Unifi TP-Link TL-WR1043ND, with Custom Unifi firmware

blindbox
post Apr 27 2012, 08:33 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Apr 24 2012, 12:14 PM)
err... I think you get some of the stuff wrong here.. Let me start from the scratch...

there's actually 1 problem arise that made me switch to Openwrt, which is I can't access to my unit URL after a certain period of time which is very inconsistent whereas it can range from 30mins to 3 days(the max i get). For the forum it seem like it's a command problem for tplink firmware (UNIFI ver only?) since they are some members getting the same effect, and I got 2 unit of 1043 which runs on different location too facing this problem. Hence I switch to Openwrt. I've install the stock from blindbox first trunk edition, and it's working like a charm for more than 2 months, and i can access to my unit URL whenever I want even after 1 months or 2 months running it 24/7. Only recently the disconnection from WAN (PPPoE) keep arising. Once it's disconnected, I can't do anything as you can see from my previous post, it shows a (?) sign. I need to pull and re-connected back the WAN to get the link up. It's very annoying when this happen so many times when I was gaming. So the next thing I do is upgrade to backfire. *** I only know that I can upgrade from openwrt firmware to openwrt and not install the full, so i just upgraded it, but I still faced the same problem, and I switch to blindbox latest trunk and still the same.

I got no choice but to revert back my firmware to tplink stock, and just within 2 hrs the connection drop again. But then i rebooted my whole units and the connection is up till now which is 2 days with the same IP without any problem, but I am suspecting a disconnection very very soon smile.gif

my tplink is just pure router switch wireless usage. I don't plug in usb and setup a print server. I got a hw NAS which is configure with transmission and can support Raid0/1 and running on giga speed.
just in-case u cant find the image.. i will just repost it with the log on Openwrt

**** the image shown is before i unplug the WAN connection..

The link just drop like tat.. and look at the log..
Seem like my unit cannot find any active link and just terminate the whole connection
The last time I had this problem was that it's unifi's fault not the router's. My connection has been rock-stable though.

What do you mean by 'unplugging' the WAN connection? did you take out the cable on the router and put it back in, or did you plug out the fiber wire from the modem and put it back in? Lack of info here methinks. There's always the probability of you getting a bad unit.

Speaking of which then, I'm going to write a mini-guide on how to revert back to factory firmware soon.
ckboon
post Apr 27 2012, 09:00 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 27 2012, 08:33 AM)
The last time I had this problem was that it's unifi's fault not the router's. My connection has been rock-stable though.

What do you mean by 'unplugging' the WAN connection? did you take out the cable on the router and put it back in, or did you plug out the fiber wire from the modem and put it back in? Lack of info here methinks. There's always the probability of you getting a bad unit.

Speaking of which then, I'm going to write a mini-guide on how to revert back to factory firmware soon.
i will uplug the WAN connection from tplink 1043ND and then plug it back again.

how did u resolve this problem last time? call up unifi? I an actually suspecting unifi fault since I've tested on so many different firmware and still getting the same problem. And I am planning to put in the DLINK if my last connection disconnected, but today is the 4th day and the unit is still up.

Anyway, I will reflash back to OPENWRT once you uploaded ur latest trunk.

cheer..

Added on April 27, 2012, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(ckboon @ Apr 27 2012, 09:00 AM)
i will uplug the WAN connection from tplink 1043ND and then plug it back again.

how did u resolve this problem last time? call up unifi? I an actually suspecting unifi fault since I've tested on so many different firmware and still getting the same problem. And I am planning to put in the DLINK if my last connection disconnected, but today is the 4th day and the unit is still up.

Anyway, I will reflash back to OPENWRT once you uploaded ur latest trunk.

cheer..
just to add on how i reflash back to stock..

just download any official firmware from tplink filename must contain the word "up". Then just flash it back like how we flash from stock to openwrt.

That's how i do.

This post has been edited by ckboon: Apr 27 2012, 02:04 PM
sakurazaka
post Apr 27 2012, 04:08 PM

22 posts

^If it's UNIFI problem it doesn't really explain why you're unable to login to the router though.

I take it you did clear NVRAM before and after every flash right?
ckboon
post Apr 27 2012, 04:19 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(sakurazaka @ Apr 27 2012, 04:08 PM)
^If it's UNIFI problem it doesn't really explain why you're unable to login to the router though.

