124 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V13 !, Le D4 is awaiting you @ 6000 bucks only

asrul
post Dec 6 2011, 10:15 AM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Dec 6 2011, 09:42 AM)
hey ya nikkies.. tongue.gif

just asking on you guys opinions la, I've had my hands on d3100 kit loaned by my friend for a day or so and ever since dslr bug starts biting. hard.

so, been searching up and downs the internet over the nikons that worth while considering includes d3100, d5000, d40, and d80.

I like d3100 but, somehow it just doesnt cut it for me. It seemed, limited. I want to do more. Tho, perhaps on the 2 day it was on loaned, I might have used maybe 70% of its full potential.

D5000 looks good on spec sheet compared to d3100. Truth be told that d3100, d5000 and d40 cant AF with lenses without motor. That sucks. I like to have a descent lenses that is able to AF (Im noob ma, cant simply manual focus one... sweat.gif ), besides, they are cheaper I presume?

so it  goes down to d80, spec sheet is better tho it is only 10megapix. But, hey, Im not gonna print an image of size A2 from it! Im just suka-suka photography only. tongue.gif What's nice is, it has focus motor in it. Yes! So, i could buy cheapo 50 1/8 lens and still can AF. Yeeha!

my question is, d80 is no longer brand new available in the market. Cuz they are already 2 years old (?). Hence the option goes to the used market. I am wondering tho, d90 is much better than d80 but the price is way off my budget. Am I doing the right choice of getting d80 at this time of the year? unsure.gif

thank you for reading. biggrin.gif
im selling my d80 tongue.gif

btw guise, i just realise that focus point on top LCD of d7000 does not moving when i move the focus point, while in the viewfinder and LCD display does! quite hard to use la like this
MrAkay
post Dec 6 2011, 10:19 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Dec 6 2011, 09:42 AM)
hey ya nikkies.. tongue.gif

just asking on you guys opinions la, I've had my hands on d3100 kit loaned by my friend for a day or so and ever since dslr bug starts biting. hard.

so, been searching up and downs the internet over the nikons that worth while considering includes d3100, d5000, d40, and d80.

I like d3100 but, somehow it just doesnt cut it for me. It seemed, limited. I want to do more. Tho, perhaps on the 2 day it was on loaned, I might have used maybe 70% of its full potential.

D5000 looks good on spec sheet compared to d3100. Truth be told that d3100, d5000 and d40 cant AF with lenses without motor. That sucks. I like to have a descent lenses that is able to AF (Im noob ma, cant simply manual focus one... sweat.gif ), besides, they are cheaper I presume?

so it  goes down to d80, spec sheet is better tho it is only 10megapix. But, hey, Im not gonna print an image of size A2 from it! Im just suka-suka photography only. tongue.gif What's nice is, it has focus motor in it. Yes! So, i could buy cheapo 50 1/8 lens and still can AF. Yeeha!

my question is, d80 is no longer brand new available in the market. Cuz they are already 2 years old (?). Hence the option goes to the used market. I am wondering tho, d90 is much better than d80 but the price is way off my budget. Am I doing the right choice of getting d80 at this time of the year? unsure.gif

thank you for reading. biggrin.gif
get a used/new d90 or d7000. its way better then a d80. if u rajin, just search around the forums here or other sites, prolly can get one used in good condition for a good price smile.gif

btw, how come u all like to use filters so much? i feel like my pictures are much better without a filter haha
Agito666
post Dec 6 2011, 10:22 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Dec 6 2011, 10:19 AM)
get a used/new d90 or d7000. its way better then a d80. if u rajin, just search around the forums here or other sites, prolly can get one used in good condition for a good price smile.gif

btw, how come u all like to use filters so much? i feel like my pictures are much better without a filter haha
scare the front element kena poke then crack mah =x
and i duno is true or not ... front element of the lens actually got coating for UV...so it is not necessary to buy UV filter but for the time being the coat will be worn off so is advisable to get UV filter? unsure.gif
geekster129
post Dec 6 2011, 10:23 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Too sayang for a very expensive RM 4k+ lens that has just been bought. If can spend 4k, why not another rm200 to make the collection complete? tongue.gif

