126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

GoldChan
post Feb 1 2012, 11:14 AM

451 posts

gold is very low margin business.
If one play with very little capital, then one can easily loses out to forex.
A few point changes in forex will wipe out all the profit you make.
Sometimes, for dealer who sell 1 kilo bar, the profit only RM500 - RM1K with the risk of RM170K
tough business.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 31 2012, 11:20 AM)
Outside buy based on market price one.

For eg. now market price of gold is Rm170/g for today, nobody will sell you below RM170 today. Banks can sell you at Rm175, jewellery shop can sell at retails jewellery price at RM199.
Impossible to make instant abitrage the to make a profit.

But next day price go up Rm180 that lead one make profit, is another story already.

Selling is always market price + spread charging
Buying price is always market price - charging.

Those so called "scheme" that posted before, by shops offer sell high and buy higher than market price won't get away the basic pricing.

Sell at you at Rm199, but offer to buy back from you at Rm180 only applied if you bought from them at RM199.
If market price out there is RM170, outside only accept buy back no more than Rm170.

Can you buy from outside at Rm175 to sell to them at Rm180? Certainly no.   laugh.gif

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:16 am
QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Feb 1 2012, 02:34 AM)
Im still studying in uni... actually. isit ok if i use my allowance to buy 1gm of paper gold every month from maybank... im looking for long term thingy... or do i need to monitor the market every now and then....

OR

isit better if i just throw all my extra allowance into the bank or get saving policy from prudential.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

thanks notworthy.gif
buy better food and books. Got spare $ go travel locally or regionally. forget about the saving as it won;t make much differences.now u got time, spend it on travelling lah.

This post has been edited by GoldChan: Feb 1 2012, 11:16 AM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 1 2012, 11:55 AM

749 posts

Im still studying in uni... actually. isit ok if i use my allowance to buy 1gm of paper gold every month from maybank... im looking for long term thingy... or do i need to monitor the market every now and then....

OR

isit better if i just throw all my extra allowance into the bank or get saving policy from prudential.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

thanks notworthy.gif
Hi bro, capital is not on your side but time is indeed on your side. If i were u, i would not invest gold in maybank due to its high spread rate of 4-5%. I may invest in cimb gold account due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. If u have about 3k and able to fork out rm800/month, then the best is uob gold saving account due to its lowest spread rate of 1.15%. I have already made profit of rm1000 from my uob gold saving account that i've invested 3 weeks ago.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 1 2012, 11:56 AM
pubmut
post Feb 1 2012, 02:29 PM

141 posts

OR

thanks notworthy.gif
Eugene

I commend you on your concern about the future for youself and I do support your thoughts on investing in precious metals, however, do read my suggestions below.

On the forumers who gave their opinions earlier, I got the impression that they may be asking you to stand down on your thoughts on precious metals so I'm going to ruffle a few feathers here.

I'm going to ask those who gave their advice about "Time is on your side" response:

If you can go back in time knowing what you know now, what would you do?

My suggestion to you is:

1. Do your own analysis and find out your financial standing.

2. Do brainstorm on ways you can find the extra income (legally) to allow you to do what you plan to do.

3. Do buy your insurance policy, top up as you go along as this is a very good form of leverage.

4. Do invest in precious metals, preferably physical.

5. Do have some cash on hand, as we still need to use them.

6. Take only our opinions/suggestions, but seek not our approval for what you feel is the right thing to do.

Regards
Pub Mutt.
potenza10
post Feb 1 2012, 03:04 PM

1,936 posts

As long as it is surplus, why not? wink.gif rather than leave it in saving account, put in paper gold lah.wait for 1 or 2 years and then see what happen.. I guess young kid can take a big risk.

Just 1 gram per month, ni big deal la.wont affect your normal young life.
Agent 45
post Feb 1 2012, 03:16 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Feb 1 2012, 11:55 AM)
Hi bro, capital is not on your side but time is indeed on your side. If i were u, i would not invest gold in maybank due to its high spread rate of 4-5%. I may invest in cimb gold account due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. If u have about 3k and able to fork out rm800/month, then the best is uob gold saving account due to its lowest spread rate of 1.15%. I have already made profit of rm1000 from my uob gold saving account that i've invested 3 weeks ago.
sry, i have a noob question. need to have at least 3k to invest in gold?
prestigio
post Feb 1 2012, 04:10 PM

549 posts

New kids need helps here..
currently i rapidly buy the dinar know in my hand..
i know the price gonna rise year after year but did invest like this make more benefit?