I take it you did clear NVRAM before and after every flash right?
-.-

the login page problem is definitely tplink fault..

what i am referring to is the WAN lose connection in a sudden.
cannavaro
post Apr 27 2012, 07:41 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 27 2012, 12:47 AM)

Anyways despite the issues I still purchased another 2 units of 1043ND (pre-flashed with Unifi firmware) recently to be the gateway for another 2 Unifi accounts. Replaced the antennas with TL-ANT2408C (8dBi) as well.
Got them up and running today and gonna post my findings, if any.
Bloody hell, I can't login to one router already! (I have turned off the other one earlier due to some non related issue)
The older one however (used as an AP and not gateway) is fine... for now.
sakurazaka
post Apr 27 2012, 10:53 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ Apr 27 2012, 04:19 PM)
-.-

the login page problem is definitely tplink fault..
what i am referring to is the WAN lose connection in a sudden.
Could be Telekom or could be TP-Link. Did you try swapping back with the default router given by Telekom for monitoring?
ckboon
post Apr 27 2012, 11:00 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(sakurazaka @ Apr 27 2012, 10:53 PM)
Could be Telekom or could be TP-Link. Did you try swapping back with the default router given by Telekom for monitoring?
i am still waiting for the disconnection, but till now it's still connected, so i am still waiting.. lol..

if everything goes good for a week i can conclude it's unifi problem

debbierowe
post Apr 28 2012, 10:04 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

EUREKA!!!!!!!! I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!! wireless n lan both working. now testing torrent client
cannavaro
post Apr 28 2012, 01:10 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(sakurazaka @ Apr 27 2012, 10:53 PM)
Regarding the unable to login issue, I am pretty sure it's not TM's fault because there is no such problem on WR841ND (I use 2 of them on two VIP20 accounts) and TM's DIR615.
If the problem is from TM's end, surely the problem won't exist when I use the 1043ND as a mere AP and not gateway.

Anyways I just turned on the other new 1043ND that I mentioned earlier. Connection is up and running but no one will be using it... gonna see how it goes.

This is the setup of the other 1043ND that is having the login problem:
1043ND (gateway) <----wired----> WA901ND (AP)
<----wired----> WA901ND (AP)

Setup of the older units:
WR841ND (gateway) <---wired----> 1043ND (AP)
<----wired----> WA901ND (AP)
*The same setup applies to another floor, both have had the login problem but so far I've yet to encounter them again. Uptime however is not impressive, most of the time I checked, less than 1 day... sweat.gif this is because I told the users to restart the router if there is a connection problem.
ckboon
post Apr 28 2012, 03:15 PM

458 posts

5th days, and I am still using the same ext IP. hmm... only tat i can't login to 1043 config page.
sooooloooong
post Apr 29 2012, 01:48 PM

Hello all,

I have manage to set up my TL-WR1043ND on OpenWRT and it is all working properly when connecting the IPTV directly to the said router.

The problem I am having now is I have only one (CAT 5E, CAT 6??) cable running from upper floor to lower floor and I have a media player which also require a direct connection to the router.

I am thinking of alternative connection making use of the original router (DIR-615) as shown in the schematic below.

How could I configure the 2 routers to work as above?

Help appreciated.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by sooooloooong: Apr 29 2012, 02:09 PM
ckboon
post Apr 29 2012, 03:32 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(sooooloooong @ Apr 29 2012, 01:48 PM)
Hello all,

I have manage to set up my TL-WR1043ND on OpenWRT and it is all working properly when connecting the IPTV directly to the said router.

The problem I am having now is I have only one (CAT 5E, CAT 6??) cable running from upper floor to lower floor and I have a media player which also require a direct connection to the router.

I am thinking of alternative connection making use of the original router (DIR-615) as shown in the schematic below.

Help appreciated.

Thank you.
hmmm... from what i know, you needa pull 2 cat5/6, 1 for IPtv and 1 for normal vlan500, as there's no trunk port on the router, but you can configure vlan500 and vlan600 manually on both dlink and openwrt.

so tis will be my recommendation

openwrt vlan 500 - dlink vlan 500 - media player

openwrt vlan 600 - dlink vlan 600 - iptv

unless there's an option to configure trunk port for both dlink and openwrt, then 1 cable should be enough

jovial
post Apr 29 2012, 06:23 PM

carpe diem
2,129 posts

QUOTE(sooooloooong @ Apr 29 2012, 01:48 PM)
Hello all,

Help appreciated.

Thank you.
get a lan cable splitter...
lhttp://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-37133-Splitter-Combiner/dp/B000Q5UMEI
sooooloooong
post Apr 29 2012, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(ckboon @ Apr 29 2012, 03:32 PM)
hmmm... from what i know, you needa pull 2 cat5/6, 1 for IPtv and 1 for normal vlan500, as there's no trunk port on the router, but you can configure vlan500 and vlan600 manually on both dlink and openwrt.

so tis will be my recommendation

openwrt vlan 500 - dlink vlan 500 - media player

openwrt vlan 600 - dlink vlan 600 - iptv
unless there's an option to configure trunk port for both dlink and openwrt, then 1 cable should be enough

Thanks for the info. At least I don't waste my time trying different configuration.

QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 29 2012, 06:23 PM)
get a lan cable splitter...
lhttp://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-37133-Splitter-Combiner/dp/B000Q5UMEI
That is an idea and thanks for the info. Perhaps, I could custom one myself at home. From what I know, the LAN connection only use 4 of 8 wires within each cable. So technically, I could have 2 LAN ports through the same CAT 5/6 cable.
ckboon
post Apr 29 2012, 09:31 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(sooooloooong @ Apr 29 2012, 07:32 PM)
Thanks for the info. At least I don't waste my time trying different configuration.
That is an idea and thanks for the info. Perhaps, I could custom one myself at home. From what I know, the LAN connection only use 4 of 8 wires within each cable. So technically, I could have 2 LAN ports through the same CAT 5/6 cable.
lol!!! tat's creative!!

normal LAN only used PIN 1236, hence u can split out 1 cat5/6 to 2 RJ45 at both end, but remember the color!!
ckboon
post Apr 29 2012, 09:35 PM

458 posts

@blindbox,

need your advise on how your enable the statistics -> graph

as i tried to load it on backfire but fail!!

thanks in advance!!

debbierowe
post May 2 2012, 12:59 PM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

i very the enjoy my TL-WR1043ND wub.gif

sharing my experience...

lesson learn: dunno why the router i bought TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with UNIFI sticker and UNIFI MODE to choose...

i setup & reset so many times using the setup gudeline + quick setup
cannot get my WLAN working

then i tried flash KLSEET's firmware, step by step instruction from his website...

a few hicups, at the last step i finished setup, reboot and try open "google" but cant... then i check back, and realized... dunno why the unifi ID & password set back to "username" ... then i re-enter ID & Pass & reboot

then it works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thanks to KLSEET ..........!!!
sooooloooong
post May 2 2012, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(debbierowe @ May 2 2012, 12:59 PM)
i very the enjoy my TL-WR1043ND wub.gif

sharing my experience...

lesson learn: dunno why the router i bought TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with UNIFI sticker and UNIFI MODE to choose...

i setup & reset so many times using the setup gudeline + quick setup
cannot get my WLAN working

then i tried flash KLSEET's firmware, step by step instruction from his website...

a few hicups, at the last step i finished setup, reboot and try open "google" but cant... then i check back, and realized... dunno why the unifi ID &  password set back to "username" ... then i re-enter ID & Pass & reboot

then it works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thanks to KLSEET ..........!!!
Likewise, I agree that the TL-WR1043ND is one of the best router around.

I nearly brick my router (due to some itchy hand trying to set the Vlan to run two ports through one cable; so be very careful) and have been doing a lot of reading to save the router. It would seem to me that the TL-WR1043ND is the MOST referred router in OpenWRT site/forum/wiki/community. Kudos to that!!! rolleyes.gif

The only thing which I could find some complain is the WiFi which seem a bit weak compared to my old router (Netgear).

p.s. I gain some understanding on how Vlan work from the extensive reading. In general, do not make any changes to Vlan1 interface and you will be able to gain access to the router. While OpenWRT provides very good GUI for Vlan and bridging interface, there seem to be some bugs in it which was mentioned on quite a few threads/tickets within the OpenWRT community. With this in mind, should I have not purchase the TL-WR1043ND router, I am more likely to choose the Mikrotic RB751G-2HnD or RB751U-2HnD instead. Forget about Asus, simply too expensive.

This post has been edited by sooooloooong: May 2 2012, 05:43 PM
ahlong
post May 5 2012, 01:52 PM

not a debt collector
610 posts

suddenly my 1043ND OpenWRT ddns package mess up.. the hostname cannot update with afraid.org.. try to reconfigure it back, but no luck at all.. reset to factory and reinstall the package back and everything back to normal..

if u guys facing this problem later, maybe resetting the router to factory openwrt and reconfigure it back will help..
ckboon
post May 6 2012, 02:56 PM

458 posts

can someone teach me how to do natting with openwrt and set MTU for WAN..

Added on May 6, 2012, 10:02 pmreally damn it la..

confirmed UNIFI problem... i swap with DLINK also keep getting the disconnection problem...

just found that yesterday and today my line keep get disconnected at 4pm - 9pm... I needa on off BTU and modem so many times!! really sucky UNIFI!!

I called up unifi twice and both also asked me monitor the line.. this really screw me up and force me to us harsh word to screw the fella back..

monitor monitor monitor, i called for what if all asking me to monitor!!!

then tat fella said if technician comes and find the fault is at my end I will be charge RM50, it really made me even more hot and i asked back, if the fault at ur site are u going to pay me RM50??

really stupid term and condition!

This post has been edited by ckboon: May 6 2012, 10:02 PM

17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:12 AM