^ Not really.. 4GB is a lot for normal usage.
Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V14, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Feb 13 2012, 01:25 AM
6,612 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tomorrow |
^ Not really.. 4GB is a lot for normal usage.
Feb 13 2012, 01:52 AM
QUOTE(charcamayne @ Feb 13 2012, 01:33 AM) Please forgive my ignorance sifu, but I'm just quite paranoid cos I really go crazy open programs. >.< I open up to 20tabs sometimes, MSN, Skype, music in the background, sometimes youtube a lot... PDF and MS Office files...that's almost the max I'd go I think??? But sounds right lor. 4GB really enough? (Also cos now using a 3 year old Dell with Dual core T4300 with 2GB ram, Vista HB, always crash) I don't think all these will consume 4GB of memory. Anyway.. ram is cheap nowadays, no harm in upgrading it i guess. |
Feb 13 2012, 10:38 PM
COD right? Better check it thoroughly and bring some portable application like prime95/hwinfo for stress test.
Feb 13 2012, 10:57 PM
prime95 for cpu stress test and furmark for gpu.
Added on February 13, 2012, 10:59 pminstall BatteryCare and check the battery wear level. 10%+ is acceptable for 1+ old laptop i guess. This post has been edited by Acid_RuleZz: Feb 13 2012, 10:59 PM |
Feb 14 2012, 11:59 AM
depend whether you're willing to sacrifice portability, battery life and also warranty.
Feb 14 2012, 06:53 PM
^ DV6-6168TX?
Or import from the States with 30% discount. |
Feb 14 2012, 09:11 PM
Feb 15 2012, 12:08 PM
DV6 use 5400rpm. Even their latest Envy lineup use 5400rpm HDD. Talk about cost saving.
Feb 15 2012, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(MrRidsect @ Feb 15 2012, 01:44 PM) "I've had mine for a few days. I'm replacing an HP DV7-4060us (triple core AMD processer with ATI HD 5650 GPU). I also ordered and used a new HP DV6tqe (Core i7, AMD 6770m) for a couple of weeks but I'm returning that. The DV7 is still working well and though the 17" screen is great, it's just too big for me now (more mobile than I used to be). Oh mai.. too bias toward N55. I need to neutralize this and gain some rep. So some quick impressions: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « IMO, N55SF-i5 beat DV6 in term of audio and screen. The size, keyboard and lid is personal preference. Better if u can find a display set and molest it till u get the satisfying result. In term of bloatwares, Asus win hands down. Even uninstalling the preinstalled game could bork your operating system not to mention you need to reinstall ATK driver every time u remove something related or you could lose the function of your multimedia keys. HP Support Assistant is not even a bloatwares, it's pretty useful and it come with CoolSense that control the processor TurboBoost and the laptop fan activity (Coolest|Performance|Quiet). Your review didn't even mention this which i believe he don't even know anything about it. Both laptops have switchable graphic but in 6C19TX you could set between dynamic switching or fixed. In dynamic mode, you'll need to set a list on which GPU to use for which application.. similar like Optimus. In fixed mode, you manually set which GPU to use in Catalyst Control Panel. Althought is said manually, you can set a shortcut key to switch the GPU on the fly without opening CCC. Regarding cooling system, both laptop probably perform pretty similar out of the box. Buy a decent cooling pad if u planning to do many hours of gaming. The left palmrest will get hot when u start gaming for both laptop. N55SF doesn't have any air vent at the bottom so i'm not sure if cooling pad like U3 can help it dissipate heat any heat. In term of graphic performance, i can't comment on GT555M because i haven't see their performance recently. If you asked me 6 months ago i will say HD6770M slightly outperform it in most games(I was comparing with M14X) and gaming performance for HD6770M has increase with recent AMD drivers, probably the same thing happen to GT555M in Nvidia camp. HD7690M XT have higher memory clock compare to HD6770M. 725/800 in HD6770M and 725/900 in HD7690M XT. But i must say, "my" default clock for "my" HD6770M is 800/900. I could do 825/1000 in many of the games but to go over than that i need to modify the voltage.. the sad thing is, AMD has remove the ability to overvolt after Catalyst 11.9 so i can't overvolt my GPU with latest driver. I could do 888/1050 lastime. For HD7690M XT, you don't need to overvolt.. it can be overclock way past the safe limit of HD6770M without the need to overvolt. Check this post. Skyrim is a bad bad game to benchmark a graphic. It was a badly optimize game not until recent v1.4 update. Before 1.4 update, my fps varied from 25fps-140fps. The touchpad in DV6 feel good mang, especially after using Reil's touchpad software, it feel like using MBP. I can do 2 fingers scrolling like a boss in Google Chrome. Last but not least , this is a review from LYN forumer that owned both N55SF and DV6. Do check it out. Added on February 15, 2012, 3:42 pmOh btw, these is some of my gameplay videos with HD6770M » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I didn't do any gameplay video nowadays because of my blazing fast 128kbps upload. This post has been edited by Acid_RuleZz: Feb 15 2012, 03:59 PM |
Feb 15 2012, 04:08 PM
Feb 15 2012, 04:43 PM
Crysis 3? I take that as typo
Feb 15 2012, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(jackied @ Feb 15 2012, 06:47 PM) btw sifu TJ,I mentioned Digital Audio Workstation as im into dj'ing/producing.For example,lastime if u wanna make a song,you have to use the real instruments to create a sound bt nowadays,the computer has become an all in one equipment to create,manipulate the sounds bla bla .bringing me to my point that ill be needing a good processor for my lappie.. I thought all of that it need a real big workspace |
Feb 16 2012, 09:03 AM
Feb 16 2012, 09:38 PM
Feb 16 2012, 11:21 PM
Feb 16 2012, 11:28 PM
Yea, new processor featuring Tri-gate transistor. More power saving and memory improvement over SandyBridge, performance increase and new graphic module Intel HD4000.
Feb 17 2012, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 17 2012, 06:00 PM) Yeah, he meant IvyBridge i7 for mobile will be release first along side other IvyBridge processors for desktop. Desktop IvyBridge i7-3770 was reported to be 7-16 percent faster than SandyBridge i7-2600. Mobile version will be lower? Sauce: Ivy Bridge Core i7 up to 16 percent faster than Sandy Bridge - Fudzilla |
Feb 17 2012, 08:10 PM
Feb 18 2012, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(ayapism @ Feb 18 2012, 11:17 PM) bro, please recommend notebook based on my spec below RM10k is still under your RM2000++ budget bro. 1. Asus 2. RM2000++ 3. Gaming, movie, etc 4. 14"/15"/16" How about these? 14" A43Sv-VX264v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2349[2.44kg], 750GB (5400rpm) A43Sv-VX203v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2249[2.44kg], 500GB (5400rpm) 15.6" A53Sv-SX791v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (1GB)@RM2249, 750GB (7200rpm), USB3.0 A53Sv-SX792v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2399, 750GB (5400rpm) USB3.0 |
Feb 18 2012, 11:32 PM
Eh.. why the one with better HDD is cheaper? D:
A53Sv-SX791v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (1GB)@RM2249, 750GB (7200rpm), USB3.0 A53Sv-SX792v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2399, 750GB (5400rpm) USB3.0 |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:16 AM |