6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 19 2011, 08:52 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 19 2011, 03:46 PM)
Anything above 1sgd:1myr is decent. i'd say anything lower than 0.85sgd:1myr not worth coming. i came over on a 1.2sgd:1myr ratio.
oh..RM10k should be S$10k.. If I got S$8k, it also be decent

Added on December 19, 2011, 8:54 pm
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 19 2011, 08:22 PM)
So if they are willing to pay SGD 4700 and I am currently earning RM6600 it's not really worth coming is it?
It depends you have a family or not?
If you have families I think it's not worth, if you are single then it's worthy

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 19 2011, 08:54 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 20 2011, 12:14 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 19 2011, 09:26 PM)
why la so weak... yea, i love msia's spicy more...

lol, if you think texas is big.... wait till u go to alaska  brows.gif  to them texas is 2"

1 month end of this year... another the rest end of mar... i heard gonna get cut by 1/2  cry.gif  company's profit plunge 55%  doh.gif  sweat.gif  cry.gif

ini BS punya  whistling.gif

u are big boss mar...  notworthy.gif
My coy just got extraordinary income from tax recoverable about RM10 million. march will be paid for bonus.

Added on December 20, 2011, 12:18 am
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 19 2011, 11:23 PM)
Wow! Hell no! Nobody takes a 40% pay cut to join a new company in a new country despite all the bullshit they try to tell you.... 20% is the Max, max anyone would consider....

Besides, in terms of std of living, i guess RM6.6k is very decent in M'sia and there is no way you can get the same std of living with just S$4.7k in SG.
Finally don't spoil the market!!!! Enough have been said about this! You have a skill (which they presumably need, otherwise they wouln't even bother to offer you a job at all) and they need that skill...its a fair business transaction and you do not owe them squat! Stand yr ground and ask for the same i.e. S$1=MYR1.

The moment you accept, is the moment they will use that as a yardstick or a benchmark and all future foreign employees with similar background as your will be offered similar package.....it's a lose-lose situation for all....
You even not considered the tax in Malaysia.

Let say if in both country you spend $1k. U left $3.7k in singapore is more than RM5.6k..
And you feel more secure in sg than malaysia..It's no brainer. I will choose $4.7k if I'm single.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 20 2011, 12:18 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 20 2011, 01:34 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 20 2011, 12:30 AM)
Eh you two work in KL before or not one? rm6.6k, I wouldn't come over for sgd4.7k, your standard of living would drop so much.
You don't think about saving meh? To get S$3.7k in KL, it means you have to spend RM0 in KL.
You think KL is cheap meh? I need to rent too if stay in KL. Standard of living when I'm in Singapore is better.
$1k in SG I can do anything bro. RM1k in KL is cheapo

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 20 2011, 01:36 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 20 2011, 09:07 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Quasicrystal @ Dec 20 2011, 08:23 AM)
Hi all bro,want to ask u guys opinion on my situation.i work in SG for 1.5 years,earning 5k monthly.and my wife working seperately in Kl oil&gas with 13.5k monthly.my wife trying to find a similiar job scope in SG but couldnt for the passed 1 year.she doesnt want to change industries in SG. So question here,should i move back to KL?
you should follow your wife of course. she earns more than u
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 21 2011, 07:27 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 20 2011, 07:38 PM)
Er, maybe because we live and work in Singapore?

If you buy a flat in KL you would still need to pay astronomical rental on your place in SG anyway.

Yes yes, the KL flat will have rental income bla bla. But if I'm looking at rental income, you can buy in Singapore also what. With the current super low interest rates, monthly rental can easily go as high as 1.5times loan installment.
If you and your wife are working in Sg. you don't want your landlord become rich la..

Added on December 21, 2011, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(jhcj @ Dec 21 2011, 11:34 AM)
Unless you want to sell off your overseas property, dont think you can.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...me?OpenDocument
they cannot trace our properties overseas la.. my indo friend got property in indo but still bought HDB in singapore. the cost to search someone property> the benefit they will have.

