ah just kidding. next target shud be sensation
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V22, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1
Dec 21 2011, 04:46 PM
3,221 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: KL |
i refuse to jump onto the bandwagon so for meanwhile i'll stick to 4 seasons plus today got update to ver 1.1!!!
ah just kidding. next target shud be sensation |
3,432 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(bunch @ Dec 21 2011, 03:59 PM) Thanks destEX for your prompt reply. Ok I got ya, when restoring apps with TiBu, choose apps only not the apps+data. you can use apps+data, just not all apps + system dataThe thing is in checkrom 4, I was flashing the ics 1.5 then 1.6 afterwards but still cannot get 5 icons at the bottom of the home screen even though in the app drawer is 5 icons in a row. Suddenly one day when driving back from work my screen display become flipped (as if u r looking at the phone while facing a mirror upside down), wordings spelled from right to left and bottoms up but the keypress remain at the same spot. I should've capture a screen shot to show u guys but since i was panicking while driving, immediately I did a nandroid restore... Maybe my lack of linux exposure resulted this and its a good reason for me to flash another rom although checkrom has served me well since 5 icons at bottom is because of different launchers or is settings. the original touchwiz is 4 icons at bottom, the modified touchwiz has 5 buttons. The UPSIDE DOWN but BUTTONS still same, is because of the rotation transition effect from galaxy note which is in checkrom v4, it happens, just unlock, rotate it, then it'll be back as usual |
2 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Hi Guys,
Just got my set 2 days ago, and having problem with my reception. It seem to be ok including the wifi but when iam in the house is very bad there is no bar but kind of round thing (no entry) with slash across and problem connecting to my wifi. any idea and the the things is my friend dont have the same issue when he is in my house. |
Dec 21 2011, 04:47 PM
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: KL |
QUOTE(nemos21 @ Dec 21 2011, 04:46 PM) Hi Guys, On stock ROM or custom ?Just got my set 2 days ago, and having problem with my reception. It seem to be ok including the wifi but when iam in the house is very bad there is no bar but kind of round thing (no entry) with slash across and problem connecting to my wifi. any idea and the the things is my friend dont have the same issue when he is in my house. Try a factory reset. Dont forget to back up data first. |
Dec 21 2011, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(nemos21 @ Dec 21 2011, 04:46 PM) Hi Guys, err................ from wat i understand after reading thru ur post, u mean u lost connection to phone signal together with wifi when u enter ur house? time to organize some exorcism already LOLJust got my set 2 days ago, and having problem with my reception. It seem to be ok including the wifi but when iam in the house is very bad there is no bar but kind of round thing (no entry) with slash across and problem connecting to my wifi. any idea and the the things is my friend dont have the same issue when he is in my house. ur fren using wat phone? in past r u facing the same problem using same simcard in diff phone? for wifi wise, try another wifi phone and c. the reception is a bit weak i reckon. even beside the wifi modem oso no full bar |
Dec 21 2011, 04:53 PM
1,202 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Penang |
Dec 21 2011, 04:58 PM
10,873 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 21 2011, 04:44 PM) No idea yet. But no rush let give him time to release a proper stable rom.@ pikachu. Your bolt scripts indeed improve the smoothness, but in terms of batt saving need time to monitor. One other thing is, most people on custom rom have similar tweaks in their init.d folder. Most rom have zipalign, ram tweaks, sd read ahead, cpu tweaks, bla bla bla. Would it be better for them to clear their init.d folder before trying out your tweaks? Will there be any conflicts? I have a feeling they will not notice much diff if they never used their device without any tweaks to begin with. |
Dec 21 2011, 05:03 PM
14 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
anyone knows about ics(icecreamsandwich) on s2? is there any official release huh?
