18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hobbies Trading Card Games

xetajones
post Nov 8 2005, 12:38 PM

Connecting Brains
586 posts

Well me too. discontinued playing magic. Vey hot in my studying years. Now no more .I think you need a crowd to get it excited. If not, it will be slowly out. Well anyone tried LOTR and Pokemon before? Heard they are quite good too.
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 8 2005, 01:01 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(xetajones @ Nov 8 2005, 12:38 PM)
Well me too. discontinued playing magic. Vey hot in my studying years. Now no more .I think you need a crowd to get it excited. If not, it will be slowly out. Well anyone tried LOTR and Pokemon before? Heard they are quite good too.
Haha ... LOTR TCG died long time ago. Decipher (the makers of LOTR TCG) screwed things up. My cousin and I used to be a very active player until Decipher screwed it up. Just imagine, u will have to pay USD$1.00 to get rakings in a sanction tourney. To me ... thats a ripped off.
TSnbooi
post Nov 8 2005, 02:00 PM

Ok Guys,

There is a VS System 10K tournament coming up in Gamecon Mid Valley Exhibition Hall (next to Nike shop on the 3rd floor) this December 3rd and 4th. Competition will be JLA sealed (DC Comics) Justice League of America expansion.

Top 24 gets USD200, price money increases as you get into top 8. Champion bags USD2500. JLA set will be released sometime next week or on the thrid week of November. As it is sealed, new players will have time to practise.

For those who are interested, can email me at booi.nicholas@gmail.com or come see us at Toybox located on the first floor of Amcorp Mall PJ.
TSnbooi
post Nov 8 2005, 02:02 PM

Alternatively, you can email us at toybox.op@gmail.com which is the Toybox's email address if you dont get a reply from me.
TSnbooi
post Nov 8 2005, 02:03 PM

Normally, the Pokemon players are aged around max 17. The rest wil convert to more mature games.
olkooi
post Nov 8 2005, 07:03 PM

1,017 posts

QUOTE(cheeshion @ Nov 8 2005, 10:57 AM)
why so many ppl discontinued playing magic? i use to play it donkey years ago, too expensive to continue. mayb i should consider selling off my cards. will list it down when i go back to my hometown...
reasons are they are too expensive, they are no longer popular, shops like novel hut close, everyone grow up and think the card game is childish....
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 8 2005, 08:57 PM

4,809 posts

why so many ppl discontinued playing magic? i use to play it donkey years ago, too expensive to continue. mayb i should consider selling off my cards. will list it down when i go back to my hometown...
yeah thats true and another factor is that its just paper and eventually ends up in ur dark cupboard. sigh i dun even noe what happened to my cards. some got stollen too sad.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 8 2005, 10:48 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Well ... most of em got better card game to spend their money on. As for me .. i was playing Legend of Five Rings .. then I moved to Magic .. after that I whn over to LOTR TCG and now im playing VS. Currently playing Magic and VS ... but I prefer VS. So ... u guys guess how much money i spend on cards shocking.gif

But it was worth it all the way. Will be going for VS tourney this thursday at Toybox, it will be my 1st tourney since 6 months ago.
TSnbooi
post Nov 9 2005, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(olkooi @ Nov 8 2005, 07:03 PM)
reasons are they are too expensive, they are no longer popular, shops like novel hut close, everyone grow up and think the card game is childish....
Well, i guess the main reason is they are expensive. As for shildish, I will have to disagree.... it is another form of game. Too many people are involved in electronic gaming (PC, PSP, PS2.. etc) and giving up on card games, DND, board games and such. A PS2 dvd costs you only RM4- RM5 per title, while cards can go up to RM150 or more per card.

That is because they are all imported from US and other western countries where their currency is stronger than ours. If you happen to buy books / comics, you will notice the difference in price for English books vs Chinese books. English books / comics costs so much more compared to Chinese books. That is because of of the countries economy / currency VS the other countries currency.

Well, i would like to think that every hobby in Malaysia is a luxury. Everything is expensive here in Malaysia. Even reading is very very expensive. The cards are only USD2.50 per pack compared to RM10 per pack. If you are in US, you can buy 4 packs with 10 bucks compared to the guy in Malaysia who can only buy one pack for 10 bucks, exhange rates aside please. We are talking about dollar to dollar here.

