Terminated Astro Byond, What to do with decoder & Dish?

SUSchokia
post Dec 13 2011, 07:28 PM, updated 13y ago

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Those who already terminated astro service and posted the smartcard to astro to avoid fine, what you do with the decoder and dish?

A. Sell them for RM30 each to Electrical Shop cum astro installer?
B. Modify it to receive Thai HD channel or channel from other satelite?
C. Just leave it as it is collecting dust or rust.

rock_world
post Dec 13 2011, 07:30 PM

MuhanddiS
895 posts

i tought that the decoder is belong to astro?
odengerrard
post Dec 13 2011, 07:33 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 13 2011, 07:28 PM)
Those who already terminated astro service and posted the smartcard to astro to avoid fine, what you do with the decoder and dish?

Yeah, sold it to LYN-ners
Im interested to know about option B.
Can modify? Any links?
rkoviper
post Dec 13 2011, 11:30 PM

151 posts

Lol..just sell it lar..got no use keeping them..only collecting dust..A
geforce1999
post Dec 14 2011, 09:09 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

I cancelled my Astro back in 2001 and the disk is still sitting on the roof collecting dust... decoder and card still with me in the store room...

3 weeks ago, I also cancelled my father's Astro due to worn out after many years of service and there was no part for old Astro decoder and I was asked to upgrade to Astro Beyond with RM20/month more of which I refused since "wheather proof" problem still exist on Astro Beyond. This round I was asked to return the card to Astro but I ignore it, is it normal that Astro ask the card to be returned after cancellation? I didn't get that back in 2001 when I cancelled mine...
mikapoh
post Dec 14 2011, 09:15 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Dec 14 2011, 09:09 AM)
since "wheather proof" problem still exist on Astro Beyond.  This round I was asked to return the card to Astro but I ignore it,
Holy shoot, astro beyond still succumb to weather issue!

This is annoying especially when you watch sports live broadcast!

geforce1999
post Dec 14 2011, 10:18 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Yup, over the phone the lady told me Astro Beyond better than the old decoder but not weather proof. That was part of the reason why I cancelled mine a decade ago... Can image after 10 yrs the problem still there and they don't even bother to do extra mile like doing cable TV etc...
rkoviper
post Dec 16 2011, 11:44 PM

151 posts

I cancelled my Astro back in 2001 and the disk is still sitting on the roof collecting dust... decoder and card still with me in the store room...

3 weeks ago, I also cancelled my father's Astro due to worn out after many years of service and there was no part for old Astro decoder and I was asked to upgrade to Astro Beyond with RM20/month more of which I refused since "wheather proof" problem still exist on Astro Beyond.  This round I was asked to return the card to Astro but I ignore it, is it normal that Astro ask the card to be returned after cancellation?  I didn't get that back in 2001 when I cancelled mine...
ask someone to tke it off your disk and go sell it..easy way bro..
and i before use the old big decoder..when i upgrade bro,they took the away our old decoder..they said they need it..and i dunno why..
rclxub.gif
ycs
post Dec 17 2011, 09:12 AM

4,234 posts

TS, i'll take the dish for rm30 or any other sellers?
coo|dude
post Dec 17 2011, 09:16 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

What can you do with the dish?

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 17 2011, 09:12 AM)
The current market price is RM30 just for the dish? I thought it's more than that? What will you do with the dish anyway?
DarkNite
post Dec 17 2011, 09:17 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 17 2011, 09:12 AM)
dish can do wat.
decoder is know is laku but asstro dish? hmm.gif
coo|dude
post Dec 17 2011, 09:22 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

Wifi antenna boaster.
rkoviper
post Dec 17 2011, 07:38 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Dec 17 2011, 09:22 AM)
Wifi antenna boaster.
seriously -,-
neb
post Dec 17 2011, 10:08 PM

2,234 posts

keep your satellite dish, astro is going to launch Free-to-Air satellite TV

rkoviper
post Dec 18 2011, 11:29 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 17 2011, 10:08 PM)
keep your satellite dish, astro is going to launch Free-to-Air satellite TV
what is that..? rclxub.gif
neb
post Dec 18 2011, 02:31 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(rkoviper @ Dec 18 2011, 11:29 AM)
what is that..? rclxub.gif
astro is trying to copycat UK's freesat, a Subscription free Satellite TV
SUSchokia
post Dec 18 2011, 06:36 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Yeah
ekestima
post Dec 18 2011, 06:55 PM

930 posts

Sure they give fta ?

