Unifi TP-Link TL-WR1043ND, with Custom Unifi firmware

ckboon
post Feb 25 2012, 05:55 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 22 2012, 09:30 PM)
I'm giving you guys a trunk build (r30366). I've tested this to be stable for at least 15 days. Power went out so I'm back to 0h on my router's uptime. Wireless is excellent, I've been able to get max speed for wireless-n.

I've also included one or two interesting packages if you guys ever want to check it out (will require ssh) like,
znc
iftop

Well, I can't remember what else.

Finally, here's the link. Enjoy!
sysupgrade is for upgrading a previous openwrt firmware.
factory is for upgrading from stock image.

http://www.mediafire.com/?9bkdf4fnpymong6

I didn't test the image first as I don't have a spare device but there's no reason for it to not work. Still, use it at your own risk.

So, how do we use this?

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr1...sy.installation

Finally, login to the router, change the password for the login, then go to Network tab > Interface tab > press the Edit button at the line containing WAN. That's where you can set your unifi username and password. Press Save and Apply to continue.
bro,
just a question on how to revert back to the original firmware. Can i just used 1 of the firmware listed here: http://www.tp-link.com.my/support/download...del=TL-WR1043ND ?
I've download all the firmware there and it's in the format or xxxupxxx, which is not xxxbootxxx, so do i still needa do the cutting?

which is written on the wiki given that "Cut the first 0x20200 (that is 131,584 = 257*512) Bytes from original firmware:"

what will happen if i never or over-cut it?? just a pre-caution b4 i try on ur firmware..

thanks..
ckboon
post Mar 3 2012, 03:41 PM

458 posts

just few simply question..

1.can the GUI do DHCP reservation list?? I need it to assign the particular IP to particular mac Address.

2. can DDNS done on GUI?

3. are able to browse and telnet from WAN through DDNS? As currently the stock firmware dont have telnet which limit my work to telnet over to my internet devices.

or it need to be done on CLI.
ckboon
post Mar 3 2012, 08:08 PM

458 posts

thanks.. SSH is just port 22.. no problem on tat as long as GUI.. lazy to learn all linux command..
eer.. SSH meant command base? what about GUI?

1 more question..

GUI can do port forwarding? hope this is the last.. if i left out any will voice out again.. thanks..
ckboon
post Mar 4 2012, 03:24 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 4 2012, 12:01 PM)
The GUI is like 1000 times more advanced than DD-WRT's. So, yes, you can.

SSH is secure shell. SSH encrypts, telnet doesn't. Telnet sends everything in plain text, including your password.

Well, the GUI itself is using http so there's not really any encryption. You can, however, install the https version of luci.
whao... GUI also more advance than DD-wrt.. so far i only used stock firmware... since those thing i need can be done on Openwrt's GUI, thinks gonna flash it soon and will feedback on it once done...

thanks...

yup i need SSH/telnet over to the router itself so that i can telnet to all my internal devices... unless i PAT it out... but having an alternative is better then having none.. smile.gif

Added on March 4, 2012, 11:28 pmOPEN WRT dumped!! still learning the GUI...

This post has been edited by ckboon: Mar 4 2012, 11:28 PM
ckboon
post Mar 5 2012, 07:55 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 5 2012, 02:24 AM)
Has anyone here successfully setup DDNS?
I'm not using any custom firmware, the firmware version is : 
3.13.4 Build 110429

I registered an account on no-ip, and I've already placed all the details required(username/pass/domain name) but the connection status
is still 'Connecting..'

Anything else I need to do to get it properly connected?
not problem setting up DDNS. I tested all the DDNS with tp-link firmware and openwrt

it all works... smile.gif

try rebooting ur unit.
ckboon
post Mar 5 2012, 01:04 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:45 PM)
Alright, I'll reboot the router once I get home.
Need DDNS to access web ui for my usenet client so I can easily add my download link from anywhere
Just found out how to actually use usenet to download anything for free  rclxm9.gif

Btw, what's really the advantage of openwrt over tp link firmware?
I take it you've successfully flash back and forth for both firmware?
I'm just afraid I'll brick my router sweat.gif

Added on March 5, 2012, 12:46 pm

Unfortunately dyndns is not free anymore  sad.gif
dyndns is still free!!

openwrt can do so many thing!! i dont think i will revert back to stock anymore! lol.. i've being poisoned..

Added on March 5, 2012, 1:06 pm@blindbox, need ur experty on how to run luci-ssl

I've installed it, but seem like it's not working..

i cant used https to access from external... still running http

This post has been edited by ckboon: Mar 5 2012, 01:06 PM
ckboon
post Mar 5 2012, 08:49 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 5 2012, 07:04 PM)
Paste your /etc/config/uhttpd here (preferrably pastebin). Settings for uhttpd are not exposed in luci.
lol

i dun understand what is tat..

Added on March 5, 2012, 11:04 pmany read up on how to do this?? i look at the wiki openwrt also faint..
so many version, backfire, kamikaze, trunk....

This post has been edited by ckboon: Mar 5 2012, 11:04 PM
ckboon
post Mar 5 2012, 11:36 PM

458 posts

i got putty and winscap

-----------------

# Server configuration
config uhttpd main

# HTTP listen addresses, multiple allowed
list listen_http 0.0.0.0:80
# list listen_http [::]:80

# HTTPS listen addresses, multiple allowed
# list listen_https 0.0.0.0:443
# list listen_https [::]:443

# Server document root
option home /www

# Reject requests from RFC1918 IP addresses
# directed to the servers public IP(s).
# This is a DNS rebinding countermeasure.
option rfc1918_filter 1

# Certificate and private key for HTTPS.
# If no listen_https addresses are given,
# the key options are ignored.
option cert /etc/uhttpd.crt
option key /etc/uhttpd.key

# CGI url prefix, will be searched in docroot.
# Default is /cgi-bin
option cgi_prefix /cgi-bin

# List of extension->interpreter mappings.
# Files with an associated interpreter can
# be called outside of the CGI prefix and do
# not need to be executable.
# list interpreter ".php=/usr/bin/php-cgi"
# list interpreter ".cgi=/usr/bin/perl"

# Lua url prefix and handler script.
# Lua support is disabled if no prefix given.
# option lua_prefix /luci
# option lua_handler /usr/lib/lua/luci/sgi/uhttpd.lua

# CGI/Lua timeout, if the called script does not
# write data within the given amount of seconds,
# the server will terminate the request with
# 504 Gateway Timeout response.
option script_timeout 60

# Network timeout, if the current connection is
# blocked for the specified amount of seconds,
# the server will terminate the associated
# request process.
option network_timeout 30

# TCP Keep-Alive, send periodic keep-alive probes
# over established connections to detect dead peers.
# The value is given in seconds to specify the
# interval between subsequent probes.
# Setting this to 0 will disable TCP keep-alive.
option tcp_keepalive 1

# Basic auth realm, defaults to local hostname
# option realm OpenWrt

# Configuration file in busybox httpd format
# option config /etc/httpd.conf

# Certificate defaults for px5g key generator
config cert px5g

# Validity time
option days 730

# RSA key size
option bits 1024

# Location
option country DE
option state Berlin
option location Berlin

# Common name
option commonname OpenWrt

ckboon
post Mar 6 2012, 12:38 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 5 2012, 11:43 PM)
SSH into router, copy pasta.

CODE

cd ..
uci add_list uhttpd.main.listen_https=0.0.0.0:443
uci commit
/etc/init.d/uhttpd restart

ehhh..

GUI die!!

i cant http or https lo..

Added on March 6, 2012, 12:46 amuhttpd become this after the command:

config uhttpd 'main'
list listen_http '0.0.0.0:80'
option home '/www'
option rfc1918_filter '1'
option cert '/etc/uhttpd.crt'
option key '/etc/uhttpd.key'
option cgi_prefix '/cgi-bin'
option script_timeout '60'
option network_timeout '30'
option tcp_keepalive '1'
list listen_https '0.0.0.0:443'

config cert 'px5g'
option days '730'
option bits '1024'
option country 'DE'
option state 'Berlin'
option location 'Berlin'
option commonname 'OpenWrt'

This post has been edited by ckboon: Mar 6 2012, 12:46 AM
ckboon
post Mar 6 2012, 07:55 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 6 2012, 06:58 AM)
Ahhh that's a bug unfortunately. I'll find a workaround for it. For now, https won't work. So to fix things up,

CODE

uci delete uhttpd.main.listen_https
uci commit
/etc/init.d/uhttpd restart

I'm wondering, what openwrt version are you using?
huh?? i copy it from ur link...

Firmware Version OpenWrt Firmware Attitude Adjustment (r30770) / LuCI Trunk (trunk+svn8323)
Kernel Version 3.2.9
ckboon
post Mar 6 2012, 04:48 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 6 2012, 02:50 PM)
Really ar? Which service should I use?
Coz I only see option to pay if I need to use their service.

Added on March 6, 2012, 2:52 pm

You could just buy it online at Garage Sales subforum or lelong site.
hmm... i think dyndns just only change their policy...

ckboon
post Mar 7 2012, 08:18 PM

458 posts

how to set DMZ?? dunno why this upnp and port forwarding cant forward my port for my NAS to do torrent

ckboon
post Mar 8 2012, 12:05 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(Oliatoon @ Mar 8 2012, 11:55 AM)
i believe klseet have done a good guideline for this
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...d=103&Itemid=95
and also
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...d=104&Itemid=96

u may want save the page to your local harddrive , as the site sometime got limited bandwitdh due to too many access. wink.gif

but you need to becareful when you use openwrt,  read the step few times before you apply, because i have bricked 2 941ND before because my itchy hand to disturb some setting that i dont know.

but openwrt is very flexible and it is worth to  spend some time to learn it.
just need some advise on Flash new firmware image

can i reflash the same firmware or downgrade firmware?

what's the different between openwrt to openwrt firmware and tplink to openwrt..

what will happen if flash wrong
ckboon
post Mar 8 2012, 03:38 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 8 2012, 01:02 PM)
Omg klseet, use 10.03.1-final already.  rclxub.gif

http://downloads.openwrt.org/backfire/10.03.1/ar71xx/
Openwrt to openwrt - just use image with the name sysupgrade in it and web interface. Always backup the settings before flashing though (they're both on the same web page). Openwrt to stock - follow the wiki. I'll update the wiki later because it's not complete.

Btw, port forwarding working just fine for me.

Also, I'm so busy right now that I can do most of these stuff only on the weekends, sorry ckboon.

Next plan for my trunk release - implement luci-ssl, implement transmission oh and, ftp server. Samba is already available for those who wants it though. I'm sure ftp can stream too...? Funny because I'm never going to use transmission and ftp. I also want to put my biz5's web account to use but I still got no idea on how for now.
klseet, any pointers on this?

Btw klseet, from your link here, it seems like transmission is clogging up the flash memory? Possible solution is to make a symlink, or use extroot.
meaning, if i wanna upgrade/downgrade openwrt to openwrt i will just use sysupgrade? if i restore the the trunk from your file will i get the original default setting, or the setting with iptv which had been created?

anyway blindbox, take ur time, i just found out that my NAS HDD DIE!! This might be why suddenly upnp and port forward works weird from openwrt sad.gif
ckboon
post Mar 11 2012, 05:43 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 7 2012, 12:08 PM)
I don't have a WR841ND. If I do have one, I prolly can't do much with it, as I really need the 8 MB flash. As wireless performance go, should be the same if it also has 3 antennae. It should still be the same even with two, but range is less with two antennae. WR841ND has two antennae it seems.

Gotta remind yourself that my views are a bit irrelevant as I only use openwrt. I never stick with stock tongue.gif

EDIT: not sure about the credit card for free trial. I have an old dyndns account that still works though, it's still pointing to my home router. Gonna have to change it later. Freedns seems interesting.
@blindbox: did u tried freedns?? i tested it but seem like openwrt fail to talk to it. It never update the ip everytime i reconnect..

ckboon
post Mar 14 2012, 12:39 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(ahlong @ Mar 14 2012, 12:24 PM)
i've found a solution for freedns (afraid.org) to update the ip everytime the WAN unplugged/plugged or modem reboot.

at this office rite now, so no screenshot. sorry guys.. so heres the step:

assuming ur at the MYDDNS TAB:

1. Service - Select CUSTOM
-after select CUSTOM OPTION, automatically the below OPTION become CUSTOM UPDATE-URL

2. Go to http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/ and u will see ur own hostname there eg: ahlong.smokeganja.org
- see the Direct URL button? point ur mouse there and copy the entire URL and put it in the CUSTOM UPDATE-URL field at ur modem.
- this because afraid.org changed their update ipaddress using a unic hash sums for user.

3. Hostname - ur previous hostname

4. Passwd - urs not mine (haha)

5. Source of IPaddress - Interface

6. Interface - WAN (pppoe-wan)

Others leave it to default

7. Save & Apply

then try reboot ur modem and check back the IP address.

Sorry for the long explaination. Will try to take a screenshot tonite at home.

hope u guys understand my step? haha?
COOL!!! it's working!!
that's why i love openwwrt!! i can set so many different DDNS at 1 time...

1 down there is so many others to take over..

thanks..
ckboon
post Mar 14 2012, 06:38 PM

458 posts

how to set DMZ? I cant find it...

helps needed..
thanks..
ckboon
post Mar 15 2012, 12:38 PM

458 posts

oh...
thanks..

i thought there someplace to add DMZ..

ckboon
post Mar 16 2012, 08:13 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Mar 16 2012, 03:13 AM)
Btw, I remembered D-Link does offer 1 free DDNS account:
https://www.dlinkddns.com/login
Mine still working since last year ....
it's linked to dyndns
ckboon
post Mar 16 2012, 10:51 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Mar 16 2012, 10:48 AM)
Yes I know, and it's still give 1 free account, I just registered 1  nod.gif
err... possible to tell us how to do it? I tried to login and it said "To access this account you must log into it at DynDNS.com"

Added on March 16, 2012, 10:54 ami think i get it...

need to register as new user.. but not getting dyndns name, but dlink.

This post has been edited by ckboon: Mar 16 2012, 10:54 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:57 PM