6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 28 2011, 08:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 28 2011, 08:56 AM)
Which luxury car has high resale values in Singapore?&nbsp; Also, do folks who purchase BMWs, Mercs or Audis care about resale values?&nbsp; Only the poorer ones or penny-pinchers like yourself would bother about such matters.
Have you read Millionaires book by thomas stanley?? If you have read it you know what I mean

Added on December 28, 2011, 9:01 pm@alaskanbunny

you told me you are pursuing PMP.

may I ask you:

From an accountant to Project manager/Business Development manager.

From a big company to a France start up company with a 20% pay rise.

is it good or not for the future?

It seems interesting since the job scope will different and of course the new challenge

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 28 2011, 09:03 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 12:16 AM

1,569 posts

I realize the 3 highest country with the longest average age to live:

1.Japan
2.Singapore
3.Hongkong

2 of them have small population and land. If wanna live better working in stress life country such as Japan,Singapore, and Hongkong. More stress= long age!
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 29 2011, 12:48 AM)
I am in SG SuZhou industry area for a short stay. Many things here look like SG except the air quality. Other than cheap local fashion item, many things here cost the same if not higher than SG dollar to dollar.

IMO, one have to ask for >4x salary to maintain same purchasing power when move from SG to SuZhou but you have to bear with the air quality here.

local simple meal 6~10 RMB, 500ml beer 5RMB.
Bus ride 2~3 RMB per ride
Taxi start from 10 RMB
KFC meal ~30RMB

Dollar to dollar, cost of living in SG is way lower than SuZhou unless you willing to use many fake item.

I have to hunt a couple of shops to buy ORIGINAL tonner box that contain ORIGINAL tonner at 5x the usual price for the fake version, not to mention the risk of buying fake tonner at the original price.
How about Binjiang?

Added on December 29, 2011, 1:01 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 12:28 AM)
No, wrong conclusion.

The stronger the currency against USD = long age!
Kuwait is the strongest but their average living just 60 yrs old.

Added on December 29, 2011, 1:04 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 28 2011, 11:21 PM)
for me i would go for it... a good challenge

in singapore?

nah... my friend started Total's office in msia or was in indo last year and he's being paid fat fat pay... transfered to UK last month

not all industries suffer...
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA? I'm currently doing my CIMA.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 29 2011, 01:04 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 10:29 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Dec 29 2011, 02:16 PM)
If u do business development, MBA definitely better than CIMA or PMP.
CIMA and PMP is more towards practical/technical kinda skills, whereas MBA teaches u "how to bullshit" to be blunt. ALso MBA it's a networking opportunity within ur MBA tenure.  Im guessing BD means u nid to look for new business area (similar to marketing). Hence CIMA or PMP would bring u as much benefits as MBA.

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:21 pm

DBS/POSB (same company) = long que but more atm
UOB/OCBC= less atm but shorter que.

I suggest UOB/OCBC
I like your idea about how to bullshit, may I consider the acting class or the new trend class of NLP?
What I know MBA in Singapore is more theoritical than practical..It is an academic though.

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 04:07 PM)
I'm actually quite pro-NS for kids,.. especially for ethnic-Chinese kids in this region. There is absolutely no harm in more Chinese kids learning how to shoot and kill non-Chinese kids. They will need to do it, sooner or later... or else all sorts of May13 and May,1998 will occur and they will be told it's their fault for not following the "social contract".
You don't need to take NS to be strong. Just learn some TRUE martial arts like Krav Maga or Ninjutsu.
And every year got people die coz of NS. What do you feel if that happened to your son? just waste of life

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 09:47 AM)
Living in Afghanistan is more stressful than Japan. But their life expectancy is just 48.

stressful in terms of work and workaholic karoshi la.

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 29 2011, 09:27 AM)
whichever your company will sponsor
company doesn't sponsor anything lol

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 29 2011, 10:35 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 10:43 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 10:40 PM)
Not a lick of use in a racial riot.

What chinese need is access to guns and the training to use them to kill.

