7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Glaucoma ( 青光眼 ), Need help !

TSwacrop
post Oct 23 2011, 09:22 PM, updated 4y ago

50 posts

My father go government's hospital for eye screening , doctor tell him got glaucoma.
I want to bring him to private eye specialist center for another screening.

Government's hospital dint give any report just told my father got glaucoma and very hard to recover.

I don't know how much it cost . anyone suggest any eye specialist doctor in glaucoma ?

May i know ISEC (http://www.isecmalaysia.com/locate_us.htm) good or not ? can someone list out the price range, i know there is few type of glaucoma . my father not good in Malay and English , so he don't know what type it is.
Government doctor just told him glaucoma may be he miss out something .

Normally how much for eye test ?

Appreciate for any suggestion .

This post has been edited by wacrop: Oct 23 2011, 09:37 PM
dkk
post Oct 23 2011, 11:10 PM

11,400 posts

If you read the wikipedia article on glaucoma, you'll see this.

...Glaucoma has been nicknamed the "silent thief of sight" because the loss of vision normally occurs gradually over a long period of time, and is often only recognized when the disease is quite advanced. Once lost, this damaged visual field cannot be recovered...

But you can stop further vision loss with treatment. If it's associated with high intra-occular pressure, the usual treatment is eyedrops. And if that does not help, only then surgery. Most competent specialists should be able to treat it. You don't need any especially "good" doctor, if the treatment is eyedrops.

What you need to do schedule another appointment quickly and this time, go with him, and hear what the doctor says. Haven't heard of ISEC. Normally I go to USMC.

My mother has high intra-occular pressure, and is on eye drops to reduce the pressure. She visits the doctor every few months. The monitoring shows that the pressure is going down with the medication. Unfortunately, one time, the eye drops ran out. Instead of buying more, she waited for the next appointment. Which was over 2 months away. I only found out when we were standing in front of the doctor. The doctor was wondering why the pressure had increased again. We should have bought the eye drops at a pharmacy, instead of going 2 months plus without.
trencher10
post Oct 24 2011, 10:31 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(wacrop @ Oct 23 2011, 09:22 PM)
My father go government's hospital for eye screening , doctor tell him got glaucoma.
I want to bring him to private eye specialist center for another screening.

Government's hospital dint give any report just told my father got glaucoma and very hard to recover.

I don't know how much it cost . anyone suggest any eye specialist doctor in glaucoma  ?

May i know ISEC (http://www.isecmalaysia.com/locate_us.htm) good or not ? can someone list out the price range, i know there is few type of glaucoma . my father not good in Malay and English , so he don't know what type it is.
Government doctor just told him glaucoma may be he miss out something .

Normally how much for eye test ?

Appreciate for any suggestion .
This is sometimes why doctors should give patients written/dictated letters (I've normally seen this done) for easier recall. Anyway, Tun Hussein Onn National Eye Hospital is a better option for a second opinion+comprehensive diagnosis/explanation.
stimix
post Dec 30 2011, 06:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I spent the whole day Today from morning ~ 10pm till 4:30pm to conduct atleast 4 testing at ussein onn Hospital..almost 90% confirmed glaucoma & I was shocked just now when I was told my bill comes to RM345!!

RM60 consultation, RM10 reg fee, RM120 for glaucoma test, RM5 for visual test & RM150 for Cornea test.....walao ehhh and I thought they are semi0govt...furthermore those test are noted as subsidized. If 100% private, even worst. Tomorrow another appointment to reconfirm my galucoma status. and thereafter permanent long term treatment...haizzz....old liao
billytattertons
post Dec 30 2011, 08:20 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 30 2011, 06:30 PM)
I spent the whole day Today from morning ~ 10pm till 4:30pm to conduct atleast 4 testing at ussein onn Hospital..almost 90% confirmed glaucoma & I was shocked just now when I was told my bill comes to RM345!!

RM60 consultation, RM10 reg fee, RM120 for glaucoma test, RM5 for visual test & RM150 for Cornea test.....walao ehhh and I thought they are semi0govt...furthermore those test are noted as subsidized. If 100% private, even worst. Tomorrow another appointment to reconfirm my galucoma status. and thereafter permanent long term treatment...haizzz....old liao
the medical bill nowadays is increasing so fast. plus they are charging for every single chargeable thing in semi-gov/private hospital. sad.gif
maxximus
post Dec 30 2011, 08:45 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 30 2011, 06:30 PM)

Hi stimix, sorry to hear that and thank for sharing with us the info. Btw, mind to share what make you to go for the test for glaucoma?

tjinn
post Dec 30 2011, 10:58 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Oct 23 2011, 11:10 PM)
If you read the wikipedia article on glaucoma, you'll see this.
But you can stop further vision loss with treatment. If it's associated with high intra-occular pressure, the usual treatment is eyedrops. And if that does not help, only then surgery.
Most competent specialists should be able to treat it. You don't need any especially "good" doctor, if the treatment is eyedrops.

