20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Awning, Lets Talk:Wooden,Metal,PC,RoofTilesGlass

ReadySteadyGo
post Jan 27 2013, 10:49 AM

72 posts

HI posted in the other topic so thought good to post here too.

Looking for contractors who can provide the following , I wanted to check whats the pricing for the following open area at the back of my house. Intend to do this after CNY.

- laying of RC concrete floor for 12 feet x 8 feet area (I will provide the tiles for installation)

- install a 9 feet high clear zinc roof (the wavy type) or roof tiles, with wooden structure on the same area with ceiling boards (I will provide the rock wool before you finish with putting up the ceiling boards. I prefer the concrete or iron pillars instead of wood but please provide costs difference for me to compare.

- extend wiring for light and ceiling fan (I will provide the light and fan)

If can provide a package inclusive of materials, eg gravel, cement, wooden (iron and concrete pillars) and rood wooden structure and zinc and labour cost would be preferred....

Please PM me your estimated prices soon as I will decide right after CNY by 17 Feb. If you can only do the pillars and roof part its still ok as I will then find someone to lay the concrete floor.
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 26 2013, 11:18 PM)
I will prefer tempered glass over laminated. Laminated are weak, and easy break compare to tempered. I have bad experience on Laminated, even the broken glass are not falling, but still some pieces do drop and is very sharp.
Tempered Glass = 1 pieces
Laminated = 2 pieces
Laminated Tempered Glass = 2 pieces
Hybrid Laminated = 1 Pieces Float + 1 pieces Laminated

Theoretically When Tempered Glass Breaks, it's not sharp ( Maybe Process not Complete)
It should breaks nto Millions of pieces

I still think 1 pieces Laminate Glass is risky
All the above combination will have the risk of spontaneous Breaking. No Idea When.

For Safety get Laminated Tempered Glass = 2 pieces
~Curious~
post Jan 27 2013, 01:49 PM

1,744 posts

i plan to do an awning for car por ch tht allows light in...but how many types of materials are available?
wads d differen ce between laminated glass n tempered glass?
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 02:11 PM

76 posts

Bro

Check out thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=57851972

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 27 2013, 02:13 PM
weikee
post Jan 27 2013, 02:12 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM)
Laminated = 2 pieces

Theoretically When Tempered Glass Breaks, it's not sharp ( Maybe Process not Complete)

All the above combination will have the risk of spontaneous Breaking. No Idea When.

How often you see glass door break? is one piece tempered. Laminated tempered, i do hear and read about it real application i have not seen before.
jerryng75
post Jan 27 2013, 05:39 PM

76 posts

Glass Door usually not Installed Directly Under the Sun, Where there is a Prolong Heat & Cold.
That's why there are less easy to break.
My Office Tempered Glass Door Broke twice due to Accidentally Knocked Hard

For Roofing it's a different case

You could go for Tempered Glass. Their Chemical Resistant is the Among Best. Mean that Unless It Break, It will last forever

Setback is It's expensive & Hot

Note that You still have to Clean if ofter & Repair the Silicone to prevent water leaking
Never Skip Maintenance, ya !!

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 27 2013, 05:41 PM
jerryng75
post Jan 28 2013, 11:00 AM

76 posts

Choose Lexan 10 mm Solar Control IR Twin Wall

Reason : See video below ( Yes price also Cheaper Compare to solid 3 mm)

jerryng75
post Jan 28 2013, 12:16 PM

76 posts

Now, below show why 6 mm is better than 3 mm For Roofing

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Jan 28 2013, 12:18 PM
jerryng75
post Feb 20 2013, 01:49 AM

76 posts

Hi ,

Check out this Live demo of Lexan* Solar Control IR

This post has been edited by jerryng75: Feb 20 2013, 01:52 AM
malo
post Feb 21 2013, 11:30 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Jan 27 2013, 11:05 AM)
Laminated = 2 pieces

Lets go this way:
12mm tempered glass=is in 1 piece of 12mm thick glass into a Oven
12.38 laminated glass = 6mm thick glass +0.38mm laminated film + 6mm thick glass

Therefore, laminated glass is more vulnerable than tempered purerly because of the thickness.

Safety wise, laminated glass is far more secure than tempered glass (normal temper, as they are many types of tempered glass).
Tempered glass will shatter when it breaks and will cut . Laminated glass will onli crack n still stick wont cut, unless u go touch it.
KLsooner
post Jul 12 2013, 10:37 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ Feb 20 2013, 01:49 AM)
Hi ,

Check out this Live demo of Lexan* Solar Control IR

Hi Jerry,

You so gung-ho about this lexan, can you advice what is the per sqft price after adding labour, structure and material.
ericlaiys
post Jul 16 2013, 06:34 PM

7,531 posts

QUOTE(teq @ Apr 27 2012, 04:14 PM)
sorry tumpang topic..

i installed polycarbonate skylight at my back yard, but result is not as expected. My back yard is 5 feet and the skylight is only 6 feet.. thus rain water comes in easily..

are there any solution for this? adding something like curtain? or I have to cover my grill with some plastic/glass? icon_question.gif

here the photo:

[attachmentid=2812457]
Mind to pm me the price for awning & Grill that you installed at your yard? I planned to do the same

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Jul 16 2013, 06:42 PM
ride00
post Jul 24 2013, 03:16 PM

80 posts

At this moment I am installing a glass porch
with balau supports. They have just finished
the frame supports. Next week the contractor
will be fitting a light green tinted laminated
glass top.
Not all the front will be covered as roof access
via a ladder is needed. Glass area is 14 ft x 7 ft.
Cost for this is around RM6800.
Hope this helps in your decision. Chez!
jerryng75
post Sep 12 2013, 10:25 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ Jul 12 2013, 10:37 AM)
Hi Jerry,

You so gung-ho about this lexan, can you advice what is the per sqft price after adding labour, structure and material.

I'm not a Contractor

But The Plastics is 25 ~ 30 % of the Total cost They Charged me (Maybe Lower too)
tishaban
post Sep 17 2013, 11:29 AM

3,615 posts

I was talking to my contractor to get a roof with wooden trusses and wooden pillars built. This would be attached to my back door.

At 8' x 8' with chengai wood for the pillars and balau for the trusses I was quoted RM8,500 which I think is far too expensive.

Any comments out there? Recommendations for contractors maybe? Thanks.

timelime
post Sep 25 2013, 01:11 PM

51 posts

hi, does any sifu here know anything about this type of roof? what is it name? Is it expensive(around how much per square foot)?
It seems to me slick and simple, I would like to install this for my balcony if the price is affordable for me.

Anyone here can introduce contractor who can do this?

thanks in advance, cheers.

BeeB88
post Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM

13 posts

Can I ask, do we need to install gutter for polycarbonate awning?
Reason I'm asking is because one contractor quoted me that, while the other did not.
nitromx
post Sep 25 2013, 05:31 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(BeeB88 @ Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM)
Reason I'm asking is because one contractor quoted me that, while the other did not.
if you are doing it for front car porch , better get with gutter (but it doesn't look nice .. imo)

jerryng75
post Sep 26 2013, 11:04 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(BeeB88 @ Sep 25 2013, 05:13 PM)
Bro,

do a Gutter.

You can do it yourself if you want to cut cost

During Rain you will know why.

Do a Hinge every 3 feet. Or they will warp and water will flow OUT !!
ken.lee1
post Sep 26 2013, 11:07 PM

316 posts

sorry, i am unsure what is gutter purpose?

20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:12 PM