Please use this coupon (20% off for 500MB package above)
lyn
Internet Paid Web Hosting & Domain Registration Thread
May 2 2007, 12:35 AM
2,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Please use this coupon (20% off for 500MB package above) lyn |
May 4 2007, 11:58 PM
2,480 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
OK, here are some hosting companies that I have had experience with. I keep track or bookmark their uptime performance. Just to help fellow web customers in LYN to choose
Serverfreak.biz - right now have 500MB hosting with them, and have used them for smaller hosting space before. http://www.siteuptime.com/statistics.php?I...5&&UserId=12364 pixcle.com - have 1GB hosting with them, also have purchased a few other smaller hosting these past 2-3 years http://www.siteuptime.com/statistics.php?I...2&&UserId=14621 lrehosting.com - surprisingly cheap, surprisingly good. currently hosting 50MB (small package) with them http://fmh.alertra.com/fmhuptime/?id1=125294 realsimplehost.com - very cheap, "unlimited web space" as long as you follow the rules, but decided not to continue due to some "error" with file uploading, quite confusing, but as you can see, the uptime record is good.. http://host-tracker.com/uptime-statistics/248940-248941 planet3host.com - currently using small hosting of 30MB, very cheap http://host-tracker.com/website-uptime-stats/259772 anjungcafehosting - cheap, using 50MB hosting, downtime is acceptable lah, since used it for my smallest site http://host-tracker.com/website-uptime-stats/259780 cynetstudio - got 100MB hosting with them, thus far, still maintain 100% since i signed up a few months ago.. the uptime stats below is for my website hosted by cynetstudio since i did not track their uptime from day one.. http://host-tracker.com/website-uptime-stats/259329 |
May 5 2007, 12:01 AM
Well, we having slightly some downtime on February due to physical migration of datacenter to new datacenter.
May 5 2007, 12:43 AM
really sam? otherwise would have been perfect 100% eh? no problem, 99.9% uptime is VERY good..
May 5 2007, 12:50 AM
Yeah.
May 5 2007, 07:58 PM
26 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Im in ur house. Doing nothing. |
QUOTE(sampride @ May 2 2007, 12:35 AM) Hi, just want to know. Are your server located here in Malaysia? Coz i'm getting sick of slow transfer/surf speed when i subscribe to some 'malaysian' web hosting, and found out my server is located overseas (mostly at US). When it's hosted locally, the speed should be more reliable right..? I don't care about people from outside of malaysia, mostly my content is for locals. Unless I'm having a wrong idea about all this though.. |
May 5 2007, 08:02 PM
Yes, we have servers at Netmyne(Shared Hosting) and AIMS(Dedicated Servers).
May 13 2007, 04:24 AM
282 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
anyone use services from Hive? i paid for the domain but there's no respond...
May 13 2007, 10:08 AM
401 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
What do you guys think of Lunarpages.com?
May 13 2007, 01:15 PM
1,411 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Batu Pahat |
hive working office hours. i think sat & sunday is off day. good luck.
the good thing is hive ask very simple questions for domain registration. |
May 13 2007, 06:59 PM
820 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
May 14 2007, 01:15 AM
375 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
What do you recommend then?
