Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

kizwan
post Jan 12 2014, 12:38 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

I have a kitten at the back of my house who seems loosing hair on the neck. Quick inspection I don't see if it's any kind of skin infection. The kitten doesn't seems uncomfortable or itching in that area. Vet clinic only open on weekdays. For the moment, I'm thinking going to bath him with cat shampoo for now.

If anyone know anything about this & how to identify what is really wrong, please reply here. Definitely going to bring the cat to Vet tomorrow but until then, any info/idea will be useful.

BTW, the cat eat well & doesn't look sick at all. That is good indication it's not serious illness at least.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jan 12 2014, 12:40 PM
kizwan
post Jan 14 2014, 11:55 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Jade Rabbit @ Jan 13 2014, 04:45 PM)
Is anyone using an automatic feeder to feed your cat?
Were you able to set the timer in a way that it will automatically dispense food over 2 or 3 days in specific time to feed the cat?

Currently I need to send my cat to a pet boarding hotel whenever I am away from home for a few days. I am looking for an automatic feeder that meet my requirement so that my cat can stay home and being fed while I am away.
With the electrical feeder you may be able to set what time you want to feed your cat. I'm not sure since I don't use one. I think you can find video on youtube regarding this thing.

I'm a bit paranoid, so I would leave a lot of kibbles in a big bowl. As for water, usually one bowl of water lasted for more than a day, so I leave "n" bowls of water for "n" days. (out of the box thinking) I think if your tap water is filtered, you can let it drip slowly into the bowl. So your cats can have fresh water all the time.

I've never leave my cats alone for a long time though. If I'm away from home like for 2 weaks for work, my aunt take care of them for me. The longest I've leave them alone is for only 13 - 14 hours one time because there is "kenduri kahwin" I need to attend.

QUOTE(merci @ Jan 13 2014, 08:27 PM)
I'm new and silent reader here.
I've problem with my cat - just bought new leather sofa and only 3 days old when my cat scratched it. was very mad about it.
Earlier, my old leather sofa was already 15 years old and this cat didn't even 'touch' it but scratched when I bought new sofa.
Need advice:
- how to prevent the cat from scratching/clawing my sofa again?

At the moment, I cover all my sofas with blanket. My cat do have scratching post.

You can try put scratching post near your sofa. Also, boxes are magnets for cats. Cats will "attack" the box & leave other objects alone. Try that.
kizwan
post Jan 16 2014, 01:13 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(BallCracker @ Jan 16 2014, 12:02 AM)
hi....i just newly adopt 2 cats......DLH....black one...look a bit like persian.... will anyone be kind enough to teach me how to take care of them. they seem scared of me.....and their claw........dangerous......-.-

kena scratch until bleed ....
Newly adopted, of course they're scared, especially if they are adult cats. Give them time. They will warm up to you eventually.
kizwan
post Feb 7 2014, 06:48 PM

826 posts

I say bring her to vet. Puasa is good idea. So she puasa from this morning? If yes, give her boiled chicken tonight. Remember to cerai-cerai the boiled chicken to small pieces. Also make sure she have access to clean drinking water all the time. I usually continue give boiled chicken for two to three days. If diarrhea continues (explosive type) more than 24 hours, bring your cat to vet immediately.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Feb 7 2014, 06:55 PM
kizwan
post Feb 7 2014, 06:49 PM

826 posts

Sorry, double post.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Feb 7 2014, 06:51 PM
kizwan
post Feb 8 2014, 03:13 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(mitahi @ Feb 8 2014, 10:24 AM)
Yep, as per ur suggestion we gave her shredded ayam rebus. Poor meloh so hungry she ate all 2 breast ciken, even licked the bowl sampai licin. Hehe.

Thank god her condition improved. Still hav diarrhea, but not as bad. She even turned hyperactive, running around chasing everything that's moving. I feel betul2 lega now, fuhh..

Gonna monitor meloh closely this weekend, I'll bring her to vet if something goes wrong.

