Solar Water Heater

weikee
post Jan 6 2012, 10:37 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jan 6 2012, 10:27 PM)
Thanks weikee for the links. Quite interesting, i actually browse through the whole website as well to get better info on solar.

Gone through the links, the comparison that they are making is conventional solar (PANEL) and their microsolar (TUBES). They did not compare their solar vs other tube type solar. SO far, cant find how different they are from other tube solar in the market, may b u can share some links and info.

I might b wrong but the patent as per the link says the patent is only applicable in United States. No doubt microsolar is the first to invent Tube type solar but many other countries are producing it now as the patent is only for US. The website is quite old and not updated i guess. Some of the info might not b applicable now.
The patent is record in US, it could be because during that time Malaysia don't do such things. Our country is still very hot in pirated during y2k. I think it go international even record in US.

Patent if I remember correctly is protect > 10 years, maybe 15 not too sure.

Some competitor should go compare their product with microsolar.
coconutzz
post Jan 16 2012, 08:57 AM

1,109 posts

Hi guys, i saw something like "Evo Solar" ads on the road...

Apparently they claimed it only takes 2 hours of sun light to heat up the water.

Anyone has any input on this ?

stevie8
post Jan 16 2012, 11:25 AM

1,365 posts

Ai yo, when you think solar water heater cost is high and yet you want microsolar the vacuum type!

12yrs ago I go round shopping for solar water heaters. Before that I once sell instant water heater for a company. That time it was hard sell most houses dont have water heater and they boil water or have cold bath still the sale was tough. Along selling the water heater as a young boy I envy those with solar heater only big houses had. I told myself one day I want to own one.

12yrs ago I came across microsolar. Due to high cost I opt for the conventional solar. My reno cost me lot of money. Telling myself if this conventional is not good after 10yrs I would go for microsolar. Now, 10yrs had came and gone but my solar is still working and am enjoying it. If my solar kong today I will go for microsolar not because the conventional one did not serve me well, infact it serves me very well and the back up heater used not more than 5 times, becasue I can afford and dont mind to pay a few k more.

The moral of the story is everything has a price. If now you have little money to spare go for instant water heater forget about people telling you it kills you. If you have more money go for storage and a pump and enjoy bathing. If you have much more money go for solar turn on to the max and if you want fill the tub, connect it to your washing machine and kitchen making washing easier by removing oil, and throwing frozen meat into the hot water to free them especially prowns before cooking them. But if you have so much money that you dad give you get the best of the best today. What I am saying is do not live beyond your mean, tomorrow you can have a 2nd chance, unlike marriage. Not that you cannot have a 2nd chance, you have a responsibility and you can never find a perfect one, first look at yourself in the mirror and there are so many defects...hahahahahaha...so dont think today you buy microsolar and it is going to last you your life time. but your marriage is till the day you die!!!
coconutzz
post Jan 16 2012, 11:55 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Jan 16 2012, 11:25 AM)
Ai yo, when you think solar water heater cost is high and yet you want microsolar the vacuum type!

12yrs ago I go round shopping for solar water heaters. Before that I once sell instant water heater for a company. That time it was hard sell most houses dont have water heater and they boil water or have cold bath still the sale was tough. Along selling the water heater as a young boy I envy those with solar heater only big houses had. I told myself one day I want to own one.

12yrs ago I came across microsolar. Due to high cost I opt for the conventional solar. My reno cost me lot of money. Telling myself if this conventional is not good after 10yrs I would go for microsolar. Now, 10yrs had came and gone but my solar is still working and am enjoying it. If my solar kong today I will go for microsolar not because the conventional one did not serve me well, infact it serves me very well and the back up heater used not more than 5 times, becasue I can afford and dont mind to pay a few k more.

The moral of the story is everything has a price. If now you have little money to spare go for instant water heater forget about people telling you it kills you. If you have more money go for storage and a pump and enjoy bathing. If you have much more money go for solar turn on to the max and if you want fill the tub, connect it to your washing machine and kitchen making washing easier by removing oil, and throwing frozen meat into the hot water to free them especially prowns before cooking them. But if you have so much money that you dad give you get the best of the best today. What I am saying is do not live beyond your mean, tomorrow you can have a 2nd chance, unlike marriage. Not that you cannot have a 2nd chance, you have a responsibility and you can never find a perfect one, first look at yourself in the mirror and there are so many defects...hahahahahaha...so dont think today you buy microsolar and it is going to last you your life time. but your marriage is till the day you die!!!
hahahah...great feedback!!! and great example using marriage!! smile.gif

What brand are you using btw?

