12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V25, Keep it up!!! Old and Retro machines

poolcarpet
post Dec 13 2011, 04:30 PM

548 posts

Aren't those rectangle slots for the power window switch? The ones in the middle near the MUDAH watermark. I was thinking of getting one of these too but no time to go look, was planning to look at Brothers and see if they have any.

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 13 2011, 04:16 PM)
Bumped into an ad selling below item. Thought about it, even tried opening the original part in LMST but then realized where to put the window switch hmm.gif

Proton Saga Iswara LMST Armrest Console Box
P/S: As for the headlamp, switched L/R bulb just to see the same thing; L side is brighter than R side. Even before changing to Osram NB+ I noticed one side is brighter so now it's even more obvious.
poolcarpet
post Dec 13 2011, 04:39 PM

548 posts

oh... my 99 iswara power window switch looks like exact fit for those rectangle placeholders smile.gif maybe lmst have to customize a bit...

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 13 2011, 04:36 PM)
Thought of that too but does that mean we have to DIY cut it since our window switch is more to oval shaped?
poolcarpet
post Dec 13 2011, 08:23 PM

548 posts

Any iswara (old model, not lmst) owner planning to change their headlight and want to sell old stock ori lamp, pls let me know. Mine has broken mountings and is movable now. Changed one to local headlamp but the light reflected is very bad so looking around for used stock ori lights. As long as not broken, a bit yellow or scratched not a problem. Thanks. wink.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 15 2011, 02:11 PM

548 posts

Just unscrew the wiper arm nut, you may need to knock it a bit as it's probably hardened after all the years, but it's just a simple fit on the threads and locked using one nut.

If you're talking about removing everything, incl. the motor, it's done from inside, behind the boot door. Remove all the plastic boot clips, remove the plastic cover and you can see the motor there. I think 2-3 nuts holding that in place.

I'm thinking of removing mine, it's useless and the rear wiper arm just rusts so often even after changing.

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Dec 15 2011, 01:03 PM)
Anyone know how to remove the rear wiper??
poolcarpet
post Dec 15 2011, 03:22 PM

548 posts

yeah, on the rear wiper arm pivot, that's a cover. flip open the cover and there's a size 10 or 12 (can't remember) hex nut. Remove that with a spanner and then slowly wiggle the arm loose. You may need to be patient, or give it a dose of WD40 maybe. slow slow slow..... smile.gif

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Dec 15 2011, 02:54 PM)
There is a nut?? onkay,thanks bro  biggrin.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 16 2011, 10:51 AM

548 posts

I'm totally sceptical about CAI in an iswara smile.gif

looks reason aside, the benefit of CAI is to have lower temperature air intake. The stock elephant nose cover (is that what you call it?) already has it's air intake towards the front of the engine bonnet. How much more cool air does the iswara need? Also iswara engine is very simple, no electronics involved (things like mass air flow sensor) so injecting 'cooler' air will not change any of the air/fuel mixture, maybe just add in a bit of oxygen molecules that's all.

To measure the real benefits of CAI, then one should do it scientifically:

1. Dyno the car, at least 3 times to get an average
2. Put on CAI, dyno the car again
3. Or even better, let's see how much REALLY COLD air can help, modify the elephant nose intake to have cool air (e.g. from aircond) feed into the engine, see how much of difference the cool air helps

If the results are not much different, then CAI is only a look and feel good modification for iswara smile.gif and possibly placebo effect thrown in too smile.gif

sorry no offense to any CAI enthusiasts here icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 16 2011, 10:33 AM)
do all these CAI really noticeable performance? m untill now still sceptical ab CAI...lol..didnt pasang yet dats y..
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Dec 16 2011, 10:53 AM
poolcarpet
post Dec 16 2011, 06:50 PM

548 posts

hi all,

sorry i'm not trying to pour cold water in all the diy plans... but do you observe the shape of the stock air filter cover? notice it's not round and more like flattened oval shape?

could it be possible that the car engineers have done their airflow analysis and determined that to be the best size of the air intake for optimum performance? by changing the air intake to different hoses/curves/sizes, wouldn't it affect the airflow into the engine (possibly positive or negative effects....)

just something to think about... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 16 2011, 06:44 PM)
I can verify its true... its 39.90 I think... Stretchable up to 2m easily... It's Turbo hose stated on the box, but i guess can use also?

It even comes with two coloured rings and two tightener, no need buy separately.

Or if you want stock CAI like VERY VERY old proton saga one can get from here:
AME AUTO PARTS (PJ) SDN. BHD.
25, Jalan 21/11A SEA Park
Petaling Jaya 46300
Selangor.

