The only channel I'm aware of is through the Nomos website.
Gong xi fa cai to all forumers!
The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk
Jan 19 2012, 10:46 PM
879 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
The only channel I'm aware of is through the Nomos website.
Gong xi fa cai to all forumers! |
Jan 20 2012, 10:32 AM
Thanks for the clarification patryn, it slipped my mind that jwwatch carries the Nomos line. Somehow I tend to associate them with used watch dealers
Jan 24 2012, 06:21 PM
I would stay clear of that website, just look at the 'news' section. You would be lucky to receive a replica, it could be an outright scam for all you know.
Jan 30 2012, 01:16 PM
Sharing my latest acquisition - Speedy Pro Moonwatch.
![]() ![]() First impressions, this watch is very different from the SMP chrono. It wears much thinner on the wrist and looks perfect when worn with a shirt. Definitely the dressier version compared to the SMP, which still remains as my favourite sports chrono. Bracelet is top notch but I swapped it out for a Hirsch Professional leather strap as I liked the Speedy-on-strap pictures seen on the net. It is my first Hirsch strap and I must say it's worth every penny (lucky to be able to get it direct from the country dealer at a price lower than those sold in the US/EU). So far the watch has been keeping perfect timing, nothing I can complain for a pre-owned piece. The only issue is the presence of some black dust/debris which is visible on the hour marker. Not sure how it got there but I guess I'll only get it fixed when the time comes for a service. Btw was quoted an astronomical RM1,9xx for a full service by the Omega boutique in Starhill. I hope the undated warranty card will be able to save me some $$$. All in all, a fantastic watch with a deep history and a symbol of understated luxury. This is definitely going to be a keeper for me. |
Jan 31 2012, 09:04 PM
Wear it or put it on a watch winder if you're lazy to set the time every now and then. If you don't wear it often just leave it, it's not necessary to keep the watch running constantly.
Feb 1 2012, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:30 AM) Pre-owned models in this condition range from USD 2200 - 2500 from what I've seen on the usual sales sites. I got this piece at the lower end of that range. MSRP is RM13.5k, with the average discount of 10%, maybe more if you agree to purchase without a receipt (at least this was what I was told by a reputable AD). |
Feb 1 2012, 02:13 PM
As usual, it would help if you would state your preferences first in order to get a better reply from our sifus.
Automatic/quartz, sports/dress, bracelet/leather strap, and the list goes on. 1st post on 1st page is a good reference. Added on February 1, 2012, 2:20 pmIf you don't mind buying online, you can look at www.uhr.info. Automatic chronographs that fit your budget, probably a good upgrade from your quartz watch. This post has been edited by deriku: Feb 1 2012, 02:20 PM |
Feb 2 2012, 12:04 PM
Wah Rainbow Flyback. Did you get the Port Royal too?
Feb 3 2012, 11:10 AM
Is that the Alpina patryn? With in-house movement? Do show us some pics!
Feb 4 2012, 11:55 PM
Junghans Max Bill model? Nice, clean designs though I prefer the chrono version.
This post has been edited by deriku: Feb 4 2012, 11:57 PM |
Feb 7 2012, 11:58 AM
Beautiful piece. Did you get it in Malaysia?
Feb 7 2012, 03:57 PM
Are you looking at collectorstime / MWF?
Don't see Mille Miglias up for sale often, but IMO 7k is alright. |
Feb 7 2012, 10:27 PM
Never dealt with them before but they have a good rep on the Msia Watch Forum.
Feb 8 2012, 04:37 PM
Mechanical watches are not expensive at all, just take a look at the Seiko thread. Many Seiko automatics available in the sub-500 range. Orient also offers automatics for a similar price point.
For Swiss made watches you are limited to mostly quartz. Brands like Tissot, Hamilton, Victorinox etc offer entry level models. If you don't mind German-made watch with a Citizen movement, can consider Laco pilot watch. I have one for sale though you'll have to wait until late Apr to get the watch |
Feb 9 2012, 12:02 PM
Yup Laco with Miyota movements come with mineral glass. So far I've found mineral glass to be pretty scratch resistant, as long as you don't abuse your watch.
Whoa, didn't expect Campanolas to cost >3k USD. The craftsmanship is impressive but can't say I will pay that amount of money for a quartz |
Feb 9 2012, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 9 2012, 02:17 PM) the strugle i have to go to convince myself to get a quartz I understand what you mean. People look at different aspects when buying a watch, type of movement is just one of the many considerations. If I owned a Campanola I would appreciate it more for its extrinsic attributes, like a piece of art.first is the seiko tuna now this, eventually is just in our mind like a gal as u age, u look at different part, the face, the body, the leg ahem... cant afford to have them all at one go like a PP grand complication QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Feb 9 2012, 04:03 PM) Steinhart AD in SEA is Gnomon Watches located in SG, you can google for them. Alternative is purchase through Steinhart official website (slightly cheaper if not mistaken). |
Feb 13 2012, 08:35 PM
Care to share what made you get this piece hanz?
Feb 16 2012, 10:30 AM
The downside is you only can get the GST refund at the airport. Tough luck for those using the causeway as an exit point.
Feb 17 2012, 02:10 PM
Very nice. I think I commented about the versatility of this model. How much did it cost you?
This post has been edited by deriku: Feb 17 2012, 02:11 PM |
Feb 17 2012, 02:40 PM
Collectorstime?