Possible I think. They give tv1, 2,3,8,9 ntv7.
AVFAN
post Dec 18 2011, 07:35 PM

24,470 posts

welcome any info about this - any hint or link will do, tq!!

getting sick and tired of astro, beyond incl - nothing to watch after 1 yr. maybe unifi killed it. will terminate very soon.

rm30, please la... RM200 maybe i sell...

rkoviper
post Dec 18 2011, 11:20 PM

151 posts

lol..rm30 for that big metal thing..-,-
yeah..maybe around that price can get
smileguy
post Dec 19 2011, 03:05 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 18 2011, 02:31 PM)
astro is trying to copycat UK's freesat, a Subscription free Satellite TV
I dont think they can even near uk free sat,they may give thier family pack foc and some selected like tutor tv,astro ceria, etc !UK free sat deserves respect thats what free means!
masuhito
post Jan 11 2012, 01:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 19 2011, 03:05 PM)
I dont think they can even near uk free sat,they may give thier family pack foc and some selected like tutor tv,astro ceria, etc !UK free sat deserves respect thats what free means!
LOL... Agree with you! sweat.gif
spikey2506
post Jan 11 2012, 02:26 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

3 weeks ago, I also cancelled my father's Astro due to worn out after many years of service and there was no part for old Astro decoder and I was asked to upgrade to Astro Beyond with RM20/month more of which I refused since "wheather proof" problem still exist on Astro Beyond.  This round I was asked to return the card to Astro but I ignore it, is it normal that Astro ask the card to be returned after cancellation?  I didn't get that back in 2001 when I cancelled mine...
if u don''t return the card, they will charge rm80 to your account. just return it to any astro branch

skylinelover
post Jan 11 2012, 07:01 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

haha if i m TS,,,i long time throw the assthrow parts in the dust bin long time ago dy...no questions asked laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jan 11 2012, 07:02 PM
jksthing
post Jan 12 2012, 05:11 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2011, 07:35 PM)
welcome any info about this - any hint or link will do, tq!!

getting sick and tired of astro, beyond incl - nothing to watch after 1 yr. maybe unifi killed it. will terminate very soon.

rm30, please la... RM200 maybe i sell...
Wanted to terminate astro and subscribe to unifi but astro wah lai toi and channel 314 having an iron grip on mom. Only those 2 channels are watched but need to pay for whole dynasty package. no such thing for unifi, you pay for individual channel.
skylinelover
post Jan 12 2012, 11:16 AM

11,265 posts

haha yeah...how i wish we can pay 4 the 1 separate channel instead of the whole crappy packages...i want STAR WORLD HD but i dont want the rest of the other variety channels which is y it sucks laugh.gif especially when channel V got suddenly removed 4 no particular reason doh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jan 12 2012, 11:17 AM
SUSchokia
post Jan 12 2012, 02:46 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

LOL, Ikr, i terminated a lot of things last December

Astro
TM
Maxis

And their cheque are coming in, yesterday received RM149 from TM, waiting for astro RM89 and maxis not yet send, im pretty sure there a deposit or prorated payment that they hutang me.

de|phantom
post Jan 12 2012, 05:50 PM

▣⌇▣ Rest In Peace ▣⌇▣
891 posts

the b option, how to modify?
coo|dude
post Jan 12 2012, 06:24 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(de|phantom @ Jan 12 2012, 05:50 PM)
the b option, how to modify?
Can modify, but it's illegal and not free, but way cheaper than having Astro.
kapultek
post Jan 12 2012, 08:49 PM

