Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

izzudrecoba
post Jan 17 2012, 04:27 PM

749 posts

Agree - Gold price per g for UOB has rise up to 168.70 this evening, from 166.8 last friday! Wohooooo!!

Gold Prices
Gold Investment Accounts
Last updated 17/01/2012 15:55. The Prices shown here are indicative only and are subject to change without prior notice. They are not to be taken as an offer to contract. United Overseas Bank Group shall not be responsible for any loss or damage arising directly or indirectly from the use of or reliance on the information provided herein.

Item Size Bank Selling(RM) Bank Buying(RM)
Premier Gold Account 1 KG 168000.00 167000.00
Gold Savings Account 1 GM 168.70 166.70

Source: http://www1.uob.com.my/business/GMIM/GMIM_pga.html

QUOTE(curaptz @ Jan 17 2012, 03:45 PM)
wow....gold price shoot up today... how high can it be? hmmmm
This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Jan 17 2012, 04:28 PM
izzudrecoba
post Jan 17 2012, 04:53 PM

749 posts

Desmond, you made a valid point. My friend who had invested in gold several years ago informed me that the gold price will rise up during and after Chinese New Year. Goldman Sachs picked gold & silver as the best commodity to invest this year rclxms.gif

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 17 2012, 04:30 PM)
May be due to chinese new year tht is around the corner?
izzudrecoba
post Jan 17 2012, 05:32 PM

749 posts

Thank you for the kind word, mate. Please find an interesting article on gold prediction this year below.

Morgan Stanley Predicts Gold to Hit $2,200 in 2012... Maybe as High as $2,464

By Brian Hicks
Friday, January 13th, 2012

Morgan Stanley is predicting gold will be the best-performing commodity in 2012 — and may make a new record high as investors look to secure their wealth against European uncertainty and slowing economic growth.

Their price target is $2,200 an ounce… with the potential to reach as high as $2,464.

Goldman Sachs is less aggressive, but bullish nonetheless.

Their price target for gold in this year is $1,940 an ounce:

We’re staying overweight on commodities as a rebound in demand revives speculation of shortages, with gold a favorite for 2012 as investors seek a hedge against Europe’s debt crisis.

Demand for gold strengthened most of last year as Europe’s debt crisis widened and the U.S. Federal Reserve pledged to keep interest rates near zero until at least mid-2013. Low interest rates increase the appeal of bullion because they generally reduce the prospect of returns on bonds.

Our view on gold is driven by our view on underlying real interest rates. It is the sharp drop in price that makes it more attractive.

One of the things I do to gauge the gold market is I go to coin and bullion dealers.

Before coming to the office today, I stopped in to see my favorite coin and bullion dealer. And I can tell you business in his shop is still booming.

Then came this little tidbit over the wire...

Hong Kong reported this past Wednesday that their gold imports reached record heights this month as investors rushed to the precious metal before the Luna New Year — a weeklong holiday beginning on January 23 — in order to "hedge against financial turmoil."

According to Bloomberg:

Demand for gold is climbing in China as investors seek to protect their wealth against slumping property prices and equity markets amid an inflation rate above 4 percent. The nation overtook India in the third quarter as the largest gold jewelry market, according to the World Gold Council.

The country is also the biggest producer. Bullion rose as much as 0.9 percent to $1,647.45 an ounce today, the highest since Dec. 13.

I usually read Wall Street predictions with a skeptical and suspicious eye.

But I actually think they’re spot-on with their call — especially after reading the Chinese story.

And the chart of gold suggests they’re right.

Take a look:

Gold is setting up a double-bottom formation after selling off late last year.

You see, this pattern formed before — in 2008-2009.

In fact, it’s almost the exact same formation:

Gold broke out perfectly from the “W” formation… and hit the precise price target is was supposed to hit.

The current chart suggests a breakout to $1,950 — almost exactly what Goldman is predicting.

I’ve been long gold for several years. I’m still long this year.

