100 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v4 thread, We Drum We Drum We Drum Drum Drum!!!

fdcoiea
post Feb 12 2015, 05:47 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(eyang_sl @ Feb 11 2015, 09:38 PM)
i m using a mapex 7pc saturn,u can check out my vid...some soundcheck recorded using zoom q3hd

Thanks for the vid! Yeah was checking a lot of videos yesterday on youtube for saturn.
They do sound really full, big and good. Like the punch.

I think the set that Anika Nilles is using is crazy good. But that's way our of budget. Haha
PiZaN
post Feb 14 2015, 11:46 PM

Hi I'm searching for the pro1-v twin pedals. Any comments or opinions of that pedal? Also the price. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Sammie7
post Feb 16 2015, 09:35 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 9 2015, 06:18 PM)
I've actually went for the TD-11k, tried out both of them at Bentley, although I have to agree that yamaha's drum module sounded better, but i loved the meh heads a lot than yamaha's head, for me they sort of bounced too much. For me i guess feeling is more important than sound i guess, but it's just my personal preferences smile.gif Hmm, how did the grain actually fell inside of the mesh? Maybe I can do some precaution with it.
Which Bentley branch you went to? the one in KL town area?

I'm having trouble to decide between Roland TD-11kv and Yamaha DTX 532k.. I would love to try both kits at the same time so I can decide whether the mesh head or silicone is better for me.. Appreciate if you guys have any other opinion.. Thanks !
boiboi95
post Feb 16 2015, 10:28 AM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 16 2015, 09:35 AM)
Which Bentley branch you went to? the one in KL town area?

I'm having trouble to decide between Roland TD-11kv and Yamaha DTX 532k.. I would love to try both kits at the same time so I can decide whether the mesh head or silicone is better for me.. Appreciate if you guys have any other opinion.. Thanks !
The Damansara's branch, but just for testing purposes, they don't have TD-11KV but TD3 over there so I just tested the mesh heads via TD3, since they used the same mesh heads anyway, they over charged me the unit a lot lol, so i head to drumstore avenue @ Paradigm Mall, but they don't sell yamahas' there.

TD-11KV and DTX532K its like choosing whether you prefer all mesh pads or swapping the mesh pads (or sponge pad for yamaha iirc) for real hi hats

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Feb 16 2015, 10:33 AM
Sammie7
post Feb 16 2015, 12:12 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 16 2015, 10:28 AM)
The Damansara's branch, but just for testing purposes, they don't have TD-11KV but TD3 over there so I just tested the mesh heads via TD3, since they used the same mesh heads anyway, they over charged me the unit a lot lol, so i head to drumstore avenue @ Paradigm Mall, but they don't sell yamahas' there.
I see, Thanks ! Will be heading there and test it after work. Hopefully can make it in time.

Ya Drumstore avenue only sell Roland kits. I tried on the TD11-kv but want to try the Yamaha 1st before I make my decision.

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 16 2015, 10:28 AM)
TD-11KV and DTX532K its like choosing whether you prefer all mesh pads or swapping the mesh pads (or sponge pad for yamaha iirc) for real hi hats
Exactly! lol
boiboi95
post Feb 16 2015, 06:21 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 16 2015, 12:12 PM)
I see, Thanks ! Will be heading there and test it after work. Hopefully can make it in time.