And the fact that chinese have that weapon access and training will be a potent deterrent factor to any non-chinese who are thinking about screwing with the chinese again.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
And every year got people die coz of NS. What do you feel if that happened to your son? just waste of life
Every year how many? How do you feel if your family got parang-ed to death by a mob?
why do people hate chinese people leh? Even Singaporean also racist to Chinese.lol,,

You took NS you chinese only 5 million, and they 35 million. who will win? If u learn ninjutsu you can escape and run away fast..

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 29 2011, 10:45 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 10:52 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 10:50 PM)
Israel population and army was how large? It's neighours' populations and armies how large? Who defeated who in 7 days?

Ninjutsu... the last fight I witnessed, a 4th dan tae kwan do expert got the back of his head cracked open by a surprise whisky bottle as he turned to scold someone else.
Ninjutsu and taekwondo is different. do you know ninja??

And Krav Maga is from Israel!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Krav_Maga

Outside Israel, Krav Maga is used by various special police, military and intelligence forces, such as American CIA, FBI, US Marshals, USAF, DEA, Sky Marshals, various police departments (SWAT teams), French GIGN, Belgian Army, etc

I have watched SG NS in Discovery channel, it is not tough.. Not really helpful in army. you should go NS of North Korea or Israel

U see la NS man in recently news kena stabbed when he defended his gf

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 29 2011, 10:55 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 30 2011, 12:10 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 30 2011, 12:03 AM)
SG population is 75% chinese race...unlike M'sia, the chinese race here are the majority. No need to shoot or kill non chinese. And knowing SG and their law abiding citizens, May 13 will never happen....its not good for business.....unlike M'sia....
there is no riot May 13 in Malaysia
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 30 2011, 08:46 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 30 2011, 02:34 PM)
I thought they focus on service. manufacturing in Sg is dying

Added on December 30, 2011, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 30 2011, 06:08 PM)
I think his Eng quite bad didn't understand what u said :8
Your eye is very poor that you cannot see her name.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 30 2011, 08:48 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 30 2011, 08:57 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 30 2011, 10:53 AM)
... not sure if trolling or just (fill in the blanks)
There was an episode of mythbusters where they concluded that the human teeth/jaw is simply not strong enough to stop a bullet smile.gif
you know my history is very poor. 13 may 1969 you mean? That's long ago la..
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 31 2011, 08:36 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Dec 30 2011, 11:28 PM)
Does anyone know how much does a fresh accountig graduate earn in Singapore? I grad in Aussie.

I heard its pretty hard for my without pr to look for jobs in sg. And competition pretty high?

I am so stuck in Aussie I really want to give it a try somewhere else besides Malaysia which would be my last resort.

What's the best way to apply for jobs in sg? Thanks heaps!
where did u grad? my friend from macquarie got PR although he is fresh grad

Added on December 31, 2011, 8:39 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 31 2011, 12:19 AM)
I hate violence too. But I hate violence that goes only in one direction even more.

Can it solve the problem... of course not. But in the absence of a better solution, it at the very least ensures both sides will suffer from the problem, if either one side tries to be funny.

I'm not sure if it's Henry Kissinger that I'm paraphrasing, but the assurance of mutual destruction is the best guarantee of peace. Violence only starts when one side thinks it's stronger than the other side, and can therefore violate the other side at low or no cost. Getting weapons and weapons training into as many chinese hands as possible will guarantee peace... or assure mutual destruction. Either consequence is more acceptable to me personally, than generation after generation of subjugation, which is what the so-called social contract calls for.
then will it give some changes if only just 10-20 people trained with military?? Why don't you establish an chinese organization which train chinese in military?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 31 2011, 08:39 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 4 2012, 10:53 PM

1,569 posts

rather than saving or buy stocks, i prefer buy property..inspired by chessgal

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 4 2012, 10:53 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 5 2012, 12:31 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 4 2012, 11:59 PM)
like bunny said, you need a lot of capital for property
gotta start somewhere first
you can pay it by installments what, buy 5 properties for 30 yrs installments. property in malaysia

Added on January 5, 2012, 12:47 amanyone has any source of podcast about the business like this?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/bottomline

very good podcast, CEO retail banking of RBS suggested to buy retails like shengshiong,walmart,kmart

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 5 2012, 12:47 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 5 2012, 08:49 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jan 5 2012, 07:52 AM)
And you were saying you work as Cost Controller? Seriously?
Because my father has already acquired 3 shops, 10 houses, and 4 lands in the hometown. I learnt it from my father, he can enjoy passive income.
And my cousin bought 1 property for only RM10k in 1990, now the property already about RM500k.