This post has been edited by coconutzz: Jan 16 2012, 12:02 PM
TSzheilwane
post Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM

4,184 posts

used for more than 10 years but only turn on 5 times that means the solar heater really served u well. THanks for sharing your experience
stevie8
post Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jan 16 2012, 11:55 AM)
hahahah...great feedback!!! and great example using marriage!!    smile.gif

What brand are you using btw?
Solar Mate.

And for those doing reno and has little or no budget for solar or storage, can only afford instant, my advise is get the hot cold water piping and wiring done first where the hot/cold piping go up to the ceiling/roof or wherever you want your hot tank to be as well as the wire. When you have enough money it is easy just buy and install connecting the pipe and wiring, no hacking. I speak fr my brother experience. He was undicided when reno his new house and due to extra money for the solar he went for instant and did not do the piping. After 3 yrs he wanted it and hacking the new tiles is a no no. Till now continue to use instant. When we reno we got to plan for the future what we want and not what we can afford today, tomorrow is a different story.
TSzheilwane
post Jan 16 2012, 02:49 PM

4,184 posts

actually a solar now is not expensive. If u r getting instant now and install solar later, u will b wasting money. Our package SOLAR POWER 60ge-c is only RM 3,990 comes with a 10" brass rain shower.
weikee
post Jan 16 2012, 02:58 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM)
Solar Mate.

And for those doing reno and has little or no budget for solar or storage, can only afford instant, my advise is get the hot cold water piping and wiring done first where the hot/cold piping go up to the ceiling/roof or wherever you want your hot tank to be as well as the wire. When you have enough money it is easy just buy and install connecting the pipe and wiring, no hacking. I speak fr my brother experience. He was undicided when reno his new house and due to extra money for the solar he went for instant and did not do the piping. After 3 yrs he wanted it and hacking the new tiles is a no no. Till now continue to use instant. When we reno we got to plan for the future what we want and not what we can afford today, tomorrow is a different story.
The Key is planning, know what you want short and long term.

If you see some of forum-er post, some missed out Unifi point, autogate points, door bell, Power switch for Jacuzzi , CCTV, Alarm, or conceal piping. Washing machine inlet and outlet, hob, hood

Once we know what we want, can easily plan. I do missed few items, lucky it was not too late else is sure a costly redo.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 16 2012, 02:58 PM
stevie8
post Jan 16 2012, 03:05 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM)
used for more than 10 years but only turn on 5 times that means the solar heater really served u well. THanks for sharing your experience
Yes, am speaking from real experience. The reason is the whole tank water is max hot from days before. Even if you got no sun the whole day up to 3 consecutive days you need no backup heater. In fact my backup heater was broken after 3 yrs (warranty for 1yr switched on more than one hand fingers, whereas the solar 10 yrs warranty) I did not bother to replace the backup heater that cost RM450. it is a thrill to have a cold bath once every few yrs or the fun of boiling water and the bucket of hot water was so precious. The recent no sun still I did not have cold bath. By the time I turn on hot to the max, the next day just 2 hrs of hot sun or little sun the whole day, the tank is hot again. Mandi with lot of water with rain shower is fun and you like bathing even at night and you just dont feel like coming out of the bathroom with hot water and what's more in Selangor you got free water. Instant water is like pee, solar + pump is like standing in heavy rain except the water is hot and as hot or as cold as you like. When you have or going to have fever take a panadol, or going to have cold, go for a hot bath for half hour and the fever or cold gone. Better than cover yourself in blanket.

The saying when it is hot you got hot water, when it is cold you got no hot water is not true. Unless you have too many ppl in the house and too small tank. It is time to just add the tank and/or panel.

One other thing to consider during installation is to add support to the roof where the tank is to be placed. 2 pieces of 2" x 4" horizontal and 4 pieces 2" x 3" verticle wood suport will do. It is very simple (see pix). Though the installer and my contractor told me it was no a problem to support the 60gallan tank, still i insisted to have the extra support for peace of mind. It cost me RM300 only for the wood + nails + labor.

I have no experience on storage so I cannot comment. If/when I got another new house I will have solar, no regret.

Added on January 16, 2012, 3:59 pmSome other things about solar water heater

1. little time waiting. Just turn the hot to the max, with the help of the pump in few second turn the mixer to the middle, you can have the hot bath. Just make sure you do not use anthing bigger than half inch pipe for your copper pipe. With the pump you will need not worry slow in hot water supply. The pump with high water pressure deliver hot water as you need even when you have 2 or 3 peple using at the same time branching off from the main hot water supply.

