8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

caddilac
post Feb 13 2012, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 13 2012, 07:29 PM)
The rims in the Korean showroom above much better.
The one in korean showroom was not the original rim... factory-fitted rims only come with the following designs...
user posted imageuser posted image

Added on February 13, 2012, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 13 2012, 11:41 PM)
Another challenger coming soon too....  I also spotted this when on my way to Penang yesterday...

The pigot 408....
408 should be a great car but the brand is not that "accessible" to many people... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 13 2012, 11:42 PM
caddilac
post Feb 14 2012, 12:01 AM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 13 2012, 11:48 PM)
Why said so? too pricey? Not really leh..

If you never own a continental car, you will never know their problem... rclxms.gif
I know that there are many happy owner out there... But many are not... rclxm9.gif
Although 308 is very reasonably priced but it will never get to sell in large number because of their reputation in the past... French car (as well as Italian) are well known for their electrical problem and some minor minor problem which can be irritating...

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 14 2012, 12:02 AM
caddilac
post Feb 14 2012, 08:54 AM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 14 2012, 08:37 AM)
UPDATE: It appears that all the ads advertising the high spec Elantra for over RM100k have gone missing from Mudah – what’s going on?

http://paultan.org/2012/02/13/hyundai-elan...able-at-launch/

my take is the 1.8 will be delayed at least

SD just don't fail to "suprise" us don't they....?
Maybe they launch 1.6 on 22nd then 1.8 on 29th...
caddilac
post Feb 14 2012, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Feb 14 2012, 09:51 PM)
There may be a one week delay for the Elantra launch to 29th, reason unknown.

The good news is showrooms are getting cars before the official launch date, 22nd or 29th.
Real sad to hear about that... cry.gif
caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 12:17 AM

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Feb 15 2012, 12:03 AM)
so many politics and ppl can object the pricing, Naza pulled off a miracle to be able to sell forte 2.0 below 100k then.
Cruze 1.8 fully imported also below 100k... doh.gif

Added on February 15, 2012, 12:19 am
QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 15 2012, 12:05 AM)
but how come never see other brands got this issue one ah... so damn secretive of the price haha
I think very high chance the car will reach showroom without confirmed pricing... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 15 2012, 12:19 AM
caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(Super Hero @ Feb 15 2012, 12:20 AM)
Last week im in SG and manage to test drive the Elantra 1.6 High Spec (Elite Spec) and also Verosta 1.6 GLS, to be Honest both car are handling is very good, noise ration is very very low, powerful even 1.6 cc, some more I when to see the new honda civic just next showroom, the Honda Civic is  sad.gif , after that finally I when to Toyota Showroom to see the Prius-C.
Veloster in singapore already?
caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(JoLee @ Feb 15 2012, 10:50 AM)
I think the new Proton if confirm with all the features will make this car difficult to sell if the pricing is not competitive.
But the look of elantra alone will be convincing enough for many people... just like how the civic managed to be so popular at that time... proton tuah is way too dull and conservative compared to elantra and even forte... the design is not cohesive as a whole especially the interior and showing the lack of experience of car maker... the exora steering is a huge turn off for me...
caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 15 2012, 11:14 AM)
er....i tot civic is based on 7 generations of success( 16.5 millions on the road as of 2006)  and the road handling, and the k20a ivtec and" the 5 speed auto paddleshift gearbox that is tailor made to mate with k20a" for Civic?

not many 2.0liter NA family sedan car can match civic acceleration and top speed.

its not just looks biggrin.gif
But I believe the styling is one of the major factor that rocketed the Civic's sales. People who don't know much about cars will not bother to care about the i-Vtec or how many gears or performance... If you talking about those factors, Lancer is quite similar yet Lancer was selling badly compared to Civic even before it was Proton-ised. If you are to talk about generations of success, I believe Corolla had better reputation than Civic. Then you look at Sonata and Tucson, both of them don't have much reputation compared to the Japanese yet they are selling at decent numbers now. There are still many people don't care (or know) much about the spec or mechanical of the cars but they care about the styling of the cars if they are indifferent about the resale value or reputation or after sales.
caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 03:14 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 15 2012, 03:03 PM)
look + reputation = sells.

pure look = can sell in small number

pure reputation = sells.

right?

pure look  +goodies X100 = can sell in small numbers.

why are u dragging in all the cars to confuse ppl?  hmm.gif

like that, every car can sell. even rubbish like juara/ tiara.

lancer? you buy rm110k car ask you to go service in EON center, you want or not?
Latio selling so badly maybe Nissan no reputation also... But then GL selling so well... icon_rolleyes.gif
Why 110k don't want to go EON? Not 1.1million... doh.gif
sell in small numbers also have to see how small or big is it... Mazda6 got look + goodies + Japan reputation, but the sales laugh.gif

caddilac
post Feb 15 2012, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 15 2012, 03:20 PM)
mazda 6 too fierce, ah pek scare. laugh.gif
But Optima seems to be selling quite decently despite the fierce looking.. Maybe still in honeymoon period... Until now get to see 4 Optimas otr... rclxms.gif
caddilac
post Feb 16 2012, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 16 2012, 05:15 PM)
SD already postpone the elantra for god knows how many years liao  doh.gif . Really tak tau market.