Just like those times when a new iPad/iPhone was bought then you straight away get screen protector/phone casing and wrap it nicely to prevent scratches....lol

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 6 2011, 10:24 AM
vearn27

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 6 2011, 09:31 AM)
My XS-Pro (non-nano) got it at RM250, but that's special price cause Hoya HD ran out of stock back then LOL. Where did you buy yours from?
And his price is RM280?
Don't care much more. I want to buy from your source next time. RM20 can last about 2 days for me mad.gif

QUOTE(asrul @ Dec 6 2011, 10:15 AM)
im selling my d80 tongue.gif
btw guise, i just realise that focus point on top LCD of d7000 does not moving when i move the focus point, while in the viewfinder and LCD display does! quite hard to use la like this
The focus point on the TOP LCD just showing whether you're using single-point or multi-points mode. It's not to show where you moved your point biggrin.gif
farique

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Dec 6 2011, 09:57 AM)
IMO, its adviseable for u to save few bucks for now and get D90 or even D7K later. But yet it depends on your financial. Since when u purchased D80, which is will be used set, there's opportunities to get minor problems on the camera sooner or later. and that time, u still spend few bucks to repair it. why dont u just spare some money first, and go for new one.. its just my humble opinion and yet it depends on u tho..
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 6 2011, 10:07 AM)

I would definitely recommend D90 / D7000 over the D80. D80 is CCD sensor, ISO performance is kinda bad. Its not about the megapixels, its the sensor performance.

aight then. I've made a good move of asking here before deciding any further.

Now time to get the mouse clicking and hunting down a descent d90. tongue.gif

thanks guys!
celciuz

14,037 posts

I care for my lens, therefore I use filter ;-)

PS, Hoya HD saved my 85mm before. Without that it would probably retired already by now.
Irbean
post Dec 6 2011, 10:28 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 6 2011, 11:23 AM)
Too sayang for a very expensive RM 4k+ lens that has just been bought. If can spend 4k, why not another rm200 to make the collection complete? tongue.gif

Just like those times when a new iPad/iPhone was bought then you straight away get screen protector/phone casing and wrap it nicely to prevent scratches....lol
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 6 2011, 11:23 AM)
I care for my lens, therefore I use filter ;-)

PS, Hoya HD saved my 85mm before. Without that it would probably retired already by now.
+1. its not only for performance wise, its also more on additional safety feature to protect ur front element. expecially for guys like me, who always bum here and there..
asrul
post Dec 6 2011, 10:29 AM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 6 2011, 10:23 AM)
The focus point on the TOP LCD just showing whether you're using single-point or multi-points mode. It's not to show where you moved your point biggrin.gif
a bit hard for me as i used to see the Focus point on Top LCD rather thatn viewfinder or LCD Display sweat.gif
geekster129
post Dec 6 2011, 10:32 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Quality wise as always depends on the price.

Cheap filters - Protection
Expensive filters - Protection + Performance

You pay peanuts you get peanuts. Depends on your requirement.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 6 2011, 10:32 AM
Agito666
post Dec 6 2011, 10:33 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 6 2011, 10:23 AM)

yes agree... but now i use rm20 screen protector on ipad tongue.gif cheap and good XD
but n8 phone i use naked flex.gif because i believe it is stronger than my ipad tongue.gif

QUOTE(farique @ Dec 6 2011, 10:23 AM)
aight then. I've made a good move of asking here before deciding any further.