Added on December 21, 2011, 7:48 pmhttp://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/442642

if you're paid less than S$3,449 better don't come to sg.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 21 2011, 07:48 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 23 2011, 09:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(elfen_lied @ Dec 23 2011, 04:54 PM)
im working in Science Park 2..haha
stay around red line..bukit batok area, clementi also good, bueno vista the closes place rclxms.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 4:59 pm

haha..so agree to that.. brows.gif
potong pasir la good

Added on December 23, 2011, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 23 2011, 07:07 PM)
Sg is a pretty good place for career advancement. Especially if you're mid-career. Your salary won't stay low forever... although it might seem like that early on.

But I will say one thing. Given a second chance, I'll kick the ass of whoever told me that "first few years, low salary never mind. Just learn." You can optimise your salary and still learn as much as the next guy. The more salary you have and the earlier you have it, the more money you accumulate.

And we only have a certain number of "peak earnings growth" years, usually about 10 years starting from the time you hit 30s-mid 30s. After that you stagnate unless you manage to be in the top 5% ie. senior mgt. The higher your salary when you hit 30s, the more base is available to grow/peak. And when you stagnate in your 40s, it's much more fun to hit a 20K-30K wall than a 10K wall for the next 10-15 years before you retire or are made redundant.

I had a late start compared to my peers in Sg. Namely because I did my tour of duty in the Big4 and then bodoh-bodoh spent theĀ  first years in my current company's KL office instead of buidling my reputation and network in a regional HQ like SG or HK. Over the last few years in Sg, I'm lucky to have found a few godfathers and have caught up. But my peers are already paying off their private condos from the last 10 years of earnings and looking at buying landed properties with their next 10 years of peak earnings growth. Me... I'm depending on the next 10 years peak growth to fund my first property in Sg. Unless I somehow move ahead of them at double their promotion rate, I can never catch up.
Thanks for the food for thought. However, I still say it's easier to get RM6.6k in Malaysia than $4.7k in singapore. It's because my Spv is 30 yrs old and got more than RM10k/month now.

Why don't you buy HDB since you're 35 yrs old now? I think HDB is cheap for you.
Don't be naive la, if you didn't spent your time in Big4 MY, I don't think Big 4 SG will look on you.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 24 2011, 10:56 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 24 2011, 10:55 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 24 2011, 10:10 AM)
Again... you're basing your assumption about the entire job market in Sg and My on one data point.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Why don't you buy HDB since you're 35 yrs old now? I think HDB is cheap for you.
Because I'm not allowed to?

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Don't be naive la, if you didn't spent your time in Big4 MY, I don't think Big 4 SG will look on you. And
Big4 experience is blue chip, make no mistake about that. BUT it is NOT the only source of blue chip experience. Fortune 200, bulge bracket banks, govt agencies like EDB, MOF, IMF etc all offer blue chip experience for much higher pay and less stress.

And the fact is that unless you want to remain in the Big4 long term and try for partnership, you'll be moving out after 3-5 years. If you're going to the average company, the Big4 experience will put you ahead of their internal folks as these companies are not industry leaders. But if you're moving to one of the blue chip companies mentioned, their internal people will be ahead of you. Their experience is as good as yours, their salary is higher and their reputation and network has already been developed. You will forever be trying to catch up.
Don't you think you will develop more networks through big4? You will have experiences in different industries.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 24 2011, 10:57 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 24 2011, 09:00 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 24 2011, 06:20 PM)
Most CEOs, GMs, Presidents etc are not from the auditing firms. Top managers need to understand the concepts of profit & loss, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios of course but they don't need to know all the mechanics, accounting standards etc in depth. That's what the CFO or finance business partner is for. Financial acumen or financial general knowledge and going through the finance module in a MBA or executive MBA (for some basic mechanics) is more than enough for business managers.

Actually, even the CFO doesn't need to understand everything about the legal financial statements (which is 99% of what external audit is about but is only about 10% of what overall finance is about). That's what the financial controller or accounting director is for.
My FD is from Pwc, he is always proud about Pwc. He said working in Pwc is an image coz of that Pwc always stays in the TOP. However, my SPV is NOT from AUDIT firm, and in his 30, his salary is above most big4 people counterparts.

In addition my Spv told me that, he can never cheat the FD about the financial statements but he can cheat the CEO.. cheat what I mean is not manipulate but told something wrong about the finance..

Anyway, what is the difference between CFO and accounting director??Don't say financial controller is a accounting director la haha..Btw, my Spv is a financial controller, he reports to the FD. and he is not from audit firm.