It's a proton parts stockist. The CAI hose is not in production anymore and even the Proton parts shoppe in Glenmarie also habis stock since 2007... When I bought at RM60 (VERY expensive, if glenmarie only selling at RM51 in 2007), it doesn't even come with a fastener... Got the fasterner at another RM4... I just bought it last month...

The boss say still have "some" stocks for this... But I dunno now still have or not as I had posted the place at
Practical mods/add ons for saga iswara
poolcarpet
post Dec 17 2011, 08:25 AM

548 posts

no offense icon_rolleyes.gif it's good discussion.

I know by theory yes, we introduce more oxygen in cooler air using CAI, but has it been scientifically proven by a before and after dyno test? otherwise, i always say, butt dyno is very prone to placebo effect.

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Dec 16 2011, 11:09 PM)
Well,this explanation is for those switching to open pod style,but for stock its better to add one or two CAI as the stock intake opening is just above the extractor and it sucks in hot air which means less oxygen for combustion. By adding a CAI u are introducing more oxygen into your air intake which results in better responds as well as better FC and also power  smile.gif
no offence ya   icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 17, 2011, 8:28 amSorry my bad, I thought it was oval shaped. Just noticed only the middle part is flattened oval, the air intake is round...

I found this photo of stock iswara,
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_3siBmMhUGFw/SWmS...00/iswara-2.jpg

Then air intake is away from the radiator.

Then I found this:
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_dJ96CkkU8x0/SEib...8757+engine.JPG

So this 'CAI' is taking air even further away from the engine front area.....

Ok, I might give this a try and see any changes but I'm never going to dyno it so only relying on butt dyno

Found this RM25! boleh pakai?

http://www.mudah.my/Flexible+Air+Intake+Ho...25-11558739.htm

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 17 2011, 12:47 AM)
You mean the intake there the hole? It's round I thought?
Well, i'm not sure of what the engineers thought of during design of LMST Air intake, cause it's without the stock hose connected to suck air from the fender part... But old sagas like 1990's all has the hose... That's the reason I got it... My first thought is the stock hose is removed to make it RM25k / RM27k  hmm.gif

But still, no doubt that our ori air intake without the hose is kinda placed in the best position already... I just thought that maybe when air passes through the radiator part the air might be slight hotter... And when idling on jams where hot air is still inside the engine bay...

For the difference before and after add... Maybe i'll try to remove it next week and see how...
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Dec 17 2011, 08:28 AM
poolcarpet
post Dec 17 2011, 10:36 AM

548 posts

Oh, you mean in some Iswaras the 2nd pic is stock??? Which model Iswara??

Dyno? smile.gif Yes, in any performance improvement mods, you need to dyno before and after, and only by changing ONE thing at a time. That's the only way you get to tell whether the mod helped.

A lot of so called performance/fuel improvement products have positive effects after installing cause at the time the mod is installed, some other work is also done, e.g. during service, change engine oil, change oil/air filter, change spark plugs, throw in a fuel enhancement device or improve power thingy, and suddenly driver said yes, i feel the difference, lighter throttle, faster acceleration.... erm.. ok, so the new engine oil/spark plugs/air filter doesn't contribute anything to the better feeling? smile.gif

I'm still of the opinion that most fuel enhancing/performance mods are placebo effect in nature, unless it's a major major thing costing thousands of RM... Otherwise, it's all feel good only smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 17 2011, 10:06 AM)

The stock CAI I mentioned is on your second pic...
Rm25? Thats quite worth the money, brothers selling at 40 but longer though...
Dyno? Itu perlu tengok tengok lo...
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Dec 17 2011, 10:37 AM
poolcarpet
post Dec 17 2011, 12:33 PM

548 posts

I have had Sagas in the 80s, Wira+Iswara from the 90s but none of them ever came with this stock CAI! It just stops at the end of that 'elephant' trunk. Where can I find this?? Might want to give it a try on my Iswara....

QUOTE(cyanboy @ Dec 17 2011, 12:21 PM)

Sorry I didn't make myself clear before...
This is the CAI hose from stock proton sagas/iswaras before LMST design... Not sure whether LMSS has it though. Rare item now... Fits perfectly at the fender rectangular hole... I covered up the another circular hole with some double layer insulflex so the engine bay hot air won't mix with fender cold air... The position of this 1990 saga's CAI is quite good as it is protected from dust and water. (Unless you took your car for a dive) And the design at that time is by japan engineers... Personally I trust their design more...

Fuel saving/improvement all those I didn't even bother to give them a second look. Unless it's so called proven in terms of  going dyno in your way... There's even those vacuum turbine thingy or CPU fan to be installed on air intake or something... Mostly are marketing gimicks only. Placebo effect is highly possble case over here. Nevetheless, some might work out of the blue though...