Added on January 5, 2012, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 5 2012, 12:09 PM)
there is also some others.
i guess some have been influenced and thinks too highly of themself because they managed to work in Sg
especially seantang since he is still single?? S$8k/month in Sg is nothing if have families right? Since he is single, he lives like a KING!!

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 5 2012, 09:05 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 5 2012, 09:24 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jan 5 2012, 09:13 PM)
+_+ how to have so much capital to buy so many properties at a time ..... especially shops =.=
Leverage biggrin.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 12:12 AM

1,569 posts

I wonder if in Sg got chio girl look like Nana Aftsch, I will really love Sg haha...
However, I see lots of people take Sg as stepping stone only, just stay 5 yrs then go back to malaysia to have families.. Money is not everything??nope??

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 7 2012, 12:13 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 07:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 7 2012, 07:31 PM)
dunno leh... i just want a simple girl, thats all.. also so hard to find  doh.gif  can find also no rikes me  cry.gif

for me i think i would like it long term here... problem is... how to shift my family... my grandparents is around 80+, my father dont mind, my mum doesnt want to move to sg cause she wants to be near her siblings... my sis i will ask her to eff off to aus..

can 1 income earner support 5 ppl? if i get married with a wife and maybe kids, how to manage expenses?  doh.gif
electronic payment clearance service... see whether ur bank card have nets or not.. u gotta reload $$$ inside it first by using the atm
ur grandpa is the responsible of ur parents. ur sis is the responsible of her husband.
ur parents are still young then u don't need to take care them.

simple girl cannot find?? maybe got lots but they are not ur type!! This happens to me, lots simple galz want me but they are not my type. All my dream girls rejected me.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 08:16 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 7 2012, 07:56 PM)
no lor.. when i was young my parents work, we cant afford a maid so it was my grandparents that brought me up.. although they made some big mistakes along the way but i love them more than my parents  wub.gif ... my father dont have much $$$, and being his only son, i believe it is my responsibility to take care all of them... my sis  whistling.gif , i dont care...

my parents are not young liao lor, late 50s both retired.... no income  doh.gif

haih, easiest to look is within the company... but my company, or rather my stupid boss always hire ugly girls  doh.gif .. according to him so they can work late and dedicate their life to the company... thats why a lot of spinsters in my company  rclxub.gif ... jia lat..
whoa..look girl in audit coy la, kpmg..see them most of them pretty and hardworking.
However, I dun want girls who are money minded..I look kindergarten teacher or someone works in non for profit, pattiesierre or interior designer will be good.

you look on ur company's auditor la.. for me, one office is big NO NO..in my coy 90% are male, 8% already married, 2 % leftover. see u want simple gal but dun want the ugly girl. why don't u just take ugly girls with beautiful heart ma??

why do your parents retire? I see my colleagues' parents, they still work in their 60s ma..
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 09:37 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Def @ Jan 7 2012, 09:27 PM)
ugly girls & spinsters easy to tackle because they're very desperate.

Let me share my past experience with you. Many years ago I tried to tackle a divorcee. She was damn pretty with superb figure & you know what, she looks a bit like Rosamund Kwan (Hk actress). However she asked me to get lost. Pretty girls eventhough they're divorced, not easy to tackle.

Added on January 7, 2012, 9:32 pm
I was in the same boat as you. Somehow or rather we have to discount a bit if we want to break the wall. Currently I am attached but honestly I can tell you my gf is never my dream girl.
Then u just waste ur gf's life. why? A man's poison is another man's meat. if she is not ur dream gal, then she will be a dream girl of another man. I have been single for 3 yrs now.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 7 2012, 09:39 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 10:11 PM

1,569 posts

^

If the time is not right. |No need to be pretty, just good looking and my type. I am ready to be forever alone! I have my own standard, I am proud of it!

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 7 2012, 10:13 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 7 2012, 10:35 PM

1,569 posts

http://www.askdrmanny.com/your-questions-a...nefits-of-beer/

where to get cheap stout?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0471sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled