> The use of Chinese characters in South Korea

syockit
post Dec 16 2011, 12:19 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 16 2011, 12:15 PM)
Similarly in M'sia..the new generation of chinese also losing their mother tongue liao and adopting to mandarin...really cham man
Yalah, what i kenot brain is why did chinese parents send their children to SRJK©, only to force their children to Mandarin (or rather, Bahasa Bunga)? It doesn't serve the purpose of preserving their own culture.
anechoic
post Dec 16 2011, 02:01 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Dec 16 2011, 12:06 AM)
Of course, there are words of native origin that can't be written in Chinese.
For example, annyeong = 安寧, but there's no hanja for haseyo. Most verbs are native. I don't know if they would use hanja for parts of the verb (for example, using a hanja for ha in haseyo), but I know for sure that seyo is always in hangul.

(Maybe that Hakka anyong is also written as 安寧)

But wait, if annyeong was a loanword, then what was their greeting before?
QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 16 2011, 12:21 AM)
I always suspect Anyong is similar to Hakka word but din know the meaning also same haha
an yong in hakka means 'if' or similar to 'how' ..

This post has been edited by anechoic: Dec 16 2011, 02:02 PM
khelben
post Dec 16 2011, 02:06 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 16 2011, 12:15 PM)
Similarly in M'sia..the new generation of chinese also losing their mother tongue liao and adopting to mandarin...really cham man
QUOTE(syockit @ Dec 16 2011, 12:19 PM)
Yalah, what i kenot brain is why did chinese parents send their children to SRJK©, only to force their children to Mandarin (or rather, Bahasa Bunga)? It doesn't serve the purpose of preserving their own culture.
Mandarin is the lingua franca for chinese ethnics already, so I don't see why they shouldn't learn it laugh.gif

Just like how people don't speak Ye Olde English anymore biggrin.gif
damonlbs
post Dec 16 2011, 02:30 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 15 2011, 11:25 PM)
Their England for sure bad lor..just like Thailand. Anyway, lotsa shop owners can speak abit of rotten mandarin & those in Myeondong sales girls that gave out free cosmestic samples can speak fluent mandarin. and lost of the hotel receptionist too can speak fluent mandarin to my surprise..They probably chinese migrated to Seoul  hmm.gif

When they kenot understand england, I speak to them in Chinese for sure haha..They can understand easier. For eg..I ask the 7-11/GS store in Incheon airport about student T-money card (TNG) in england they kenot understand so i used Chinese - Hoksang Piew/ well they can understand me man haha although they corrected my pronouciation to HakSeng pyio  rclxms.gif
this thread remind me of a story

a lady came in the shop the boss and the lady start talking in english bla bla bla.....

say she is married to a malaysian Chinese here she is from korean

boss ask so ur a korean chinese...?

she said no she is chinese and keep emphasizing she is Chinese

boss is like huh.gif unsure.gif

then she said her family been staying in Korea for 5 generations
their family were allow to keep their chinese citizenship

if they want to go back they can choose China or Taiwan something like that

happen sometime back dont remember all the details

quintessential
post Dec 17 2011, 11:43 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

why condemn the usage of mandarin? be grateful that emperor shih huang di united all chinese ethnics into 1 rumpun (han chinese). else become like europe (small countries, warlords etc)
syockit
post Dec 17 2011, 12:57 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Dec 17 2011, 11:43 AM)
why condemn the usage of mandarin? be grateful that emperor shih huang di united all chinese ethnics into 1 rumpun (han chinese). else become like europe (small countries, warlords etc)
He unite the writing only, right? Where got he speak mandarin?
XterNalz
post Dec 22 2011, 02:40 PM

330 posts

Actually, the dynasties of Han chinese (like Ming,Tang) were using dialects that shared great similarities with southern China dialects like Hokkien and Cantonese. When their kingdoms fell into the hands of other races like mongols and manchus, the Han people (especially the royal families) cabut to southern China for hiding/living.

This post has been edited by XterNalz: Dec 22 2011, 02:47 PM
pml_318
post Dec 22 2011, 03:14 PM

231 posts

One of the korean drama i'm chasing is bragging about the creation of their own letter/character:树大根深
mirage2000
post Dec 22 2011, 03:45 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 15 2011, 09:37 PM)
BTW, this Dongdaemun station signboard wth that awek...The Chinese word vocab 100% copied by Korean...i.e in Mandarin = Tong Da Men and in Korean- Dong Dae Mun. - Direct translation = "East Big gate"
USJ big gate biggrin.gif

asd5139
post Dec 22 2011, 04:38 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 15 2011, 09:50 PM)
Yes it's true. All Korean name have official Hanja or traditional Chinese wan

For eg..Lee Dae Hae Korean 변다혜 Hanja 卞多惠
변다혜 is her original/birth name and pronounce as Byun/byeon Da Hye
Lee Da Hae is spell like this 이다해 la biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by asd5139: Dec 22 2011, 04:39 PM
syockit
post Dec 23 2011, 10:44 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(asd5139 @ Dec 22 2011, 04:38 PM)
변다혜 is her original/birth name and pronounce as Byun/byeon Da Hye
Lee Da Hae is spell like this 이다해 la biggrin.gif
Then the Hanja is probably 李多惠 (btw 이/李 is pronounced 'ee')
Boomeraangkid
post Dec 23 2011, 10:53 AM

Behind You
2,696 posts

lol all hidden korean speakers all appear suddenly. anyway korean is easy to read but not understand imo. mandarin all also hard to do. and im a chinese. japanese susah man.
SUSashcrimson
post Dec 23 2011, 11:38 AM

146 posts

FYI, there's a lot of korean name that can't be written in hanja...
ysoon
post Dec 23 2011, 12:12 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Dec 15 2011, 08:50 PM)
so korean only use chinese character for place name?
Don't you see the sign? Korean, Chinese and English ( Is in facts direct translation from Korean in pronunciation for those foreigner that can't read Korean and Chinese ) for the place name at Subway station.

This post has been edited by ysoon: Dec 23 2011, 12:22 PM
ysoon
post Dec 23 2011, 12:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Dec 16 2011, 09:17 AM)
I was in Seoul I'm april and the metro was in 4 languages, Korean, English, Chinese and japanese. The announcements were also made in these languages. Btw, the Seoul metro is a joy to use, unlike the Malaysian and Singapore rail system.
Seoul better than Singapore rail? To me, Singapore rail is far far better than Malaysia already. I never been to Seoul so I don't know. Beside Singapore, I went to Hong Kong, Shanghai and Taipei, all the Metro are a joy to use too... smile.gif

asd5139
post Dec 25 2011, 01:22 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Dec 23 2011, 10:44 AM)
Then the Hanja is probably 李多惠 (btw 이/李 is pronounced 'ee')
I can't read and understand hanja, so let the one who knew it to answer. I am aware of the pronunciation of 이 as ee/i.. hehe it is just a normal way of romanization (to use LEE) for korean name. (BTW. North Korean use 리 instead of 이 for their name)

^^For me, Seoul public transport by far superior than Singapore. Thing that i love the most is the easiness of transferring from subway to buses without having to pay more (simply continuation of the previous journey) biggrin.gif
engseng
post Dec 25 2011, 02:45 PM

1,981 posts

Ahhh... Interesting topic. I wonder why I post about this topic in other forum no one interested to contribute?

For a long time I wanted to know why the Koreans abandoned Hanja usage in recent years. I think the reason is primarily nationalistic... It doesn't help that the two countries widely using Chinese characters Japan and China were hostile to them in the 20th century, and Hangeul is a nationalistic pride for them (they even got a special day to celebrate it). Of course, it is easy to adopt Hangeul since it is phonetic but then South Korea has been using the mixed Hangeul+Hanja writing right up till the late '80s.

engseng
post Dec 25 2011, 02:53 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Dec 15 2011, 09:21 PM)
I don't think there is a problem of vocabulary, there are still plenty of words. The problem is with identifying homophones i.e. words with same sound and spelling but different meanings. If they were spelled with Hanja, you'd see the difference right away.

Of course, this isn't a problem in speech, only in writings (where they tend to use more complicated words).
What the Hangeul script makes reading and writing easier... Any language you learn you still need to put in effort to learn the vocabulary. I find Korean grammar harder than Japanese with all those particles...

What Hanja overcomes is to clarify meaning in certain contexts involving homophonic words, you watch the Korean news they will write 军, 中, 日, 前 just to make sure everyone knows what they're talking about.
C-Note
post Dec 25 2011, 02:54 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

even their flag is derived from chinese origins...these bunch of koreans and japanese..all copycat..now mooncake festival is korean
jay
post Dec 25 2011, 03:20 PM

Legendary
904 posts

seems like copying is genetic among yellow skinned race lolz

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >

0.0217sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:21 PM