18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hobbies Trading Card Games

metalfire
post Nov 18 2005, 01:45 PM

1,306 posts

During Odyssey block, I used to play (1) Blue/Black Upheaval-Psycatog, (2) Blue/Green Aggro & (3) Red/Black LD. Most fun I had was with the Psycatog untill Astral Slide came along in Onslaught. Then I shifted to play my LD deck while building up for a Black Deck for Mirrodin. That's where I've stopped, my black deck has been in cold storage since along with my entire MTG collection & other cards from other previous expansions. Those were the good ol days. laugh.gif
metalfire
post Nov 18 2005, 01:59 PM

1,306 posts

laugh.gif Woa, shandalar...it's been quite some time I've heard of that being mentioned before. It's a good computer game based on MTG. I still have the game in my win98 pc and I occasionally play it from time to time.

Now got the official MTG:Battlegrounds pc game which is ok only. U can give it a try on this one if you've a good computer, because there's a lot of 3D stuffs going around on this.

Yeah I agree with you on WOTC releasing 1 block of 3 expansions per year. It can cost a whole lot! Even trying to build a Tier2 deck cost somewhere between RM300-400, don't even mention Tier1 which can cost up to RM500-700. The worst part is if you're unlucky and the card or cards get banned/nerfed, then yr deck is screwed = money wasted.

This post has been edited by metalfire: Nov 18 2005, 02:00 PM
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:19 PM

Hahaha... Well guys, VS system 10K tournament is this Dec 3 - 4th. format is sealed JLA expansion. Just came out last week. So still got time to practise.

I am not always there, but you can talk to Hong (Mon-Fri) or anyone keeping shop on Sat.. like i said, just dont go on Sunday (Pokemon day). =)
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:20 PM

Yeap... i find the MTG cards a tad exp compared to VS System. I stopped MTG during the 4th ed... 1998 if i am not mistaken =)
rukawa
post Nov 18 2005, 02:24 PM

::+::KukuKawa::+::
1,903 posts

4th Ed Oh yeah...the days i pawned a lot of ppl with my poison counter deck LOL
I dun care about your life, i just need to get you 10 poison counters LOL
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:25 PM

If you wanna find out more about VS system, please go to www.vsdojo.com/forums

Only the forum is up, the site is still in progress coz its a volunteer project thing, most of the designers get paid in Extended Art cards or Alternate Art cards =). Its a joint venture between hobby shops in Philippines, Singapore and Malaysia (Toybox).

We are doing what we can to enlarge the community. Players who are eligible are signed up for team Toybox, who in turn sends them to competitions out of Malaysia. They have been to 10K Manilla and 10K Singapore and were in the top 4 in both countries.
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:26 PM

Oh, the current 10K Kuala Lumpur champion is also a part of team Toybox. there are 6 team members right now.
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:27 PM

hahaha rukawa,

i mostly played witha black deck..... terror was my fave
lee82gx
post Nov 18 2005, 02:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

man, you guys still remember your card names..

All i remember was my completed collection of Fires of Yavimaya deck that mustve cost me RM600...thinking of it still hurts.
Urza's rage was all the rage then lol, 2 shots and bye bye....

I was active during 3rd-4th ed, and 7th ed...

WOTC churns out too much cards too fast, what with the need to support their pro circuit USD1mil top prize.
What i hate most is the introduction of lousier and lousier cards...like forcing us to pay for inferior stuff.
If i not mistaken, currently Blue got no more counterspell. Can you believe that?

feyhime
post Nov 18 2005, 02:45 PM

257 posts

Urza Rage is good~

Ah i miss my Deed-Terminator Machine Head....
Sold my entire collection to a few friends when i stopped, so if restart to play have to buy all over gain shesh~!
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:46 PM

hmm... i was wrong into thinking that MTG cards would be cheaper as there are so many players around =)

in fact, with so many players around, i would assume that there would be surpluses of cards. Anyhow, as it is a hobby, i think its still cheaper than other hobbies like playing RC which constantly need petrol, racing real cars which also consumes petrol.... drinking and smoking where it burns money faster than you can say " I wish i was playing cards insetad of drinking and smoking" muahahaha
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 02:48 PM

I am surprised no one views TCG's as a cheaper way of spending time compared to the other activities. Besides, its healthy as long as it does not turn into an addiction. =)
feyhime
post Nov 18 2005, 02:50 PM

257 posts

well, unfortunely it turns into an addiction with most of us tongue.gif
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 03:01 PM

hahhah.. well said, but then again, addiction to anything is dangerous. Alcohol, sex, drugs, masturbation, food, anything turns unhealthy once its an addiction.
metalfire
post Nov 18 2005, 03:14 PM

1,306 posts

laugh.gif MTG is a very expensive hobby to go into. Imagine investing about RM700 for ONE good tourney capable deck, that's like buying a PS2 already. We haven't count the tourney fees, the weekly drafting, and other misc cards that we buy to build our fun or 2nd/3rd deck and to top it off, it only last about for at most 1 year before you'll need to re-invest in another deck next year. Are you gonna buy another PS2 next year? Also the environment is not conducive to grow as a MTG player unlike in S'pore/Aussie/US where playing MTG is so much different. The card pool is so much lesser here. I was active in the past and I've to go down to S'pore to get my cards for tourney because those fellas here are just too selfish to let go some cards.
metalfire
post Nov 18 2005, 03:15 PM

1,306 posts

Actually reading is the most cheapest hobby. 1 book dunno take how long to read laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
feyhime
post Nov 18 2005, 03:20 PM

257 posts

LOLS, yeah. MTG is expensive, i still remember the horror i had when i calculated the amount i spent on it...happy.gif;;

Reading, yeah, very cheap and reusable with no new expansions tongue.gif
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 03:21 PM

aha.. i disagree with reading being the cheapest hobby. Its not how fast you read, its the cost of the book. A paperback is around RM35, hard cover easily RM100. A book a month at the very least, plus magazines, comics, i actually stopped buying re3aders digest coz of the price.

TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 03:23 PM

I dont drink but i still think drinking is the most exp hobby. A casual drinker spends RM100 a week, while a heavy drinker prob RM300 a week..... =)

and all it does is to destroy your systems once its consumed.
TSnbooi
post Nov 18 2005, 03:26 PM

PS2... you probably wont buy one PS2 a year, but wat about PS2 in January, XBox in June, PSP in November... hah! think about it.

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:45 AM