6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 12:25 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:11 AM)
1 advice...

If you past 28 and still single, the chances to find a good looking girl is only about 10% bcos almost all girls will already have a bf.

Unless you:-
1) spannar the girl
2) chase those PRC girls (there are many good (pretty, simple and kind heartered) PRC girls if you dont mind)

This is my usual advice to my company's colleagues as well.

The good time to find a gf is around 22-28 years usually.
why? most men's life begin at his 40s. Money speak louder than ages.

Added on January 8, 2012, 12:27 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 7 2012, 11:55 PM)
dunnit dreamgirl la... dream girl to dream nia... as long can click can liao... my only one was 7 years back, but because i was poor, couldn't follow to aus, now i will nvr see her again..  cry.gif

nvm la.. sg a lot...  rclxms.gif

i doubt so... nets got limit of sgd 500 or was it 1k... cause all ppl need to do is tap ur nets and there goes ur $$$... doubt they will ever allow that

he knows ler... just that his nets tada $$$, can only use cash... VAM can accept cash?
mine also, last time she pursued study at ANU.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2012, 12:27 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 12:49 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:32 AM)
I have seen many PRC girls recently or along my assignment and project previously.

1) They are quite good looking
2) More willing to help you
3) Polite and humble
4) Mostly unattached aged around 22-27
5) Some can command average or slightly above average of English

Apparently, you can find many of them if you work out of the city areas like West area, or Northern SG.

Or you can easily meet anyone of them in some English classes too.

I have met a Kindergarden PRC teacher since last year... now wanted to intro to one of my fren who is still single.
kindergarten teacher then intro to me. but I dun want the girl with different nationalities, why?? I see lots of couples have a long distance relationship although their children have already worked.

I found the vietnamese are hot and low cost maintenance.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2012, 12:49 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 12:55 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 8 2012, 12:34 AM)
So you wan a GF with supermodel looks and brains with big boobs? whistling.gif
I'm just contented with a average looking girl, not too pretty, not too ugly....not so much competition... rolleyes.gif

You are WRONG!!! Average looking GIRL will have INTENSE competition.why? Coz most of US are RISK AVERSE.

See this article:

Let me tell you about this:

To know the INFLATION of the WOMEN

Share :
Yesterday, Lex talk about detox paradigm. We'll start today. I suggest you save this article to a Notepad / Word, and read it at home, many times if necessary.

Roughly speaking, and for the purposes of this article, we divided the women into 4 types:
Type A: a beautiful woman. Cute, hot and sexy. Universal taste all men.

Type B: pretty woman. Type "okay lah". Not pretty but very far from being ugly.

Type C: normal women. Ordinary wrote. Not pretty. Not bad. Standard.

Type D: ugly woman. No need to be described, you know he meant.

Every man in his life would never dream of having a Type A and establish a wonderful relationship with her. But the dream is called a dream because it never became a reality. Most men must feel satisfied with the label "casual friend" or even just be able to look at the type-A woman from a distance, whispering softly, "If you know the contents of my heart .." accompanied by background music 'Stupid Man' from the Band.

The man did not manage to get the A but because of loneliness in the heart that becomes unbearable, so he then threw his dream and tried to hunt in an area that seemed easier; a Type B. "Yes, this area is clearly more easily. I am intellect and cool joker, I don't look too bad really. No way she does not want me , especially as she was just a Type B", so thought the men.

But after all this week launched an offensive SMS, phone calls, eat treats and watch, after saying the phrase 'shooting' which has been trained dozens of times, his love was rejected. The world is cruel!

This is not the story of one soap opera, this is the real events that often occur everywhere. Are you or your friends ever experienced anything like this? woman who is not really your type, there are actually women who are below your level, but with every effort and sincerity that there is still you be a victim of false romanticism of cultural injustices of this world. What the f * ck is going on here?

If you've been there, chances are you met the woman of inflation. inflation woman is a woman who is on type B, C and (very little) D where their social value has increased to match a Type A.

