trademark pull like wanna accident..
fixgd
post Feb 3 2012, 06:46 AM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(neocyke @ Feb 3 2012, 05:05 AM)
at a turn / kona? if yes, next time don't brake while cornering. the brakes got no abs (for older & lower models) and can easily lock causing you to spin. I already kena several times. And yes, NCT5 sucks big time. Go change when possible. All my spins kena when on NCT5. One time almost masuk hutan liao. Now on wider tires with better threads even cross water pool no problem, only very slight pull instead of nct's trademark pull like wanna accident..
wah dont brake then how? i dont know how to drift woo. haha

what tire u suggest? CC5?
FlamingFox
post Feb 3 2012, 08:44 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

I bought wider tyres but that made my fc suffer. Using michelin xm2, not recommended coz cant make a full turn...d tyres will hit the arch.
fadzlie
post Feb 3 2012, 04:26 PM

99 posts

does CC5 compatible with 14" stock rim?
fixgd
post Feb 5 2012, 12:15 PM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(neocyke @ Jan 30 2012, 01:34 AM)
sound from inside cabin area (direct from steering wheel ) or sound from outside? Inside might be steering clockspring, outside would be front bearings. I'm banking more on the clockspring.

Added on January 30, 2012, 1:35 am
change to 15. 15" tyres easier to get compared to 14". Or downgrade to 13".. even easier but looks.. well.. it's 13".. haha
yeah indeed its the clockspring? how much is it? and it is very dangerous if i stall to that that clockspring?
ApeKG
post Feb 5 2012, 12:23 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 3 2012, 06:46 AM)
wah dont brake then how? i dont know how to drift woo. haha
what tire u suggest? CC5?
always brake/slow down before entering a corner. not during

This post has been edited by ApeKG: Feb 5 2012, 12:25 PM
fixgd
post Feb 5 2012, 12:25 PM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(ApeKG @ Feb 5 2012, 12:23 PM)
always brake/slow down before entering a corner. not during
haha now i know that. but i dont think i was going too fast that day. mayb around 60.

Added on February 6, 2012, 12:49 pmok done with changing the clockspring, total 145 with labor.

guys the mechanic checked my car and told me, that my clutch plate position is 41, and i have to change my clutch plate very fast, if not i risk of damaging my robotic arm too. is that true?

if it is, how much is the price of clutch plate and charge for changing it?

This post has been edited by fixgd: Feb 6 2012, 12:49 PM
FlamingFox
post Feb 7 2012, 02:24 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Anyone here installed a K&N filter? Can answer the following questions?

1. How much is it and where did you buy from?
2. Is there a notable improve in performance and in saving fuel?
3. Can I fit it in myself and how long would I take, if so?
4. Does it void the car's warranty?

Thanks!
SUSdantck
post Feb 7 2012, 07:46 AM

1,004 posts

Bro i got sell knn filters. drop in replacement 340 free post

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2170185&hl=

This post has been edited by dantck: Feb 7 2012, 07:47 AM
FlamingFox
post Feb 7 2012, 11:05 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(dantck @ Feb 7 2012, 07:46 AM)
Bro i got sell knn filters. drop in replacement 340 free post

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2170185&hl=
Haven't decided in buying it yet til I know the answer to my questions above. Thanks btw.
neocyke
post Feb 7 2012, 05:37 PM

@fixgd
Like apekkg said, brake as much as you can before entering a corner, drop gear if needed

Recommended tires? Dunno leh. I got no brand preference. Mine currently CS Sportcat5 185/55/15 front, cannot remember brand 195/50/15 rear. Works very well on any road condition & much better cornering. A lot more composed, no bodyroll feel. FC still maintain at 0.11-0.12c /km.

For clutch, mind telling how the mech checked? I don't recall seeing any numbers even through PDT. Clutch kit will set you back around RM250-450 minus labor.

@fadzlie
No idea. Never used CC5.

@ffox
1. dantck already answer
2. any hi-flow filter will give slight improvement. FC will drop initially but go back to normal once the ECU re-calibrates the AF mix
3. max about 30mins if you already know how to remove the airbox..
4. nope
fixgd
post Feb 7 2012, 08:24 PM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(neocyke @ Feb 7 2012, 05:37 PM)
@fixgd
Like apekkg said, brake as much as you can before entering a corner, drop gear if needed

Recommended tires? Dunno leh. I got no brand preference. Mine currently CS Sportcat5 185/55/15 front, cannot remember brand 195/50/15 rear. Works very well on any road condition & much better cornering. A lot more composed, no bodyroll feel. FC still maintain at 0.11-0.12c  /km.

For clutch, mind telling how the mech checked? I don't recall seeing any numbers even through PDT. Clutch kit will set you back around RM250-450 minus labor.

@fadzlie
No idea. Never used CC5.

@ffox
1. dantck already answer
2. any hi-flow filter will give slight improvement. FC will drop initially but go back to normal once the ECU re-calibrates the AF mix
3. max about 30mins if you already know how to remove the airbox..
4. nope
he used the computer, connected to the wire under the steering, dono how la. seems legit. haha

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0182sec    1.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:15 PM