And you know, the easier path to become FD is a Financial controller PART! So he needs to understand FS la.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 24 2011, 09:05 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 12:11 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 24 2011, 11:09 PM)
These are just titles.

There are many subfunctions in finance, from treasury to taxation to internal audit to accounting etc etc (even within accounting, there's management accounting or internal/mgt book and statutory or external/legal book). In most large companies, a different person takes care of each subfunction and all of them report to the CFO. So each subfunction may have a different director (ie. many finance directors) but all of them report to the CFO. There can only be one CFO.

In many US companies, accountants in the accounting subfunction are called controllers. So the financial controller or chief controller is basically the director of the accounting subfunction ie. accounting director.

In my company, it's the CFO (1) -> global subfunction finance directors (10), global business finance directors (5), continental/area finance directors (5) -> global sub-subfunction finance directors or regional subfunction or regional business finance directors (200) -> rest of us.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
And you know, the easier path to become FD is a Financial controller PART! So he needs to understand FS la.
You only need to be very good at finstat if you want to do accounting or audit subfunction. A company will need a different kind of CFO (or in your mind, FD) according to its needs at the moment. If the company is growing fast and needs to raise capital/funding, then they want a CFO strong in treasury. If the company is quite steady and focused on competition and improving profitability, then they need a strong business finance person. I've never seen a company require a CFO who's strong in accounting, especially finstat. Accountants doing accounting are very easy to get, adds no value to the bottom line and the CFO can just anyhow get an accounting director and let him run the accounting subfunction or process.

I don't know why my FD didn't hire someone from Big4??! He only hired(the audit background) me and 1 FM in subsidiary, both of us are from mid tier audit firm. And I just had 10 months exp whereas she had 4 yrs exp.

Ya, all of them report to my FD. Even purchasing director you called it, production directors, etc report to my FD.
And accounting director and financial controller is not same la because we also have chief accountant. And chief accountant directly reports to my FD not my FC. They have different role. My FC don't bother about FS, it's chief accountant role to manage AP and FS thingy. so you know la my FC role, don't you?

Yes, our company is too small to be listed haha..However, our cashflow is very strong. Even we didn't claim back the tax up to 2 years, we offer 3 months credit to our customers and we will get about $5 million for the tax claim on GST/VAT.

And one question to you seantang, is it a norm for MNC that most MNCs don't have Internal Auditors in their branches in other countries?Most FC in business unit will have many tasks in Internal auditing, financial analyst, budgeting, stock count, monthly cash cost reporting, hedging, PO verification, reconcilliation of inventory, cost pricing etc.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 25 2011, 12:20 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 11:08 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2011, 01:21 AM)
Like I said, it's just titles. Your company likes to call each subfunction's leader differently. That's all.

That's why you need to look at someone's job scope and pay package to know what they do and how senior they are - rather than rely on job titles.
So you would say indirectly that CIMA is good since it focuses on the business and CIMA people don't need to bother the strong accounting background.

But why did you take CPA Australia than CIMA??

Merry Christmas Sean!!
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 02:33 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2011, 11:35 AM)
No, that's not what I said. CIMA's also accounting what. It's management accounting, not finstat, but it's still accounting.
90% of CFOs 100 FTSE are from accounting. Even say the CFO of HSBC, Lyold TSB, and Stanchard all are from accounting
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 03:51 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2011, 02:55 PM)
Cause and effect,.. don't put the wrong one in front of the other.

Are they CFOs who happened to have accounting experience (because accountants typically form the largest pool of candidates as the vast majority of finance graduates start their careers there), or did they become CFOs because of their accounting experience?

Was Steve Jobs a success who happened to be a university drop out, or did he succeed because he dropped out of university?

Look deeper... how long did they spend in accounting? Secondly, what was the prior 2-3 jobs immediately before their appointment as CFO?

And the UK is obsessed with "professional qualifications"... judging from how many of these qualifications originate from there. Can you find out how many CFOs of DJI companies are accountants?
Are you working in Singapore or US? And do you think singaporean don't obsess with professional qualification and academic experience? At least in UK, most FDs don't have MBA..MBA is a way too expensive than prof qualification

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 25 2011, 03:52 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 08:44 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Dec 25 2011, 08:38 PM)
Well for me, I am not really particular about food. What you said is very true if you have friends who will frequently go dining together.