2. Get burn? More likely with instant water heater. Half way your bath and you off the water, though power is cut off the heating element is still hotter than the water in the small heating tank. And the hot heating element continues to heat the still small volume of the water in the small tank easily by few degress that hurt. When you turn the water on back, you can get burn.

3. When you are runing out of time or trying to catch you tv series want to have quck bath instant water heater trickle. It takes time to wet you and take longer time to wash the soap/sampoo down fr your body. You got to shower your head/hair then your front, turn around to your back, under and legs and arms one at a time. Solar, you get wet in 1 minute and clean you off all the soap and sampoo in no time with huge volume of water. You can get in the bathroom and get out fast. Now, you may have some idea what fun is bathing with solar.

This post has been edited by stevie8: Jan 16 2012, 03:59 PM
TSzheilwane
post Jan 16 2012, 05:37 PM

4,184 posts

it is true, using an instant heater is like pee. After a hard day at work, u reach home and nd to use an instant heater to shower with very weak water pressure, it is like very annoying. It is really relaxing to have big rain showers with strong water pressure, washing ur hair and showering would b a lot faster and comfortable.

I have been using instant heater with built in pump, when u r washing ur hair, it takes like ages to wash away the foam. With a rain shower, it is much faster.

Like what some of the forumers said, they do not wan to get solar bcoz it only works when there is sunlight. This only applies to those with big families or family members who shower a lot and like to take long shower but they bought a 60gal solar while they should get an 80gal. For stevie8, a 60gal solar heater is always sufficient to provide him hot water, only turn on backup heater 5 times in 10 years.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jan 16 2012, 05:41 PM
stevie8
post Jan 16 2012, 07:31 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 16 2012, 02:58 PM)
The Key is planning, know what you want short and long term.

If you see some of forum-er post, some missed out Unifi point, autogate points, door bell, Power switch for Jacuzzi , CCTV, Alarm, or conceal piping. Washing machine inlet and outlet, hob, hood

Once we know what we want, can easily plan. I do missed few items, lucky it was not too late else is sure a costly redo.
Agree with you bro!

What I missed out even though I planed for future together with my contractor:

1. Alram/CCTV. Re-hacking wall.
2. Jacuzzi. Giveup.
3. One power point on other side of the wall of the kitchen. When I bought my 2nd fridge I had to drill a hole from the other side of the wall which is a room to tap the power from the room.
4. A power point supply for pond. I drill a hole thru from living room to outside, hacked 3 tiles outside and bought a box of the tiles just for that 3 pieces.
5. One aircond point for third room. Hack the wall up to ceiling and come down on the other side for the switch.

The rest was well planned. I even ran a new water piping thinking that the original GI pipe would burst. When it burst just turn off 3 valves and open the other two. But it didn't burst, still I decided to use the new pipe as the old pipe give out rusty things. And the kitchen GI pipe were replace with Class 7 PVC pipe. That time never heard of ABS pipes. Copper and stainless steel pipe were too expensive.

The saying goes, you plan to fail but failing to plan is suicidal. Meaning when you plan you must change your plan from time to time. Time wait for noone.
phoenix69
post Jan 16 2012, 07:32 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Jan 16 2012, 03:05 PM)
Yes, am speaking from real experience. The reason is the whole tank water is max hot from days before. Even if you got no sun the whole day up to 3 consecutive days you need no backup heater. In fact my backup heater was broken after 3 yrs (warranty for 1yr switched on more than one hand fingers, whereas the solar 10 yrs warranty) I did not bother to replace the backup heater that cost RM450. it is a thrill to have a cold bath once every few yrs or the fun of boiling water and the bucket of hot water was so precious. The recent no sun still I did not have cold bath. By the time I turn on hot to the max, the next day just 2 hrs of hot sun or little sun the whole day, the tank is hot again. Mandi with lot of water with rain shower is fun and you like bathing even at night and you just dont feel like coming out of the bathroom with hot water and what's more in Selangor you got free water. Instant water is like pee, solar + pump is like standing in heavy rain except the water is hot and as hot or as cold as you like. When you have or going to have fever take a panadol, or going to have cold, go for a hot bath for half hour and the fever or cold gone. Better than cover yourself in blanket.