Now time to get the mouse clicking and hunting down a descent d90. tongue.gif
thanks guys!
how about D70s? brows.gif
*datuk of mid level DSLR tongue.gif
MrAkay
post Dec 6 2011, 10:33 AM

440 posts

okay lah, i think when i get my G lenses then only i think of using top end filters. for now my lens all very pendek & slim.. no need filter also haha
btw in ur opinion lah, which is the best performing filter brands? Hoya? B&W?

its easy to find used d90 nowadays, its like all over the used market haha

This post has been edited by MrAkay: Dec 6 2011, 10:36 AM
Irbean
post Dec 6 2011, 10:34 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 6 2011, 11:32 AM)
Quality wise as always depends on the price.

Cheap filters - Protection
Expensive filters - Protection + Performance

You pay peanuts you get peanuts. Depends on your requirement.
yeah another +1.
i use BW XSPRO on all my lens.
celciuz
post Dec 6 2011, 10:47 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Dec 6 2011, 10:28 AM)
+1. its not only for performance wise, its also more on additional safety feature to protect ur front element. expecially for guys like me, who always bum here and there..
Using an UV filter will not improve image quality, it will degrade. But the differences between a cheap filter versus a good filter is how much IQ would deteriorate.

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Dec 6 2011, 10:33 AM)
okay lah, i think when i get my G lenses then only i think of using top end filters. for now my lens all very pendek & slim.. no need filter also haha

I would say B+W XS-Pro, excellent optics. Very little degrade in terms of image quality. Hoya HD otherwise is also good. (I have 2 Hoya HD and 1 XS-Pro on my lens).
geekster129
post Dec 6 2011, 10:48 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Dec 6 2011, 10:33 AM)

Hehe... now I use my cheap and good ol' 50mm f/1.8 lens only use Kenko filters also mar....

Maybe later when I really plan to buy N lens, then I'll buy Hoya or B+W.

Added on December 6, 2011, 10:50 am
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 6 2011, 10:47 AM)
Using an UV filter will not improve image quality, it will degrade. But the differences between a cheap filter versus a good filter is how much IQ would deteriorate.
I would say B+W XS-Pro, excellent optics. Very little degrade in terms of image quality. Hoya HD otherwise is also good. (I have 2 Hoya HD and 1 XS-Pro on my lens).
Very funny, that day I went for a B+W free seminar, the marketing guy from Germany kept selling B+W filters like he's selling BMW cars... lol

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 6 2011, 10:50 AM
celciuz
post Dec 6 2011, 11:09 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 6 2011, 10:48 AM)
Hehe... now I use my cheap and good ol' 50mm f/1.8 lens only use Kenko filters also mar....

Maybe later when I really plan to buy N lens, then I'll buy Hoya or B+W.

Added on December 6, 2011, 10:50 am

Very funny, that day I went for a B+W free seminar, the marketing guy from Germany kept selling B+W filters like he's selling BMW cars... lol
My nifty fifty using a Hoya HMC tongue.gif, going multicoat better than single layer... and price not much diff too for that size.
Irbean
post Dec 6 2011, 11:22 AM

141 posts

how much for D800 eh?
MrAkay
post Dec 6 2011, 11:28 AM

440 posts

DSC_1020-2 by Farid_Ariffin, on Flickr

spam pic of my budget wide angle lens. quite sharp i think smile.gif
i took off my hoya filter, put inside cabinet haha.

D800 supposedly is around 12k.. dunno lah betul or not though, thats rumored price based on the leak japanese info

celciuz
post Dec 6 2011, 11:37 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Dec 6 2011, 11:28 AM)

spam pic of my budget wide angle lens. quite sharp i think smile.gif
i took off my hoya filter, put inside cabinet haha.

D800 supposedly is around 12k.. dunno lah betul or not though, thats rumored price based on the leak japanese info
My wide angle with uv filter (Hoya HD) on,

Panda, Avira by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Still sharp for me tongue.gif
vearn27
post Dec 6 2011, 11:39 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

What keep you guys think that Nikon is going to replace their lower-end FF body instead of high-end FF body given that Canon has done for theirs?

124 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:47 PM