I am a bit too old and my friends all have family. My family will be moving here next year so I won't have to eat alone anymore. Tingkat (dinner catering) is a good option for my family since my wife will be working. Dinner delivered to your home on weekdays will be around $300-350 per month (for 2 adults and 2 kids).
no wonder singaporean kids are thin like a paper or changi airport..

Added on December 25, 2011, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 25 2011, 08:22 PM)
Good to know cost of basic foods still okay.

Realistically though, do you spend that little for all your meals (like both for lunch/dinner, every day of the week)?
Do you find yourself getting sick of such foods, because from what I gather from other frens of mine, they all came down budgeting SGD500 per month on food, and after a while they just lose it and start spending like SGD900-1500 a month on foods (at fancier places).
I think the minimum will be S$1.2k for single people for a normal lifestyle.

Added on December 25, 2011, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(Def @ Dec 25 2011, 08:21 PM)
CPA Australia is kacang putih mar....no need to take exam also can become member...what a real laughing stock. rclxm9.gif
I understand why seantang never be proud about it. And he is proud being an MBA.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 25 2011, 08:46 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 25 2011, 09:34 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Dec 25 2011, 08:51 PM)
I didn't understand what you and seantang were arguing about, and I certainly miss your point on this as well.
with your budget on food @ $300/month for 2+2. It means 1 person only spent $2.5/day

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 25 2011, 09:36 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 12:34 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2011, 11:30 PM)
Oh really? Since when do you know what I'm proud of and what I'm not?

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:33 pmIs that so?

A real measurement of your worth is not how good you think you are (or how bad you think others are) but how much someone wants to pay you.

So, let's cut to the chase. How much do you earn from your non-kacang putih qualifications? Lets trade Linkedin profiles. Based on that, we can immediately tell if you're the laughing stock or I am. I want to see if you laugh harder at me, or I laugh harder at you.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:36 pmIf you have a strong resume, then apply online or respond to job advertisements - as higher profile or front office jobs tend to be advertised.

If your resume is not so strong, it's best if you engage a recruitment agent - most back office and lower profile accounting jobs are not advertised.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:46 pmI tend to like someplace farther from the CBD, eg. AMK or Yio Chu Kang up north where the rent is cheaper. And there's really no need to pay a premium and stay near an MRT station. As long as you stay near a feeder bus bus-stop, you can get to the MRT station in 5-10 minutes (5-10 stops). Assuming a 15 minute train ride, you're in town within 30-45 minutes from the moment you step out the door.

My place is about 15-20 minutes walking from the MRT station, but there's a feeder bus bus-stop directly underneath my block. And with a smartphone app that shows next bus arrival time, there's minimal waiting time involved.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:52 pmYour friends are right. The occasionally frequent "nice" meal will always happen.

Nobody possesses enough will power or underdeveloped taste buds to eat $5 economy meals 3 times a day, 7 days a week. Even if such people exist, they are not very fun to be around.
They are not fun but at least they can save more money for the future.. The true friend is the one who accept them who they are..even they are thrifty..if they are very sincere befriend with you, why not.
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 08:19 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 26 2011, 11:32 AM)
I don't know about you but the whole, entire reason I came to Singapore in the first place, was so that I don't have to be thrifty in order to save money for my future. By growing my income, I don't have to minimise my expenses to achieve my savings target.

Added on December 26, 2011, 11:41 amOK, 2 years Big4... and if your commercial experience is with a reasonable brand name and your educational background is reasonable - I'd think your profile's okay... somewhere in the middle. If you want to get into the "industry leaders"... then I reckon it's a matter of getting your resume noticed vs the competition. This is the hard part.

I think you should work both sides... respond to ads as well as engage recruitment agencies. Another avenue is Linkedin... there are lots of Singaporean recruiters hanging out there and contacting people to make new connections. For ads, try www.efinancialcareers.sg as well. Very                        focused for finance (esp. banking) jobs.

what salary should he expect? i think with his exp in my he has already got at least 8k ringgit
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 10:20 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 26 2011, 11:32 AM)

Added on December 26, 2011, 11:41 amOK, 2 years Big4... and if your commercial experience is with a reasonable brand name and your educational background is reasonable - I'd think your profile's okay... somewhere in the middle. If you want to get into the "industry leaders"... then I reckon it's a matter of getting your resume noticed vs the competition. This is the hard part.