Ya Drumstore avenue only sell Roland kits. I tried on the TD11-kv but want to try the Yamaha 1st before I make my decision.
Exactly! lol
As mentioned on earlier post before, i prefer Roland over Yamaha because for me the sponge pad on Yamaha tends to bounce too much, i felt that the mesh pads have the feeling that i want; but Roland's module sounds bit more synthetized than Yamaha.
siriusblack04
post Feb 17 2015, 09:33 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 16 2015, 06:21 PM)
As mentioned on earlier post before, i prefer Roland over Yamaha because for me the sponge pad on Yamaha tends to bounce too much, i felt that the mesh pads have the feeling that i want; but Roland's module sounds bit more synthetized than Yamaha.
haha. I actually felt the other way around. Mesh is too bouncy for me. I guess those who in dilemma can't make a conclusion out of mere talk. get your sticks in action. try 'em both biggrin.gif
boiboi95
post Feb 17 2015, 03:41 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(siriusblack04 @ Feb 17 2015, 09:33 AM)
haha. I actually felt the other way around. Mesh is too bouncy for me. I guess those who in dilemma can't make a conclusion out of mere talk. get your sticks in action. try 'em both biggrin.gif
haha most importantly choose the one you like not what other people like; and have fun! rclxm9.gif
Sammie7
post Feb 17 2015, 10:26 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 16 2015, 06:21 PM)
Went and tried (thanks by the way). If only I have enough budget, I would've go for Roland TD-15kv. I like the mesh heads compare to the TD-11k/kv mesh heads.

Snare : Yamaha
HiHat : Yamaha (because of the actual hihat stand)
Cymbals : Roland
Bass Drum : Roland
Sound : Yamaha

I guess I'm slightly leaning towards yamaha for now since 1 of the store I went gave me better offer on the dtx 532k

boiboi95
post Feb 18 2015, 04:00 AM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 17 2015, 10:26 PM)
Went and tried (thanks by the way). If only I have enough budget, I would've go for Roland TD-15kv. I like the mesh heads compare to the TD-11k/kv mesh heads.

I guess I'm slightly leaning towards yamaha for now since 1 of the store I went gave me better offer on the dtx 532k
there are difference between the 11 and 15's mesh heads? i don't know about that and thought they are practically the same thing since the heads looks the same ohmy.gif , anyway good to know that you had found your preferences, congrates and have fun with it biggrin.gif

Which stores did you went btw? I'm curious

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Feb 18 2015, 04:02 AM
Sammie7
post Feb 18 2015, 11:21 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 18 2015, 04:00 AM)
there are difference between the 11 and 15's mesh heads? i don't know about that  and thought they are practically the same thing since the heads looks the same  ohmy.gif , anyway good to know that you had found your preferences, congrates and have fun with it biggrin.gif
yup they are different apparently lols dun congrat me yet coz I haven't buy it lol waiting for ang pao money 1st tongue.gif

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 18 2015, 04:00 AM)
Which stores did you went btw? I'm curious
Music Bliss
boiboi95
post Feb 18 2015, 12:36 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 18 2015, 11:21 AM)
yup they are different apparently lols dun congrat me yet coz I haven't buy it lol waiting for ang pao money 1st tongue.gif
Music Bliss
What are the differences may I know?

been thinking whether should i get a keyboard amp like Roland KC-60 or the Drum Monitor like PM-10 for my V-drum. Any suggestions? My bass amp sounds horrible for it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Feb 18 2015, 12:52 PM
fdcoiea
post Feb 24 2015, 12:45 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 17 2015, 10:26 PM)

Personal preference: Yamaha does good introductory kit (especially the DTX450K which is really good for starters and beginners). However for the mid-range drums; I'd skewed over to Roland for the price vs value. Then again, its a perceived value.

On the mesh head, yeah I understand with you on the difference. Having that extra diameter on the mesh head makes a difference to the bounce.

Well, will be waiting for your drum! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 18 2015, 12:36 PM)
What are the differences may I know?

been thinking whether should i get a keyboard amp like Roland KC-60 or the Drum Monitor like PM-10 for my V-drum. Any suggestions? My bass amp sounds horrible for it  sweat.gif
I think the difference is in the diameter of the snare. Because the mesh snare that was used in TD11 is used in TD15 as tom, while the TD15 snare, if you notice, is a bit bigger thus giving it a better feel. Sort of like, hitting a 14" cymbal and a 22" cymbal. Difference response even both are made of the same material. smile.gif

On amps, I'd go with keyboard amp - partly the design for keyboard amp is more flexible than a drum mon. I mean, what if you plan to jam and so happen the bassist didn't bring his 150w amp cause its too heavy. So a keyboard amp does a better job than a drum mon.

