The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

fluffy6640
post Jan 27 2012, 11:03 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jan 27 2012, 09:28 AM)
Hi, would like to get myself a watch(first timer) and I am eyeing on a Tissot watch. Any recommended shop to look for? I mean with good discount? biggrin.gif
as i looked around and been told by a sales guy, prices on tissot has gone up. discounts lowered. the most i have gotten was 15% in klang and 10% in subang parade.
sengasdf
post Jan 27 2012, 11:24 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:03 AM)
as i looked around and been told by a sales guy, prices on tissot has gone up. discounts lowered. the most i have gotten was 15% in klang and 10% in subang parade.
Thanks for the info, have you heard of Davis Online Store, he is selling on lelong and LYN as well, trusted person tak? Am thinking to get from him tongue.gif
chriscym
post Jan 27 2012, 11:28 AM

1,399 posts

New Planet Ocean with ceramic bezel looks good
fluffy6640
post Jan 27 2012, 11:52 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jan 27 2012, 11:24 AM)
Thanks for the info, have you heard of Davis Online Store, he is selling on lelong and LYN as well, trusted person tak? Am thinking to get from him  tongue.gif
i have heard of him alot. prices are very good. but i may not be the right person to comment cos ive never bought from him. *hint* do a google search on him before making your decision.

Added on January 27, 2012, 11:55 am
QUOTE(chriscym @ Jan 27 2012, 11:28 AM)
New Planet Ocean with ceramic bezel looks good
absolutely.

not sure if this model in the pic is the ceramic bezel model or not, but heck. 007 feel... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by fluffy6640: Jan 27 2012, 11:55 AM
Naka7a
post Jan 27 2012, 01:32 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

Thanks for the info, have you heard of Davis Online Store, he is selling on lelong and LYN as well, trusted person tak? Am thinking to get from him  tongue.gif
how much cheaper is davis' price compared to the tissot retailer? what i know about him is that he is one stuck up guy
xphossis
post Jan 28 2012, 12:39 AM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

Not worth it if u have to bear with his crappy service.

Read thru my thread or search at dispute zone to see all the complains made on him. whistling.gif

Added on January 28, 2012, 12:40 amIf looking for Tissot can try http://www.mywatchgallery.com.my/

This post has been edited by xphossis: Jan 28 2012, 12:40 AM
500Kmission
post Jan 28 2012, 01:59 PM

789 posts

How come all good looking seiko and tissot watches with automatic? I just want to buy a good looking watch with day and monday-sunday.

I dont want to buy watch with automatic due to heavy and not accurate time.
jeremy_yee
post Jan 28 2012, 02:50 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 28 2012, 01:59 PM)
How come all good looking seiko and tissot watches with automatic? I just want to buy a good looking watch with day and monday-sunday.

Most Seiko are quartz, Seiko-5 which is automatic is actually cheaper than other 'nicer looking' Seikos.

Quartz watches are running on battery and are considered 'soulless' and have mediocre 2nd hand value. Automatic watches runs on spring movements, last forever with periodical servicings. They are not necessary heavier than quartz watches. Just my 2 cent.
TSpatryn33
post Jan 28 2012, 10:59 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:03 AM)
So low now! Was like 25-30% swatch group doing well

Added on January 28, 2012, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 28 2012, 01:59 PM)

Care to share those u deem good? Perhaps pol here can suggest a similar quartz. Whats your working budget?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jan 28 2012, 11:05 PM
avengers88
post Jan 28 2012, 11:52 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Guys, I really like the mechanical movement but it seems that most of them are expensive. Which brand would u guys recommend for budget maybe 1-3k? Not willing to spend too higher price for watch yet unless I m really rich LOL!
TSpatryn33
post Jan 29 2012, 06:32 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 28 2012, 11:52 PM)
Guys, I really like the mechanical movement but it seems that most of them are expensive. Which brand would u guys recommend for budget maybe 1-3k? Not willing to spend too higher price for watch yet unless I m really rich LOL!
buy in store or online?
in store your choice is tissot and Hamilton.
online, tons of choices check out page 1 post 1 alot of brands listed there is within your budget (unless stated they are all running on swiss movement)

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jan 29 2012, 08:02 AM
avengers88
post Jan 29 2012, 08:48 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

both also can .. however, is cheap mechanical watch recommended ?
Wow, ingersoll mechanical is even cheaper than some seiko quartz.
TSpatryn33
post Jan 29 2012, 11:18 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:48 AM)
both also can .. however, is cheap mechanical watch recommended ?
Wow, ingersoll mechanical is even cheaper than some seiko quartz.
they are using china (usually Hangzhou) movement.
seiko quartz are Japan made.

alpha-watch.com is even cheaper and they are all china made mechanicals

some ppl state Swiss made and China made movement is the same. the only difference is QC. ETA is strict while China has a great variation.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/how-do-se...ook-216945.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jan 29 2012, 11:24 AM
fluffy6640
post Jan 29 2012, 11:59 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 28 2012, 10:59 PM)
So low now! Was like 25-30% swatch group doing well
Exactly! I wish I grabbed the visodate before the hike sad.gif
jeremy_yee
post Jan 29 2012, 07:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:59 AM)
Exactly! I wish I grabbed the visodate before the hike sad.gif
I must be one lucky guy - managed to grab one silver visodate last year.

Am now eyeing Oris artelier complication, any comment on this one?

This post has been edited by jeremy_yee: Jan 29 2012, 08:01 PM
500Kmission
post Jan 30 2012, 12:10 AM

789 posts

Care to share those u deem good? Perhaps pol here can suggest a similar quartz. Whats your working budget?

[/quote]
my budget is < RM1500
TSpatryn33
post Jan 30 2012, 01:10 AM

3,940 posts

[quote=500Kmission,Jan 30 2012, 12:10 AM]

[/quote]
my budget is < RM1500

[/quote]

how to help when part of the qns are ans?
good luck looking on your own or check out page 1 post 1.
deriku
post Jan 30 2012, 01:16 PM

879 posts

Sharing my latest acquisition - Speedy Pro Moonwatch.

First impressions, this watch is very different from the SMP chrono. It wears much thinner on the wrist and looks perfect when worn with a shirt. Definitely the dressier version compared to the SMP, which still remains as my favourite sports chrono.

Bracelet is top notch but I swapped it out for a Hirsch Professional leather strap as I liked the Speedy-on-strap pictures seen on the net. It is my first Hirsch strap and I must say it's worth every penny (lucky to be able to get it direct from the country dealer at a price lower than those sold in the US/EU).

So far the watch has been keeping perfect timing, nothing I can complain for a pre-owned piece. The only issue is the presence of some black dust/debris which is visible on the hour marker. Not sure how it got there but I guess I'll only get it fixed when the time comes for a service.

Btw was quoted an astronomical RM1,9xx for a full service by the Omega boutique in Starhill. I hope the undated warranty card will be able to save me some $$$.

All in all, a fantastic watch with a deep history and a symbol of understated luxury. This is definitely going to be a keeper for me.
ck77
post Jan 30 2012, 02:04 PM

2,592 posts

deriku, congrats on the classic thumbup.gif
unixcorp
post Jan 30 2012, 03:09 PM

564 posts

need help from sifu here..

is FOSSIL CH2644 glass is scratch-resistant? smile.gif