1,376 posts

How to modify
de|phantom
post Jan 12 2012, 11:57 PM

▣⌇▣ Rest In Peace ▣⌇▣
891 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 12 2012, 06:24 PM)
Can modify, but it's illegal and not free, but way cheaper than having Astro.
u mean like dream box??
coo|dude
post Jan 13 2012, 12:01 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

that's the only way that I know, is there any other way?
mharry
post Jan 14 2012, 03:10 AM

Full astro w/o HD Channel..free Truevision Thaicom5, free indovision SES7..can recieve NSS-6, ST1 Taiwan..and more satelite..
buy Multimedia player like Openbox and c-line..
Latest Openbox S12 HD PVR...

pppieee
post Jul 10 2012, 07:58 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(mharry @ Jan 14 2012, 03:10 AM)
Full astro w/o HD Channel..free Truevision Thaicom5, free indovision SES7..can recieve NSS-6, ST1 Taiwan..and more satelite..
buy Multimedia player like Openbox and c-line..
Latest Openbox S12 HD PVR...
are this legal? blink.gif
Mickey C
post Jul 11 2012, 01:06 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jan 12 2012, 02:46 PM)
LOL, Ikr, i terminated a lot of things last December

Astro
TM
Maxis

And their cheque are coming in, yesterday received RM149 from TM, waiting for astro RM89 and maxis not yet send, im pretty sure there a deposit or prorated payment that they hutang me.
You become very rich already, u save a lot... thumbup.gif
tanhks
post Jul 12 2012, 03:16 AM

608 posts

Ku-band wave length is 1.67-2.5cm equal length of rain drop that is why Ku-band signal can be easily absorbed by rain fall.

C-band is weather proof, because C-band wave length is 3.75-7.5cm and it will not be absorb by rain fall.
Now a day, the newer generation of satellite have more powerful C-band signal and can be received on 90 cm dish.
Wondering will astro start using C-band and let us have 90 cm dish so that no more "service not available" during heavy rain fall.

http://www.lyngsat.com/Measat-3.html

This post has been edited by tanhks: Mar 10 2013, 07:18 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jul 12 2012, 03:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 19 2011, 03:05 PM)
Agreed. Let's look at the difference:

UK Freesat:
- Bring your own decoder- can pick and choose brand, functionality etc. Buying a decoder is like buying a TV set- you walk into a electronics shop and pick it up from a display of several units.
- No need smart card
- Can even receive other countries' channels, and is actually LEGAL to do so because of EU program sharing law.

Assteruk "free" sat:
- Only assteruk decoder allowed. Assteruk will only supply very limited type of decoders. Dun like the brand? too bad.
- Still need smart card.
- Lock down to only assteruk signal.

Imo, it's not really free if you're forced to use assteruk's decoder and can only receive own country channels. To me, the definition of free is beyond "don't need monthly subscription". It means letting the consumer choose what decoder they want and what they want to watch with no restrictions.

---

For me, I return the smart card but get to keep the dish and decoder. Apparently the contract states that if you have kept to the contract until past the contract end date, and then terminate, the decoder and dish is yours to keep. But the smart card must be returned no matter what. I recommend going to Assteruk building in person and giving it back by hand, and then take photo and name of person who received the card. I return the card by mail, but keep details and double check to see if card reached them, and in the end they still try to sue me for "not returning smart card". I placed one angry phone call to the lawyer who sent the letter, one angry phone call to Assteruk CS, and repeat the details given to both of them. They shut up from then on, but I already swear I'm never ever getting assteruk's service ever again.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jul 12 2012, 03:41 PM
snowball2446
post Jul 14 2012, 06:07 AM

Leave the decoder and dish because later you might decide to subscribe again.
But need to return the smart card, better go to a Astro branch near you instead of send the card by post.

http://support.astro.com.my/LocateBranches.aspx
popice2u
post Jul 29 2012, 09:22 PM

1,337 posts

i want to terminate astro beyond....was told must pay penalty due to 2 yrs contract. when sign-up that time promoter din say anything abt contract also.

so must return the card? what abt the decoder?
RAMChYLD
post Jul 31 2012, 12:22 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Jul 29 2012, 09:22 PM)
i want to terminate astro beyond....was told must pay penalty due to 2 yrs contract. when sign-up that time promoter din say anything abt contract also.

so must return the card? what abt the decoder?
Well, to be fair, the two years contract thing is written in the form T&C. So sign the form and you agree to the two years lock in. Sadly, many people don't read the T&C or think about it deeply before signing.