i`m new here. just receive my s2 few days ago. yoroshiku onegaishimasu ne. ^^ |
Dec 21 2011, 05:04 PM
1,510 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(busted @ Dec 21 2011, 04:42 PM) Should work well, as antt00 said, nandroid just in case QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 21 2011, 04:58 PM) No idea yet. But no rush let give him time to release a proper stable rom. zipalign: Most ROMs package the darky zipalign which sadly doesn't work. I've edited the script to properly work.@ pikachu. Your bolt scripts indeed improve the smoothness, but in terms of batt saving need time to monitor. One other thing is, most people on custom rom have similar tweaks in their init.d folder. Most rom have zipalign, ram tweaks, sd read ahead, cpu tweaks, bla bla bla. Would it be better for them to clear their init.d folder before trying out your tweaks? Will there be any conflicts? I have a feeling they will not notice much diff if they never used their device without any tweaks to begin with. ram tweaks: Most ROMs use Juwe's RAM tweaks or some other RAM tweak that only tweak the Linux LMK leaving out the Dalvik LMK. This creates a gap between memory released in Dalvik and Linux making memory hard to free. SGSII has more RAM so this isn't apparent. In SGS, having tweaked Dalvik gives a noticeable difference. SD read ahead: Most ROMs tweak this beyond 1024KB. Most of what we need is only 128 or 256 at max. forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1032317 CPU Tweaks: Some tweaks are mostly good actually, but not all are sane. ThunderBolt! edges it a bit more for it to become a bit faster as well as battery saving. You can read my sig: Android Optimization Tips to know what were my basis for each tweak that I did. Most people just copy paste expecting good things to happen (and some do get lucky). |
Dec 21 2011, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(zatto90 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:03 PM) anyone knows about ics(icecreamsandwich) on s2? is there any official release huh? Welcome. Official ICS is at First Quarter 2012. Thats all we know. The end.i`m new here. just receive my s2 few days ago. yoroshiku onegaishimasu ne. ^^ This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 21 2011, 05:12 PM |
Dec 21 2011, 05:16 PM
14 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Dec 21 2011, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(zatto90 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:16 PM) well... extra RM 600-800 for the HD screen. a bit redundant to me though the $199 tied with verizon contract is surely attractive. the problem is its CDMA phone. orelse i edi jumped onto GalNex ship already |
Dec 21 2011, 05:19 PM
1,334 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: ++TGG++ |
2,583 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(zatto90 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:16 PM) But there's a chance that Samsung would skin ICS for galaxy s2 and make it exactly like our current TW,and we don't get the awesomeness of ICS anymore from official rom. This is based on the fact that the leaked alpha build of ICS for s2 is skinned to TW till it doesn't even look like ICS,looks like our current TW. But its still alpha, so hopefully Samsung will stick with vanilla ICSAdded on December 21, 2011, 5:21 pm QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:19 PM) That's if ICS is properly optimized for exynos and Mali. If its not... nexus probably be betterThis post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 21 2011, 05:21 PM |
Dec 21 2011, 05:23 PM
1,334 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: ++TGG++ |
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Dec 21 2011, 05:19 PM) But there's a chance that Samsung would skin ICS for galaxy s2 and make it exactly like our current TW,and we don't get the awesomeness of ICS anymore from official rom. This is based on the fact that the leaked alpha build of ICS for s2 is skinned to TW till it doesn't even look like ICS,looks like our current TW. But its still alpha, so hopefully Samsung will stick with vanilla ICS Hmm..if like that better stick to custom rom..Added on December 21, 2011, 5:21 pm That's if ICS is properly optimized for exynos and Mali. If its not... nexus probably be better |
Dec 21 2011, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Dec 21 2011, 05:19 PM) But there's a chance that Samsung would skin ICS for galaxy s2 and make it exactly like our current TW,and we don't get the awesomeness of ICS anymore from official rom. This is based on the fact that the leaked alpha build of ICS for s2 is skinned to TW till it doesn't even look like ICS,looks like our current TW. But its still alpha, so hopefully Samsung will stick with vanilla ICS the another mali-powered device- Galaxy tab 7.7 will be receiving ICS update on first quarter. so, lets keep finger crossed for the delicious sandwich Added on December 21, 2011, 5:21 pm That's if ICS is properly optimized for exynos and Mali. If its not... nexus probably be better |
44 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(destEX @ Dec 21 2011, 04:46 PM) you can use apps+data, just not all apps + system data That happened only after I flash ics theme from kitchen. Tried lock & unlock screen still same, then I reboot also still the same resulting me doing a restore and afraid to flash theme again after that 5 icons at bottom is because of different launchers or is settings. the original touchwiz is 4 icons at bottom, the modified touchwiz has 5 buttons. The UPSIDE DOWN but BUTTONS still same, is because of the rotation transition effect from galaxy note which is in checkrom v4, it happens, just unlock, rotate it, then it'll be back as usual Thanks for the info btw! too much "speed reading" makes me unaware that checkrom v4 has the rotation transition effect from galaxy note QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:04 PM) Should work well, as antt00 said, nandroid just in case @pikachu01, once flash a new rom tonite I'll b installing your script. If any of my noobness gets in the way I sure am gonna spam u a lot! zipalign: Most ROMs package the darky zipalign which sadly doesn't work. I've edited the script to properly work. ram tweaks: Most ROMs use Juwe's RAM tweaks or some other RAM tweak that only tweak the Linux LMK leaving out the Dalvik LMK. This creates a gap between memory released in Dalvik and Linux making memory hard to free. SGSII has more RAM so this isn't apparent. In SGS, having tweaked Dalvik gives a noticeable difference. SD read ahead: Most ROMs tweak this beyond 1024KB. Most of what we need is only 128 or 256 at max. forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1032317 CPU Tweaks: Some tweaks are mostly good actually, but not all are sane. ThunderBolt! edges it a bit more for it to become a bit faster as well as battery saving. You can read my sig: Android Optimization Tips to know what were my basis for each tweak that I did. Most people just copy paste expecting good things to happen (and some do get lucky). |
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: KL |
| Change to: | 0.0314sec