I will rather invest on Tufoil engine treatment or those manual/auto transmission treatment... But got snake oil problem, sudden stop using treatment then engine kong faster la... rclxub.gif
Bought X1-R engine treatment from Proton Parts Centre till now also din use, pricing enough for me to get a better gauge  doh.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 17 2011, 01:20 PM

548 posts

aaaaah..... maybe i can find one in ebay!!! smile.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NOS-Mopar-Airduct-...1-/230589494516
poolcarpet
post Dec 17 2011, 05:04 PM

548 posts

here's another placebo effect 'turbonator' smile.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DUAL-TURBONATOR-TU...#ht_2954wt_1139
poolcarpet
post Dec 18 2011, 11:32 PM

548 posts

hi,

I changed my lowerarm before, proton original part RM150 each so per pair RM300 just for parts. For labor I brought to nearby tyre shop where I also changed 4x absorbers and they charged me RM100 for entire thing so I'm not sure how much normal labor is if just change lower arm.

hope this helps.

QUOTE(fool1988 @ Dec 18 2011, 10:57 PM)
3. If lowerarm Rm200 include installation and is heavy duty worth? Satay brush Rm5 per one cheap?
poolcarpet
post Dec 20 2011, 10:24 AM

548 posts

another reason is of course the speed... at what speed are we talking about here? drool.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 20 2011, 09:51 AM)
i faced that sometimes too, but thats mainly due to shitty tires and cheapo kyb oil abs. and by tires, i mean one thats made in 2008 wk20 while the other in 2009, really ticking time bombs waiting to change  sweat.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 20 2011, 05:12 PM

548 posts

60-100 MPH? drool.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 20 2011, 03:17 PM)
ah yes well between 60-100 ish la give/take  sweat.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 20 2011, 07:16 PM

548 posts

haha... ok seriously, if back tyre is loosing grip - are the front tyres newer/better grip than the rear? i've read that if you are going to change 2 tyres for example, the NEW tyre should go to the back. most tyre shops would recommend to put new tyres in front, but it's actually more important for the rear wheels to have better grip than the front....
poolcarpet
post Dec 20 2011, 07:36 PM

548 posts

i don't know why... simple reasoning will tell you that rear tires with less grip is very dangerous cause you will slide easily when you turn/corner. for front tires, at least you can still steer it around... it's probably a common practice where people don't stop to think for a while... and possibly also because if you put new tires in front, you can avoid changing the rear tires for a bit more since the wear in front is much much higher than the back...

these reputable websites will explain why:

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/how-to/4243992
http://www.cartalk.com/content/why-should-...o-back-find-out

so in your case, why don't you try swapping the front & rear tires and see how it goes? if still not good, probably time to look at the absorber or maybe you need to slow down a bit smile.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 20 2011, 07:25 PM)
well my front tires are a pair of new yokohama a drive, so yea, front grip is far and beyond better than my rears.

if rear is more important than front, why shops still recommend that people put the new tires in front? because of higher tread wear or what?
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Dec 20 2011, 07:36 PM
poolcarpet
post Dec 23 2011, 11:49 AM

548 posts

Shell petrol station service centers! smile.gif I go there for normal engine oil change service. Depends on what you want to do I guess, something more major, maybe want to look around and ask friends for contacts.

QUOTE(oneoone1o1 @ Dec 23 2011, 11:23 AM)
Hi people, can I have some suggestion of reasonable places to service my >10 yr old iswara around kl? Thanks ahead for any of your input smile.gif
poolcarpet
post Dec 23 2011, 01:52 PM

548 posts

i read that magnatec does not do what it claims to do..... you didn't buy it because it claims to be able to 'stick' to the pistons reducing startup wear and tear, did you?

QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 23 2011, 12:01 PM)
going to change oil today..yesterday sapu magnatec 10-40 8x per bottle LOL
poolcarpet
post Dec 26 2011, 09:37 PM

548 posts

No, sorry to say I'm personally against removing any kind of stuffs in the engine as a 'cure' for a problem.

"mine also like this, go to radiator shop and remove the thermostat, clean the radiator..
Problem solve, now my iswara temp always 1/4++.."

Probably just cleaning the radiator would have been sufficient, then change the thermostat instead of removing it. Removing t-stat means coolant is circulating throughout the engine block AT ALL TIMES, definitely engine will run cooler unless there is some other major blockage but this won't be optimum as engine will be way below normal operating temperature (e.g. morning start, or highway drive - drive, not highway speeding...)

I've taken out my radiator, sent it to radiator specialist to clean/repair, replaced the t-stat, done coolant flush and everything is fine. I don't understand why any mechanic would recommend removing t-stat...
QUOTE(Codyx @ Dec 26 2011, 07:37 PM)
remove the themo? is that even a good idea?

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0675sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:02 PM