Thanks kizwan!
I'm glad to hear she is getting better. Stress also can cause diarrhea too. Moving to new home can be stressful for cats. Look like she is getting comfortable in her new home now. thumbup.gif
kizwan
post Feb 28 2014, 12:49 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Feb 27 2014, 01:19 AM)
one my cat is really weird lah.. last nite, she just beranak 1 kitten.. this thing is ok but the most annoying she does not feed the baby.. after beranak she just do what normal cat do..  i tried put both in the cage but she just sit like nothing happen although there's baby side her.. quite sadding watching the baby kitten cry.. hope the baby die by faster la so kesian.. i dunno wat to do..

i tot animal follow their instinct.. but this one is quite facepalm case
QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Feb 27 2014, 09:47 AM)
tot it 's third.. first one she's still ok .. after second and this third she turned oku  hmm.gif

so hard to put on her nipple coz she will evade it. not sure the baby still alive or not coz at work now
How is your kitten? Still ok? I hope your kitten is ok. You can buy special milk for cat/kitten. I'm pretty sure you can find information/instruction on how to feed newly born kitten on the web.

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Feb 27 2014, 11:14 AM)
and wanna ask how to make male cat horny....damn...my 2 female cat gersang already but d male buat dunno sahaja haishhhh
Some cats mature later than others. Why didn't you spay your female cats?
kizwan
post Feb 28 2014, 03:12 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Feb 28 2014, 12:52 AM)
balik keje pukul 5 tadi dead already.. while want to bury it found another dead new-born-kitten outside my gate..so i tanam both.. my cat is really weird lol  shakehead.gif
do noe what she think about the kitten  doh.gif
This stuff can happen. I don't know the reason behind it. When the mother cat ignored her new born kitten, we should intervene. Just an advice, if this happen again in the future, try your best to keep the new born kitten alive. You will need to feed them since the mother cat refused to take care them. Special formula milk for cat/kitten is all you need.

I feels sad when I heard cat died. I like to take care stray cats that come to my house & usually adopt them as my own cats if they stays. I have lost three cats since last year because they got hit by a car/lorry. I felt torn up inside when I found their mangle body by the side of the road. sad.gif Now at night, I will locked my outdoor/stray cats inside the house to protect them & only let them out during day time. My house have huge front & back yard but don't have fence.
kizwan
post Mar 7 2014, 01:50 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Mar 5 2014, 11:59 AM)
erkkkkk rileks rileks.......chill guys....as yg saya tahu lain org lain pandangan...tp bg saya utk memandulkan atau mengubah apa yg sepatut nya pada sesuatu binatang i rasa...i tak sekejam itu.....binatang pon ada hak mereka walau pon mereka tiada otak....sebab binatang yg tidak ada otak pon tahu menyayangi anak mereka dicompare dgn manusia yg ada otak tp buang bayi merata rata......so masing masing ada hak...
Memandulkan kucing bukan perbuatan yg kejam tetapi adalah dilakukan utk melindungi mereka dari dianiaya. Tahu tak ramai yg suka bela kucing tetapi bila kucing tu dah mengandung & beranak anak kucing ramai2, banyak org yg jadi gelabah sbb perbelanjaan makanan & beban menjaga kucing2 ni juga bertambah. Ramai yg ambil jalan mudah dengan membuang kucing2 ni. Dah banyak kes anak2 kucing yg masih kecil dibuang ikut sesuka hati. Tak kesian ke kat anak2 kucing ni? Tak tahulah apa nasib anak2 kucing ni, sama ada mati kelaparan, kena langgar atau sakit.

Hukum memandulkan kucing. Saya tak jumpa kat website JAKIM tetapi ni sedutan dari website Jabatan Perkhidmatan Veterinar Negeri Selangor.
http://www.dvssel.gov.my/cms/index.php?pt=318
""Bahawa mengembiri binatang kesayangan seperti kucing atau anjing hukumnya adalah diharuskan dengan sebab-sebab tertentu iaitu bagi menjaga muslahat ummah."

We have referred to the "Jawatankuasa Kemajuan Islam Malaysia" regarding the neutering of pets. Below is the "fatwa" issued by JAKIM (July 2002):

"All pets like cats and dogs are allowed to be neutered or spayed in order to maintain the health and welfare of both the animals and the community."

After studying the messages of the aforementioned "mazhab"s and the medical viewpoint of the SPCA animal experts, 'JAKIM' has decided that neutering of cats for reasons of 'maslahat' is acceptable. It is in agreement with 'qaedah' (way) Fiqhiyyah which states "To choose the lesser of two evils"."

