Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?
Mackiddo
Dec 14 2011, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 14 2011, 10:35 AM) Then yr gonna be very unlucky next year. I heard there will be another rounds of lay-offs across sectors in SG next year. Anyone can confirm this from any other sectors? Banking is the first to be affected (as usual), BNP, CA, HSBC and RBS are have already confirmed to have let-go anywhere between 60-200 staff across the departments.... really? I thought Sg is booming. living cost getting higher by the day.
Mackiddo
Dec 15 2011, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Dec 15 2011, 12:48 PM) gosh, i should have keep all my Sg PR invitation letters. They don't give out those anymore right ?
Mackiddo
Dec 18 2011, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 18 2011, 12:42 AM) Just a head's up in case you don't already know, tomorrow got no MRT service before 10am. Sos: SMRT websiteit's today. you crossed the 12am mark  Added on December 18, 2011, 9:26 amQUOTE(tayhaithian @ Dec 18 2011, 09:12 AM) ^That's gonna gain some bad reputation on public services that Singapore provide.(Continuous few days disruption) think a lot of ppl probably have alternative route plan to work for tomorrow morning in case the MRT screw up again. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 18 2011, 09:26 AM
Mackiddo
Dec 18 2011, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(IEE @ Dec 18 2011, 10:57 AM) given 2 choices below, which one will u choose » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « A -working in Singapore MNC(SOUTH), IT field -salary SGD2K+ -rent own room -working distance- 10 minutes by bus B -Working in Malaysia MNC (CBJ), IT field -salary RM4K+ -working distance -1h by car,can rent room near working location, but additional expenses -stay with parent -buy own car, fuel, tax, maintenance, depreciation, is around RM1K per month seriously, i wouldn't leave for a $2K job in Sg. The sacrifices is just too much for that amount. RM4k in KL is quite a lot already and with family, friends ...bla bla bla. You also don't get to drive in Sg. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 18 2011, 11:18 AM
Mackiddo
Dec 18 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Dec 18 2011, 02:34 PM) already knew about it couple of days ago, heard it from the radio. My idol, iWoz have spoken, nothing but the painful truth.
Mackiddo
Dec 18 2011, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(FollowN @ Dec 18 2011, 10:02 PM) "There have been 17 disruptions on the North-South and East-West lines, and eight on the Circle Line from January to October this year." Source: http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...7-316719/2.htmlGood luck and smooth trip to those who take mrt/bus to work tmrw morning  . Understand mrt will reduce the train speed up to 50% on certain routes. Added on December 18, 2011, 11:10 pmQUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 18 2011, 10:55 PM) Being able to work from home not always good. It also means that my boss can call up late nights and weekends and I can't use the "boss all my files are on the PC at office" excuse  *shrug* well, 18 hours x 300 days = 5400 hours of operation in those 10 months. Let's say all those disruptions added up to 24 hours (which I'm fairly certain is a high estimate), that's still 99.56% uptime. Not good enough? downtime is acceptable if their backup plan works. Seems like it's still in a mess. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 18 2011, 11:10 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 19 2011, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 19 2011, 02:49 PM) It's time gossip about the bonus performance for this year... Anyone have any news about your company? paid already » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 19 2011, 03:35 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 19 2011, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 19 2011, 08:22 PM) So if they are willing to pay SGD 4700 and I am currently earning RM6600 it's not really worth coming is it? Rm6.6 is pretty comfortable in Msia right? Why would you wanna come to Sg?
Mackiddo
Dec 20 2011, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 20 2011, 03:07 PM) 20%...excluding COV which needs to be in CASH. if husband and wife working then quite ok i suppose. Me ? I cold sweat alone, watching my cpf amount dropped like coconut
Mackiddo
Dec 21 2011, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(calvint78 @ Dec 21 2011, 10:38 AM) any bro/sis drive m'sia car to s'pore work everyday? everyday i see lot of m'sia car in to s'pore. Am just wondering, com pay for your transport allowance? that would cost you SG20/day x 20day:SG400(not include sat/sun) i know this is better than u drive s'pore car. Any comment? some company do reimburse allowance for the $20 VEP. Other who don't just have to share the burden, etc carpool ?
Mackiddo
Dec 21 2011, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(westcoastbay @ Dec 21 2011, 07:11 PM) What is the drawback for driving Singapore car back to Johor? Imigresen will tax? The only thing I can think of is Singapore cars are big targets for car theft. I've been driving in and out of JB for so many years. no problem so far? stay low profile, dun lcly and any how throw ur SGD$ Added on December 21, 2011, 8:30 pmQUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 21 2011, 07:27 PM) If you and your wife are working in Sg. you don't want your landlord become rich la..
Added on December 21, 2011, 7:37 pm they cannot trace our properties overseas la.. my indo friend got property in indo but still bought HDB in singapore. the cost to search someone property> the benefit they will have.
what your friend did is his own problem. Still it's against the HDB regulations. That's what the ppl need to know. This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 21 2011, 08:49 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 21 2011, 11:31 PM
Yeah.
This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 21 2011, 11:33 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 22 2011, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 21 2011, 11:36 PM) but since u staying in JB, why not buy MY car? coz I'm a PR. Then again I bought my car like 3 to 4 years back when the COE is only around SGD$12k. With that COE price, the different $ between Sg and Msia car is not much different. Furthermore I already have a Msia car which my wife is using. When I move to Sg then only I sold off the Msia car. I find it a bit inconvenience without a car, even in Sg This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 22 2011, 12:05 AM
Mackiddo
Dec 22 2011, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Dec 22 2011, 09:24 AM) i will that depends, if u work in city, orchard, bugis, geylang area, then even I have a car, I wont wanna drive. But if u work in Tuas, Penjuru, Changi, it is better to have a car. actually i get a car not because of driving to work, for leisure as well. Easier for my day trip to JB
Mackiddo
Dec 22 2011, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 22 2011, 02:16 PM) Wowzer, Mackiddo, you drive daily from JB to Sing? Yeah for a few years. Then I get bored staying in JB and moved to Sg. Funny how I started off staying in Sg when I first work and then move to JB.
Mackiddo
Dec 22 2011, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 22 2011, 03:41 PM) So you basically stayed in SG, then to JB and now moved back to SG? Planning to do another 'pigeon turn'? when Alternative Front win the state election  Added on December 22, 2011, 5:58 pmQUOTE(jasonkwk @ Dec 22 2011, 04:47 PM) Border closed down, now PageOne is VivoCity also going to be one. Is there any worthy bookstore in Singapore to go now beside Kinokuniya? public library is here is pretty good. can search for book online and make reservation for under $2 This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 22 2011, 05:58 PM
Mackiddo
Dec 23 2011, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 23 2011, 11:19 AM) seantang is different he is big boss in Sg. of course living like an expat. ppl like us ya la kuli Agreed. And those Apple ppl too. Always see them wine and dine after work from their Facebook. Think I wanna join Apple too. Anyone know is there any opening? This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 23 2011, 11:24 AM
Mackiddo
Dec 23 2011, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 23 2011, 04:00 PM) u can Ask Mackiddo for details.......... ---> www.ExxonMobil.com
Mackiddo
Dec 23 2011, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 23 2011, 11:29 AM) refer me to exxon first la before you go apple unlike Apple, i don't think EM ever have a referral program. Apple have a referral program for a very unique reason anyway but apparently a lot of employees dunno what it is.
Mackiddo
Dec 23 2011, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(noelcantona7 @ Dec 23 2011, 05:08 PM) Not helpful..gotta write in via letter or something. it's ok. no worries. someone will figure it out.