Source: http://www.wealthdaily.com/articles/gold-going-to-2000/3366

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jan 17 2012, 04:57 PM)
Ya, i think so. You are doing much researchs as well. Hope that gold price will really rise this year.
This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Jan 17 2012, 05:33 PM
izzudrecoba
post Jan 18 2012, 10:58 AM

749 posts

My advise: Go grab some grams of gold for before Chinese New Year. But if you migrate to UOB Bank Gold Savings Account it would be even more better! biggrin.gif

http://senseofmoney.blogspot.com/2011/06/c...gs-account.html

QUOTE(richardt3o @ Jan 17 2012, 10:53 PM)
I'm planning to buy a few gram of gold tmr at maybank. Since u all said that it is likely to increase this Chinese new year.

Any advice? Yes, no?
izzudrecoba
post Jan 18 2012, 11:12 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 18 2012, 11:21 AM)
I'm waiting for the price to drop below RM165 p/gram again. tongue.gif
Else, I'll just grab it next month with whatever price possible. biggrin.gif
Mate, i think it would be quiet hard for gold to drop below rm165/g. Yesterday the price was rm 168.7 and today was rm 167.3. I bet the lowest point of uob gold would be around rm 166.3.

Added on January 18, 2012, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(mysql2779 @ Jan 18 2012, 12:43 PM)
Besides the selling and buying price differences , what else do I have concern of ? The selling price differ for each bank even at the same time . Don't they follow global gold price ?

Eg: -
CIMB  Gold Deposit            169.800 164.200
UOB Gold Savings Account  166.90      164.90

Selling price are RM2.90 per gram yet buying price more or less the same. How to choose which bank to invest in ?
Choose the bank with the lowest spread rate and pow buying price. UOB is the preferred choice for now as you can quickly make profit from your gold investment as compared to other gold saving account.

Added on January 18, 2012, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 18 2012, 11:18 AM)
How many of us are having these GIA accounts?
Maybe we should all write a feedback to UOB (or other banks) and pressure them to introduce online trading!!
Buddy, if you can convince UOB Bank to implement online trading that will be fantastic! smile.gif

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Jan 18 2012, 11:19 PM
izzudrecoba
post Jan 19 2012, 01:58 PM

749 posts

Hi Dchk,

You are required to open saving/current account prior to invest in gold saving account. For quick gain I would suggest you pick UOB Bank as the preferred financial institution for your gold investment, due to its lowest spread rate as compared to other banks.

Good luck! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(dchk @ Jan 19 2012, 11:54 AM)
hi. looking to invest in gold for my children future. is there any local Financial Institution whereby I can open an account via online.
izzudrecoba
post Jan 21 2012, 09:02 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(czpin @ Jan 21 2012, 06:57 PM)
dear all gold's sifu . i am just a college student but very interested in gold investment . Currently have around rm1k to invest , where should i start? and which bank recommended? Important : where to observe gold's market  for daily fluctuate?
Hi czpin, welcome to the world of gold investment. We are more than happy to share our experience and knowledge in selecting the right bank for your gold investment.

As for me, I personally recommend UOB Bank for your gold investment due to the following:-

i. The lowest spread rate as compared to other banks (Price spread per gram is only RM 2, or 1.15%. Meaning that you are able to reap the highest profit from gold investment)

ii. Allow one to convert paper gold to a physical gold (conversion fee of rm150)

iii. Gold is one of the highest quality as compared to other banks (999.9)

iv. The lowest selling price as compared to other banks

v. Highest buying price as compared to other banks

The drawback is UOB required initial deposit of 20 grams and higher min balance of 10 gram in order to waive the annual fees and it is base on month end balance basis.

Here is the link for you to do your comparison in a greater detail:-

http://www.horlic.com/comparison-between-5...hoose-the-best/

As for where to observe gold's market for daily fluctuate, you can check here:-

http://malaysiagoldinvestment.blogspot.com/

Happy Investing! thumbup.gif

Regards,
Izzud

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Jan 21 2012, 09:10 PM
izzudrecoba
post Jan 22 2012, 02:23 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Jan 21 2012, 11:43 PM)
He just have 1k to start with.so,uob doesnt fit.
He may want to seek an additional fund to choose the optimal gold investment. I would advise him to avoid investing gold account in Maybank due to its high spread rate. sweat.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 22 2012, 09:00 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 22 2012, 05:48 PM)
Do you think I can buy some gold now??
TSOM, can you be more specific?

