Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v4, Beauty in Ferocity!
May 4 2012, 10:18 PM
48 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
All 3 fish, or maybe 2, looks to me like males. I can't seem to spot the egg tube a.k.a ovipositor on the belly to confirm as female. Thus, all are males. Why, you want to spawn them?
May 4 2012, 11:15 PM
4 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: puchong |
May 4 2012, 11:32 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
edit*
cant make up my mind..got poisoned with lots of nice pets on every thread i spam This post has been edited by LuQEE: May 4 2012, 11:37 PM |
May 5 2012, 09:48 AM
66 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(edmund90 @ May 3 2012, 11:18 PM) pm me wat u prefer and i will get the pic for u from the breeder, in between i earn some commission lo if deal done.. the pic i have now is black dragon i will only do this until 18th May.. because after that need prepare go Uk liao.. Oh, nvm then. Cause looking to buy in maybe one-two months time! Thanks and good luck there! |
May 6 2012, 10:13 AM
10 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: pusat bandar puchong |
May 6 2012, 10:40 AM
maybe next month la..
this month gonna be a way for a week or more..scared sumthing might happen to them. EDIT* moi semi-giant betta finally arrived, and its cheap and not high grade, still loving it, body size(not including its upper and lower fins) about the crickets lighter ![]() This post has been edited by LuQEE: May 6 2012, 07:41 PM |
May 6 2012, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 6 2012, 10:40 AM) maybe next month la.. Wow! Imbellis colouration. It should be the hybrid of giant betta with imbellis. Lmao. I'm imagining the giant betta partner swallowed the imbellis either male or female during mating process. *faints* this month gonna be a way for a week or more..scared sumthing might happen to them. EDIT* moi semi-giant betta finally arrived, and its cheap and not high grade, still loving it, body size(not including its upper and lower fins) about the crickets lighter » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
May 6 2012, 09:18 PM
haha.. now still hunting for real giant bettas, which is 10cm long or more
this betta finnaly sparks the betta rage thats almost died in me |
May 6 2012, 10:48 PM
Betta rage? Weird, it has killed my betta rage instead.
Correction, it has made me more afraid of the man-made creations more than ever. After those dumbo ears and crowntails bettas, these giant bettas are what fear me. No offence, I'm just unable to accept betta splendens looking like a betta macrostoma size. |
May 7 2012, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(shuyin_lenne_2007 @ May 6 2012, 10:48 PM) Betta rage? Weird, it has killed my betta rage instead. none taken.Correction, it has made me more afraid of the man-made creations more than ever. After those dumbo ears and crowntails bettas, these giant bettas are what fear me. No offence, I'm just unable to accept betta splendens looking like a betta macrostoma size. i prefer big ones since they emit those passively display-theque aura which can grab the attention of a passerby. the bigger the betta, the bigger the area of effect(aoe). Some of my bettas are put on display in my living room but not many ppl realise there is a fish in those plant bowls. This post has been edited by LuQEE: May 7 2012, 12:31 AM |
May 7 2012, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 7 2012, 12:30 AM) none taken. Aha! Now I get you. You like your bettas to be noticed. True indeed. When bettas hardly move, it's as if guests can't see them. Haha! Put an arowana instead, everyone can see it. i prefer big ones since they emit those passively display-theque aura which can grab the attention of a passerby. the bigger the betta, the bigger the area of effect(aoe). Some of my bettas are put on display in my living room but not many ppl realise there is a fish in those plant bowls. |
May 7 2012, 10:59 AM
arowana very manje la..
once blackout, no o2 pump die weh~ betta very adaptable IMHO, even normal spledens. my ex bettas used to be fed them once a week, with feeder shrimps, still can tahan, also, their waste not so much, so no need to WC alot and can last up to 2 weeks if the water parameters is stable. |
May 7 2012, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(shuyin_lenne_2007 @ May 6 2012, 10:48 PM) Betta rage? Weird, it has killed my betta rage instead. haha, seems like u are one who appreciate originality, it's easy to understand the logic, as a matter of preference, some people have no problem accepting plastic surgery while some cannot and some would go to gym to build up muscle to look tough but being sissy in character, having giant splenden is just an advancement made by people to fulfil their curiosity/demand only, debatable just like cloning tech, btw, smaragdina/mahachai or even imbellis have high tendency of not being pure breed itself Correction, it has made me more afraid of the man-made creations more than ever. After those dumbo ears and crowntails bettas, these giant bettas are what fear me. No offence, I'm just unable to accept betta splendens looking like a betta macrostoma size. |
May 7 2012, 10:23 PM
so does this means even wild ones are not pure breed?
May 8 2012, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 7 2012, 10:23 PM) wild one depends, those falls under splenden group are more controversial since almost all the sp in that group were involved in catch & release culture for the past few hundred years for fish fighting purpose, that's the main reason why I do not fancy splenden group as I personally think it's the one with highest possibility of being mixed bred, those sp that are commonly found like pugnax have high tendency as well since it's widely distributed through out malaysia & being very diverse in species among it's own group, catch and released(to a foreign water) might caused hybridization easily |
May 9 2012, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(c.way @ May 7 2012, 10:19 PM) haha, seems like u are one who appreciate originality, it's easy to understand the logic, as a matter of preference, some people have no problem accepting plastic surgery while some cannot and some would go to gym to build up muscle to look tough but being sissy in character, having giant splenden is just an advancement made by people to fulfil their curiosity/demand only, debatable just like cloning tech, btw, smaragdina/mahachai or even imbellis have high tendency of not being pure breed itself QUOTE(c.way @ May 8 2012, 12:33 AM) wild one depends, those falls under splenden group are more controversial since almost all the sp in that group were involved in catch & release culture for the past few hundred years for fish fighting purpose, that's the main reason why I do not fancy splenden group as I personally think it's the one with highest possibility of being mixed bred, those sp that are commonly found like pugnax have high tendency as well since it's widely distributed through out malaysia & being very diverse in species among it's own group, catch and released(to a foreign water) might caused hybridization easily Interesting bit there, c.way. I guess the coccina group and bellica group do seem interesting to me. I have got myself a pair of coccina and persephone previously and so does a pair of bellica too. Perhaps these are the originality which are in their true form?As for splendens group, I'm only unable to tolerate the variation of tail shapes and colouration of those seen in pet stores and being bred. I suppose I'm more into the naturalism? Hmm... |
May 9 2012, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(shuyin_lenne_2007 @ May 9 2012, 08:08 PM) Interesting bit there, c.way. I guess the coccina group and bellica group do seem interesting to me. I have got myself a pair of coccina and persephone previously and so does a pair of bellica too. Perhaps these are the originality which are in their true form? haha, a common interest forms a common path, down the way to wild betta.As for splendens group, I'm only unable to tolerate the variation of tail shapes and colouration of those seen in pet stores and being bred. I suppose I'm more into the naturalism? Hmm... It all remain controversial, up to the extend we can accept.(Bare in mind that Persephone have locality differences as well) For purist like me, my selection of sp is deep down to the root of it's locality, those without locality detail will all regarded as culled or temporary sp with me, show betta is an art of selective breeding, too bad that it's too common(overbred perhaps) and also ethic issues of many keepers, so it end up nowhere in my previous collection plan. |
May 10 2012, 08:45 AM
Well said, am out of words. LOL!
Previously when I met up with beawolf64, I called him as crazy for his passion for dwelling into the sites of simply the pugnax and imbellis. Now I see that there are even greater people out there with pure passion and go even further. Impressive! |
May 10 2012, 08:58 AM
10 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: pusat bandar puchong |
May 10 2012, 11:03 PM