The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk
Blissguy
Dec 27 2011, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 27 2011, 05:22 PM) On sale by grey dealer for the same price http://www.bodying.my/mido-watches-m8370-4...1/watches/230462.8k is fair I guess. I would try to further nego, cos personally would not pay such an amount for a non-chrono Mido. Btw 1.6k is a lot of money for an Orient, but as long as you're happy  hoping it will go for 2k hahaha
NearN
Dec 27 2011, 06:51 PM

hallo...i wan buy watch...but dono which brand coz im not to updated with fashion....so can u all suggest me some model range price from 300-700.. i like steel type,chronograph like edifice....so which brand do u tink?
pantherseries
Dec 27 2011, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(NearN @ Dec 27 2011, 06:51 PM) hallo...i wan buy watch...but dono which brand coz im not to updated with fashion....so can u all suggest me some model range price from 300-700.. i like steel type,chronograph like edifice....so which brand do u tink? u can go for seiko quartz.. if u like designer brand.. u can choose guess..
hanz079
Dec 27 2011, 08:51 PM
Patryn, While in HK, I tried on the Zenith Annual Calendar and I must say it is a handsome watch. Too bad I got like a million stuff on my "wanted" list... lol
shankar_dass93
Dec 27 2011, 09:35 PM
hey guys any review of cerrruti watches ? and whats a good shop to look for watches that cost around 1k ?
lk3
Dec 27 2011, 10:57 PM

guys wonder if bell and ross is worth their price on it anot? and what do you guys think of russian watch ? is it worth to buy junkers for 1k++?
gavinx
Dec 28 2011, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:57 PM) guys wonder if bell and ross is worth their price on it anot? and what do you guys think of russian watch ? is it worth to buy junkers for 1k++? junker is german watch
TSpatryn33
Dec 28 2011, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:57 PM) guys wonder if bell and ross is worth their price on it anot? and what do you guys think of russian watch ? is it worth to buy junkers for 1k++? Russian - are you crazy about accuracy? @1k you are looking at a swiss ronda quartz on the junkers. @1K budget U can get better alternatives online. check page 1 post 1. bell and ross buy on grey - collectorstime.com its not worth the $$ if U are into design yes.
spicediablo
Dec 28 2011, 09:02 AM

Deriku, what is the normal price range for Orient? QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 27 2011, 05:22 PM) That's a Mido All Dial Diver, on sale by grey dealer for the same price. http://www.bodying.my/mido-watches-m8370-4...1/watches/230462.8k is fair I guess. I would try to further nego, cos personally would not pay such an amount for a non-chrono Mido. Btw 1.6k is a lot of money for an Orient, but as long as you're happy 
lk3
Dec 28 2011, 09:27 AM

actually i wanna get the zepplelin hand wind chronograph watch ... cuz i realli like that design and wana get a hand winding watch ... but if buy on grey for bell and ross is it original? wats the diff?
deriku
Dec 28 2011, 09:30 AM
I paid less than 1k for my open dial Rally. But on second thought, yours being an Orient Star JDM model (I think), also with a retrograde complication, the price is not bad. Have always liked the retrograde function (e.g. ML Masterpiece, Longines Master) but just can't justify the spending right now  4 retrograde functions!
spicediablo
Dec 28 2011, 09:33 AM

Besides the retrograde, I really love the details and quality of this watch. It's quite 'heavy'. Each dial has a different background and it winds up easily. Every morning, the PR will be down to about 30 hours but by lunch time, I would have full PR of 40 hours. Mind you, I am an office worker( don't really move a lot)  . BTW, how expensive is this longines? 4 retrograde!! QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 28 2011, 09:30 AM) I paid less than 1k for my open dial Rally. But on second thought, yours being an Orient Star JDM model (I think), also with a retrograde complication, the price is not bad. Have always liked the retrograde function (e.g. ML Masterpiece, Longines Master) but just can't justify the spending right now  4 retrograde functions!  This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 28 2011, 12:37 PM
deriku
Dec 28 2011, 09:44 AM
The Longines is USD3750 on prestigetime. Agree that Orient watches take little effort to wind, at least compared to my Seiko Monster. Shaking it for about 10min brings the PR from 0 - 40.
spicediablo
Dec 28 2011, 09:48 AM

Mine takes 20 hand winds to get to max... which is perfect for new mechanical watch user like me just in case i forgot to wear it for one day, I'll still be able to 'recover' the charge in a short time. QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 28 2011, 09:44 AM) The Longines is USD3750 on prestigetime. Agree that Orient watches take little effort to wind, at least compared to my Seiko Monster. Shaking it for about 10min brings the PR from 0 - 40. This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 28 2011, 09:49 AM
Human Nature
Dec 28 2011, 11:07 AM
For an automatic mechanical watch, it is alright/necessary to wind the watch manually by turning its knob? And what is the usual number of turns to avoid overwinding? Thanks.
spicediablo
Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM

As I know,not all automatic watches support handwinding.You have to check if your model supports it. As for number of turns, it depends on your engine. If you could list down your model, maybe sifus here can advise you...  QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:07 AM) For an automatic mechanical watch, it is alright/necessary to wind the watch manually by turning its knob? And what is the usual number of turns to avoid overwinding? Thanks.
Human Nature
Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM) As I know,not all automatic watches support handwinding.You have to check if your model supports it. As for number of turns, it depends on your engine. If you could list down your model, maybe sifus here can advise you...  Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help
ck77
Dec 28 2011, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM) Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help  ETA2824 can be handwind.
spicediablo
Dec 28 2011, 11:47 AM

Mind to share the price of this beautiful piece? QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM) Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help 
TSpatryn33
Dec 28 2011, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM) Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help  in fact it is a mod version of SW200, not ETA 2824. yes u can handwind it Added on December 28, 2011, 12:29 pmQUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM) As I know,not all automatic watches support handwinding.You have to check if your model supports it. As for number of turns, it depends on your engine. If you could list down your model, maybe sifus here can advise you...  all swiss auto that I have come across can handwind. Jap - entry level ones usually cannot handwind or hack. Today slowly changing need to read specs. This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 28 2011, 12:48 PM