Memandulkan kucing bukan di buat sesuka hati. Kucing yg terbiar banyak & ada yg kena aniaya. Sgt lah bagus bila ada yg sanggup ambil kucing2 terbiar ni utk dibela. Tapi bila kucing2 ni dah beranak pinak, ramai yg goyah sampai sanggup buang kucing2 ni. Daripada biar kucing ni beranak pinak sampai x sanggup/mampu nak jaga, baik mandulkan kucing2 ni. Saya pernah bersembang dgn seorang doktor veterinar tentang memandulkan kucing. Doktor ni kata tak boleh memandulkan kucing sbb kita menafikan/lawan hukum alam. Bila saya tanya kalau x boleh mandulkan nak buat macam mana? Doktor tu kata kurung kucing tu. Bukankah bila kita kurung kucing tu sama mcm kita menafikan hak2 kucing tu atau melawan sifat semula jadi kucing tersebut? Saya tanya soalan ini sbb seekor kucing betina saya selalu dlm "heat" hinggakan sampai kurus. Jadi saya mmg berniat nak mandulkan kucing tu utk elakkan kucing tu dari jatuh sakit.

Tak salah kalau nak biar kucing nak beranak pinak tetapi pastikan kamu boleh menjaga mereka. Jgn sesekali menganiaya mereka dgn membuang mereka sesuka hati hanya kerana x mampu/sanggup jaga kucing2 tu.

Saya suka bagi makan & menjaga kucing2 terbiar. Sekarang ini, saya ada 20 kucing dlm jagaan saya sekarang ini. Saya tinggal di kampung. Rumah lama tapi luas, halaman rumah pun luas. Saya gunakan "extension" rumah yg dulunya dapur utk letak sebahagian besar kucing saya di situ. Ruang luas, lebih kurang gabungan dua master bedroom. Walaupun halaman rumah luas tetapi tiada pagar. Saya pernah biarkan sebahagian kucing2 saya di luar rumah tetapi sejak anak kucing saya mati kena langgar, saya hanya lepaskan kucing2 ni berkeliaran di luar rumah waktu siang saja sbb kucing2 ni tak main kat jalan masa siang hari. Saya masih sedih kerana kehilangan 3 ekor kucing sbb kena langgar. Saya sangat sedih bila menemui tubuh mereka terbujur kaku di tepi jalan. Sekarang ini, bila malam saja, saya akan kurungkan kucing "outdoor" saya dlm rumah.

Secara jujur saya akui ada mengalami "kejutan budaya" bila kucing seekor menjadi 6 ekor (5 ekor anak kucing). Mula2 jaga anak2 kucing mmg seronok sbb perbelanjaan makan x banyak lagi tetapi bila 5 ekor anak kucing semakin membesar, perbelanjaan makin bertambah. Nasib baik saya tak pernah terpikir nak buang kucing saya tu. Sekarang ni saya dah boleh budget perbelanjaan makan kucing saya tiap2 bulan tanpa sebarang masalah. Tetapi kena ingat, tak ramai yg sanggup buat apa yg saya buat.

Di sini saya nak kongsi gambar kucing saya yg sebijik mcm species kucing "Maine Coon" ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maine_Coon ). Mak kucing siam & bapak kucing biasa.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 7 2014, 02:00 AM
kizwan
post Mar 11 2014, 12:46 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(mobileapps @ Mar 10 2014, 06:27 PM)
found a cat lying in the drain. its all dry. its alone. i wanna wash something there so i picked it and put in a box left it there nearby the drain

what if the mother cat wont come back? what am i to do with it?

how to feed it? take to vet first? please help
Buy cat food, canned food or kibbles. Put some in a bowl & give it to the cat. Two times a day at least. Make sure that cat have access to fresh drinking water at all time.
kizwan
post Mar 13 2014, 04:00 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Mar 13 2014, 11:34 AM)
Hi cat lover,

I been feeding cat food to my area stray cat & lately this new kitten around 6 months came around and i fed him as well. He was still very small but can ate a whole pack of whiskas wet food (85g) & everytime when he ate he will meow while ate. It's like nyah.. nyah.. nyah.. and he seem to ate it very very fast. So i assume he was very hungry. After that he would always rub himself at my legs.. and keep on chasing my legs when i walk and sum time he would try to bite it. Is that normal?

P/S: The bite is not a hard bite nor an aggressive bite. Just a soft bite and won't drawn any blood.
One of my cats like that too. She was a stray cat, maybe 1 to 2 months old at the time. She like to bite & caught my hands with her claw. When I play with her, I always wear bandage to prevent any injury. My hands actually "calar-balar" if I didn't wear bandage tongue.gif . She grown up now & no longer behave like that. Some cats also like that, usually young cats. I like to think they just want to play with me. Their way to get attention from us.

