132 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V19, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

del_Piero10
post Nov 21 2011, 12:32 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

QUOTE(vincenteoh88 @ Nov 21 2011, 12:19 PM)
which rom can improve battery life ? this android thing is seriously complicated --
its not that complicated at all. to improve battery life, you need to understand this 2 things; 1) standby time and 2) screen on time.

1)standby time

this is one of the thing that we forgot that the less we use the phone, the more standby time it will get.. so it will be useless if our battery can last 10 days but we barely use it. and with custom rom, the developer had tweaked some of the voltage properties so that when the screen is off, the system uses a minimum voltage, thus save battery.
if you want long standby time, switch off 3g connection, use wifi instead of data connection if possible and even switch to flight mode if you one. but this will make your SGS2 lot less than a smart phone right?

you also can buy the Samsung 2000mAH extended battery kit for extra 1 day of standby time like me.

2) screen on time

for me, if we can use or utilize the phone as long as we want, that is the best battery life. that means if you can use your phone for about 6 hours screen on time in one day, that is a great battery life.

the longer the screen on time, the more you use your phone.

so make your pick.

based on my experience, checkrom revolution HD 2.0 + siyah kernel 2.2 beta 6 is the rom with the best standby time and screen on time. check my previous post regarding my battery life report with screen shots too.

This post has been edited by del_Piero10: Nov 21 2011, 12:36 PM
Fallenangelz
post Nov 21 2011, 12:37 PM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 21 2011, 12:31 PM)
Thank god for wifi laugh.gif
yeah. using my company's unifi to dl latest batista 2.6 foxhound. these few days too busy wif work. skipped past 30+ pages already lol.

and jz saw i got warning for the BIMB shit. hmm, ok good. hopefully those spammers will not come trolling anymore.
Shizuru
post Nov 21 2011, 12:46 PM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 21 2011, 12:37 PM)
yeah. using my company's unifi to dl latest batista 2.6 foxhound. these few days too busy wif work. skipped past 30+ pages already lol.
and jz saw i got warning for the BIMB shit. hmm, ok good. hopefully those spammers will not come trolling anymore.
Lol.. don't worry about that. You're not alone tongue.gif

Anyway, anybody knows what's the wallpaper size for our phone. Using adw ex now and the wallpaper keep zooming in. Need to keep resetting it rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Shizuru: Nov 21 2011, 12:47 PM
vincenteoh88
post Nov 21 2011, 12:54 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Nov 21 2011, 12:32 PM)
its not that complicated at all. to improve battery life, you need to understand this 2 things; 1) standby time and 2) screen on time.

1)standby time

this is one of the thing that we forgot that the less we use the phone, the more standby time it will get.. so it will be useless if our battery can last 10 days but we barely use it. and with custom rom, the developer had tweaked some of the voltage properties so that when the screen is off, the system uses a minimum voltage, thus save battery.
if you want long standby time, switch off 3g connection, use wifi instead of data connection if possible and even switch to flight mode if you one. but this will make your SGS2 lot less than a smart phone right?

you also can buy the Samsung 2000mAH extended battery kit for extra 1 day of standby time like me.

2) screen on time

for me, if we can use or utilize the phone as long as we want, that is the best battery life. that means if you can use your phone for about 6 hours screen on time in one day, that is a great battery life.

the longer the screen on time, the more you use your phone.

so make your pick.

based on my experience, checkrom revolution HD 2.0 + siyah kernel 2.2 beta 6 is the rom with the best standby time and screen on time. check my previous post regarding my battery life report with screen shots too.
ok tq so much , im completely newbie to android i was an iOS user so im feeling android is super complicated . i would like to root or flash my sgs 2 any good suggestions or advices ? im totally blank and i don't know their benefits please help rclxub.gif

del_Piero10
post Nov 21 2011, 12:57 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

QUOTE(vincenteoh88 @ Nov 21 2011, 12:54 PM)
ok tq so much , im completely newbie to android i was an iOS user so im feeling android is super complicated . i would like to root or flash my sgs 2 any good suggestions or advices ? im totally blank and i don't know their benefits please help  rclxub.gif
hahaha, read the 1st page first, at least twice. rooting is not that hard. too easy. read it on the first page.
Fallenangelz
post Nov 21 2011, 01:04 PM

3,221 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 21 2011, 12:46 PM)
Lol.. don't worry about that. You're not alone tongue.gif

Anyway, anybody knows what's the wallpaper size for our phone. Using adw ex now and the wallpaper keep zooming in. Need to keep resetting it rclxub.gif
shud be 480x854. dat's the max resolution of our screen.

otherwise 800x480 shud be ok as well.
snigapoe
post Nov 21 2011, 01:40 PM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(vincenteoh88 @ Nov 21 2011, 12:54 PM)
ok tq so much , im completely newbie to android i was an iOS user so im feeling android is super complicated . i would like to root or flash my sgs 2 any good suggestions or advices ? im totally blank and i don't know their benefits please help  rclxub.gif
pls read on first page,
the easiet way is just using cf-root
nicregi
post Nov 21 2011, 01:43 PM

4,536 posts

Guys ask you something. Didn't realized it until my sis told me.