Decoder and dish you can sell as besi buruk, or keep as bitter memory to remind yourself how horrible their customer support is. But yes, card, you must return.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jul 31 2012, 12:31 PM
popice2u
post Jul 31 2012, 06:34 PM

1,337 posts

went to cancel yesterday....but effective 27Aug....and kena pay penalty cos left 1 more yr contract.
alex386
post Aug 7 2012, 12:48 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jul 12 2012, 03:26 PM)
Agreed. Let's look at the difference:

UK Freesat:
- Bring your own decoder- can pick and choose brand, functionality etc. Buying a decoder is like buying a TV set- you walk into a electronics shop and pick it up from a display of several units.
- No need smart card
- Can even receive other countries' channels, and is actually LEGAL to do so because of EU program sharing law.

Assteruk "free" sat:
- Only assteruk decoder allowed. Assteruk will only supply very limited type of decoders. Dun like the brand? too bad.
- Still need smart card.
- Lock down to only assteruk signal.

Imo, it's not really free if you're forced to use assteruk's decoder and can only receive own country channels. To me, the definition of free is beyond "don't need monthly subscription". It means letting the consumer choose what decoder they want and what they want to watch with no restrictions.

---

For me, I return the smart card but get to keep the dish and decoder. Apparently the contract states that if you have kept to the contract until past the contract end date, and then terminate, the decoder and dish is yours to keep. But the smart card must be returned no matter what. I recommend going to Assteruk building in person and giving it back by hand, and then take photo and name of person who received the card. I return the card by mail, but keep details and double check to see if card reached them, and in the end they still try to sue me for "not returning smart card". I placed one angry phone call to the lawyer who sent the letter, one angry phone call to Assteruk CS, and repeat the details given to both of them. They shut up from then on, but I already swear I'm never ever getting assteruk's service ever again.
you have to pay GBP145.50 per year to renew your tv license at UK.. GBP145.50 = RM700++/ year
azldt7
post Aug 7 2012, 08:18 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(alex386 @ Aug 7 2012, 12:48 AM)
you have to pay GBP145.50 per year to renew your tv license at UK.. GBP145.50 = RM700++/ year
But you must remember that their salary avg. around £2k-3k per mth. Therefore paying £145 is like nothing to them with alot of channel to choose. In Malaysia, we pay rm145, we only can watch this assberuk channel only. We cannot convert and then compare, which i think totally not correct and must based on standard of living of each country. Even at uk, you can still get a loaf of bread for 20 pence, where in here you can get 20 sen bread. My 2P only.
weikee
post Aug 7 2012, 09:44 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(alex386 @ Aug 7 2012, 12:48 AM)
Don't convert. If convert, should also convert the income. Malaysia gov always like to convert making no brain people think wet paying cheap for many things. If want to convert how much are we paying for higher education vs PR local in UK paying higher education? How much we pay for cars? What public transport they have vs Malaysia?

This post has been edited by weikee: Aug 7 2012, 09:44 AM
malique86
post Sep 30 2012, 12:44 PM

peace all bro...nak tanya...saya ingat nak angkat skybox ni gak la......
saya dah ke astro utk terminate...tp salesgirl tu kata dia org akan amik balik decoder dgn dish (Byond) tu balik...
saya ada bawak smart card sekali, tp dia kata nanti ada org akan kutip semua sekali kat umah...

mmg mcm tu ke? hmm.gif
popice2u
post Sep 30 2012, 07:41 PM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(malique86 @ Sep 30 2012, 12:44 PM)
peace all bro...nak tanya...saya ingat nak angkat skybox ni gak la......
saya dah ke astro utk terminate...tp salesgirl tu kata dia org akan amik balik decoder dgn dish (Byond) tu balik...
saya ada bawak smart card sekali, tp dia kata nanti ada org akan kutip semua sekali kat umah...