I think it's normal probably because the cat was separated from his/her mother too early. I think it's the only way he/she know how to show his/her affectionate toward you.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 13 2014, 04:00 PM
kizwan
post Mar 13 2014, 06:45 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Mar 13 2014, 04:04 PM)
Poor fella. I think he really separated from his mother too early. He still small and skinny too. Erm.. do you know why he would meowing while eat? And its like super duper hungry too.
No idea but I do know what you're talking about. Does it sound like "omm nom nom nom" while he is eating? If meow, I found an article about this.

http://pets.thenest.com/cat-talk-eating-12797.html

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 13 2014, 06:47 PM
kizwan
post Mar 14 2014, 05:58 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kids_4ever @ Mar 14 2014, 10:44 AM)
Thanks! But some how it sound just like this video that i found:

Btw guys i really need your advice badly. This kitten that i was talking about in my last post, i been feeding him for almost 1 week now. I realized he depend on me too much for foods. He still small. I might afraid if i continue to fed him everyday, he will not knowing how to find foods by all himself. How if i was outstation and not be able to fed him? How if i was busy? What should i do guys?

But he really cute. Because he was still small so everything seem for him like a toys. Even yesterday he chase over my legs, grab it and play with my legs. So terrible sad that i can't adopt him if not i will just carry him to my house  sad.gif
That sound like "om nom nom nom". You can bring him to vet for checkup. Hopefully nothing wrong, just very hungry.

Cats are natural hunter. However, if you live in town, not much place he can go for hunting.

If you need to go outstation, you can send him to cat boarding hotel or you can ask your neighbour to look after your cat while you gone. Also, you can leave a lot of cat food for him, depending on how long you're outstation.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 14 2014, 05:59 PM
kizwan
post Mar 25 2014, 06:59 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Mar 25 2014, 10:50 AM)
hi cat lover,

i rescued a stray male kitten from the street about 3 months back. i kept it in a cage for afternoon nap, and night time sleeping but i do let it in the house. I noticed each time he's in the house, he becomes very playful and after an hour or so of running around, jumping, he'll go berserk and somehow, we learned, it's his way of telling us he need to pee.

is this normal? do cats pee that often?
besides that, he loves to bite. is there a way to stop him from biting us? we're tried using some of the other methods we found online, but it doesnt seem to work. he's about 6 months old now.

also, what would be a proper food for kitten? i'm feeding him blackwood for kittens for now. not sure if this is sufficient. his poop seems quite hard though... im only afraid he has constipation.
Go get cat litter. This way you don't have to worry when he want to pee. I recommend crystal type cat litter because it works pretty good in covering/eliminating the odour, suitable if placed inside the house.

Buy some toys for your cat. I read that don't give all toys to him at once but give him one by one. For example, for today give him toy A, tomorrow give him toy B & so on.

Blackwood is good cat food. Did you saw your cat frequently strains excessively to poop? Keyword "frequently". If your cat can poop easily, I don't think you need to worry though. I can't tell from "poop seems quite hard". My cats poop seems quite hard too but I don't see them having hard time to poop though. I frequently monitor my cats bowel movements.

Also, from time to time it's normal for cat to have diarrhea. Only if it happen frequently, then you need to worry.

Make sure your cat have access to fresh drinking water at all time.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 25 2014, 07:02 PM
kizwan
post Mar 26 2014, 02:16 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Mar 26 2014, 10:47 AM)
i've another question. is it ok to feed him dry food or should i alternate between dry and wet? any recommendation for wet food? thanks! smile.gif
Both have pros & cons. One of the pros for the dry food is it keep the tooth strong & healthy though. I feeds my cats with both dry (kibbles) & wet food. For wet food, my cats favourite is Friskies Ocean Fish & Mackerel. The reason why I like to buy them because it contain more fish per can than any other brand available here & not many choices here though. Once a day, usually around 7 p.m. I'll give them a mixture of wet & dry food, just mixed them together. My cats love it very much. I give them only the dry food in the morning.

Not a lot of choices here where I live though. I can't really recommend you any brands. Friskies wet/canned food look ok to me. I think you can't go wrong with any wet food though.

kizwan
post Mar 26 2014, 11:32 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Mar 26 2014, 04:03 PM)
Hi all, anyone using Smartsift here?

Can I use OKO Plus cat litter with Smartsift?
I'm using Smartsift but with regular clumping litter.