I am using Go Sms and everything is fine. I send her a MMS today and she told me she received a link only instead of picture. Is there a way to change this to receiver see the picture terus like normal?

Thanks all smile.gif
Shizuru
post Nov 21 2011, 02:04 PM

3,699 posts

Anyone wants ICS keyboard? brows.gif
xortz
post Nov 21 2011, 02:11 PM

1,534 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 21 2011, 12:21 PM)
u still can call, sms and use data. rate still the same i think. but data is 56kbps. and one thing to rmb, when in 2G data is GPRS, which cannot use simultaneously with ur phone network. which means on data, no call/sms. on call, data hold.
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 21 2011, 12:25 PM)
Just no data. Can still make calls n SMS.

Added on November 21, 2011, 12:28 pm
I see.. but I can never online on roaming mode. Need to wait for the R to disappear first sweat.gif
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 21 2011, 12:28 PM)
still got data. oni need to enable roaming data. no extra charge. jz turtle speed oni  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
thanks guys for the feedback. btw i just found new problem, in my Contact, all list are in order, no duplicate entries, but when I try to type the receiver in SMS Recipient, i saw many duplicate entries. How remove those thing?
del_Piero10
post Nov 21 2011, 02:14 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 21 2011, 02:11 PM)
thanks guys for the feedback. btw i just found new problem, in my Contact, all list are in order, no duplicate entries, but when I try to type the receiver in SMS Recipient, i saw many duplicate entries. How remove those thing?
i think that was your contact details from simcard and google account shown at the same time.
vincenteoh88
post Nov 21 2011, 02:58 PM

186 posts

i don't really understand after rooting will improve anything ? since sgs 2 already have 16gb internal i don't need to install on external memory card and which software is best for rooting ?
HCTH
post Nov 21 2011, 03:11 PM

194 posts

hi sifus as i googled s2 I9100 provides better performance but overheat easily. so in the other way of s2 I9100G less heat but poorer performance. can know how bad is I9100 overheat issue ?
DrBlueBox
post Nov 21 2011, 03:22 PM

789 posts

Hooked on TinyTowers now. Damn

QUOTE(vincenteoh88 @ Nov 21 2011, 02:58 PM)
i don't really understand after rooting will improve anything ? since sgs 2 already have 16gb internal i don't need to install on external memory card and which software is best for rooting ?

Rooting will give you Administrator privilages, meaning you can further modify or install softwares that sometimes can't be installed without it.

"Rooting" comes from the term "to become a root user", which is the highest user level for a Unix based operating system.

Beware, since by being a root admin you are now an all powerful admin, you can mistakenly delete some important files that needs by the phone
QUOTE(HCTH @ Nov 21 2011, 03:11 PM)
hi sifus as i googled s2 I9100 provides better performance but overheat easily. so in the other way of s2 I9100G less heat but poorer performance. can know how bad is I9100 overheat issue ?

I was quite surprised with it the first time I bought the phone, but after a while it's not really of an issue. It's more of warm than hot and only happens when you are using processor intensive app for a long time

Vcys86
post Nov 21 2011, 03:30 PM

524 posts

1st page has everything you need smile.gif
Fallenangelz
post Nov 21 2011, 03:30 PM

3,221 posts

its so hot that can cook ur eggs when its inside ur pocket. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

seriously, u feel hot cz u hold it in naked stage. if u put casing on it, then u can barely feel it. moreover it will heat up only when u do some hardcore browsing/gaming. i can read light novel+listen to poweramp for 3 hours without any heat felt.

del_Piero10
post Nov 21 2011, 03:35 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

hold your horses mate. rooting is like jailbreaking. we need to root the android device to ensure that we can have all access to the system file. same as your pc, you need admin access in order to install or remove any software that you like or dislike.

after rooting, then you can install a custom rom to your device. as i said earlier, custom rom have been tweaked to improve what is not good enough from the stock rom...
PhakFuhZai
post Nov 21 2011, 03:38 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

any good Tegra 2 games which can be played after having Chainfire installed on i9100 non G version?
Shizuru
post Nov 21 2011, 03:45 PM

3,699 posts

people complain about the heat because it's so slim you can feel it. honestly I think its a no issue. Even if it heat up, up to 50c the phone can still withstand it. My phone never hang or shutdown even under that temperature. Plus it does not heat up for no reason.
del_Piero10
post Nov 21 2011, 03:51 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 21 2011, 03:45 PM)
people complain about the heat because it's so slim you can feel it. honestly I think its a no issue. Even if it heat up, up to 50c the phone can still withstand it. My phone never hang or shutdown even under that temperature. Plus it does not heat up for no reason.
if you have issue like hang or reboot when reach 50c, that means your hardware got problem. mine is working fine. remember, this is electronic parts that work at high speed by sending those electrical signal thru its component. so heat is one of its side product.

132 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:00 PM