mmg mcm tu ke? hmm.gif
bagi balik decoder with power supply & card shj.
dish tu tak payah.....
a_wei1319
post Oct 10 2012, 09:39 AM

50 posts

yup..same issue.
i went to Assstruk CS at Cheras yesterday to terminate my asstruk account. End of contract.
They are asking me to return back all the item like smart card, decoder, remote control, adaptor, and also dish.. it's sound ridiculous for me.
i told him da i can understand to return the smart card. But is sound crzay that asking me to remove the dish at the roof top myself and return back. i told him that i had paid RM199 during registeration time and im pretty sure that is under my property. im damn angry that the service is bad for me. So i went to Damansara branch. the officer there said only return smart card. den i called to Call center. another officer told me the account had cancel n she told me the contractor will come to my house and collect all the items. I sounded her back as i wont allowed them to come over my house.. I damn angry agn. that's why i had run few email to them..but the problem is they cant give me the correct info. feel so disappointed with them.
zarul90
post Oct 10 2012, 09:45 AM

268 posts

dish pakai dekat skybox,openbox laa hehe
Jediknight8820
post Oct 10 2012, 10:29 AM

197 posts

for my case - i have terminated a year ago and they only ask for the 'smart card' to be returned to thier branch. i was like wtf and they charge me on my last bill for not returning. cry.gif
dr_bun
post Oct 12 2012, 04:01 PM

a_wei1319, are u sure? i've cancelled my astro beyond account in august/september and they just said ok..! just keep everything left in my house, next time if you want to subscibe for astro back, just call CS and they will charge me reconnection fee..

Added on October 12, 2012, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(pppieee @ Jul 10 2012, 07:58 PM)
are this legal?  blink.gif
its not legal becouse they collect yearly fee or 6month fee from every customer, as a return, their customer can watch astro all channel + (astro 1st & astro best) on weekend, it is like sharing the astro smartcard. like duduk rumah panjang in sarawak and sharing to pay the astro montly bills.

This post has been edited by dr_bun: Oct 12 2012, 04:15 PM
skylinelover
post Oct 14 2012, 06:30 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Oct 10 2012, 09:45 AM)
dish pakai dekat skybox,openbox laa hehe
servis dah kene tebus songlap dari polis laugh.gif doh.gif
zarul90
post Oct 15 2012, 09:54 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 14 2012, 06:30 PM)
servis dah kene tebus songlap dari polis laugh.gif doh.gif
itu bukan Durian HD tv ke ?
SUSchokia
post Oct 15 2012, 11:43 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Yeah dunno what to watch now with no astro.

Durian already busted.

Unifi just ended the Oct free view all HD channels.

Asiabox horrendous buffering on weekend is as bad not watch at all.

So last weekend i downloaded few movies :-

Ice Age 4 continental drift - fun

Stolen - typical Nicholas Cage movie

Episode 50 - crappy paranormal movie

Cosmopolis - crap

victorwan
post Oct 16 2012, 02:58 PM

292 posts

Hi all,

I have moved from landed property to Condo now and the condo already have the connection to watch Astro but not in HD, only in SD.

However, do I have to dismantle the landed property Astro dish before I sell off my house?

skylinelover
post Oct 17 2012, 12:28 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Oct 15 2012, 09:54 AM)
itu bukan Durian HD tv ke ?
yah 2 durian tv pun kene jugak haha laugh.gif doh.gif
sepah98
post Nov 2 2012, 05:20 PM

"don't let pinoy mid"-Albert Einstein
581 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 17 2011, 09:17 AM)
dish can do wat.
decoder is know is laku but asstro dish? hmm.gif
dish can use for dreambox or something other meh.. i use astro dish+dreambox decoder and i recieve all channel..thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sepah98: Nov 2 2012, 05:20 PM
DarkNite
post Nov 2 2012, 07:15 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(sepah98 @ Nov 2 2012, 05:20 PM)
dish can use for dreambox or something other meh.. i use astro dish+dreambox decoder and i recieve all channel..thumbup.gif
wat means all channel! hmm.gif
zeone
post Nov 2 2012, 08:40 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(sepah98 @ Nov 2 2012, 05:20 PM)
Really can, Bro? How, pls?
TQ.
popice2u
post Nov 4 2012, 07:39 PM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Nov 2 2012, 08:40 PM)
TQ.
1) u need to pay lah (c-line) but very much cheaper
2) not all astro channel (hd one still cannot received so far lah)
3) not all astro first
4) must accept scrambled issue (intermittent hang) but very seldom
zeone
post Nov 4 2012, 07:59 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Nov 4 2012, 07:39 PM)
1) u need to pay lah (c-line) but very much cheaper
2) not all astro channel (hd one still cannot received so far lah)
3) not all astro first
4) must accept scrambled issue (intermittent hang) but very seldom
Tks 4answers above! notworthy.gif

1. How much? Monthly also? Pay 2whom?
2. No HD? Understand cos old Sat dish with smaller diameter...
3. Normal Astro subs also kenot UNLESS pay more!
4. Cause? Decoder firmware?

Wld b good as a 2nd source....?
sepah98
post Nov 5 2012, 12:31 PM

"don't let pinoy mid"-Albert Einstein
581 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 2 2012, 07:15 PM)
wat means all channel! hmm.gif
all channel on astro you can get it.. just internet+astro dish+dreambox.. i've do it at my csin village at johor.

Added on November 5, 2012, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(zeone @ Nov 2 2012, 08:40 PM)
TQ.
you must have:astro dish+the dreambox+internet=all channel(not hd and astro first) in cheapest price than buy from astro..

This post has been edited by sepah98: Nov 5 2012, 12:37 PM
lunar
post Nov 26 2012, 11:54 PM

27 posts

Astro sent me lawyer letter for not paying the charges for unreturned sim card. Before the lawyer letter came, there was a letter from a debt collector...like ah long style saja sleep.gif

But I have returned the damn sim card more than a year ago, on 9th of July 2011! I remembered because I was stucked on the bridge going towards uptown KL from Subang due to the road closure. But the problem is I don't remember if i get back any receipt/ confirmation upon returning the sim card and I can't seemed to find it...can anyone tell me if they get back any receipt/confirmation upon returning the sim card to the centre??

Thanks!

I hate Astro!!!!
SUSchokia
post Nov 27 2012, 12:45 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Astro still owe me RM90 because i overpaid after terminating few channels and after i terminated the whole service they don't even have any courtesy to send cheque to me for the balance unlike telekom or other service providers .

Anyway this c-line durian-like services like dreambox, skybox and openbox are unable to broadcast HD channels. This is such a letdown

i.e the last AIM 19 was shown in Astro RIA in SD but in Mustika in HD.

Furthermore nobody know what fate these boxes will ended up.

SUSchokia
post Dec 8 2012, 11:50 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I just off phone with Astro CS due to my Astro Termination enters a new episode today when they shamelessly send me another bill stating that my balance RM61.72 that they suppose to refund by cheque long time ago now magically deducted and my bill will no longer have negative balance. All good and zero.

WTF!

With my patience level almost hit red, i called them and asked, after few line disconnections, sound problems and redialing (intentionally or not), they claimed that the department who received the smartcard that i sent one year ago only now notified their billing department. After 1 fkin year!

Long story short, they said they will send the cheque within 3 weeks from now.

nyunyu
post Feb 16 2013, 04:02 PM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

So, need to send back the card if not will be fine?
Why Astro sent me this?

Dear Mr Aizal

Greeting from Astro!

Please be advised that you no need to return the Astro decoder and Astro smartcard after disconnection request and you may use the decoder in future if you wish to reactive back Astro services. In addition, your prorated bill statement will be send to you based on your cycle date.