The saying when it is hot you got hot water, when it is cold you got no hot water is not true. Unless you have too many ppl in the house and too small tank. It is time to just add the tank and/or panel.

One other thing to consider during installation is to add support to the roof where the tank is to be placed. 2 pieces of 2" x 4" horizontal and 4 pieces 2" x 3" verticle wood suport will do. It is very simple (see pix). Though the installer and my contractor told me it was no a problem to support the 60gallan tank, still i insisted to have the extra support for peace of mind. It cost me RM300 only for the wood + nails + labor.

I have no experience on storage so I cannot comment. If/when I got another new house I will have solar, no regret.

Added on January 16, 2012, 3:59 pmSome other things about solar water heater

1. little time waiting. Just turn the hot to the max, with the help of the pump in few second turn the mixer to the middle, you can have the hot bath. Just make sure you do not use anthing bigger than half inch pipe for your copper pipe. With the pump you will need not worry slow in hot water supply. The pump with high water pressure deliver hot water as you need even when you have 2 or 3 peple using at the same time branching off from the main hot water supply.

2. Get burn? More likely with instant water heater. Half way your bath and you off the water, though power is cut off the heating element is still hotter than the water in the small heating tank. And the hot heating element continues to heat the still small volume of the water in the small tank easily by few degress that hurt. When you turn the water on back, you can get burn.

3. When you are runing out of time or trying to catch you tv series want to have quck bath instant water heater trickle. It takes time to wet you and take longer time to wash the soap/sampoo down fr your body. You got to shower your head/hair then your front, turn around to your back, under and legs and arms one at a time. Solar, you get wet in 1 minute and clean you off all the soap and sampoo in no time with huge volume of water. You can get in the bathroom and get out fast. Now, you may have some idea what fun is bathing with solar.
From 1 Solar Heater Fan to another. . . "Kudos" thumbup.gif

coconutzz
post Jan 21 2012, 08:59 PM

1,109 posts

Hi all,

Whilst I m doing some survey on Solar Heater before making my decision. i came across, 3 types of solar heaters, Pressurized vs Non-Pressurized Solar Heaters.

And on Solar Power's website, they have recommended us a Pressurized Heater.

Does anyone know any difference between Pressurized and Non pressurized pls?

This post has been edited by coconutzz: Jan 21 2012, 09:00 PM
TSzheilwane
post Jan 21 2012, 09:59 PM

4,184 posts

you will need to get an extra pump for a non pressurized system.
stevie8
post Jan 21 2012, 11:41 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jan 21 2012, 09:59 PM)
Can you elaborate further? How powerful the pressure will be and when hot water is pressurised the cold water is not??? rclxub.gif Can you also explain how the water is pressurised. Beside pressurised what is the difference in performance interm of temp and volume.
coconutzz
post Jan 22 2012, 11:12 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jan 21 2012, 09:59 PM)
Thanks zheil...in terms of .... power savings ... i assume both are the same?

stevie8
post Jan 23 2012, 12:43 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jan 22 2012, 11:12 AM)
Thanks zheil...in terms of .... power savings ... i assume both are the same?
Unless the coil of the pressurised is at the top where the hotest water is otherwise it is the same. The non pressurised one the inlet cold water replacing the used hot water with its inlet pressure will mix the whole hot tank water temp. But if the coil of the pressurised one is all over the hot tank there is no different. I dont know how the coil is place inside the hot tank.
TSzheilwane
post Jan 23 2012, 12:49 AM

4,184 posts

actually non pressurized is divided to two types. One need to add extra pump and one no nd. Few months ago, i got a customer who imported the solar from china, after installing he noticed that his solar is non pressurized and nd to add an external pump, jus to pump hot water. So, he bought two pumps, one for hot and one for cold.

Pressurized type like SOLAR POWER only require one pump for both hot and cold.
stevie8
post Jan 23 2012, 12:58 AM

1,365 posts

when the pump is installed at the right place pushing cold/tape/tank water to both heater inlet and cold pipe you need just one pump and the presuure is balance for hot and cold water outlets. If 2 pumps are used there will be difficult and near impossible to maintain constant water temp at the mixer. Tak boleh pakai especially if the pump got the air pressure one where the pressure of the air/water keeps changing, starts and stops.
TSzheilwane
post Jan 23 2012, 01:01 AM

4,184 posts

That is only applicable to pressurized type solar... Some solars nd to have an extra pump. For those who nd more info, jus come to my shop. Will b ezier to explain with a diagram.

52 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:06 PM