Incidentally, you may want to read the article below to understand at what month the gold will reach a new high.

http://www.caseyresearch.com/articles/when...-reach-new-high

izzudrecoba
post Jan 22 2012, 11:35 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 22 2012, 09:16 PM)
Sorry ..
Because ppl have been telling me to buy before CNY. And since CNY is tomorrow, I wonder if I can buy some during the week. Maybe it's not a good idea, I don't know.
As mentioned by many fellow experience gold investors, you are suggested to purchase gold ANYTIME when you have money smile.gif My friend told me that gold price will increase shortly after CNY. Just take his word with a pinch of salt. hmm.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 23 2012, 12:29 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 23 2012, 08:29 AM)
There seems to be some truth in it. It has happened in the past few years.
Check this article out guys:-

http://www.efinancialnews.com/story/2012-0...adlines-home-TT

rclxm9.gif
izzudrecoba
post Jan 23 2012, 11:03 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 23 2012, 01:41 PM)
Thanks ..

edit: can you copy and paste the article here? Have to sign up in order to read their articles .. sad.gif
Apologize TSOM. The website has encountered some problem. Please find another interesting article on gold investment during CNY below:-

Chinese celebrate Year of the Dragon with gold
Amanda
By Amanda Payne
Jan 23, 2012 - 2 hours ago in World

+
China celebrated its New Year on Jan 23, with celebrations and fireworks to welcome the Year of the Dragon. The dragon is supposed to bring luck in wealth so gold has become a popular commodity in China.
A report in the Financial Times says that China overtook India as the world's biggest gold jewellery buyers in late 2011. Traditionally, the new year means the giving of gifts but as the dragon, the only mythical animal in the Chinese zodiac, is associated with wealth, this year many people are giving gold instead of the more traditional gifts. The Financial Times report says
" Rising incomes in China have fuelled consumer spending on luxury items. Buyers look to gold as a more durable store of value at a time when other investment options in the country are extremely limited."
Trading in gold rose by 8% in the last three weeks leading up to the New Year celebrations according to Financial News. The paper says
"Gold historically performs well in troubled times as investors perceive the precious metal as a safe haven, but analysts attributed the recent rise to the pending Chinese New Year. Gold is bought for decorations and gifts for the New Year and Chinese demand has helped boost prices, analysts said."
The Daily Mail reports that the exclusive London store, Harrods, has produced special gold bars with the dragon motif imprinted on it especially for their Chinese customers. Many more Chinese are able to travel abroad and are doing so to celebrate the New Year. The Daily Mail says that the high end shops of Bond Street have hired Mandarin speaking staff to cope with the expected influx, especially Burberry's who are expecting a large number of Chinese customers wishing to buy similar clothes to those worn by the Duchess of Cambridge.
According to the BBC, many Chinese families will be trying especially hard to have a baby during the year of the Dragon as it is considered to be especially lucky for a child to be born in a Dragon year.
Whether the Year of the Dragon will prove especially lucky for China remains to be seen, but no-one is taking any chances making sure that the gold markets will remain buoyant for the next two weeks at least.

Read more: http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/318328#ixzz1kIHZliIJ
izzudrecoba
post Jan 26 2012, 07:03 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Jan 26 2012, 06:00 PM)
gold rise again ar.......
Based on the current U.S. debt, gold is set to reach a record USD 24,000 per ounce by 2021! drool.gif

Please read the link below:-

http://www.caseyresearch.com/editorial.php...f=ZHB231ED1111A

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Jan 26 2012, 07:06 PM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 1 2012, 11:55 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Feb 1 2012, 02:34 AM)
Im still studying in uni... actually. isit ok if i use my allowance to buy 1gm of paper gold every month from maybank... im looking for long term thingy... or do i need to monitor the market every now and then....