Then again, having satelite speaker is a plus - which on drum mon can offer. Hehehehe

But I'd rather go with keyboard amp. Used to playing with a monitor on the floor, so feels normal to me.

boiboi95
post Feb 24 2015, 05:14 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(fdcoiea @ Feb 24 2015, 12:45 PM)
I think the difference is in the diameter of the snare. Because the mesh snare that was used in TD11 is used in TD15 as tom, while the TD15 snare, if you notice, is a bit bigger thus giving it a better feel. Sort of like, hitting a 14" cymbal and a 22" cymbal. Difference response even both are made of the same material. smile.gif

On amps, I'd go with keyboard amp - partly the design for keyboard amp is more flexible than a drum mon. I mean, what if you plan to jam and so happen the bassist didn't bring his 150w amp cause its too heavy. So a keyboard amp does a better job than a drum mon.

Then again, having satelite speaker is a plus - which on drum mon can offer. Hehehehe

But I'd rather go with keyboard amp. Used to playing with a monitor on the floor, so feels normal to me.
Thanks for the clarification, hmm but there is no satelite speaker on PM-10 no? Flexible is one thing but i plan to use it mostly just for personal practice, how about the sound wise? Will keyboard amp sounds better than drum mon?

fdcoiea
post Feb 27 2015, 02:38 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 24 2015, 05:14 PM)
Thanks for the clarification, hmm but there is no satelite speaker on PM-10 no? Flexible is one thing but i plan to use it mostly just for personal practice, how about the sound wise? Will keyboard amp sounds better than drum mon?
You're planning to hook it up onto your TD11? Personal preference is keyboard amp. Not really fond of drum mon. Tried both Roland and Yamaha's drum mon compared to a keyboard amp. Not quite remember how much is PM-10; but when I was searching for my Live Custom at Yamaha, I did give a try at their drum mon - sounded really closed and muffled.

But I prefer clarity and openness of the sound - so i tried out a keyboard amp there, I think was a Laney amp. 150watt. Sounded so much better, even the sales person also don't know how to defend how sucky their drum mon sound.

Then again, it could be the kinda sound I look for.

But my normal setup:

12 channel mixer
Headphones.
Can do mixing and balancing myself on the laptop.
boiboi95
post Feb 27 2015, 06:36 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(fdcoiea @ Feb 27 2015, 02:38 PM)
You're planning to hook it up onto your TD11? Personal preference is keyboard amp. Not really fond of drum mon. Tried both Roland and Yamaha's drum mon compared to a keyboard amp. Not quite remember how much is PM-10; but when I was searching for my Live Custom at Yamaha, I did give a try at their drum mon - sounded really closed and muffled.

But I prefer clarity and openness of the sound - so i tried out a keyboard amp there, I think was a Laney amp. 150watt. Sounded so much better, even the sales person also don't know how to defend how sucky their drum mon sound.

Then again, it could be the kinda sound I look for.

But my normal setup:

12 channel mixer
Headphones.
Can do mixing and balancing myself on the laptop.
yeah, hooking it up to my TD-11k, was using my bass amp all these while, 15W, sounded horrible, especially when i aux my song in.

But i got myself a KC-60 already smile.gif , so there wont be any trouble hooking up a v-drum to a keyboard amp yeah? Just making sure.

Can't wait for it to arrive biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Feb 27 2015, 06:36 PM
echoesian
post Feb 27 2015, 06:42 PM

3,294 posts

Can use Fender tube amp for electronic drums ?
boiboi95
post Feb 27 2015, 06:50 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 27 2015, 06:42 PM)
Can use Fender tube amp for electronic drums ?
A lot of people does not recommend a guitar amp for E-drums though.
echoesian
post Feb 27 2015, 07:04 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Feb 27 2015, 06:50 PM)
A lot of people does not recommend a guitar amp for E-drums though.
What's the reason ?
boiboi95
post Feb 27 2015, 07:12 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 27 2015, 07:04 PM)
What's the reason ?
If i am not mistaken, too much gain for it.

But it is a sure that you will potentially damage your amp horribly

100 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0325sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:00 AM