Wooden Door, Room & Main Door

soonyeap
post Jan 4 2012, 01:20 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 2 2012, 10:13 PM)
Spray paint with dark color? How about lacquer?

My door are stained, not paint. Stain will still see the wood grain. The first color layer is spray but final coating if not mistaken the lacquer with normal brush. I don't see uneven brush line.

And what hinge do they provide? normal local? China? or bearing hinge? All made closing & opening feel difference.

Below some of the photo of my house door.

mind to share the price for 2nd door?
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 09:43 AM

12,019 posts

Price already in 1st page.
adrianjc
post Jan 4 2012, 10:47 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 09:43 AM)
Price already in 1st page.
weikee... i will be using the same door design as yours (5 horizontal box type) for my place.
cool2.gif
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 10:51 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2012, 10:47 AM)
weikee... i will be using the same door design as yours (5 horizontal box type) for my place.
cool2.gif
Cool, to me is simple and easy to clean smile.gif

But my main door is pain in the azz to clean.
@Adele
post Jan 4 2012, 12:22 PM

1,042 posts

Kelvin, my room door is the normal what ppl called "Sam kap ban"..only cost me rm68. Ho ho
adrianjc
post Jan 4 2012, 12:27 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 10:51 AM)
Cool, to me is simple and easy to clean smile.gif

But my main door is pain in the azz to clean.
What you can do is use an old toothbrush together with a lightly damp cloth. Makes cleaning so much easier.
It's what i do to reach those hard to reach spaces in the grill.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 02:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jan 4 2012, 12:22 PM)
Kelvin, my room door is the normal what ppl called "Sam kap ban"..only cost me rm68. Ho ho
Usually come from developer right?

Added on January 4, 2012, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2012, 12:27 PM)
What you can do is use an old toothbrush together with a lightly damp cloth. Makes cleaning so much easier.
It's what i do to reach those hard to reach spaces in the grill.
Thanks for the advice. Never thought of the toothbrush. Grill is easy for me, cause mine are very square.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 4 2012, 02:15 PM
jchong
post Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 3 2012, 09:34 AM)
My left neighbor is renovating now, I saw she have some old wood door, is so dam nice, the grain is superb, and color are very even. We don't get this kind of wood now.
Can still get nowadays, must ask for grade A timber door. But not all places carry them.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 04:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)
Can still get nowadays, must ask for grade A timber door. But not all places carry them.
I been searching for wooden door in many place, even Grade A don't have such old grain. These day, the wooden door are made of young wood. Grain are not "deep". Grade A door is define as near matching color between wood block and slightly more grain. Grade B have must higher color variation in each wood block and have lighter grain.

Old wooden door really have good grain because it use natural old wood, and the wood are also aged before use.
@Adele
post Jan 4 2012, 06:20 PM

1,042 posts

Weikee, yup. But mine was spoilt..redo this cost me 68. I think other places charge 100. Since my frame also remain, no point changing beautiful door..won't look beautiful oso...
adrianjc
post Jan 4 2012, 07:56 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 02:14 PM)
Usually come from developer right?

Added on January 4, 2012, 2:15 pm

Thanks for the advice. Never thought of the toothbrush. Grill is easy for me, cause mine are very square.
No worries dude.
davids
post Jan 4 2012, 08:01 PM

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jan 4 2012, 06:20 PM)
Weikee, yup. But mine was spoilt..redo this cost me 68. I think other places charge 100. Since my frame also remain, no point changing beautiful door..won't look beautiful oso...
Adele,

Mind to PM me the contact of your people?
I'm considering to change mine. Thanks.

This post has been edited by davids: Jan 4 2012, 08:02 PM
jchong
post Jan 5 2012, 06:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 04:02 PM)
I been searching for wooden door in many place, even Grade A don't have such old grain. These day, the wooden door are made of young wood. Grain are not "deep". Grade A door is define as near matching color  between wood block and slightly more grain. Grade B have must higher color variation in each wood block and have lighter grain.

Old wooden door really have good grain because it use natural old wood, and the wood are also aged before use.
You got any picture of door with old grain? Curious to see how it looks like.

What do you think of the grain in this door:

weikee
post Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 5 2012, 06:45 PM)
You got any picture of door with old grain? Curious to see how it looks like.

What do you think of the grain in this door:

Nice. My neighbor door have much better grain.

No photo, I don't like to take other house owner photos.
jchong
post Jan 5 2012, 08:42 PM

5,989 posts

Any idea what kind of wood is in your neighbour's old doors?
weikee
post Jan 5 2012, 10:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 5 2012, 08:42 PM)
Any idea what kind of wood is in your neighbour's old doors?
She told me before, was not expensive during the 80s, and they change all because developer giving them the hollow door. You won't get that kind of wood now. Cause those door are made of natural aged wood. New door are usually 5 to 10 years old trees, and not age properly.

Added on January 5, 2012, 10:40 pmBTW, my current door have nicer grain that the picture you show. Also have to do with the painter who lacquer my door.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 5 2012, 10:40 PM
TSKelvin5717
post Jan 6 2012, 10:20 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 3 2012, 12:03 AM)
1 and 3 is the same door, difference staining, some call it lacquer painting.

That is standard door, with difference grade wood only. Forgot what grade, could be Nyatok or maybe similar range. Is about RM 350+- for door only.

Lock is Ikaros 4461, Think is about RM 90 +- http://www.intrends.com.my/products/main.php?g2_itemId=48

Installation is +-100 (per door) if i recall correctly.

Staining the door is as expensive as the door it self. If not mistaken is about RM 300+- per door for single leaf.

Hinge and other accessories add up to about RM 50+- per single leaf door.
crazy so expensive 1 rclxub.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif i will be super broke if i go that kind of quality lol hahhaa

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jan 4 2012, 12:22 PM)
QUOTE(@Adele @ Jan 4 2012, 06:20 PM)
hmm how does it look likes ? flat 1 kah ? i also got that door, but contractor told me it need to be cut because the levarge not same anymmore but it still charge like Rm100 for the door, cat the door pulak Rm50 become Rm150 lol i think better go buy new door, but my frame remain wo.. will it be ugly.. u got picture to share ur super cheap door ? and what u mean redo ? that means cut the door ? reuse back the original 1 ??

amirsubhi
post Jan 19 2012, 04:49 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

Can anyone can share phone no of door installer, need it deperately as my installer already on CNY holioday
adrianjc
post Jan 20 2012, 05:12 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jan 19 2012, 04:49 PM)
Can anyone can share phone no of door installer, need it deperately as my installer already on CNY holioday
Try Kotador, their contact is +603-79808623 and ask for Ah Chee.
amirsubhi
post Jan 20 2012, 09:51 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 20 2012, 05:12 AM)
Try Kotador, their contact is +603-79808623 and ask for Ah Chee.
thank you adrianjc biggrin.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:29 AM