Short Review on the Exora Bold

dares
post Dec 17 2011, 12:44 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Dec 17 2011, 12:20 PM)
Well known but not official. Even for the Exora CFE, if you ask any SA (or even your neighbour Proton staff) before the official press release, they won't tell you about it.
Not necessarily true. My sa gave me the brochure for flx se a week before official launch and even let me test drive the display unit 2 days before the official launch / public press release.

It is true though most sa know very little info about the new cars simplybecause proton have not pass down much information to the dealers. Even i knew that proton was shipping out the showroom units before my sa found out.
dares
post Dec 17 2011, 05:30 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Dec 17 2011, 05:14 PM)
Good car, right? brows.gif

Now, how to convince my mom to ditch her Grand Livina and get this?

whistling.gif
1. Drive her Grand Livina into a ditch (you friend V12k may be able to help)

2. Claim total loss, insurance.

3. Buy Exora Bold.

4. Profit.

rclxms.gif
dares
post Dec 18 2011, 10:50 PM

834 posts

I always wondered how P2 got greenlit the Alza since it was in the same price range as Avanza.
dares
post Dec 18 2011, 11:15 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 18 2011, 11:00 PM)
Because in Japan there's no Avanza but there's Passo Sette/Sirion Luminas so Perodua have the reason to assemble it here as Alza.

Avanza is part of Toyota IMV project which never include Japan as their market preference.
But what about the local market? from Toyota's POV there was no need to bring in those models since there already was Avanza here. Even though it is sold under a different brand name, isn't it pitting their own product against each other?

QUOTE(ben3085 @ Dec 18 2011, 11:01 PM)
Just because the Alza is copied from Toyota doesn't mean that Perodua will not create a new model from scratch to go head to head with the Exora.

Even though i am much more of a Proton fan / owner but i will not take for granted that Perodua engineers and designers aren't doing something new to catch the consumer from other manufacturers currently. A bit of friendly rivalry is always healthy.
P2 have no in-house engineering and design capacity to create a car from scratch. All their cars are rebadged Daihatsus. The only way currently for P2 to compete with Exora is to rebadge the Innova from Toyota.
dares
post Dec 18 2011, 11:47 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ben3085 @ Dec 18 2011, 11:39 PM)
I don't know about Toyota's control of Perodua and how Toyota is making money from  Myvi via Daihatsu joint venture but an improved version of the Alza can be done.
Toyota owns daihatsu, daihatsu owns 35% of perodua. To them, perodua is merely the means to sell their cars here without the exorbitant taxes.

What perodua sells is entirely on the whim of toyota.
dares
post Dec 18 2011, 11:54 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ben3085 @ Dec 18 2011, 11:50 PM)
Well, since most of you saying that is not going to happen than let it be, so Perodua will not make an improved version of the Alza and they are doom to the same boring model till the end of their lives.

Plus i did mention i am guessing/ only that Perodua may come out with a model to compete with the Exora. So my guess is wrong and do i get a banned from this?
Dont be so serious,we are all just sharing info, not criticizing you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 18 2011, 11:56 PM
dares
post Dec 19 2011, 12:29 AM

834 posts

Focusing back on the exora. Along with the new line of saga and the upcoming new proton model, i would like to give the designers at proton a good pat at the back.

Good job, now do better.biggrin.gif
dares
post Dec 25 2011, 03:38 PM

834 posts

Just came back from test drive. I cant complain about the delay because honestly i can hardly feel it, in fact at the traffic light i almost hit the car in front because the sudden surge of power.

No arguments about the turbo, fuu power sial...
dares
post Dec 25 2011, 11:57 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 25 2011, 09:37 PM)
not sure exora got armrest or not
but the new proton now i think doesn't come with armrest but dn't worry...aftermarket company sure will quickly made a few for sell
Test driven the Bold Premium today, got armrest.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 25 2011, 09:37 PM)
i dn't know but previous saga FLX also have delay
they changed 3 things thn fixed already
1.CVT pump
2.fuel hose
3.extra CVT cooling hose
so u can ask if they fixed this few things
I've test driven the FLX SE 1.6, the delay is still there. I read in The Star motoring today a review for Exora Bold and FLX SE, the author say use L gear to eliminate the delay, dunno true anot.

dares
post Dec 26 2011, 02:07 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 26 2011, 12:11 AM)
The L gear is just to engage short gear ratio, means more brisk acceleration, hence, the delay isn't noticeable.
So should the driver switch to L when going from standstill then switch back to D?

EDIT: should stop derailing this thread, feel free to reply in the BLM/FL/FLX tered biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 26 2011, 02:08 AM
dares
post Dec 26 2011, 02:40 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 26 2011, 02:16 AM)
no. that would cause unnecessary fuel wastage. live with it coz face the fact, the car come with 2 most lagging tech for current vehicle; the drive-by-wire and cvt. anyway its juz the starting of the acceleration though. i believe after that everything is super fine and smooth
I wish I could ignore it, but it was really bugging me when I test drive it. Even the Inspira exhibited similiar characteristics during acceleration, though not as serious.

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Dec 26 2011, 02:21 AM)
ini your own statement or your SA kencing you one? lol
I could hear the whining sound around that speed also. The pickup was very impressive, the car kept pulling ahead of every car on the road like nobody's business. If we have such power on a saga chassis, I would dump the Inspira for that any time of the day.

Dare I say, between my test drive experience with the Inspira and the EBP, I was more taken with the EBP though I don't see myself buying a MPV.
dares
post Dec 26 2011, 07:17 PM

834 posts

Good work from proton, ppl need to have a little faith in them. Nevertheless, its not the engineering i am worry about, it is the qc.

Btw, flx se can reach 190??

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 26 2011, 07:18 PM
dares
post Dec 26 2011, 11:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 26 2011, 10:09 PM)
actually thats kinda subjective
IAFM and IAFM+ if not wrong is no difference..IF NOT WRONG
IAFM+ advantage is..it resolved the previous "tak tak" sound made by some rod inside
IAFM+ was developed specifically for the CVT gearbox to allow the engine to reach the max hp at a lower rpm.

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 26 2011, 11:24 PM
dares
post Dec 26 2011, 11:35 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Dec 26 2011, 11:28 PM)
yes this achieved with reprofiled camshaft..can speculate that, iafm (manifold) has no difference..bit difference in head and programming (maybe)

anyway tested the exora, very smooth and good power, but got light whining sound..cvt sound?
Thats what i got from wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro#Campro_IAFM_engine

Read the part about IAFM+

Iafm is a separate component from the engine block, don't think it has anything to do with the camshaft.

The whining sound......turbo baybeh icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 26 2011, 11:37 PM
dares
post Dec 26 2011, 11:54 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Dec 26 2011, 11:44 PM)
yes, i know...iafm is intake manifold thingy..the mechanism of switching to long runner / short runner

but in paultan, got mentioned reprofiled camshaft is a part of the stuff they called iafm+...

so how you shift the powerband? i believe it is the work the camshaft..plus with the help of iafm
Now that you put it this way, it makes sense. Anyone can confirm this? If this is true, then it is the same freaking iafm from before...
dares
post Dec 29 2011, 06:55 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Dec 29 2011, 06:49 PM)
Ordered EBP..... hope can get before CNY
Congrats...your SA promised how soon?
dares
post Dec 29 2011, 07:43 PM

834 posts

This CNY balik kampung gonna see many Exora Bolds and Inspiras chasing each other down the highway biggrin.gif
dares
post Dec 29 2011, 09:29 PM

834 posts

Next year the interest rate will probably go up, so will car prices. Cherish your purchases.
dares
post Dec 31 2011, 02:15 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 31 2011, 01:55 PM)
How do you expect a MPV boot to close? My Kangoo also bangs loud when you just let the thing drop, and IIRC a Touran isn't much different either. Just find the right technique to close the thing... for me it's lowering it until maybe 10 cm left, then pull up slightly, immediately letting go/pushing down a bit to close. Then the sound is ok, not too loud, and it's properly locked.

Unless they install a hydraulic system or electric motors to close the boot I doubt there is a lot they can do.

Hey, I have heard some people say 4AT is an advantage... proven tech, won't go wrong, easy to maintain. laugh.gif
Just now help my friend close his vios dugong boot...boom with metal clanking sound tongue.gif tongue.gif

Funnier is that i help him close coz he was inside the house and accidentally press the boot open button but lazy wanna come out and close it, and i ngam ngam arrive outside laugh.gif
dares
post Jan 1 2012, 12:37 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Jan 1 2012, 12:20 AM)
how come some got lower interest rate than others? I tot the interest rate is fixed... no?
Varies from bank to bank, loan tenure, loan amount and vehicle type.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:10 PM