Hope the above clarifies. If I can be of any further assistance, please write to me at wecare@astro.com.my and attention your mail to Ms. Radhia. I will personally look into your request and revert back as soon as possible.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Yours sincerely
Ms Radhia Munawar
SRU Customer Care
Service Recovery Unit, CCC

Btw, so relieved after terminating astro..now can watch more more more channels and hd lol..

This post has been edited by nyunyu: Feb 16 2013, 04:03 PM
SUSchokia
post Feb 17 2013, 10:06 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

After more than a year i terminated byond and started this thread, only now i received my balance in cheque form.

Thank you Astro, not that appreciated it but you guys are just pathetic!
RAMChYLD
post Feb 17 2013, 12:04 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lunar @ Nov 26 2012, 11:54 PM)
Astro sent me lawyer letter for not paying the charges for unreturned sim card. Before the lawyer letter came, there was a letter from a debt collector...like ah long style saja sleep.gif

But I have returned the damn sim card more than a year ago, on 9th of July 2011!  I remembered because I was stucked on the bridge going towards uptown KL from Subang due to the road closure. But the problem is I don't remember if i get back any receipt/ confirmation upon returning the sim card and I can't seemed to find it...can anyone tell me if they get back any receipt/confirmation upon returning the sim card to the centre??

Thanks!

I hate Astro!!!!
Welcome to the club. I had exactly same problem as you. Terminated and returned the card, and yet get warning
letters regarding charges that the SIM card not returned. What I did was call them up and make noise. Then call the lawyer up and make noise.

Before that I was thinking that I may sign up again if needs be. Now I will never go back to assteruk. Greedy b@$+@£ds. vmad.gif mad.gif
potsicle
post May 17 2013, 04:21 PM

34 posts

anybody know how do i check the balance month of my astro contract other than call them directly? any online method?

areankim
post Jun 10 2013, 12:28 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

Termination is rm500 prorated by 2months. Meaning today if my contract end in another 2 month I only pay rm500/24 multiply 2?
SUSchokia
post Jun 10 2013, 01:22 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

My asiabox is now fail with blinking bluelights and my Netflix account already expired.

my day to day entertainment only Hypttv and youtube.

Call Astro to activate NJOI they said pay RM88 and free for life. If i want AstroRIA to watch Akademi fantasia pay RM2 daily.

Decision Decision.

areankim
post Jun 10 2013, 06:42 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jun 10 2013, 01:22 PM)
My asiabox is now fail with blinking bluelights and my Netflix account already expired.

my day to day entertainment only Hypttv  and youtube.

Call Astro to activate NJOI they said pay RM88 and free for life. If i want AstroRIA to watch Akademi fantasia pay RM2 daily.

Decision Decision.
called to terminate, do not need to return anything. not even smartcard, i double confirmed she say no need, as my contract ended already. icon_rolleyes.gif now lets see the last billing.
knightwolf1010
post Jun 21 2013, 08:56 PM

Anyone know any installer that provide astro b.yond dish together with installation service around ampang?

kathleen89
post Aug 30 2013, 03:31 PM

26 posts

Astro byond dish and decoder for sell.
Anyone?
Anonymous34
post Aug 30 2013, 10:23 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(kathleen89 @ Aug 30 2013, 03:31 PM)
Astro byond dish and decoder for sell.
Anyone?
how much?
include smart card?
(planning to activate for njoi)
kathleen89
post Sep 2 2013, 12:42 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Aug 30 2013, 10:23 PM)
how much?
include smart card?
(planning to activate for njoi)
I've just terminated the service and the smart card is still with me.
But doesn't it need to be returned to Astro, else kena fine?
I have no idea of market price. rclxub.gif
Subsribed for 10 months only, so the condition is still good.
Anonymous34
post Sep 7 2013, 10:54 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(kathleen89 @ Sep 2 2013, 12:42 PM)
I've just terminated the service and the smart card is still with me.
But doesn't it need to be returned to Astro, else kena fine?
I have no idea of market price.  rclxub.gif
Subsribed for 10 months only, so the condition is still good.
150 for whole set?
can activate for NJOI.

0.0495sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:49 PM