Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?
Mackiddo
Dec 24 2011, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(me_mbh @ Dec 24 2011, 04:39 PM) Hi All, Wish to ask; anyone renewed their passport in sg b4? mind 2 share ur exp? heard that really need to be there at the commission very early for the queue? is it true abt that? thanks 1st! btw, merry christmas 2 u guys + gals 2 i went the to Msia Hi Comm a couple of times this year. Queue is not really that long but saw ppl start queing before the doors open (0815hrs?). I'm not to sure what time the main embassy door open (you gotta get the pass), so not advisable to go too early.
Mackiddo
Dec 24 2011, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Dec 24 2011, 05:43 PM) Nice...is Science Park 2 nearby?? I got a place in CCK crescent. Near Yew Tee MRT!! What company is yours? wah. stay near to bunny  . what block ? Added on December 24, 2011, 6:00 pmQUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 24 2011, 05:56 PM) a few of us stays at cck cresent  2nd bangla town after boon lay  cck is pale compares to Boon Lay (Little Dhaka), land of the picnic ppl . But there a lot of nice food This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 24 2011, 06:00 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 26 2011, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 26 2011, 03:19 PM) You should know yourself and your taste buds. The thing is that generally Singapore hawker food (i.e. cheap) is inferior tasting to Malaysian hawker food. Some people not so particular about food then can tahan. Food at restaurants is great and has huge variety but isn't cheap. Example, some ramen places charge $20 per bowl. For me, I normally eat cheap on weekdays and splurge a bit on weekends, I end up spending about $900/month on food & groceries (not including special occasion meals which will easily run you into triple digits per meal). i don't thing Sg food is inferior, just that your taste bud is so used to Msia food. Food at restaurant is not really expensive by Sg standard and if you really compare it with the standard of living, it's actually cheaper than Msia. For imported food like Japs food, Sg is way superior, I could never find a excellent Japs food in Msia. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 26 2011, 04:43 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 26 2011, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 26 2011, 06:30 PM) he forgot .sg . Apple Singapore, heard the best place to work in Singapore
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 27 2011, 12:40 AM) kebodohan tahap maksima. this is an online forum. ALL of us here are doing exactly the same that is giving our own opinions about various subjects. you disagree either you argue or ignore, why you need to butthurt until like this? i think 'calling names' is not the way forward, once start it'll never ends
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 27 2011, 11:41 AM) Just want to know. Is it possible to request for a higher salary if you are not entitled for CPF? The reason why i ask this is because there is no chance of me getting a PR anymore since I denouced my PR because i did not want to do national service. I just want to know since this is the case, is it possible for me to request my employer for a higher salary since i know that for singaporeans the CPF that is given is normally 16% i heard it's pretty hard for someone who denounced their pr to even get a work pass ? You could ask for the sky but will the employer give you ? I've know cases of employer giving the employee the company's cpf portion.
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 27 2011, 11:31 AM) I am only STPM, got me EP last year. pay haven reach $2.8k. u judge your self. u must be kidding I gave up a RM3k job for a $2.2k job. and i can tell you that i didn't regret at all. RM3k is nothing but $2.2k is really smth. i manage to go travel overseas after working in SG for less than a year.but you travel overseas almost everyday to and fro for work  Added on December 27, 2011, 11:55 amQUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 27 2011, 09:59 AM) Talking about LinkedIn, anybody wanna do some career connections? but professionally la, not to laugh2 wan i'm just curious on how LinkedIn works, how is it beneficial to us ? This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 27 2011, 11:55 AM
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 27 2011, 12:12 PM) anyways, LTA statistics for cars registered between jan-nov 2011! BMW 4,495 Porsche 567 Maserati 85 Ferrari 82 Proton 73Bentley 55 Lamborghini 42 Rolls Royce 36 Perodua 14I can't understand why Proton / Perodua are still able to sell cars here. The Proton Saga 1.3 is $89k, which is about the same price as the Suzuki Swift, and more expensive than the Kia Cerato 1.6. Or you could add about $10k and get a Toyota Vios, which is a vastly superior car. Added on December 27, 2011, 12:15 pmDepends on company / sector? It's still pretty common in the big banks here to encash the 16% for nonPR/SC's. i could think of 1 reason. cheap spare parts across the causeway. I know a lot of Malaysian who works in Sg but stays in JB drives Sg registered perodua to work.
