8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

Mavik
post Mar 20 2012, 10:59 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Mar 20 2012, 07:38 AM)
What is DRL?
DRL = Daytime running lights
Mavik
post Mar 20 2012, 11:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:04 AM)
@Mavik,

by any chance i can improve the floaty effect on my golf? just change the spring coil? some said change bigger rims will make the car more stable? which 1 is more effective eh?
The best way to reduce the floaty feeling is to either change your entire suspension system or the cheaper alternative is to change the springs to either Eibach or H&R. I would still recommend that changing to coilovers would be the best solution.

Changing larger rims will NOT reduce the floaty feel because regardless of the rim size the suspension and spring setup is at the soft side so you will still get the bouncy and floaty feel.
Mavik
post Mar 20 2012, 11:34 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:14 AM)
Thanks for the info..

I've limited my scope now to New Golf TSI, 2011 with huge discount or Used Golf GTI MK5, 2008 with similar price with new TSI 2011. Tough decision. Any 1 can share your personal thoughts?

I wonder why there are huge price different for MK6 GTI 2008 make. Some are selling at RM 150k and some are RM 165k?

Don't think i'll go for new GTI as i'm not willing to spend >RM200k for a car  tongue.gif
Go for a 2nd hand Golf Gti Mk6, I have seen 2010 ones selling for RM179k on mudah. Seriously, that would be the best bet. You still get the warranty (make sure you check the license plate with insurance companies first to see if there was a major accident).
Mavik
post Mar 22 2012, 12:28 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hey guys we are having a TT later today (Thursday) evening at Syed Abu Damansara Jaya at 9.00pm. Do join us if you can biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Mar 22 2012, 03:22 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hey guys we are having a VW TT session tonight at 9pm onwards smile.gif

Do join us if you are free biggrin.gif

http://maps.google.com.my/maps?saddr=3.128...z=18&iwloc=ddw0

This post has been edited by Mavik: Mar 22 2012, 03:22 PM
Mavik
post Mar 25 2012, 12:19 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 24 2012, 09:47 PM)
Greetings guys, looking forward in either getting a CKD passat or a jetta. Does anyone over here have the maintenance cost for both cars ?  Btw, the jetta uses a 1.4tsi engine, right ? Isn't it kinda underpowered for a car at that size ?
It's a twincharged 1.4 engine mate, super charged and turbo charged to achieve 160ps which is even more than a Camry 2.0 and an Accord 2.0. The Jetta will definitely give a number of C segment cars a run for their money. Go for a test drive and you will soon see the difference smile.gif
Mavik
post Mar 25 2012, 11:23 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 25 2012, 09:13 AM)
Thanks for the reply bro. Anyway that I could have a look at the maintainance cost ?
Normal services can range from RM400+ and above. Maintenance is every 15,000km not like the usual 5,000km or 10,000km.
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 02:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 02:09 PM)
After 5 days from collecting Passat, the rattling sound from steering wheel and dashboard got worse. Sigh. So annoying especially when u r driving on road with brick surface.
So why did you wait 5 days before bringing it in to the service center to get that fixed?
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 03:18 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 03:16 PM)
Currently outstation and not gonna have the time to send over until next week. Moreover some ppl mentioned that the workmanship of technicians at most SC quite bad. Scratches n damages were made when the cars were sent for warranty claims.
Which one do you normally send to? I know the Jln 222, Veemer and Sg Besi workshop are quite good. I personally send my Golf in to Sg Besi for the past year and no issues with it at all. Only problem is that they are quite packed only.
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 03:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 03:21 PM)
I have yet to send the car for service coz it only clocks less than 1k. Thanks for the heads up. The nearest SC for me would be glenmarie. I guess I'll probably go sungai besi one.
If you bought your car from FA Wagen, you can try out the Glenmarie or the one at 222.
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 05:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 05:10 PM)
The car was bought from veemer old Klang road. Would it make any difference if I send my car to specific SC ? Any SC would service VW cars no matter which dealership was the car bought from rite? 
Thanks for the heads up. smile.gif
Not much difference unless you received the free service package from the dealer you bought from then the free service coupon is only valid for the dealer you got it from. Veemer's service is quite good from my friends who send their cars there.
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 05:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 05:32 PM)
Alright thanks mavik. On the other hand, which coating u would recommend to go for? Wanted to go for Sierraglow but my SA told me better go for PPS. Then I came across the opti coat that can be done by muyo. Price range from 900 - 1800. I know for SG, u have to go back annually for some touch up in order for the 5years warranty to be valid. Is it the same applies to PPS n opti coat?
No you got it the other way around. For PPS you need to go back there and the cost is around RM100. Muyo does very good detailing work hence I trust his work.
Mavik
post Mar 26 2012, 05:50 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Mar 26 2012, 05:47 PM)
Oh really ? And I guess u meant rm1000 rite? LOL. For opti coat from muyo is 10 years warranty ? Have to go back annually?

Yeah, checked out his blog and v impressive with his respectable workmanship. But the price is on the high side.
His price is expensive but you need to see the amount of hours spent on your car. My friend's car was sent to Muyo and he took 3 days to completely detail it because he said that the first time around he (Muyo) wasn't satisfied with the quality. Worth the amount he charges. Thats just my opinion smile.gif .
Mavik
post Mar 27 2012, 04:33 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 27 2012, 12:08 PM)
Im looking into buying the current Passat CC Turbo as compared to the facelift coming in May 2012. Need some bit of info urgently:

1) Does the facelift CC come with the 7 speed DSG as compared to the current 6 speed?
2) Is the chasis the same? Dimensions?
3) What other changes will there be for the facelift here in Malaysia?
4) Estimated pricing (with insurance)?
5) Heard that VW is offering RM16K discount for the current CC. Any better offers elsewhere?
6) VW's warranty is a 2+3 not a full 5 yrs warranty like the one offered by Kia. What is not covered under the additional 3 yrs warranty?
1) The 1.8 CC will use the 7-speed DSG gearbox, the 2.0 and 3.6 CC will use the 6-speed wet clutch DSG gearbox

Singapore has launched the new CC already
http://www.volkswagen.com.sg/sg/en/models/CC.html

2) Dimensions can be found in the website above.

