Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v3, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jan 18 2012, 07:07 AM) This is why people associate Jailbreaking with piracy  And I was soooooo happy because the first 98 posts were very very clean ..... aiyoooooo. People jailbreak so that we can do a lot more with the iPhone than be restricted to what Apple think you should do with your iPhone. SBSettings, remove BG, Winterboard for Themes and Customisation and so forth. Most of the Cydia (or the best Cydia tweaks) are free but some are like the app store as well, you have to pay which you can and you should via Paypal. If you can afford a 2K++ device, there is no excuse for not being able to pay for tweaks/apps that you use.
work_tgr
Jan 18 2012, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 18 2012, 11:49 AM) Noob question: What can u do with jailbreak anyway? ...other than the obvious free stuff. This was my question few weeks ago. I get the answer after jailbroke. Obviously, iphone without jailbreak is so plain.
King83
Jan 18 2012, 01:29 PM
Can show some of the customized screenshot?
figure8
Jan 18 2012, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 18 2012, 01:29 PM) Can show some of the customized screenshot? http://mycolorscreen.com/?os=ios
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 02:23 PM
There's a thread in this section about customization of the lockscreen and themes.
Japp
Jan 18 2012, 02:40 PM
hi guys,
i know this is kinda old question, but still wanna know, how do i backup everything(cydia apps,apps and contacts) before i update to 5.0.1 ? Any details?
and btw, here's one of my situation, i reformat my pc and for sure all my settings is gone. Will my contacts and photos and sms will sync to the newly reformat pc or will it be just gone? Thanks sifu sifu sekalian.
cheers.
This post has been edited by Japp: Jan 18 2012, 02:40 PM
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 02:50 PM
1. Install iTunes, the latest version. 2. Go to iTunes Preferences and under devices make sure you deselect automatically sync iPad, iPhone, iPod 3. Connect your iPhone 4. Right Hand click on your iPhone and select Backup. This will backup you Settings, Contacts, SMS etc etc but not Apps (I don't believe so) 5. Right Hand click your iPhone and select Transfer Purchases. This will transfer all your iPhone Apps to iTunes
You should be able to restore your iPhone to 5.0.1 now
Your Cydia Apps will not be backed up and will not be automatically restored unless you have a tweak called aptbackup (only backed up the list of tweaks you have o iTunes and not the actual tweak itsef) or pkgbackup (backs up the actual tweak either to dropbox etc but I have never managed to get it to work).
Once you restore and jailbreak, you can then restore your backup and re-sync your apps.
Japp
Jan 18 2012, 02:55 PM
Thanks bro =)
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 03:49 PM
No problem bro. You may also need to authorize the computer or something like that so check the iTunes menu to Authorize the computer with your Apple ID or something like that.
kahjye
Jan 18 2012, 03:56 PM
damn lah..ipod2g stopped updating his blog for 2 days already since he posted the video about ip4s untethered jailbreak. so damn desperate of me
xphossis
Jan 18 2012, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(kahjye @ Jan 18 2012, 03:56 PM) damn lah..ipod2g stopped updating his blog for 2 days already since he posted the video about ip4s untethered jailbreak. so damn desperate of me  it's pod2g not i pod2g LOL
kahjye
Jan 18 2012, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Jan 18 2012, 04:19 PM) it's pod2g not i pod2g LOL  silly me lol. im sorry , but you do get the message
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 05:54 PM
The jailbreak will be released when it's ready to be released. No use waiting for it and checking the website everyday. Added on January 18, 2012, 6:47 pmHere's some breaking news from iClarified for those with Locked 4s sets QUOTE Contrary to many reports, iPhone 4S owners hoping for a future unlock should not update to iOS 5.0.1 but instead stay on iOS 5.0 to maximize their chances of an unlock.
MuscleNerd has confirmed to iClarified that an untethered iPhone 4S jailbreak for iOS 5.0 will be released at the same time as the iOS 5.0.1 jailbreak, or a day or two later. As always, for those looking to unlock, it is standard operating procedure to stay at the lowest possible baseband.
In fact, its recommended that those already on iOS 5.0.1 should check their build number and downgrade from build 9A406 to 9A405 while Apple is still signing both builds. Due to differences in the basebands, its more likely that an unlock will be found for the earlier build than the later. You can find direct firmware download links here.