OR

isit better if i just throw all my extra allowance into the bank or get saving policy from prudential.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

thanks notworthy.gif
Hi bro, capital is not on your side but time is indeed on your side. If i were u, i would not invest gold in maybank due to its high spread rate of 4-5%. I may invest in cimb gold account due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. If u have about 3k and able to fork out rm800/month, then the best is uob gold saving account due to its lowest spread rate of 1.15%. I have already made profit of rm1000 from my uob gold saving account that i've invested 3 weeks ago.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 1 2012, 11:56 AM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 1 2012, 08:04 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Feb 1 2012, 03:16 PM)
sry, i have a noob question. need to have at least 3k to invest in gold?
By 3k, I mean u need to fork out roughly rm3k+++ to purchase minimum 20g to open uob gold savings account (1g = rm 172 as of 31 Jan 2012). If you are tight on budget, i would suggest you to invest in cimb gold saving account as u can invest 5g and a subsequent 1g, and due to its low spread rate of 2.99%. I would suggest you to avoid Maybank gold saving account due to its high spread rate. If you dont care about profit maximization, then by all mean please invest at Maybank.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 1 2012, 08:06 PM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 2 2012, 10:23 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Feb 2 2012, 08:46 AM)
for cimb

minimum 10 gram to open acct, top up 5 gram + 1 gram = 6 gram

am I correct?
For CIMB, Minimum subsequent Purchase/Sale is 5 grams and must be in multiple of 1 gram. That mean, you can purchase/sale 5,6,7,8,9,10,11 gram of gold at one time.

Added on February 2, 2012, 10:27 am
QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:32 PM)
i see. cimb and uob which one is better? i understand that the spread is lower for uob but uob is really far away from my house.
u mentioned that rm800 is needed per month, what is this for? top up every month?
UOB is the best in terms of the spread rate, the buy rate, and the selling rate. Look, it is not wise to say the location is far away from your house. Russia and China has invested oil & gas in Iran and Caspian Sea. Did Iran located about 5km from Russia and China? Of course not. Did Russia and China hunger to maximize their country's profit? Probably yes. Did Russia and China aims to increase their GDP growth through oil & gas investment? I bet they did. When you want to invest something, pour your heart into it and create a will/way to explore the best way to reach the location.

The RM800 is a rough estimation, as one need to make a subsequent purchase/sale in 5 grams and must be in multiple of 5 gram for UOB Bank. That mean, one can purchase/sale 5,10,15,20,25 gram UOB gold at one time.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 2 2012, 10:28 AM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 2 2012, 03:52 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Feb 2 2012, 01:04 AM)
for UOB,

i see that before cny the rate was Rm166/gm
after cny (1st feb) it is Rm172/gm

i am considering dumping a big amount and withdraw it few weeks later as i heard it will continue to go up after cny.

any bros can confirm this rumour is true? how about from past experience eg. last year cny period.

appreciate ur comments
Hi Turion64,

Correct. The UOB gold rate after CNY was RM172/g from RM166/g. That's a ROI of almost 4% within 2 weeks bro.

The price of gold will goes up after CNY 2012 due to the following reasons:-

i. The United States Federal Reserve announced "near zero interest rates" policy until late 2014 result in investors and consumers pouring their money and savings into gold. Gold price rose sharply upon the announcement by the Federal Reserve Chairman.

ii. Aggressive gold demand by emerging countries such as China, India, Russia and Venezuela. Venezuela, the holder of Latin America’s biggest gold reserves, is now busy bringing back some 160 tonnes of gold – the bulk of its foreign bullion reserves – held at banks abroad, including the Bank of England. The Qatar Royal Family has invested $10 billion in gold investment. As demand soar, so does the price of gold.

iii. EU oil embargo for Iranian oil starting on 1st July 2012. Oil price rise in tandem with gold price. India and China is set to purchase Iranian's oil with gold to skip U.S. sanction.

iv. The rumors of war between US-Israel-Iran further exacerbate gold price in the long term.

v. U.S. budget deficit is at it's highest as compared to the Great Depression and World War I, will result in a spike of gold price.