Added on March 27, 2012, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 27 2012, 04:16 PM)
The other day, i was at Quill BMW near TTDI for the 3 Series launch. And it was actually comical to notice that all the sales ppl were only speaking to customers with long sleaved shirts and slacks. I was completely ignored just cuz i was there in a 3 quarters and a t shirt (decent not crappy). I spent about 40mins there and not once did any of the sales ppl even ask me anything. Here i was a serious potential customer who actually had the finances to purchase the car in cash if i wanted to and i was being judged on my clothes and mind you there wasnt like a whole lot of ppl. 40mins would have been sufficient time for any sales reps (there were about 10 of them) to approach me especially since i was seriously checking out the engine, interior, exterior, etc  biggrin.gif
The one near TTDI is Ingress Auto smile.gif

Quill is near Section 14/Section 13 there brows.gif

This post has been edited by Mavik: Mar 27 2012, 04:56 PM
Mavik
post Mar 28 2012, 01:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Mar 27 2012, 05:30 PM)
Hi bros,

Need some advice and help here  icon_question.gif  One of my friends just bought a red color Golf TSi. She's looking for a reliable shop for bodykit and 17" rims+tyres.

1. She's does not need an original bodykit as it's a bit pricey for her, it's more than RM10k right? She's looking for Replica of Rieger, Charactere, and Golf R. How much will it cost and which shop is recommended to install these? Any pros and cons for installing replicas?

2. She would like to change her rims to 17". Are there any shops to recommend? How much does it roughly cost? Knowing her, she won't spend more than rm5k for the rims+tyres.

3. What should she do with her  stock rims? Should she trade it in? or sell it back to the car dealer? or sell it to another friend/forumer/buyer? Which will be the best option for her to fetch a better/reasonable selling price?

Thanks in advance for any feedback and advice... Appreciate it notworthy.gif
1. The cheapest replica would be the Vortex replica which costs around RM2k+ if I am not mistaken. You can check out Aeridas in Sunway but there are a lot of shops selling replica kits. Get a copy of Motortrader and look out for the advertisements there. Shop around for the best deal. For example, the cheapest Golf R replica I could find was RM6k in total which included the spraying and installation and the two front DRL's.

2. 17" depends on what design you are going for, branded or replica. The cost of these rims can cost from RM2800 or more (just the rims alone). A good set of tyres would definitely set you around RM600-RM800 per piece.

3. Trade it in to the shop where she is getting the 17" rims. No one really wants the Atlanta rims.
Mavik
post Mar 28 2012, 11:19 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(thunderaj @ Mar 28 2012, 09:33 AM)
Another thingy i hate SA judged customer like this .
Should complain to the Quill BMW management...
It wasn't Quill, it was Ingress whistling.gif whistling.gif
Mavik
post Mar 28 2012, 05:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kenixsagi @ Mar 28 2012, 02:55 PM)
I just cancelled my booking with Wearnes Sungai Besi and the SA said the Company has to charge RM75 processing fee.

Is that reasonable? She said no matter what reason, the Company has changed its policy and insists to charge RM75 cancellation fee, including loan not approved by bank.

If you guys have any contact at Wearnes, please let me know who should i speak to if this is not reasonable.

Thank you!!!
It is standard, just that not all sales person inform the buyers when they placed a booking fee.
Mavik
post Mar 31 2012, 01:41 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Mar 31 2012, 01:39 AM)
Anyone have experience on some weird/loosened suspension sound every time u go over a bump or accelerate quickly from a stop/slow creep?

Done <20k km on my golf tsi and I'm facing this prob already.
Do you get the sound when you turn the steering or just in a straight line?
Mavik
post Apr 2 2012, 06:36 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 2 2012, 04:33 PM)
spotted a polo gti this morning, 'drag race' at traffic light, kena tapao like tahi. haha im driving 1.8 civic nia. polo gti looks nice but imo, the GTi rims does not suit it. ABT rims nicer.
ABT rims aren't cheap man!
Mavik
post Apr 3 2012, 10:57 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(doncityz @ Apr 3 2012, 10:06 AM)
Not referring to the Polo GTI la idiot.
That one is no brainer that you have to admit your car is the puny one.
But then you so lansi and said this to my car.
So what I have a 1.5L car? You just 1.8L oni wat.
Shows u cant afford really the car, bcos if u can,
surely u go for 2.0. Pushing the loan a little bit far eh? LOL.

rclxms.gif

Added on April 3, 2012, 10:07 am

Ya ya.. trying to see if his 1.8L NA can challenge a Polo GTi 2.0 or not. LOL.
Stupidity is a stupid does.  doh.gif  whistling.gif
QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 3 2012, 10:23 AM)
man, im seriously laughing at you behind the screen. nuff said.  rclxms.gif  yah poor me, cant afford 2.0 civic sobs.
and perhaps, learn some english would you? challenge? which part from my post did i say that? lol i just want to see how much it FARE between the two cars.  doh.gif
QUOTE(e-property @ Apr 3 2012, 10:32 AM)
You laugh ppl 1.8l? It's also better than your 1.5l shitty car man.

Talk to us after you can afford a 1.8l car lol or else keep your mouth shut in your 1.5l car
Guys, please take your fight elsewhere. This is no where close to the topic at hand which is about VW cars.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0458sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:46 PM