Hehe |
May 20 2007, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(my44 @ May 4 2007, 11:58 PM) pixcle.com - have 1GB hosting with them, also have purchased a few other smaller hosting these past 2-3 years I was previously impressed with pixcle.com until today, I noticed that my website hosted with them were down for 11 hours! No wonder I saw my web visitor stats plunged heavily.http://www.siteuptime.com/statistics.php?I...2&&UserId=14621 If the pixcle.com guy reads this thread anymore, please explain how such massive downtime can occur? Note: this is not the first time it is happening. Last time, their excuse was "network card" had problem and resulted in about 12 hrs downtime! Things like this will seriously make me think twice about continuing with pixcle.com. Just my 2 cents... |
May 20 2007, 07:40 PM
1,215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(my44 @ May 20 2007, 07:34 PM) I was previously impressed with pixcle.com until today, I noticed that my website hosted with them were down for 11 hours! No wonder I saw my web visitor stats plunged heavily. Sorry to hear your bad experience with them.If the pixcle.com guy reads this thread anymore, please explain how such massive downtime can occur? Note: this is not the first time it is happening. Last time, their excuse was "network card" had problem and resulted in about 12 hrs downtime! Things like this will seriously make me think twice about continuing with pixcle.com. Just my 2 cents... Have you tried contacting them to find out more information? Thanks. |
May 20 2007, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(michaelfoo @ May 20 2007, 07:40 PM) Sorry to hear your bad experience with them. Have you tried contacting them to find out more information? Thanks. Hi Michael Thanks for your concern. The website is up now after 11 hrs downtime. Hence, I do not see the urgent need to call them. Having said that, during the last massive downtime back in 2006, I in fact tried to call and SMS all the numbers in their website, but to no avail. Only when the dust had settled that they sent a generic non-personalised email regarding "one of their network cards" had problem. Even that was a dodgy excuse since how on earth that one card failure can affect the whole darn network? Perhaps they indeed just use one network card and pray nothing will happen. And I also got the owner's excuse why he couldn't answer my phone call. Apparently he was "outstationed" in Brunei and could not receive calls from Malaysia. Saving a few pennies I guess. |
May 20 2007, 08:02 PM
60 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: www.eimir.com |
I currently hosting with HIVE. Contact Albert Lai directly at 012.881.8810 for sales and support.
May 20 2007, 08:11 PM
These were the posts I wrote last Dec 2006 regarding the 16-hour downtime occured with pixcle.com
QUOTE(my44 @ Dec 8 2006, 08:50 AM) I have 2.5GB server with pixcle.com and tonnes of pages. They went down since last night and I lost quite a lot of Google Adsense income (estimated about US$12 this morning and growing since the sites still not back up yet!). I have the contact number of Amos Dong, the owner of pixcle.com but the phone was not picked up. I noticed they are based in Bandar Baru Nilai (suspecting these are operated by students?) QUOTE(my44 @ Dec 9 2006, 12:36 AM) pixcle already explained what happened for that 16-hour downtime (that's VERY long for me!). One of their network cards was damaged, so the whole network was "down". Quite interesting story because how come you only have one "Gigabit Network Card" for your whole operations? If indeed they only have one network card to rely on, suppose another maloperation happens again, then server downtime will occur again. I'm seriously thinking of switching hosting (yet again! yes, I keep falling for these Malaysian hosting companies who claim to have Singapore internet exchange for reliability). Added on May 21, 2007, 7:46 pm QUOTE(sampride @ May 5 2007, 08:02 PM) Yes, we have servers at Netmyne(Shared Hosting) and AIMS(Dedicated Servers). Hi sampride, I'm interested to sign up with your Netmyne Cyberjaya hosting (IP: 202.71.103.138). I'm sick of pixcle.com. How do I specify that I want my website to be hosted at Netmyne? Regards This post has been edited by my44: May 21 2007, 07:46 PM |
May 28 2007, 12:30 PM
3,160 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KLANG! |
ok my company is doing cctv system, we wish to provide services like dyndns with our own server, nothing fancy juz a normal redirecting service with a address to log in.
will need good bandwith n no down time if posible. guys plz pm ur proposal and pricing details |
May 28 2007, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(my44 @ May 20 2007, 08:11 PM) These were the posts I wrote last Dec 2006 regarding the 16-hour downtime occured with pixcle.com Hi, just stated at the comment field during your signup that you want your hosting to be located at Netmyne.Added on May 21, 2007, 7:46 pm Hi sampride, I'm interested to sign up with your Netmyne Cyberjaya hosting (IP: 202.71.103.138). I'm sick of pixcle.com. How do I specify that I want my website to be hosted at Netmyne? Regards Thank you. |
May 28 2007, 05:24 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec