Wooden Door, Room & Main Door

weikee
post Jan 2 2012, 10:13 PM

12,019 posts

Spray paint with dark color? How about lacquer?

My door are stained, not paint. Stain will still see the wood grain. The first color layer is spray but final coating if not mistaken the lacquer with normal brush. I don't see uneven brush line.

And what hinge do they provide? normal local? China? or bearing hinge? All made closing & opening feel difference.

Below some of the photo of my house door.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 2 2012, 10:14 PM
weikee
post Jan 2 2012, 11:23 PM

12,019 posts

Which door you referring?

weikee
post Jan 3 2012, 12:03 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jan 2 2012, 11:48 PM)
room door is how much included installation and lock? 1st and 3th diff color same price?
1 and 3 is the same door, difference staining, some call it lacquer painting.

That is standard door, with difference grade wood only. Forgot what grade, could be Nyatok or maybe similar range. Is about RM 350+- for door only.

Lock is Ikaros 4461, Think is about RM 90 +- http://www.intrends.com.my/products/main.php?g2_itemId=48

Installation is +-100 (per door) if i recall correctly.

Staining the door is as expensive as the door it self. If not mistaken is about RM 300+- per door for single leaf.

Hinge and other accessories add up to about RM 50+- per single leaf door.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 3 2012, 12:05 AM
weikee
post Jan 3 2012, 12:14 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 3 2012, 12:10 AM)
RM 350 + RM 90 + RM 100 + RM 300 + RM 50 = RM 890 pricey liao  blink.gif
You have not add my nyatok door frame leh. About RM 350. So is about 1.1k per door. I was shock too when i sum it up. Things add up.
weikee
post Jan 3 2012, 09:34 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 3 2012, 12:22 AM)
Waaaa  shocking.gif  like security door liao.  rclxub.gif
You are really a wood enthusiast  thumbup.gif
No lah, Why put all steel door inside the house? feel very "cold". Wood door is really nice.

My left neighbor is renovating now, I saw she have some old wood door, is so dam nice, the grain is superb, and color are very even. We don't get this kind of wood now.
weikee
post Jan 3 2012, 03:22 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Jan 3 2012, 03:18 PM)
@Weikee wooden door looks damn nice. Im on tight budget. sad.gif This is the door I order. Rm400 include installation. Btw, you all use security door as back door? [attachmentid=2620212]
Thank you.

The door you use, is it engineer door? It have its advantage, it won't shrink or expand much compare to Wooden door.

I don't use security door, I use normal grill door for the rear. Now the grill do much nicer door compare to the old days. The "Door in Door" I have also not bad.
weikee
post Jan 3 2012, 10:12 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Jan 3 2012, 08:18 PM)
Just a single grill door as your back door?
Not enough?
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 09:43 AM

12,019 posts

Price already in 1st page.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 10:51 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2012, 10:47 AM)
weikee... i will be using the same door design as yours (5 horizontal box type) for my place.
cool2.gif
Cool, to me is simple and easy to clean smile.gif

But my main door is pain in the azz to clean.
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 02:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jan 4 2012, 12:22 PM)
Kelvin, my room door is the normal what ppl called "Sam kap ban"..only cost me rm68. Ho ho
Usually come from developer right?

Added on January 4, 2012, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2012, 12:27 PM)
What you can do is use an old toothbrush together with a lightly damp cloth. Makes cleaning so much easier.
It's what i do to reach those hard to reach spaces in the grill.
Thanks for the advice. Never thought of the toothbrush. Grill is easy for me, cause mine are very square.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 4 2012, 02:15 PM
weikee
post Jan 4 2012, 04:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)
Can still get nowadays, must ask for grade A timber door. But not all places carry them.
I been searching for wooden door in many place, even Grade A don't have such old grain. These day, the wooden door are made of young wood. Grain are not "deep". Grade A door is define as near matching color between wood block and slightly more grain. Grade B have must higher color variation in each wood block and have lighter grain.

Old wooden door really have good grain because it use natural old wood, and the wood are also aged before use.
weikee
post Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 5 2012, 06:45 PM)
You got any picture of door with old grain? Curious to see how it looks like.

What do you think of the grain in this door:

[attachmentid=2624142]
Nice. My neighbor door have much better grain.

No photo, I don't like to take other house owner photos.
weikee
post Jan 5 2012, 10:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 5 2012, 08:42 PM)
Any idea what kind of wood is in your neighbour's old doors?
She told me before, was not expensive during the 80s, and they change all because developer giving them the hollow door. You won't get that kind of wood now. Cause those door are made of natural aged wood. New door are usually 5 to 10 years old trees, and not age properly.

Added on January 5, 2012, 10:40 pmBTW, my current door have nicer grain that the picture you show. Also have to do with the painter who lacquer my door.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 5 2012, 10:40 PM
weikee
post May 6 2012, 10:59 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ May 6 2012, 10:22 PM)
Kotador are reliable and I'm happy with the work that they did for my house. They also provide door staining which is done straight at the factory and heck lot better finish than getting it done on site.
A real guru will do staining on site much better. I have experience from factory, and on site. On site is much better, especially the door frame need to be stain together.
weikee
post May 7 2012, 08:02 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ May 7 2012, 12:07 AM)
I disagree... I've seen completely stained on site and factory finished but the door installers touch up on site.

Work is completed a whole lot faster and the finished product, you can't even tell where the touch up work was. The finish is a great deal finer and the sheen on the door looks more impressive.

Kotador provided me with 1 day installation and initial touch up; 1 day touch up work upon completion of project to touch up small scratches etc that may have happened prior to renovation completion.
difference people will have difference preference and experience. Mine is onsite is much better. It take three days to complete my 5 doors but I like the outcome vs my parent house .
weikee
post May 8 2012, 10:51 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ May 7 2012, 10:19 PM)
did a survey recently, a plain nyatoh door will cost you $650. so weikee's doors are not nyatoh for sure, may be a merpauh solid wood.
Price for door only our plus install? My is nyotoh. including everything is about 1k plus per door.
weikee
post May 9 2012, 11:14 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ May 9 2012, 11:05 AM)
door only, and if A class nyatoh or ask for a thicker horizontal box, will cost even more.
Class A is slightly expensive. Mine is all class B because I stain it dark color, and the sifu match the difference tone of wood.

The major difference of class A vs class B is wood tone, class A have more similar tone so when owner stain the door the color are more even. Lucky I have good sifu to help even out the color.
weikee
post May 10 2012, 08:47 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ May 10 2012, 08:41 AM)
My take on residential wooden door and my cha-pa-lang  tongue.gif  painting

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry51253332

Looks better than without paint ler.. laugh.gif
Is better with paint to prevent the doors from damp and crack.

weikee
post May 10 2012, 03:12 PM

12,019 posts

Is custom made. Charged per square feet. Can't recall exact price, think about 55plus per square feet. Should be higher now.

I made my own design and give them.
weikee
post Oct 15 2012, 11:07 AM

12,019 posts

Usually is custom made, some do come with it. If it state for double leaf door.

0.0252sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:57 PM