We can't guarantee an unlock will be found for iOS 5.0. However, in November MuscleNerd revealed that an unlock was looking 'very promising' and was able to use an exploit to dump the baseband bootrom. However, it's not clear if or when an unlock based on that exploit will materialize.
For more updates you can follow us on Twitter, Facebook, RSS, or check out the new iClarified menu bar app. This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 18 2012, 06:47 PM
edmundlah
Jan 18 2012, 07:43 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 05:54 PM) The jailbreak will be released when it's ready to be released. No use waiting for it and checking the website everyday. Added on January 18, 2012, 6:47 pmHere's some breaking news from iClarified for those with Locked 4s sets Wow.. sounds like good news for me?
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(edmundlah @ Jan 18 2012, 02:43 PM) Wow.. sounds like good news for me?  Looks like it. Based on @musclenerd info from iClarified, it looks like the 5.0.1 jailbreak will work for 5.0 for the 4s so sit tight with 5.0 and let's hope that musclenerd is able to unlock 4.11.08 for the 4s. I'm a bit confused about the "downgrade" the build stuff coz once you upgrade the baseband in the new build, 9A406 has a newer baseband (01.0.14) as compared to 9A405 build which has 1.0.13 baseband. As far as I know you cannot downgrade a baseband ...
DE.si.MON
Jan 18 2012, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 07:48 PM) Looks like it. Based on @musclenerd info from iClarified, it looks like the 5.0.1 jailbreak will work for 5.0 for the 4s so sit tight with 5.0 and let's hope that musclenerd is able to unlock 4.11.08 for the 4s. I'm a bit confused about the "downgrade" the build stuff coz once you upgrade the baseband in the new build, 9A406 has a newer baseband (01.0.14) as compared to 9A405 build which has 1.0.13 baseband. As far as I know you cannot downgrade a baseband ... wont hurt to try. since both also 5.0.1, can try using the old build to see if the baseband can be revert to 01.0.13 if apple still sign both the ios build, you might be able to sign the old build baseband as well. Added on January 18, 2012, 7:54 pmtry get the old tiny umbrella and see if you can download the old shsh for 4s on 5.0.1 This post has been edited by DE.si.MON: Jan 18 2012, 07:56 PM
edmundlah
Jan 18 2012, 08:02 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 07:48 PM) Looks like it. Based on @musclenerd info from iClarified, it looks like the 5.0.1 jailbreak will work for 5.0 for the 4s so sit tight with 5.0 and let's hope that musclenerd is able to unlock 4.11.08 for the 4s. I'm a bit confused about the "downgrade" the build stuff coz once you upgrade the baseband in the new build, 9A406 has a newer baseband (01.0.14) as compared to 9A405 build which has 1.0.13 baseband. As far as I know you cannot downgrade a baseband ... I'm having a 1.0.11 baseband on 5.0 So i should just stick to this right?
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(edmundlah @ Jan 18 2012, 03:02 PM) I'm having a 1.0.11 baseband on 5.0 So i should just stick to this right?  Sorry for the confusion, yes the iPhone 4s on firmware 5.0 have 1.0.11 baseband so stick with that baseband. I wonder why I kept thinking that 5.0 has 4.11.08 baseband. Added on January 18, 2012, 8:13 pmI've added another link in the OP for a nice Firmware & Baseband information Table that I found from theiphone wiki site. This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 18 2012, 08:13 PM
work_tgr
Jan 18 2012, 08:38 PM
I installed toggle "push" in sbsettings. Funny thing is after I turn off "push" in the notification screen then I check again, to my surprise "push" is still turned on. I tried many times, it is still the same.
I think "notification" in the setting was crashed by other tweaks ....
TSazraeil
Jan 18 2012, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(work_tgr @ Jan 18 2012, 03:38 PM) I installed toggle "push" in sbsettings. Funny thing is after I turn off "push" in the notification screen then I check again, to my surprise "push" is still turned on. I tried many times, it is still the same. I think "notification" in the setting was crashed by other tweaks .... It could be that it's not compatible with iOS 5.0.1, I've had a couple of tweaks that does that and most of the time it's a compatibility issue.