I think you should work both sides... respond to ads as well as engage recruitment agencies. Another avenue is Linkedin... there are lots of Singaporean recruiters hanging out there and contacting people to make new connections. For ads, try www.efinancialcareers.sg as well. Very focused for finance (esp. banking) jobs.
He is ACCA qualfied accountant. you said you don't want to hire ACCA qualifed, you prefer the CPA Australia.

I did a research about him. in March 2011, he said he is qualified ACCA, but in Aug 2011, he said he wanna take Nov'11 exam.

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Oct 12 2011, 11:57 PM)
Well.... truth be told....

I am an Australian graduate with B.Com (Acctg & Finance) but do not opt to do CPA Australia. Instead, I did the ACCA. Let me tell you this..... something from my experience....

ACCA is quite a tough nut to crack, especially P2 and P4 ~ which is widely recognised as one of the toughest papers amongst all the UK accounting professional bodies. It even topped the toughness threshold for ICAEW.

Having graduated from a 2nd tier university, i actually got hammered throughout the final 5 papers for ACCA, especially for Paper P2.

[2nd tier university is a better way of labeling those mickey mouse, money wasting, time wasting university which is more interested in making money, printing degrees than imparting quality education ----------example; .......for final year Advanced Financial Accounting paper..... there are 3 chapters on Accounting AND CULTURE.....Accounting AND Gender...... Accounting and Nationality / Politics .....and the syallabus scantly mention consolidation and deferred tax.......and mind you it is a final year Advanced Accounting Paper........Lesson to impart here ---------> Be careful when enrolling in Australian Universities.... some of them is just a front for selling PRs to HongKies .........some of the campuses is full of asean until you felt you are like in Asia instead of Australia.......and the lecturers actually speak English in a heavy asean dialect.......]
Back to the topic, doing ACCA it is worth all the sacrifice....... because for me, ACCA delivers a rock solid knowledge base that is extremely relevant to my work..... and i actually suffer during the first few years of my career due to graduating from a dumb ass university.......For this, I am proud for not choosing the easier path of doing CPA.

You can ask any CPA to do P2 and P4 and i bet they will find it extremely challenging......
This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 26 2011, 10:26 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 27 2011, 10:55 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Dec 27 2011, 08:40 PM)
1Malaysia spirit. There is no other reason.
I'm also getting the same dollar to dollar salary, twice to be exact.

Anyhow, IMO it's getting harder and harder to get dollar to dollar salary especially in experienced hires. Some companies practice the Chinaman employment policy and push the candidates to the corner, forcing them to take up the offer that worth less that what they should be..
I cannot understand why BMW in the top list since they consume more petrol. And there is no my fav car Nissan GTR

Added on December 27, 2011, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(calvint78 @ Dec 27 2011, 12:26 PM)
why not? they can bring to jb for cheaper servicing and they are link too. what i know is morstly m'sian who bout P1/P2. my neighbour drive a matte black kelisa everyday in out s'pore.

Added on December 27, 2011, 12:34 pm

previously in kl, was earning around rm2500 - rm3000. now in sg, got sgd2800 - sgd3500. work in s'pore is base on your performance, u hardworking u earn more. in m'sia u hardworking u get same pay.
in m'sia rm3000, after minus minus minus habuk pun tarak. cry.gif
in sg sgd2800 u still saving some quarter portion. rclxms.gif

cheers! rclxm9.gif
quarter portion, it means only about S$700? In here at least I can save 75%.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 27 2011, 11:00 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 28 2011, 01:13 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 27 2011, 11:43 PM)
not everybody can live day in day out on a shoestring college student budget. as salary rises, so would most people's standard of living / expenditure. like me, sure i can survive by renting a utility room for $300; but it's much more comfortable to come home to my own (rented) unit where i can laze on the couch, watch whatever TV i want, come and go as i please, be as dirty or loud or noisy as i please without having any housemate conflicts.
but you are lonely? it's good to communicate with someone especially girls as housemate rclxm9.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 28 2011, 07:00 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 28 2011, 01:55 AM)
bmw is in the luxury segment.. not many ppl that buys car in that segment care about petrol consumption..

gtr bersama nissan...  doh.gif

he enjoys his gf  brows.gif
But don't you think the resale price of BMW is very low? Many young mllionaires in SIngapore ah..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0475sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:54 AM