Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v4 thread, We Drum We Drum We Drum Drum Drum!!!

Yuhiro97 P
post Jan 7 2023, 08:56 PM

Probation

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 7 2023, 07:59 PM)

My Yamaha Stage Custom has only 4 drums while you have 5. Did you buy the extra?

I will PM you. A quick one, can you recommend a good and simple jazz song I can try and see?

Cheerio.
By means do you have like one tom, a snare , a floor tom and a bass drum? Cause that is considered 4 piece kit. Unless you have 2 rack toms instead of 1 then that is 5 piece. Mine is 7 piece, 5 toms (3 rack toms and 2 floor toms), a snare and bass drum.

Usually there are 2 ways to play todays style of jazz. Either with more swing or just typical smooth jazz straight. Can't really send a link here since i'm on post probation but will PM some stuff to you.
plumberly
post Jan 21 2023, 05:21 PM

4,761 posts

I am curious to know, do you as a drummer count the 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 & when you play? Or you have mastered it so well that you can time it without counting?

To me, counting takes the enjoyment out of drumming and enjoying the music. Or is it just me?
plumberly
post Jan 23 2023, 08:27 PM

4,761 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3wPOZZc7AY&t=5s

Found this CNY present! Just what I need.
Aydee
post Jan 24 2023, 10:31 PM

Mr. Big
735 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 21 2023, 05:21 PM)
I am curious to know, do you as a drummer count the 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 & when you play? Or you have mastered it so well that you can time it without counting?

To me, counting takes the enjoyment out of drumming and enjoying the music. Or is it just me?
The only time I count is 3,4 at the beginning of some songs. The rest is thru 'feel'.
plumberly
post Jan 25 2023, 09:05 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Aydee @ Jan 24 2023, 10:31 PM)
The only time I count is 3,4 at the beginning of some songs. The rest is thru 'feel'.

Mind clarifying what is meant by 3 4 at the beginning? Count 3 4 and off you go?
Aydee
post Jan 25 2023, 04:28 PM

Mr. Big
735 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 25 2023, 09:05 AM)

Mind clarifying what is meant by 3 4 at the beginning? Count 3 4 and off you go?
Yeah. Counting in.

plumberly
post Jan 25 2023, 04:55 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Aydee @ Jan 25 2023, 04:28 PM)
Yeah. Counting in.

plumberly
post Mar 31 2023, 09:21 AM

4,761 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQgP3Qnw8d0

Good insight for beginners in the drumming journey.
plumberly
post May 30 2023, 06:38 PM

4,761 posts

Help! Help!

Bought REMO tone control o ring 10 12 14 16 inches.

The 16 inch ring is slightly bigger than my 16 inch tom with part of the ring bulging up 1 cm from the surface when the ring is placed on the head.

Used 4 gels to stick the ring to the head but one part is bulging up.

Tempted to cut the ring, adjust it so that it sits fully flat on the head.

Appreciate your advice. Thanks.
plumberly
post Mar 30 2024, 01:30 PM

4,761 posts

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/IF4Qve51bgY?feature=share

Trying to imitate this kid. Too fast for me, me being a beginner. Anyone can help with the main tom tabs? No need for 100% copy. Thanks.

P/S That song is 10,000 armies. See this video. Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=am_LUxuKYDQ

This post has been edited by plumberly: May 15 2024, 05:13 PM
popice2u
post Apr 24 2024, 12:50 PM

1,337 posts

i have problem to find the ONE
plumberly
post May 18 2024, 07:25 PM

4,761 posts

Appreciate tips on getting a drum throne (mid-range).

The one I got is very basic, height adjustment is very limited.

Tempted to get one with a backrest but too costly. Ha.

Boomwick
post May 23 2025, 10:30 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 30 2024, 01:30 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/IF4Qve51bgY?feature=share

Trying to imitate this kid. Too fast for me, me being a beginner. Anyone can help with the main tom tabs? No need for 100% copy. Thanks.

P/S That song is 10,000 armies. See this video. Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=am_LUxuKYDQ
Church drummer ke u?

Beginner.. then always do left right singles 30 minutes nonstop... most people losses the ump because no stamina or left hand cannot follow up with right hand speed (if u r right handed)
luvjim
post Aug 1 2025, 03:08 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

sifu sekalian, is it a must to have drumset at home if just started want to learn? this question has been bugging me since years, wannted to learn but was thinking no drumset at home, how to practice...
Boomwick
post Nov 13 2025, 04:41 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Aug 1 2025, 03:08 PM)
sifu sekalian, is it a must to have drumset at home if just started want to learn? this question has been bugging me since years, wannted to learn but was thinking no drumset at home, how to practice...
Not really
U can start with newspaper, or a drum pad for stick

100 Pages « < 98 99 100Top

0.0160sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 04:08 PM