Unfortunately. The mainstay of the treatment isnt just eye drops. Your mum probably has a narrow iridocorneal angle. So whenever her pupils dilate. Eg; in a darkroom. She gets pain in her eyes due to the closure of the angle. Cause if the angle is closed. The aqueos will continue to accumulate in the main chamber of the eye. This causes the rise in the pressure. Wht those eye drops do is. It widens the angle or it increases outflow of the aques through another route to decrease the pressure. So in time, the pressure will always rise. You have to do a laser iridotomy. Its a painless opd procedure. It creates a little door in ur iris to help the aqeuos flow out.

Added on December 30, 2011, 11:13 pmsorry fr my reply to a comment over 2 mnths ago. On my cell. Dind't know it was an old thread. All the best with your treatment stimix

This post has been edited by tjinn: Dec 30 2011, 11:13 PM
stimix
post Dec 30 2011, 11:19 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, I'm a diabetic since young and for the past 2 yrs, my eye sight always blur whenever sleepy or even waking up from bed. Furthermore I'm coming to mid 40s already. sad.gif

QUOTE(maxximus @ Dec 30 2011, 08:45 PM)
Hi stimix, sorry to hear that and thank for sharing with us the info.  Btw, mind to share what make you to go for the test for glaucoma?
tjinn
post Dec 30 2011, 11:34 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 30 2011, 11:19 PM)
Well, I'm a diabetic since young and for the past 2 yrs, my eye sight always blur whenever sleepy or even waking up from bed. Furthermore I'm coming to mid 40s already.  sad.gif
It could be diabetic retinopathy as well. And just as an added note for future references. There isnt a link between diabetes and glaucoma.
maxximus
post Dec 30 2011, 11:34 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 30 2011, 11:19 PM)
Well, I'm a diabetic since young and for the past 2 yrs, my eye sight always blur whenever sleepy or even waking up from bed. Furthermore I'm coming to mid 40s already.  sad.gif
Thanks again smile.gif

btw, pls do update us on the treatment for glaucoma, is the purpose of the treatment to slow down, stop (getting worsen) or to cure glaucoma?

btw, hope to hear good news from you...

take care
birain
post Dec 31 2011, 07:44 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

eye drop(for glocoma) and vitamin B(forgot which number), to delay from getting worse, this cannot cure.

RM450 above and follow up check will cost more(private clinic)
stimix
post Dec 31 2011, 08:33 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes at 1st I was referred to Retinopathy Doc but after few test, he told me mine is not diabetic retinopathy bcos high preesure of >26. according to him normal is from 10 to 22. So i was referred to Glaucoma doc. She almost confirmed me suffering glaucoma dy except 1 test this Morning..Going soon
QUOTE(tjinn @ Dec 30 2011, 11:34 PM)
It could be diabetic retinopathy as well. And just as an added note for future references. There isnt a link between diabetes and glaucoma.
tjinn
post Dec 31 2011, 09:47 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 31 2011, 08:33 AM)
Yes at 1st I was referred to Retinopathy Doc but after few test, he told me mine is not diabetic retinopathy bcos high preesure of >26. according to him normal is from 10 to 22. So i was referred to Glaucoma doc. She almost confirmed me suffering glaucoma dy except 1 test this Morning..Going soon
Well its a good thing then. Glaucoma progress in stages and cn exacerbate at anytime. Its a good thing u detected it early. But do go for regular check ups with the opthalmologist. As a diabetic patient the risk for developing diabetic retinopathy increases with each passing year. In the early stages the only symptom would be narrowing of ur visual field which usually go unnoticed by most people. By the time the floaters set in might be too late. So gotta take good care of the eyes.

Added on December 31, 2011, 9:54 am
QUOTE(birain @ Dec 31 2011, 07:44 AM)
eye drop(for glocoma) and vitamin B(forgot which number), to delay from getting worse, this cannot cure.

RM450 above and follow up check will cost more(private clinic)
Dnt think they give vitamin b fr glaucoma.. However they do prescribe beta blocker eye drops fr tht.