or just invest from cimb or maybank?
btw can teach be little bit how to deal with bank...
thks biggrin.gif

kelvyn
post Feb 1 2012, 04:16 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Feb 1 2012, 04:16 PM)
No need to have 3k to start investing. As long as you have the cash to purchase the min of 20grams (UOB or PB) or 1 gram (Maybank)...
opifan
post Feb 1 2012, 07:50 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Feb 1 2012, 04:16 PM)
No need to have 3k to start investing. As long as you have the cash to purchase the min of 20grams (UOB or PB) or 1 gram (Maybank)...
But there's no intrinsic value in gold... As in it won't pay you dividend or keep growing (unless you foresee real demand growing)... More worth it to put in consumer stocks.
potenza10
post Feb 1 2012, 07:53 PM

1,936 posts

Yes..the gold is not growing but the price is increasing.
izzudrecoba
post Feb 1 2012, 08:04 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Feb 1 2012, 03:16 PM)
By 3k, I mean u need to fork out roughly rm3k+++ to purchase minimum 20g to open uob gold savings account (1g = rm 172 as of 31 Jan 2012). If you are tight on budget, i would suggest you to invest in cimb gold saving account as u can invest 5g and a subsequent 1g, and due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. I would suggest you to avoid Maybank gold saving account due to its high spread rate. If you dont care about profit maximization, then by all mean please invest at Maybank.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 1 2012, 08:06 PM
eugenetwh
post Feb 1 2012, 09:29 PM

675 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 1 2012, 11:14 AM)
gold is very low margin business.
If one play with very little capital, then one can easily loses out to forex.
A few point changes in forex will wipe out all the profit you make.
Sometimes, for dealer who sell 1 kilo bar, the profit only RM500 - RM1K with the risk of RM170K
tough business.

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:16 am
buy better food and books. Got spare $ go travel locally or regionally. forget about the saving as it won;t make much differences.now u got time, spend it on travelling lah.
aiya... food book all those got allocation ady... its all surplus from my allowance... takkan all spend on fine dining and stuff meh? if its even enough for those... just wanna save the money or probably make some in the long run... smile.gif
Agent 45
post Feb 1 2012, 11:32 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Feb 1 2012, 08:04 PM)
By 3k, I mean u need to fork out roughly rm3k+++ to purchase minimum 20g to open uob gold savings account (1g = rm 172 as of 31 Jan 2012). If you are tight on budget, i would suggest you to invest in cimb gold saving account as u can invest 5g and a subsequent 1g, and due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. I would suggest you to avoid Maybank gold saving account due to its high spread rate. If you dont care about profit maximization, then by all mean please invest at Maybank.
i see. cimb and uob which one is better? i understand that the spread is lower for uob but uob is really far away from my house.
u mentioned that rm800 is needed per month, what is this for? top up every month?

This post has been edited by Agent 45: Feb 1 2012, 11:33 PM
eugenetwh
post Feb 1 2012, 11:47 PM

675 posts

800 to get bout 4grams gua... doesnt have to be every month top up. no?
turion64
post Feb 2 2012, 01:04 AM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

for UOB,

i see that before cny the rate was Rm166/gm
after cny (1st feb) it is Rm172/gm

i am considering dumping a big amount and withdraw it few weeks later as i heard it will continue to go up after cny.

any bros can confirm this rumour is true? how about from past experience eg. last year cny period.

appreciate ur comments
twincharger07
post Feb 2 2012, 01:33 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Feb 1 2012, 10:07 AM)
its not really my emergency funds... think of it as surplus from my allowance... im looking at 10-15 years. haha... its more like "saving" for the future to me...
No right and wrong, as long as you have good understanding about investment and have surplus to invest, it is always good to start from young.

besides gold, there are other investment like silver, bonds, unit trust and reits which doesnt cost much for initial start.

MariKan
post Feb 2 2012, 02:26 AM

13 posts

Putting money into the comodity hands?
opifan
post Feb 2 2012, 08:31 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Feb 1 2012, 07:53 PM)
Yes..the gold is not growing but the price is increasing.
That's the problem... Unless you can foresee buying low and selling high, there is very high element of risk involved for something you can't measure the value and can only speculate...
prophetjul
post Feb 2 2012, 08:37 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(opifan @ Feb 2 2012, 08:31 AM)
That's the problem... Unless you can foresee buying low and selling high, there is very high element of risk involved for something you can't measure the value and can only speculate...
i diiffer on that opinion.
Its valued in many ways. You just have to find them and then make your own opinion.
Its just that valuing gold is probably not according to our traditional indoctrinated ways of the
modern economist, etc.

For eg WHY has gold risen from $250 in 2002 to $1700 in 2012?

One reason- $ is tanking.........

SUSsoundsyst64
post Feb 2 2012, 08:46 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Feb 1 2012, 08:04 PM)
for cimb

minimum 10 gram to open acct, top up 5 gram + 1 gram = 6 gram

am I correct?
potenza10
post Feb 2 2012, 10:04 AM

1,936 posts

QUOTE(opifan @ Feb 2 2012, 08:31 AM)

i didnt see it is high risk.just set your own target, what is your preferable % of profit in let say 1yr or 2yrs then cash it out.no prob.

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:31 PM