Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v3, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 12:23 AM

294 posts

I'm still using 5.0 on my 4S, should i upgrade to 5.01 while waiting for the jb?

Also my 4S is simlocked. Can the jailbreak make my 4S a sim free device?
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 08:38 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 01:03 AM)
Stay on 5.0 if your unit is simlocked. Musclenerd is working on baseband 4.11.08 for the 4s which is only on 5.0, 5.0.1 uses a different baseband.

I am not sure though if the upcoming jailbreak will work on 5.0
In order to open my sim lock i have to preserve my baseband? But if the jb is out and it doesn't support 5.0 then only i do the upgrade?
Okay. Thanks for the advise Azraeil. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 17, 2012, 8:40 am
QUOTE(ab0y88 @ Jan 17 2012, 02:29 AM)
what azraiel said is true.
if u dont want to miss out the JB, update to 5.0.1.
we dont know if upcoming JB will support 5.0 or not.
they didnt give us much info about the JB. sigh
Yes, but i can't risk losing my baseband and unable to open the simlock as according to Azraiel sweat.gif

This post has been edited by edmundlah: Jan 17 2012, 08:40 AM
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 12:27 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 11:35 AM)
Yes, you are in a tricky situation. How are you using it now by the way?

Whatever it is, just connect your 4s to TinyUmbrella and save the SHSH for 5.0.1 while Apple is still signing it. Maybe the dev team will find a way to use the SHSH in the future.

You don't need to upgrade to 5.0.1 to save the SHSH

Added on January 17, 2012, 11:37 am
If you have Cydia installed and you have ultrasn0w as a tweak, then your iPhone is sim locked.

If you cannot use any other simcard other than the AT&T or etc etc.

All iPhone sold by Maxis/Digi/Celcom and Apple store Malaysia is sim free
Am using it like an iPod for now.

Haven't use tiny umbrella before. I'll search the web for it and try to back up my SHSH

Thanks again.

edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 05:27 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 12:39 PM)
Then you definitely just need to stay on 5.0 and wait for the unlock for 4.11.08 baseband for the 4s.

Download the latest tinyumbrella and just connect your iPhone and press save SHSH. It will save the small blobs (6-7kb in size) to your local drive.
Oh no!! Tiny umbrella says :-

For version [iPhone4S 5.0.1 (9A405)] - This device isn't eligible for the requested build.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.1b2 (9B5127c) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.1b1 (9B5117b) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.0.1b (9A406) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.0 (9A334) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.1b3 (9B5141a) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

CYDIA DOES NOT HAVE YOUR SHSH FOR iPhone4S 5.0.1 (9A405) THERE IS NO WAY FOR YOU TO GET THEM. SORRY. YOU ARE JUST TOO LATE.

Am i doomed? rclxub.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 05:34 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Jan 17 2012, 05:29 PM)
get the latest tinyumbrella, your SHSH for ios5.0.1 should be 9A406.
So I should just uninstall the current one and find the latest one and try again?

Added on January 17, 2012, 5:35 pmThe one i am currently using right now is tinyumbrella-5.10.06

This post has been edited by edmundlah: Jan 17 2012, 05:35 PM
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 05:53 PM

294 posts

1.Set host to Cydia on exit?

2.Request SHSH from Cydia

which one should i uncheck?
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 06:18 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 06:10 PM)
Do not check any of those options. TU should just get it from Apple for the 4s.
Unchecked all available option or just the 2 i mentioned on earlier post?
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 08:31 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 06:21 PM)
Yes, make sure those options are unchecked.
Done! The only prompt saying that apple does not signing anymore is the 5.0 and 5.1b1

Does it make a difference for me? hmm.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 08:53 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 08:39 PM)
No. It means that you will not be able to downgrade to 5.0 (should you ever upgrade your 4s) etc.
Okay, now i sit and wait.. hopefully my iPod 4S can become iPhone 4S soon.. sweat.gif

Thanks again Azraeil... thumbup.gif

edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 09:05 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 08:53 PM)
Sweet .... too bad I'm on the 4s right now. Hoping the JB for the 4s will be out soon

Added on January 17, 2012, 8:54 pm

Good luck. Now tell us again why you bought a locked set? Must be super cheap Heh heh heh ...
Yeah.. my cousin from US renewed his contract with AT&T but he didn't need the 4S so I asked him to get it for me for USD399 for the 64GB smile.gif

Didn't realized that cracking the sim lock was so complicated.. doh.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 17 2012, 09:29 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 17 2012, 09:24 PM)
Jailbreaking is easier than unlocking the phone. The last baseband that can be unlocked was the 01.59 for the iPhone 4 and that was like 18 months ago. It's also because a lot of hackers are concentrating on jailbreaking and not the unlocking.
Yeah.. fingers crossed. Hopefully the unlocking for the 4S will be soon.. notworthy.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 18 2012, 09:26 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Jan 17 2012, 11:10 PM)
For now u could wait for new unlock "very long" or wait gevey sim "expensive".