Why is that?

Every person has a social value or social prices respectively. Social value is how we are viewed by others which of course is determined by various factors such as social status, appearance, intellect, confidence, how we view ourselves, etc.. female type A, has a social value of 100 without them having to do anything, just because they're beautiful and sexy and everyone wants them. Their prices are very high. While a Type B has a value of 70. a Type C is worth 50 and a female D value 20.

While you are a man who is not so handsome or tall, but has an appropriate and proportionate stature and unsightly facial, plus you are a knowledgeable, talented and have many friends, so-so we give value for you 80.

Consider the comparison. You will not be able to get a Type A unless you are trying hard to increase your social value. You realize it and the type-A woman realized it. So you never discussed the possibility of a relationship at all. Although she might actually be attracted to you.

Instead of working hard for something that is uncertain, it is better you pursue a Type B that has social value under you and it is definitely easier to reach. But you forget one thing: there are so many hungry men fondling women and lonely EXPERIENCE AND DOING THE SAME THING with you.

Rather than pursue a Type A which is worth 100, they are all in full cry a Type B is worth 70. And we all know the principle of demand and supply, the higher the demand the more high-price. That being the case, a Type B who was only worth 70 course but thanks to the 10 men 70-80 is worth pursuing and swarm, wants and treat her as if she is a woman of type A, the automatic her social value will rise. The woman had a type B social value worth 100 now.

The woman was aware of the type B and he loved it. SHe desperately wanted to be a Type A long time ago, only because she was not pretty enough and sexy, then she should be quite satisfied with being a Type B. But he has become a Type A now. He began acting up and acting like a Type A. Start selling expensive. Starting tomorrow saucy. Start demanding. And because she's worth 100, she would not want a guy worth 70 and 80. So she rejected all the men, including you. Congratulations, you and other hungry men who surrounded him have dug your own grave.

Makes sense? Is this enough to explain the experience you've ever experienced?

Okay you may now be thinking, "Okay, the explanation is quite reasonable. But then what? What should be done so that no such incidents happening again?"

Here are some suggestions you can do:

From now identify the characteristics of women inflation. When you meet with them mind them NEVER AGAIN. They are NOT WORTH to you pursue. woman inflation is worst of all because they, consciously or unconsciously, take advantage of the situation and use only genuine feelings of lonely men who pursue them solely as a foothold, and as a tool for them to feel it feel to be a Type A.

NEVER AGAIN be part of the men who pursue and make their prices higher. There is a reason why they become a Type B, and whatever it is, let them BE FIXED TYPE women B. A man's world is pretty miserable with her inability to obtain the desired type A, do not multiply the misery was compounded with B-type woman who rose to type A because of man's own fault.

Rather than pursue a Type B and make mistakes that make their social value becomes higher above you, better

You STRIVE HARDER SOCIAL VALUE INCREASE you to get a Type A. Even if you are rejected, it would be far better than you were rejected by the woman who acted like a type B female type A. For what you spend money for something not so nice, whereas the same amount you could get a really nice?
This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2012, 12:56 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 12:58 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 8 2012, 12:51 AM)
yeap... a big % of my income goes to my parents, now they are in msia.. when i shift them over how am i gonna afford then? inflation also rising lor...
for me it is whether i can click with that girl or not.. rich/ugly/fat/stupid... doesnt matter, as long can click

i agree, about to pass that already... even friends getting married already... regret now i didnt mingle as much as i want to when i was in uni...

yea... need pin, eh... bo leh, the nets can use on bus and mrt right?

that's only applicable if u r rich... i am broke, with no $$$, fat and ugly.. now balding too  cry.gif  i think i can go MBS

no $$$, how? ... oh ya, i heard last time there's cupid cub.. any free ones around?

