Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

smokymcpot
post Apr 24 2012, 07:53 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Apr 24 2012, 07:38 PM)
1. WhatsApp have. Viber coming soon. Skype have, but currently no background-services. Means cannot receive calls/text when the app is not running. Since Microsoft bought Skype, it's only a matter of time before this functionality arrives, and it will definitely be more awesome than the ones in Android/iOS.

2. Niche apps are still quite limited, for example like a Maybank or GSC app. Though popular apps are mostly there, like FB, WhatsApp etc.

Notification system really needs improvements.

Multitasking can be managed better.

Other than that, WP7 is just awesome. You will just be wowed by the design, both Nokia's hardware design and the buttery-smooth Metro UI is just... artistic. You don't look like a kid playing with silly icons. (Ha! Android and iOS users)
Must you pay for whatsapp and skype? How much is it? yawn.gif Notifications should be better? In what way? You won't get notified when someone tweets to you and writes on your fb wall etc. ?
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 08:10 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Mine show expire 2023 on whatsapp. Skype is free

It will notify inside the tile itself like 2 new message and etc
smokymcpot
post Apr 24 2012, 08:25 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 24 2012, 08:10 PM)
Mine show expire 2023 on whatsapp. Skype is free

It will notify inside the tile itself like 2 new message and etc
So whatsapp is free too huh? tongue.gif Another reason to get the 900. Any dissappointments or things you don't like about this phone?
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 09:10 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Everything is perfect except no mass storage, no ad hoc wifi, no Internet sharing, limited apps, must use Zune for music snd video transfer, no fm transmitter, no NFC, no Bluetooth file transfer, no SMS draft,
smokymcpot
post Apr 24 2012, 09:54 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 24 2012, 09:10 PM)
Everything is perfect except no mass storage, no ad hoc wifi, no Internet sharing, limited apps, must use Zune for music snd video transfer, no fm transmitter, no NFC, no Bluetooth file transfer, no SMS draft,
Ohh, that's alot of imperfections tongue.gif Haha. No SMS draft. sad.gif What I'm worried is the apps. sad.gif I just want the few key apps like whatsapp, viber and Skype and a little games that's all. Do you think the 900 will satisfy me? smile.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 10:02 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Apr 24 2012, 09:54 PM)
Ohh, that's alot of imperfections tongue.gif Haha. No SMS draft. sad.gif What I'm worried is the apps. sad.gif I just want the few key apps like whatsapp, viber and Skype and a little games that's all. Do you think the 900 will satisfy me? smile.gif
Apps are limited but there alot as well but not as much as android and iOS.

Heard viber is coming to Wp7 do not know when. If you are into social networking yes u will love it. Like me i prefer WP7 actually but if they can include all those i said would be better

Skype just announce an official app for WP7

lets wait for viber

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 24 2012, 10:04 PM
smokymcpot
post Apr 24 2012, 10:12 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:02 PM)
Apps are limited but there alot as well but not as much as android and iOS.

Heard viber is coming to Wp7 do not know when. If you are into social networking yes u will love it. Like me i prefer WP7 actually but if they can include all those i said would be better

Skype just announce an official app for WP7

lets wait for viber
You still haven't answered me whether is whatsapp and Skype is free tongue.gif And games like angry birds whether it's free. tongue.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 10:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Most stuff on Wp7 are free to try.

Whatsapp suppose have to pay but mine show expiry 2023 some when reach due it will extend so really free i also do not know. Skype is free
smokymcpot
post Apr 24 2012, 10:20 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:13 PM)
Most stuff on Wp7 are free to try.

Whatsapp suppose have to pay but mine show expiry 2023 some when reach due it will extend so really free i also do not know. Skype is free
Oh okaaay. That sounds awesome smile.gif Now I'm so tempted to get the Lumia 900 tongue.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 10:23 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Apr 24 2012, 10:20 PM)
Oh okaaay. That sounds awesome smile.gif Now I'm so tempted to get the Lumia 900 tongue.gif
From the specification Nokia Lumia 900 share the same camera as Nokia Lumia 800. Here again the photo samples taken by Nokia Lumia 800
http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...9608885/detail/
troy13th
post Apr 24 2012, 10:40 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:23 PM)
From the specification Nokia Lumia 900 share the same camera as Nokia Lumia 800. Here again the photo samples taken by Nokia Lumia 800
http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...9608885/detail/
aspire, how do took those photos?
mine always turn out failed sweat.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 24 2012, 10:51 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(troy13th @ Apr 24 2012, 10:40 PM)
aspire, how do took those photos?
mine always turn out failed sweat.gif
can U show me what U mean turn out failed?
amiranna
post Apr 25 2012, 10:15 AM

699 posts

ok, here is my problem with my lumia 800,

Having difficulty to connect to my Live ID with data (3G) (but no problem with my wifi connection at home). so bec of this, my marketplace, xbox live, bing search affected.

my whatapps, IM also having difficulty to connect when i using data (3G).

i'm using digi plan. if using my home wifi, no problem at all.

one more thing, i cannot control my game volume..