Total spending for gevey sim + lock set = possible get new unlock set.
Hopefully i don't have to.. doh.gif

Added on January 18, 2012, 9:27 am
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 03:47 AM)
Gevey ultra is about 150 ringgit right? It's not out for the 4s yet though.
Eh? If this price can buy oh.. still consider cheap biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by edmundlah: Jan 18 2012, 09:27 AM
edmundlah
post Jan 18 2012, 07:43 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 05:54 PM)
The jailbreak will be released when it's ready to be released. No use waiting for it and checking the website everyday.

Added on January 18, 2012, 6:47 pmHere's some breaking news from iClarified for those with Locked 4s sets
Wow.. sounds like good news for me? nod.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 18 2012, 08:02 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 07:48 PM)
Looks like it. Based on @musclenerd info from iClarified, it looks like the 5.0.1 jailbreak will work for 5.0 for the 4s so sit tight with 5.0 and let's hope that musclenerd is able to unlock 4.11.08 for the 4s.

I'm a bit confused about the "downgrade" the build stuff coz once you upgrade the baseband in the new build, 9A406 has a newer baseband (01.0.14) as compared to 9A405 build which has 1.0.13 baseband. As far as I know you cannot downgrade a baseband ...
I'm having a 1.0.11 baseband on 5.0 So i should just stick to this right? sweat.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 18 2012, 09:45 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 18 2012, 08:11 PM)
Sorry for the confusion, yes the iPhone 4s on firmware 5.0 have 1.0.11 baseband so stick with that baseband. I wonder why I kept thinking that 5.0 has 4.11.08 baseband.

Added on January 18, 2012, 8:13 pmI've added another link in the OP for a nice Firmware & Baseband information Table that I found from theiphone wiki site.
Haha... Worries bro. Am waiting eagerly now...
edmundlah
post Jan 21 2012, 11:28 PM

294 posts

Hey guys,

Does anyone know if the jailbreak for the 4S can also break the sim lock?
edmundlah
post Jan 21 2012, 11:41 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(rizfield @ Jan 21 2012, 11:30 PM)
jailbreak n unlock is two different thing

this just jailbreak not unlock if not mistaken

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:31 pm

should be
i prefer backup to pc coz faster to restore

this imo la smile.gif
So i can jailbreak first? then do the unlock when it comes out? Coz I'm not sure if i should jailbreak first before unlocking or the other way around? rclxub.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 22 2012, 12:04 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(rizfield @ Jan 21 2012, 11:44 PM)
i assume u r holding a locked set
and currently just using it like ipod
is it?

to apply software based unlock like ultrasnow, yes you need to jailbreak first

unless u opt to hardware based unlock like gevey sim

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:48 pmplease read iphone-dev blog on unlock

if not mistaken u must only use 405 firmware if not mistaken

better wait for others pros to rectify
Yep.. using it like an iPod now. cry.gif

Thanks for the tips.

Azreail where fort art thou? sweat.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 22 2012, 12:38 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 22 2012, 12:35 AM)
Wahhh I leave for 3 hours and the thread exploded by another 150 posts ... susah mahu follow.

edmundlah ... you MUST NOT restore your iPhone, You must stick to 5.0 so the restore option that people mentioned does not apply to you.

It is better f you have a Mac but if you do not have a Mac, you can either wait for the Windows GUI version to come out soon (probably later tonight or early tomorrow morning) or you can try the Command Line Interface (that's what the CLI stands for and apparently a lot of people find it quite easy to do). The instruction can be found via some of the post in Page 19 (my post) or Page 20-21 which is a bit clearer. I'll see if I can post some guide from iClarified for the CLI method.

This will only jailbreak your iPhone 4s in 5.0 (again, I must stress that you must not upgrade to 5.0.1 even with 9A405 build). You will still need to wait for Musclenerd to release the unlock which I'm sure he will once the jailbreak is out.
Wokay! Noted! Thanks for your fast reply bro.. thumbup.gif

Think I'll wait out for the Windows GUI since if i jailbreak now, I still can't use it as a phone.. doh.gif
edmundlah
post Jan 22 2012, 12:46 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 22 2012, 12:44 AM)
Yes, I'd recommend you wait for the Windows GUI since it will still be an iPod even if you jailbreak it using CLI.
hahaha.. yeah, you're so right! doh.gif

0.0455sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:22 PM