vi. Upcoming quantitative easing (money-printing) from U.S. Federal Reserve will result in further U.S. dollar devaluation, and this will increase the value of gold to a record high. Central banks worldwide have rolled out an unprecedented $12 trillion worth of stimulus programs, with most of the money still to be spent.

vii. A Looming Currency Crisis: The “PIGS” – Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain – aren’t in very good fiscal shape – and they aren’t alone. Iceland has already gone over the edge. The United States, the United Kingdom, and countless other economies are struggling. That reality has ignited a crisis of confidence about fiat currencies in the minds of many investors. Under such conditions, gold – the ultimate store of value, and the oldest existing form of money on earth – will soar as investors seek to protect their purchasing power.

Overall, 2012 will continue to be a year of turbulence. In these latter times, gold will continue to be one of the best performing investment for investors.

Warmest Regards,
Raja Noor Izzuddin a.k.a. izzudrecoba

Raja Noor Izzuddin is a consultant in Frost & Sullivan Asia Pacific. He holds an MBA in International Business from Universiti Putra Malaysia. He served PETRONAS and Maybank before pursuing his career in management consultant.

This post has been edited by izzudrecoba: Feb 2 2012, 04:52 PM
izzudrecoba
post Feb 2 2012, 04:40 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(M.Harris @ Feb 2 2012, 04:02 PM)
new here,dont want to disturb you guys or make you guys angry so i decided to read from page 1 to page 51(skip a few homeworks in between and dont really care about teacher scolding me XD) but clearly i dont understand a lot of things,you guys can call me Harris or anything you want lol,first of all sorry because of my english and my noob questions even though i read all the pages but,i got interested in gold.Is it illegal or somehting if i were to walk into a bank or something and buy myself physical gold at my age(15,16 this year),i dont have any money but 1 day i want to buy gold.my first choice is PAMP Suisse,and the only place that i know is uob bank,but the selling price of 1 gram gold is 332 and the buying price is 199(you can laugh all you want because 1 gram might sound hilarious to you guys but i think is affordable,but i actually got tempted with the big boys which is more then 100g but clearly there's no way i can afford it) ,i dont know why but i now i will regret it if i were to buy their PAMP Suisse at their selling price,second choice is public gold,but it is locally produce but the spread(i assume is the diff between the buying and selling)is really tempting.so is there another place where they sell PAMP Suisse with a really low spread?im not sure of the term spread is used correctly in my question,but i really want PAMP Suisse as my number 1(actually number 2 beacause i want a to buy a laptop for myself first) stuff i want to buy for myself.really hope that a kid like me didn't disturb you guys because im not trying to troll you guys or something.i hope you guys can answer my questions.so thank you and have a nice day,and sorry for my bad english,oh,1 more question,what if i tear of the plastic casing(if i own 1)and hold it in my hands(wow,that must be heaven or something),what will happen to my gold,like nobody in this world will buy it even if i sell it for 10% of the spot price(i hope i use the the term correctly,again,)so thank you and have a nice day smile.gif
Hi Harris, welcome to the world of gold investment. It is impressive at your age you have already contemplating about investing in gold. You reminds me of Augustus Caesar, at such a young age, are so ambitious to build coalition with Rome's senators & middle class to be the emperor of Rome rclxms.gif

To answer your question, if your physical gold is scratched, damaged, dented, then the bank will no longer purchase the gold. However, for certain gold like public gold, you are still eligible to sell the "not so perfect" gold to the bank/seller.
izzudrecoba
post Feb 4 2012, 09:03 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(M.Harris @ Feb 4 2012, 05:10 PM)
where can i get Pamp Suisse gold other then UOB bank.i dont want UOB because spread to high
This is like saying Lady Gaga can become the next U.S. President. UOB has one of the lowest spread for the physical gold - Canadian Maple Leaf 1 oz. As for gold investment account, UOB has the lowest spread rate of 1.15%.
izzudrecoba
post Feb 29 2012, 06:42 PM

749 posts

Guys, get ready for a whopping rise of gold once ECB inject nearly half a trillion euros today rclxms.gif

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/02/29/...E80T1QZ20120229

0.0208sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:25 AM