So anyone can help me?

This post has been edited by amiranna: Apr 25 2012, 10:19 AM
Andy214
post Apr 25 2012, 11:37 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(amiranna @ Apr 25 2012, 10:15 AM)
ok, here is my problem with my lumia 800,

Having difficulty to connect to my Live ID with data (3G) (but no problem with my wifi connection at home). so bec of this, my marketplace, xbox live, bing search affected.

my whatapps, IM also having difficulty to connect when i using data (3G).

i'm using digi plan. if using my home wifi, no problem at all.

one more thing, i cannot control my game volume..

So anyone can help me?
Did you use Network Setup app?
It's mentioned that there is wrong values for DiGi. Unless you can modify it, if not you need to reset your phone and don't use that app.
Not sure if there's update of the app which resolve this problem or not.

minghao
post Apr 26 2012, 12:10 AM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

Guys,I have a very short battery life on my new baby lumia?Is it normal?It drains out really fast,85% after 2 hours taken out from charger with some activities like social network and wifi.
aspire2oo6
post Apr 26 2012, 12:12 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Apr 26 2012, 12:10 AM)
Guys,I have a very short battery life on my new baby lumia?Is it normal?It drains out really fast,85% after 2 hours taken out from charger with some activities like social network and wifi.
if u are not on firmware 12070 yes battery tend to drain more

if u are on 3G yes the battery tend to drain faster
zidane28
post Apr 26 2012, 09:49 AM

295 posts

Battery life should be improved with the latest firmware update, so make sure to check your phone though Zune desktop whether you have any update for your phone or not...

Of course it is solely depends on your usage of your phone, for example if you open 3G/WIFI a lot sure it will drain very fast, which same goes to other smartphone...

Added on April 26, 2012, 9:53 am
QUOTE(x.z @ Apr 24 2012, 02:30 AM)
Haha same case faced here. That's why I ditched the 800 already. Wanna check credit also susah.
For me before I switch to UMobile for data plan, my prepaid celcom can check credit just fine...But of coz once I switch to UMobile, *118# can't be use anymore...

But not that I really care since I can use internet to check my postpaid stuff

This post has been edited by zidane28: Apr 26 2012, 09:53 AM
marcus20125
post Apr 26 2012, 10:12 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Apr 24 2012, 10:12 PM)
You still haven't answered me whether is whatsapp and Skype is free tongue.gif And games like angry birds whether it's free. tongue.gif
Viber is available within this week or next week

Angry Bird/Fruit Ninja available @ $0.99

zidane28
post Apr 26 2012, 10:29 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(mmuzzakir @ Apr 21 2012, 10:11 PM)
hi everybody, my father want to buy this phone, so he ask me about pros and cons about lumina 800. can anybody help me to point those for me? smile.gif

btw, i not windows phone user so i dont know anything about it, but from my observation, lumina, seriously a beautiful phone.

thanks wink.gif
Cons?
1. No bluetooth file transfer. File trnasfer can only be done though a software called Zune.
2. No Front Facing Camera for this baby.
3. No USSD support at this monemt. Means you can't *118#. But celcom is ok though coz *124# is working.
4. Not as many apps as iOS but that is due to developers still didn't see the potential of Windows Phone...
5. Non-Replaceable battery.
6. No extra memory support means no microSD support.

Pros?
1. Easy to use and elegant interface.
2. Fast and fluid. Very little lag you will see unlike Android. You will the very different if you migrate from old Symbian phone.
3. Even though not as many apps as iOS and Android, but seriously how many you will use? With about 10k of apps in the marketplace, your dad will still have a lot to choose~
4. The Gorilla glass is scratch resistance, means basically you don't even need to buy screen protector. But even so plz don go do this resistance testing by scratching the screen with your keys...
5. Polycarbonate cover. The color is for the whole body. Means even if you scratch the body, the color will be the same.
6. Different from others. When you show this phone among all the other flooding IPhone and Androids, even they will be amaze by the design and beauty of this phone.
7. Ya...I know...No extra memory and only 13GB of storage (3GB is use for the OS itself) but hey, you have 7GB of free storage on skydrive that come free with Hotmail ID. And frankly, how many songs and picture you need to put inside a phone?
8. Social integration. Facebook, Twitter and Linkdln are built in with Windows Phone. You can straight away update your FB status, check What's New and notification, send photo straight away to FB, Twitter and email.
9. Built-in Office. Means you can edit pr view your doc on the go...For free!
10. Free Nokia Maps and Drive. Means free GPS, no need buy Garmin already~

But seriously, if your dad can wait, why not wait for Lumia 900? It has Front Facing Camera and bigger screen~

Will be launch in few months if I'm not mistaken...Maybe got promotion like free things as well. If you buy now like not worth it leh~

This post has been edited by zidane28: Apr 26 2012, 10:34 AM
Kyoyagami
post Apr 26 2012, 10:39 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

The real problem is actually waiting until when. laugh.gif

142 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top