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(Aloong @ Dec 27 2011, 12:16 PM) Good for networking purposes. Well that's what Linkedin was mainly for. Networking for job opportunities as well as business opporutnities. It works the best if you're connected to ppl similar to ur line of business/career + headhunters. Guess i'll skip. Don't want to be head hunt
Mackiddo
Dec 27 2011, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 27 2011, 03:47 PM) Thanks. But mine is 1year lease and need to pay 1 month fees. And bear by tenant only as the agent say landlord have to pay for another agent. that's co-broke deal but you still only need to pay your share of 1/2 month and owner pay 1/2 month. the 2 agents have to share it themselves. probably the owner cheat you into coming out his/her half as well?
Mackiddo
Dec 29 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(xenotzu @ Dec 29 2011, 02:46 PM) Hi, just wondering if anybody here has any thoughts about taking up Singapore PR if you have a son? I'm ok with the NS part and so is my son. But my wife is quite against NS. Her colleagues keep telling her horror stories about accidents in NS. What other pros and cons is there about taking up PR? could it be any worst than Msia 'ns' ?
Mackiddo
Dec 30 2011, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 29 2011, 11:07 PM) Anyone stay near jurong west? Wat network provider u guys used? Im using singtel but the reception in my room so freking sux. Most of the time oni 2 bar signal only zzz. Only when inside or near jurong point then can receive almost full bar signal. Ask yeahs4.1 , the Bangla's Nø 1 friend. He stays nearby
Mackiddo
Dec 30 2011, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(jhcj @ Dec 30 2011, 12:46 PM) Does anyone know where to change money in Singapore? Heard they got good rates in Chinatown, but donno where. There's one money changer at Lot 1 cck area. Upper floor. Alway got long queue of ppl changing money, have to take queue number some more. Very popular. Added on December 30, 2011, 1:51 pmQUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 30 2011, 01:31 PM) Where you guys going to countdown tomorrow? Dragonfly maybe. You game? This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 30 2011, 01:51 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 30 2011, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Dec 30 2011, 11:28 PM) Does anyone know how much does a fresh accountig graduate earn in Singapore? I grad in Aussie. I heard its pretty hard for my without pr to look for jobs in sg. And competition pretty high? I am so stuck in Aussie I really want to give it a try somewhere else besides Malaysia which would be my last resort. What's the best way to apply for jobs in sg? Thanks heaps! You sure you wanna move to Sg? You need to learn about renting a room/house in Singaoore first, since you have never pay rent up till now
Mackiddo
Dec 31 2011, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(Debuantu @ Dec 31 2011, 12:33 PM) Hi all, i'm on a 2-month vacation now before uni starts. I was just wondering if it is ok for me to work for temp job (say for 1 or 2 mths) in Singapore? I'm concerned with my legality to work in Sg. Thanks. Your changes of getting a work pass for a temp job in sg is almost 0% Added on December 31, 2011, 5:57 pmQUOTE(kockroach @ Dec 31 2011, 11:29 AM) It is increasing annoying to read the post of Materazzi, pointless argument just to find fault with seantang. Tepuk Sebelah Tangan Takkan Berbunyi This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 31 2011, 05:57 PM
Mackiddo
Jan 3 2012, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 3 2012, 05:36 PM) if anyone's up for it, we can meet somewhere to have coffee/tea. i'll bring this along. every friend i've introduced this to, loved this game.  I luv STACKERS ! I always hangout at Starbucks, Coffee Bean & Robert Timms. Work only 15days/month I'll probably be there at least 7 times a month  just to kill time. beep me. If really bored then drive to JB eat wan ton mee and top up petrol This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 3 2012, 08:43 PM
Mackiddo
Jan 3 2012, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:07 PM) you must have mistaken me for His Royal Highest, King Lester1987, the one and only JB King Added on January 3, 2012, 9:13 pmQUOTE(Knight_2008 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:05 PM) wow, what's ur job? so nice one  OnG industries --> » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « pump attendance @ petrol kiosk This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 3 2012, 09:13 PM
Mackiddo
Jan 3 2012, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(wickedghost @ Jan 3 2012, 10:32 PM) Is there any post office/post laju near to city square? Pejabat Pos Besar Johor Bahru. walk there
Mackiddo
Jan 4 2012, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 4 2012, 01:04 PM) WTH? You work 15 days a month??? What job are you doin? Got vacancy or not???  15days a month is a lot ady. must balance work and social life. if not gonna be a bit stressful. Work 15/days a month must accept the pay like peanuts lor This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 4 2012, 01:23 PM
Mackiddo
Jan 4 2012, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 4 2012, 01:22 PM) I oso more than 10yrs never play. On top of that i have extra 10kgs since then, leg spring rusty, reduce in speed and no increase in height. Looks like kykhor, washabushi, deodarant, yhoong and myself (got 5ppl) against 5 philipinos. I betting we will loose with 100 points gap.hahaha... bro, scrap the basketball lar. Gather army we go Power Satay