usually food/drinking competition got la  tongue.gif

hard to brain this... i think they will change after marriage

i didnt say that... i say as long can click...
So you know the problem is YOU. You cannot click with girl but can click with guy.Then switch target ma.. otherwise:

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2012, 12:59 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 01:09 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 01:05 AM)
You mean you wanna find a kindergarden teacher which is a Malaysian? I tell you very hard to find edy? What is your age now? Girl who are teachers nowadays mostly attached edy even with normal look.
Even if you found one, later you complain she very Kampung type bcos she comes from Yong Peng or Perak etc instead of KL, eventually you will dump her as well...
My advice is, if you like a particular girl, just spannar (but beware of KARMA)
Need drills la for Type A to Type D girls.
I have done the spannar..got karma, 3 yrs single, 3 girls rejected, 1 yr 1 rejection.
I just want to focus on LT relationship, kindergarten teacher or girls work in non for profit.
Rich girl no need, I can feed the food myself already..
My age is just between 22-26 yrs.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 02:40 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 8 2012, 01:20 AM)
does it implies that those can work very late and dedicate their life to the company are spinsters? u don't scare me leh. cry.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 1:30 am

good idea...thumbup.gif appreciate if you could be the organizer.  tongue.gif
That's true, in my coy, there is one lady stay back, she has bf but she hasn't married yet although not young anymore. Maybe she loves her job more than her bf.. A lot Sg galz love their jobs more..career first then love will come..
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 08:57 PM

1,569 posts

Seantang, if you have stayed at Big4 for 10 years. Maybe you will become a FD/CFO of 500 Fortune now.

http://www.linkedin.com/in/herwan
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2012, 09:38 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 8 2012, 09:11 PM)
This guy's job scope is only Indonesia. He's not FD of Rio Tinto PLC. Only PT Rio Tinto Indonesia. From his task list, he doesn't have business or profit management/partnering and he doesn't have funding/treasury/credit. But he does have accounting and tax. So more of a controller. Probably reports to the Indonesia CFO or Asean FD/CFO.
What do you mean with Indonesia CFO?? FD=CFO la..it is a british term since Rio Tinto is an Australia company. He reports to FD in Australia. HQ is in Australia Melbourne and London.

Or this one, she worked 7 yrs in KP and become a senior manager, in commercial, with only 7 years I doubt you can achieve senior manager.

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/ratna-widjaja/22/69b/8a5

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2012, 09:42 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 9 2012, 07:58 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 9 2012, 05:46 PM)
At the risk of being stereotypical, my experience was that THEY think they are capable of doing ANY finance process and have business acumen in abundance. This is ok for people with 2-3 years experience. Auditors with that experience have typically seen more and done more than their peers in commercial. But it's quite different if you're talking about 7-10 years or more in the big MNCs where they have to compete with people who've by now, become subject matter experts for their specialist areas. Despite what THEY think, former audit managers are basically generalists (in terms of their knowledge in areas other than statutory accounting) attempting to compete in specialist areas. Very few are recruited to manage the entire dept or function or business where their generalist skills might be a better fit.

In terms of business acumen, they always keep talking about how their clients did this, did that etc... but if called upon to make go/no-go decisions on pricing, tactics, customers, investments, purchases - where they need to pay for and live by their decisions (not their clients) - they freeze. They simply have no experience running a business.
Why do people say audit where you learn lots. Btw, how about someone who hasn't worked as auditor. my spv/Financial Controller hasn't worked as an auditor. My CFO worked in Pwc for more than 15 yrs then join my coy as CFO. Why did he hire someone with no audit background? Will you hire someone with non audit background?

Added on January 9, 2012, 8:14 pmhow much the minimum cost of living if have family? 1+1+1

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 9 2012, 08:14 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 9 2012, 08:46 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 9 2012, 08:15 PM)
Ask people.
QUOTE(Materazzi)
my spv/Financial Controller hasn't worked as an auditor. My CFO worked in Pwc for more than 15 yrs then join my coy as CFO. Why did he hire someone with no audit background?
Ask he.
QUOTE(Materazzi)
Will you hire someone with non audit background?
Already.
Then what is your comment about him/her? better than someone with audit background?
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 10 2012, 12:45 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jan 9 2012, 10:05 PM)
And most of the bosses dun like accountants as they work in cost centres.

