The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

ronaldjoe
post Apr 8 2012, 09:09 AM

3,569 posts

I believe Beetle's unit are from SG. It shouldn't be difficult to RMA to local SG dealer by himself as he frequents SG. thumbup.gif

OT: I got my AV equipment from him. My gang have had no problem sending faulty unit for warranty.
ronaldjoe
post Apr 8 2012, 11:10 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Apr 8 2012, 10:09 AM)
Crucial M4 is way pricier at Singapore
I was not aware that price in SG more expensive. How much is the street price?
Looking at it, beetle's price is really cheap

Added on April 8, 2012, 11:13 am
QUOTE(fixgd @ Apr 8 2012, 09:58 AM)
nah beetle did said that for m4 need to send to us, for corsair is taiwan or something like that. if singapore, its almost the same with local warranty.
Not sure on that. Crucial need rma?I m considering bringing in some.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Apr 8 2012, 11:25 AM
ronaldjoe
post Apr 11 2012, 03:53 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Apr 11 2012, 02:50 PM)
haha not only computer hardware, u should say all IT retailing in malaysia is like doing charity alrdy =). believe it or not selling 1 DSLR and u dun even hav 1% margin  mad.gif
Selling 1 DSLR say amounting to rm3k and not even has a margin of 1% ie rm30?! That's crazy!

Added on April 11, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(300thecat @ Apr 11 2012, 12:58 PM)
Yeah, did some research online too. Everyone is calling the 330 a 'budget' SSD and might be released on Friday.

Maybe massive price drops of the 320 too to make way for the 330? Haha.
What ssd is that? Intel 320?

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Apr 11 2012, 03:53 PM
ronaldjoe
post Apr 24 2012, 09:09 AM

3,569 posts

Change to high performance profile in windows Power option.
ronaldjoe
post Apr 28 2012, 10:47 AM

3,569 posts

Interesting link, how could it be done? 6 sec to boot is bloody fast.
ronaldjoe
post May 3 2012, 11:17 PM

3,569 posts

An SSD is far more reliable than an HDD too.
ronaldjoe
post May 8 2012, 10:00 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 8 2012, 09:14 PM)
http://hothardware.com/News/OCZ-Boosts-Ver...hes-64GB-Model/

Here's a look at how it breaks down when applying the new firmware:

128GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    128GB Max Write: 200MB/s --> 420MB/s
    256GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    256GB Max Write: 380MB/s --> 465MB/s
    512GB Max Read: 535MB/s --> 550MB/s
    512GB Max Write: 475MB/s --> 475MB/s

So my question is: is the 128gb vertex4 better than 128gb samsung 830 now?
the seq write is faster, and the iops is higher right?
what about the overall?
Good news. Will update firmware when a stable version is released. thumbup.gif
ronaldjoe
post May 15 2012, 12:39 AM

3,569 posts

Here is speed test on Vertex 4 128Gb 1.4RC
I see my speed is being capped down by my mobo...

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: May 15 2012, 09:30 AM
ronaldjoe
post Jun 9 2012, 11:50 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 9 2012, 11:09 AM)
Thanks for sharing!
ronaldjoe
post Aug 15 2012, 07:28 AM

3,569 posts

Enable TRIM for All SSD’s in Mac OS X Lion

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/03/enable-trim...-mac-os-x-lion/
ronaldjoe
post Aug 15 2012, 08:19 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Aug 14 2012, 07:23 PM)
You will need to clone the data first, from old HDD to new SSD, kingston and curcial SSD upgrade kit bundled cloning software iirc. im using the Kingston one, very easy to use yet powerful.
Unless you wanna start new OS from scratch.

And no, iirc you cannot switch directly from IDE/SATA/RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS, you wont be able to boot after that, windows will gives you a lovely bluescreen.
its tricky though, i've tried that(upgrading SSD firmware).
Unless your mobo has 2 different SATA controller, eg intel native sata port and 3rd party like Marvell, Jmicron ect.

I can write down the step by step though.
Use acronis true image. Easily available.

0.0438sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:42 AM