126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

toytoybuysell
post May 8 2012, 03:53 PM

128 posts

No one mention bout sandisk ssd ultras??
fixgd
post May 8 2012, 04:16 PM

3,882 posts

guys i just replaced my hdd with ssd, but i couldnt find the ahci option in the bios how aa?
just install my windows 1st?
azizul1975
post May 8 2012, 04:28 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ May 8 2012, 04:16 PM)
guys i just replaced my hdd with ssd, but i couldnt find the ahci option in the bios how aa?
just install my windows 1st?
it should be under SATA option, where you have to select the SATA mode and make it AHCI.
fixgd
post May 8 2012, 04:30 PM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(azizul1975 @ May 8 2012, 04:28 PM)
it should be under SATA option, where you have to select the SATA mode and make it AHCI.
someone just told me this is for pc? for laptop how leh? like no SATA option also?
post May 8 2012, 09:14 PM

912 posts

http://hothardware.com/News/OCZ-Boosts-Ver...hes-64GB-Model/

Here's a look at how it breaks down when applying the new firmware:

128GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
128GB Max Write: 200MB/s --> 420MB/s
256GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
256GB Max Write: 380MB/s --> 465MB/s
512GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
512GB Max Write: 475MB/s --> 475MB/s

So my question is: is the 128gb vertex4 better than 128gb samsung 830 now?
the seq write is faster, and the iops is higher right?
what about the overall?
ronaldjoe
post May 8 2012, 10:00 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 8 2012, 09:14 PM)
http://hothardware.com/News/OCZ-Boosts-Ver...hes-64GB-Model/

Here's a look at how it breaks down when applying the new firmware:

128GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    128GB Max Write: 200MB/s --> 420MB/s
    256GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    256GB Max Write: 380MB/s --> 465MB/s
    512GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    512GB Max Write: 475MB/s --> 475MB/s

So my question is: is the 128gb vertex4 better than 128gb samsung 830 now?
the seq write is faster, and the iops is higher right?
what about the overall?
Good news. Will update firmware when a stable version is released. thumbup.gif
SSJBen
post May 8 2012, 10:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

There's a review of the firmware 1.4RC for the Vertex 4 on Guru3D - http://www.guru3d.com/article/ocz-vertex-4...fw-14rc-review/

Huge gains in write speeds which is always a good thing.
kennytsh
post May 8 2012, 11:59 PM

250 posts

Hi guys, plan to grab a 120gb SSD with the budget of 450...
any recommendation in term of reliability and performance?
fixgd
post May 9 2012, 12:02 AM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(kennytsh @ May 8 2012, 11:59 PM)
Hi guys, plan to grab a 120gb SSD with the budget of 450...
any recommendation in term of reliability and performance?
u wont go wrong with crucial m4. look for ronaldjoe or cyntrixtech

btw this is my test.

is the speed ok?

HP DM1-3206AU
AMD E-350, 4GB RAM
128GB CRUCIAL M4 SSD

i dont know this is sata 2 or 3. and even i dont know if the ahci is enabled or not, because cant find the option in bios (*read somewhere that HP disabled it for DM1)

This post has been edited by fixgd: May 9 2012, 12:08 AM
bombayspeed
post May 9 2012, 12:37 AM

173 posts

hi all sifu,

here is my ssd benchmark result which already serve me for 2 years.

Previously was install on my laptop den move to Desktop. so far so good and very happy with it

Asus p8z68 V-PRO Gen 3

i7 2700k

Crucial C300 128GB (Firmware = 0007)

xtreme~~
post May 9 2012, 12:42 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ May 9 2012, 12:02 AM)

i dont know this is sata 2 or 3. and even i dont know if the ahci is enabled or not, because cant find the option in bios (*read somewhere that HP disabled it for DM1)
thinking of upgrading my DM1 to SSD too. may i ask how's the speed, how long does it take to boot into windows 7? hmm.gif
fixgd
post May 9 2012, 04:47 AM

3,882 posts

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ May 9 2012, 12:42 AM)
thinking of upgrading my DM1 to SSD too. may i ask how's the speed, how long does it take to boot into windows 7? hmm.gif
i only can get 30++ seconds. any anyone suggest optimization ssd for laptop?
cybersans
post May 9 2012, 08:03 AM

319 posts

flashing the ssd firmware with a new one won't disturb the data/partition inside the ssd memory, right?
bombayspeed
post May 9 2012, 09:21 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ May 9 2012, 08:03 AM)
flashing the ssd firmware with a new one won't disturb the data/partition inside the ssd memory, right?
I strongly recommended u backup all your important data b4 u update newer firmware incase updating fail and your ssd bricked.
phoenixxx
post May 9 2012, 10:59 AM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

Sifus,

planning to replace the faulty HDD in my ASUS G53SX with a SSD. i've done some research and have decided on the crucial M4, and saw 2 main sellers in lowyat (beetle and cynrix)

So far I think beetle's prices are lowest (deciding between 128gb or 256gb)

Price: 64gb / 128gb / 256gb / 512gb RM 260/420/750/1820 Crucial

any comments? I'm not sure if my ASUS G53SX can do the AHCI mode thing although i'm 80% sure i've somehow seen the option before...

anything else I need to know before taking the plunge? how can I check if the TRIM feature will work on my lappy (heard its a very important feature)?
bombayspeed
post May 9 2012, 12:46 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 9 2012, 10:59 AM)
Sifus,

planning to replace the faulty HDD in my ASUS G53SX with a SSD. i've done some research and have decided on the crucial M4, and saw 2 main sellers in lowyat (beetle and cynrix)

any comments? I'm not sure if my ASUS G53SX can do the AHCI mode thing although i'm 80% sure i've somehow seen the option before...

anything else I need to know before taking the plunge? how can I check if the TRIM feature will work on my lappy (heard its a very important feature)?
if u install lots of program, i suggest u to get 128GB or more

U can also try Intel 520 or Vertex 4

For ASUS G53SX, im not sure about ACHI mode

to check TRIM status, run "Command Prompt" with Administrator privilege

and type "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify". 0 = TRIM enable
LotsaFuns
post May 9 2012, 02:57 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 9 2012, 10:59 AM)
Sifus,

Last time i use OCZ Vertex 2 for my Asus N53SN and Sager NP8170 laptop without any problem. If you install many games i would suggest go for 256GB.
phoenixxx
post May 9 2012, 03:12 PM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

will probably keep installed those MP games like steam games (l4d, tf2, dota, etc), d3,

other games will install and delete after finish.

programs will be mostly maintenance like ccleaner...

songs, vids etc will be in 2nd HDD (my laptop can fit 2 HDDs) and ext.

128gb should be good rite? + windows + updates
bombayspeed
post May 9 2012, 03:29 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 9 2012, 03:12 PM)
will probably keep installed those MP games like steam games (l4d, tf2, dota, etc), d3,

other games will install and delete after finish.

programs will be mostly maintenance like ccleaner...

songs, vids etc will be in 2nd HDD (my laptop can fit 2 HDDs) and ext.

128gb should be good rite? + windows + updates
yeah 128gb enough for u
fixgd
post May 9 2012, 03:30 PM

3,882 posts

any comment for my speed? is the speed indicates that mine is sata 2?

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:43 PM