Accountants is the only profession in the world to work in cost centres compare to engineers, doctors, pilots etc unless u work in the Big4 or banking industries.
Seantang will not agree with you bro. My Spv can trace what errors are, and can save money millions from the carelessness of the other depts people in the coy. Ex: Transfer pricing, Hedging, Cost saving, Verification of raw material pricing, verification of PO. If he didn't trace all the mistakes, the coy will lose millions of dollar.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 11 2012, 12:45 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jan 10 2012, 08:14 AM)
How does verification of PO save money?
And verification of raw mat price is done by the purchasing dept.
Ok, I agree with u on transfer pricing, hedging, nego with bankers to reduce term loans rates, perhaps u do ur own tax comp to even help the company to save tax agent fees etc... But all these are not enough to be reflected in ur PL for the bosses to appreciate.

Unless u show them 2 PL side by side 1 without savings and 1 with savings, but in practice which dump do that?

Compare to engineers for instance, if there's a technology breakthrough this month that increase ur top and btm line vs last mth actual....then it is a different story altogether esp to top management that only see the actual figures.
Accountant is like a defender in a soccer game. What football team without a good defender can win a tittle! You score a beautiful goal and without a good defender then it is all nothing. Mourinho proves that when he was in Inter. A defender is not creative and underrated like an accountant, he has less salary than an attacker. At least with a good defender/accountant can save you lots of money/matches..

SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 11 2012, 09:46 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 11 2012, 06:49 PM)
am not in IT so dun shot me, firewall up  cool2.gif
but can only share a case i know off about contract staff, last time compaq contract out all their desktop troubleshooting to third party, and this contract is will be subject to tender after a period
basiclly lowest bidder win, these 3rd staff on contract basiclly follow the new co who win the contract but as the tender is getting lower, mean those contract staff also subject to a certain paycut when joining this new 3rd party co
and this vicious cycle keep continue ..  sweat.gif

6.6k is not top earner in singapore leh 
seantang will tell u, u still below sandwish class
mercury will still label rubbish
materazzi will laugh at u cause u in IT
mackiddo will only wish u good luck hahah..
btw deodorant din take pay cut when coming.. 

sux i am steppin on everybody toe,  happy lunar new year to all  thumbup.gif
I respect people in IT leh..my cousin one of them, 26 yrs old with 4 yrs exp, earned $2.8k at your proudly singtel.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 11 2012, 10:20 PM

1,569 posts

Anyone buy new android? Huawei honor or Xiaomi M2?
A 4.6-inch touch screen.
2.5Ghz CPU.
2.5GB RAM.
32GB of storage.
5 mega-pixel front camera.
12 mega-pixel rear camera.
Android Ice-cream Sandwich OS.
Estimated price of 2499 Yuan!

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 11 2012, 10:23 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 13 2012, 03:21 AM

1,569 posts

ajisen ramen expensive
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 16 2012, 03:52 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 16 2012, 01:32 AM)
eh you guys, mods already give warning ask us play nice and no offtopic icon_idea.gif
I'm flying back to SG (from Johannesburg) on New Year Eve (Sunday), New Year Day (Monday) itself only fly to KL then drive up to Penang to meet family.
Check first page lor, got a few websites there. Your 8 months work experience is almost worthless though, if I was hiring I would simply consider you as fresh grad material unless your experience was exactly what I'm looking for.
Gogogo apply! I also want to apply but uh ... need to makan the employer CPF another half year to have a bit $$ in pocket first before applying PR.
Nothing after SPM? Hmmm ... might be difficult nowadays.
IMO, start in SG. Working 2-3 years in MY doesn't give you any nego power for SG job, if anything many/most employers will offer you lower salary than a 2-3 year experience-in-Singapore person just because you come from MY.
how to work in johannesburg for accounting ppl?
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:15 AM