Thanks demolationz. I was thinking trying OKO Plus with Smartsift but from your experience, I'll just forget about it.

Local pet shop going to bring in crystal cat litter. I'll be using that for my outdoor cats (locked them in the house at night).

I have two Smartsift & they're really worth it. thumbup.gif
kizwan
post Apr 19 2014, 03:23 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Apr 18 2014, 10:10 AM)
hi all...

i just found an abandoned kitten and i need all your help in helping me with it...

[attachmentid=3935735]

i think its a she and she's about 1 month old (i think). walks a little bit wobbly but energetic...

now my headache is... basically her food, and litter issues.. my biggest concern is i'm on a very limited budget...

thanks for your advice...
For litter, you can train her to use the toilet.

If you want to buy cat litter, for one cat, one bag of cat litter can last one month or more. Regular clumping cat litter cost around RM15 to RM20 (10L - lasted at least one month for one cat). Pine wood & charcoal cost around RM30 to RM40 (9kg - lasted up to 3 months or more for one cat). Crystal cat litter cost around RM35 (1.5kg - lasted one month for one cat). Crystal cat litter is the best in controlling the odour, regular clumping litter come second. The pine wood is very economical but odour control a bit poor than the other two. It still make the poop less smelly though. I have not yet try charcoal but I heard it is better than pine wood & it's economical like pine wood.

If you have limited budget, you don't need to buy expensive cat food. But since you only have one cat, you only need to spent little money for your cat every month. If your cat is really is she, spaying your cat is good idea since you have limited budget.

BTW, she is very cute. biggrin.gif

This is Comel, my Maine Coon look alike cat. The mother is Siamese & the father is regular cat. This is my second DHL cat I have so far & I believe the father cat carry the genes or something. She like to *sit* like that. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Apr 19 2014, 03:27 PM
kizwan
post Apr 22 2014, 12:00 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Apr 21 2014, 10:07 AM)
so apparently, my cat is going through teething process. poor fella has been down for the past few days.. i'm still worried.

on a side note, i'm not very happy with the service i got from this vet. brought my kitten in cos i thought he's having fever. she just gave a vitamin booster jab and some protein pills to increase appetite. (because my cat has completed vaccination recently) i feel as an experience vet, you should have known that my kitten maybe going thru teething phase.

i found out myself when i found his feline tooth fall off when i was playing with him and his gums are slightly inflamed. i plan to bring him to another vet tomorrow.

never knew cats go thru this phase. i learn something new everyday biggrin.gif
I never know about this too. I already taken care many kittens though. laugh.gif

My cats & my tenant's cats just got better from flu. One of my tenant's kitten (1 - 2 months old) doesn't survived unfortunately. I managed to get his appetite back 3 days before he died. For the 3 days, he finished eating one can of wet food. I don't know what's wrong. He was getting better but suddenly unable to walk, weaken & died in just a couple of hours.
kizwan
post Apr 24 2014, 02:08 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Apr 23 2014, 10:25 AM)
so apparently, i was wrong. my cat has severe gingivitis. that explains the wobbly tooth and bad breath.

sigh...

and it seems gingivitis in cats can lead to more chronic disease.
double sigh...

i did some research online, it seems, one of the culprit to gingivitis for stray cats is kibbles. i've been feeding him Blackwood for kitten since the day he was rescued. never knew premium food could cause this problem.

i guess i have to switch to wet food for now..maybe forever.

poor fella in pain. doesnt want to play or move about
Did you bring your cat to vet yet? I read wet & dry (kibbles) food have pros & cons of course. The kibbles supposedly good for teeth.

I hope your cat get better soon. sad.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Apr 24 2014, 02:09 AM
kizwan
post May 6 2014, 02:04 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ May 1 2014, 12:13 AM)
hey guys, just got a new kitten here.
how to train 1+ month old cat from clawing and biting you?
Good luck with that. biggrin.gif He/she will calm down when he/she get older. You can try spray water to your kitten. Maybe buy some toy for your kitten. Your kitten just want to play with you. Some kitten/cats can a bit aggressive than the other. Can you afford another kitten? So he/she have partner to play. I remember my kitten was very happy when I introduced her another kitten. I can hear her non-stop purring. biggrin.gif It does take some time (not long though) for the other kitten to get along with her.

QUOTE(LuQEE @ May 6 2014, 12:19 PM)
my loooooooooooooooong cat  rolleyes.gif

Cute cat! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: May 6 2014, 02:05 PM

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0647sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:06 PM