I am into mountain climbing, an average backpack of 60+10 litres costs you as much as 650bucks compared to 250 elsewhere where people make the same money as us here.
TSnbooi
post Nov 9 2005, 05:05 PM

Malaysian's in general do not READ!!!

therefore, the card gaming community grows too slowly... in order to play, one has to think, communicate and read in English... many Malaysians are lacking in this skill, =)

which is why most graduates find it hard to get a job... they cant freaking speak proper English... let me know what you think about this.

Most people in the gaming scene (that I know of) are from English educated background or Chinese educated but has a strong grasp of English. Therefore, IMHO, for the community to pick up, we need educated people who reads. There certainly are no Samseng's in the community that I know of.
TSnbooi
post Nov 9 2005, 05:46 PM

Another reason is probably due to lack of support from the creators of the card games as well as lack of marketing activities. Not too many people are exposed to card games.

For example, take a look at VS. every week, there will be at least 2 tourneys, each gives away a minimum of RM25 to the winner. Thats RM50 a week if you win both. Every month there will be a bigger tournament with USD250 for the winner. And of course, not to mention 10K tournaments which gives out USD2500 to the winner. 1st runner up gets USD800... top 8 USD400 top 23 USD200.

The game will not die out as long as there are support from the creators. Malaysia is one of the slowest market to pick it up despite the size of our country as well as the number of our population. Heck singapore probably has more players than the whole of Malaysia.
yikyeou
post Nov 9 2005, 07:30 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

who got played Harry Potter tcg??
yuyuyu
post Nov 11 2005, 01:03 AM

628 posts

hmm... true this is the first time i heard of VS.

am very interested, but sadly, nobody around me even know what is a TCG.

would like to go to that toybox but dunno where la. live in serdang.

abang brother
post Nov 11 2005, 03:19 AM

4,967 posts

i always play pokemon card before.. but now i play more to the uno.. i love that gameee
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 11 2005, 11:05 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(yuyuyu @ Nov 11 2005, 01:03 AM)

Its great to know that there are players who wanna try out VS. If u wanna goto Toybox and learn on VS, I dun mind showing you the way perhaps we could go together. You have to take a KTM from Serdang to KL Sentral, the Ill meet you there and we take the LRT to Taman Jaya. Its very easy.

Normally Toybox will have tourney on every Thursday at 2.00pm (Session1) and 8pm (Seesion2), I will be there for both session.
TSnbooi
post Nov 11 2005, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(yuyuyu @ Nov 11 2005, 01:03 AM)

Toybox is in amcorp Mall Petaling Jaya... =) 1st floor.
Hey, Xeno, are you karry?
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 11 2005, 12:28 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nbooi @ Nov 11 2005, 11:23 AM)
Toybox is in amcorp Mall Petaling Jaya... =) 1st floor.
Hey, Xeno, are you karry?
Yeah ... Im Karry, were you there yesterday at Amcorp TB. I was playing the Curve Sentinel deck ... was really a sucky day for me as my curve did not come out and I miss my drops.
yuyuyu
post Nov 11 2005, 03:36 PM

628 posts

uhhh... then starter deck + some extra card(booster pack) etc.. i need how many decent $ to play?

because end of year, very pk..haha
TSnbooi
post Nov 14 2005, 05:00 PM

Yuyuyu, Toybox constructs a playable deck for every noob who buys a starter pack from us at RM48.00. We will ascertain your style of play and construct your free deck based on common and uncommons ie: control deck / beat deck / off-curve decks / defensive decks. And if you want to pack in some rares, we sell them at about 30-40% off market rate for all cards belonging to the shop.

Do drop by on Saturdays or any weekdays as the VS guys will be around. Hong keeps the store during the weekdays, he is bespectacled, has short hair (crew cut) while myself, Vincent (bald) and Nick (bespectacled, short hair) rotates to look after the place during Saturdays. Sunday is Pokemon day so dont go there on Sundays if you wanna play VS!!! =)

So i would say, RM48 would be enough to get you started. You can join our tourneys on Thursday, there are two sessions, one in the afternoon, and one at 8pm. Entry is RM10. Winner gets RM25 and no packs while first runner up gets 2 packs of booster.. the rest one booster each. We have got 10 new players recruited in the past 3 weeks so its not too late to join in. =)
TSnbooi
post Nov 14 2005, 05:03 PM

Hey Karry,

I was the guy who registered you guys for the tourney. Heard you won the RM25 in the 2pm session. Well done! I was running my MK-Underworld concealed deck. Got 2 packs, lost the first place to Vincent.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:49 PM