Anyway I just checked in wiki and found out that Hyundai and Kia could actually be / under the same parent company? Seems that Hyundai Motor actually bought 51% of the share of Kia motors a few years back...
Kia was being rescued by Hyundai during the 97 crisis after declaring bankruptcy... Hyundai used to own 51% of Kia's share but few years ago it dropped below 50%... Both company form Hyundai-Kia Automotive Group, currently the fifth largest automakers in the world.
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 17 2012, 01:52 AM)
Sorry to say that I dont see the Toyota GOA body are manufacturing by miyazu in the article...
Sorry to say that GOA is a joke to me... Cars like Avanza and Innova also can claim GOA.. One of their GOA body European model only got 3-star in EuroNCAP two years ago.. Avanza with GOA body? ChinaNCAP achieved 3-star (Daihatsu Xenia in China)... biggrin.gif
So i can't quite understand the usefulness of GOA.. Are they trying to ruin their GOA with 3-star car? Or is it that GOA body will vary from 3 to 5 star? Then what is the whole point of GOA I also can't understand. Because when you get a GOA car then your car can be ranging among 3 to 5... tongue.gif
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 17 2012, 10:30 AM)
Yea, if you dont have GOA, its better.
http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/safety_presen/tech/12.html
So GOA is just a marketing jargon from Toyota. Yet the jargon doesn't really live up to its name. sweat.gif
People may start questioning how come Global "Outstanding" Assessment achieved 3 stars. Does 3-stars equivalent to outstanding? biggrin.gif
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 17 2012, 10:42 AM)
lol.

heavier body = higher FC.

vios FC is unbeatable among conti/korean car la.

and civic with good enough ncap rating, eveyrone saying FC high.

ppl want solid body with fuel sipping ability, how la.
Diesel engine rclxms.gif
Fiesta FC not bad and get 5-stars EuroNCAP...
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 17 2012, 10:57 AM)
i dunno where i read it mentioned it can achieve 30 km per litre... tak tau true onot
30km/L is Mazda 2 with SkyActiv but the SkyActiv on Mazda 2 is quite different from CX-5 and 3... Mazda 2 1.3 SkyActiv doesn't use Direct Injection whereas CX5 and 3 do.
CX-5 official FC for Petrol 16km/L, diesel 18.6km/L...

Added on February 17, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 17 2012, 11:07 AM)
aiyo, said a million time, jap not keen in diesel engine, their country policy.

so u see they dont really develop diesel, rather they go hybrid or electric.

maybe diesel reserve for heavy machinery for war time biggrin.gif
Mazda SkyActiv diesel is one of the latest diesel tech from Jap. Mitsubishi 4N1 also a new diesel engine. Honda is coming out with an all new 1.6 diesel as well. Now Nissan is selling X-Trail diesel in japan and also CX-5 diesel is being sold now. Anything to do with their country policy?
Only Toyota is lazy with diesel because they are trying to push their petrol Hybrid range as the new clean diesel engine has similar FC with Hybrid. That's why they don't wanna let people wonder why buy hybrid when diesel can get similar FC. So I believe that is Toyota's own problem. tongue.gif
Just like the Kia Rio diesel is now the cleanest non-electric car in Europe with only 85g/km Co2 emissions. Toyota Prius is emitting 89g/km CO2 which is lower than the Kia Rio. That's why many people still believe that there is still a long way to go for internal combustion engine because more and more technology is achieving better and better result. rclxms.gif
Hybrid is great in cutting emission of petrol engine but when you talking about running and ownership cost, it still can't beat diesel engine in current stage as well as the near future. If you want to do the best, diesel hybrid should be the one to go. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 17 2012, 11:17 AM
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 07:57 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 17 2012, 07:28 PM)
yea, proton also making cars. ferrari also making cars, any similarity?

making diesel engine and making good and popular diesel engine is different.

jap never emphasis on diesel.

can try use google firsT?

http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/dy/business/T100825005653.htm 

In some European countries, diesel-powered cars account for 30 percent to 70 percent of passenger cars sold. But in Japan, diesel cars last year accounted for only 0.2 percent of the market
Few years back nobody sell diesel car in Japan. Now they are starting to offer which show some changes in automakers' thinking.
Jap wise I believe the biggest factor is consumer's preference as well as lack of diesel engine choices. In fact most part of world is the same as most markets have very little diesel powered car available for consumer and new diesel tech requires higher fuel grade which many countries don't have. That's why diesel power is not popular yet. Consumers need to be educated because most people are still having the kind of mentality that diesel car is very dirty n vibrate like hell. rclxub.gif
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Feb 17 2012, 09:39 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/New+Hyundai+Elantra+Av...MD-13807944.htm
WHere is the place in the pictures. More interior pictures of the final product.
omg! the leather seat looks scary! doh.gif
caddilac
post Feb 17 2012, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Feb 17 2012, 09:59 PM)
is that something wrong with the price tag?? hmm.gif
too cheap to be true... Maybe 86888 is for 1.6AT low spec laugh.gif
caddilac
post Feb 18 2012, 08:39 AM

QUOTE(Super Hero @ Feb 18 2012, 12:41 AM)
In SG the Elantra was had a 4 air bag.
Singapore is having 6 airbags for high spec model. Base model comes with 2.

Added on February 18, 2012, 8:41 am
QUOTE(Nick-87 @ Feb 18 2012, 12:30 AM)
I thought Elantra is applying "modern premium" philosophy. But look at the black leather with red piping  doh.gif  I heard Vroom vroom vroommmmmmmm
Inokom will tell you this is a car with new thinking so that is the new possibility of modern premium especially those weird red lines:lol:

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 18 2012, 08:41 AM
caddilac
post Feb 18 2012, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Feb 18 2012, 08:59 AM)
Unless they re-design their logo to make it acceptable by public, Impossible!!
Logo actually not a big issue should be easy to change... Some more inside the car is Hyundai logo already... smile.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0617sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:20 AM