1,569 posts

sg girls are the worst..dunno why people here like sg galz..I prefer malaysian chinese or indonesian chinese
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 18 2012, 02:08 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 05:42 PM)
Erm actually all d company I've work with never see my cert or paper before. They just interview, talked, and straight apply online for my wp. And they never look any of my cert. they just look my online resume I sent to them. Yes I agree paper mean a lot for working. But I can't. I'm single but not available and I didn't mention I have one kid to raise.
why no available?

Added on January 18, 2012, 2:14 am
QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 17 2012, 04:33 PM)
Mod chong for jor.. I takut.

Actually, I have many malaysian friends here who work and study long distance at the same time. Some working in the biggest banks here and some in manufacturing. It is good to upgrade to at least a diploma or a degree. When you reach 40yo, in SG can be considered redundant to some companies here.

So, just work hard for first few years and earn as much as you can. I already paid off my 5 room HDB. If I come back to malaysia, I can shake legs. But, money is good. It is an addiction. Just work and enjoy life here. Nothing to loose.

In SG, as long as you work reasonably, you should be able to own your home in 10-15 years. Clear your CPF early so that you don't have to incur interest. Anyway, special account in CPF give 4% also. So, you decide which is better. For my case, once my CPF is gemuk, I clear it. So, I look more handsome mah.

If possible go for 5 rooms, unless if you feel you cannot afford, then go for 4 or 3 rooms. With 5 rooms, more spacious. Condos also smaller here. Like living in a pigeon hole. Also, better get citizenship as they have subsidy and grants. Nothing to loose coz your cpf is going to be tied up till you die. Unless you say, you won't work in sg anymore. East Malaysians can withdraw CPF tho.

Again, once you settle and have kids; you can consider yourself a sinkaporean la... cannot escape one lah. So many of my friends already converted. Life is good being a first class citizen. wink.gif icon_idea.gif

Worst come to worst, drive taxi here or be a security guard when you are old. Simple life. Boleh?? wink.gif

I can see many packing their bags liao... even mod and deodorant also. rclxms.gif
drive taxi good la..very free..no one scold you..relax la..

Added on January 18, 2012, 2:21 am
QUOTE(paranoid @ Jan 17 2012, 11:47 AM)
quick question guys,
if i have a morning flight from JB to Penang.
AK  5442
0825  (JHB)
0930  (PEN)

going across JB from woodlands, how early does the bus service (i assume bus 950) starts?
is it possible to catch the morning flight above.
may ask you, do you know the short term accomodation near USM?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 18 2012, 02:21 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 20 2012, 10:37 PM

1,569 posts

As accountant you can manipulate money on Fixed Assets..
true ma? just capitalise it on all FAs then depreciate it year by year, the amount will be small to be noticed by auditors ma.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 21 2012, 01:25 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2012, 12:31 AM)
I'm a salary earner like most people here and I like the salary in Sg. Especially after exchange rate conversion. That's why I come. I've also been doing this long enough to know that you plan your migration to another country with your future income and living situation in mind. Not plan based on your current circumstances which you will outgrow in due time. In this case, plan with the condo or landed property in mind. HDB is not the end of things.

Of course *shrug*

I think capital appreciation doesn't discriminate between citizens and PRs.

Congrats! Your ample safety net is irrelevant to our discussion, but Congrats!

What's my priority? Safety, health, money... Same as everyone  else. But I fail to see how a SG PR will have less safety and health than a citizen.
Seantang, do you want to plan to open the business? The salary man is always salary man, he/she has limited income. If you start your business, the sky is the limit!!

Btw, you miss one underrated word called 'LOVE'.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 21 2012, 01:26 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0485sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:16 PM