This post has been edited by tjinn: Dec 31 2011, 09:54 AM
stimix
post Dec 31 2011, 04:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK. This morning Doc conducted last test i.e Visual Field test..not an easy test..have to press a button and clicking my eye everytime seeing white light.chasing after white lights haha..That test cost me RM60 + another RM50 for consultation. Still not conclusive bcos Doc told me mine case very suspecious but for sure begining stage of Glaucoma. She wanted to conduct another round of visual field test nxt round but i decided to go ahead wth the glaucoma treatment. I was prescribed Travatan eye drop. for RM80/bottle..pheww lucky no need RM450 as qouted earlier sweat.gif ..So total damage for Yesterday & Today test + medication = RM545...Not cheap man.. cry.gif Dun think can claim co sumore cry.gif

She ask me to do a CT scan on my brain incase my glaucoma might resulted from tumor...adoiiii cry.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 31 2011, 04:14 PM
stimix
post Feb 1 2012, 10:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

After a month using Travatan eye drop, My latest eye pressure dropped from 26 to 17. Also no more blur vision when I wake up or during late night rclxms.gif but the side effect of the drug is still there i.e my eye still abit red whole day, feeling of dryness and something stuck on the eye..like sand/etc.. sad.gif
So far eyelid not dark yet & eyelashes also not growing longer haha
ngohieng
post Feb 2 2012, 05:19 PM

141 posts

Travatan is a good drug. Just that it's commonly associated with redness and dry eyes. Same for other prostaglandin analoge. The increase in pigmentation and length of ur lashes will come much later (years later)

If the redness/ conjunctival injection is unbearable, just let the Dr know. She'll change to another prostaglandin analog like xalatan or lumigan. I guess u r seeing Linda since she's the only glaucoma specialist in tun hussein onn?
stimix
post Feb 10 2012, 02:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeap Dr Linda haha. but lately the blur vision started again..esp ~ late Evening. dunno why
stimix
post Feb 25 2013, 05:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

SInce the last posting last Feb, my Doctor already changed my medication from Travatan to Lumigen in Mar 2012 since I complain about red eye. Thereafter my pressure was ~ 18-19 and by the nxt appointment 6 mth later ~ Sep 2012. Lumigen was like Travatan and most of the time still red eyes and result after 6mths still no good.. still 18-20.

By this time, Doc decided to change again to Xalatan...boy this is one of the most comfortable & well torelated drug for me BUT - the reading getting worse after my Nov appointment. now reading ~ 23-24. So by now, She added Trimotol XE as Morning drop & Xalatan ..I met my Doctor again last week and bad news.. Xalatan failed me - pressure still ~ 20-21 although adding trimotol.

So she now prescribed me to Travatan again since I got the best result using Travatan....see how the result during my Apr appoinment cry.gif
stimix
post Apr 7 2013, 05:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Another visit to my Doc Yesterday.. Bad result - eyes pressure now stood at 23!! So she stopped me on Trimotol but prescribed me COSOPT twice a day + the usual Travatn....sad day... cry.gif ...Lucky my OCT & Visual field test showing no further deterioration and maintained the same level as last year..phewww...

BTW, Gen-X , On your other thread and also your blog, interested to know how's your glaucoma now. If I can recall you was also on Travtan +Cosopt and that brought your pressure to 13? notworthy.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 7 2013, 05:21 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 7 2013, 07:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 7 2013, 05:21 PM)
Another visit to my Doc Yesterday.. Bad result - eyes pressure now stood at 23!! So she stopped me on Trimotol but prescribed me COSOPT twice a day + the usual Travatn....sad day...  cry.gif ...Lucky my OCT & Visual field test showing no further deterioration and maintained the same level as last year..phewww...

BTW, Gen-X , On your other thread and also your blog, interested to know how's your glaucoma now. If I can recall you was also on Travtan +Cosopt and that brought your pressure to 13?  notworthy.gif  shocking.gif
Wah, so cool man, how come I get shown reply message in this thread when I did not even know this thread exist? Now I know I can call for other member by using nickname smile.gif

By the way, in my article titled Glaucoma Operation Singapore, I did mention I was prescribed Lumigan + Cosopt by my SG doc after Travatan failed.

I am pleased to inform that my pressure has been hovering around 13-17 for 2 years now.... and the odd thing is, my gorgeous SG Doc said there is an "improvement" to my left eye which I do not really know what she meant and did not bother to ask. Every 6 months in addition to visual field test, the SG doctor also scan both my eye's nerves. Since mid last year I have been visiting my SG doc every 6 months as my pressure has been constant.

And the best thing is I am still go to the KL doctor just to check my eye's pressure in between my trips to SG, and everytime he's surprised that the pressure remains relatively constant laugh.gif He has no idea I am on Lumigan. It is like as if he know my pressure will increase if I stayed with Travatan.

Bro, do you go outside often exposed to the sun? I believe in addition to Lumigan+Cospot, my pressure has remained constant because I no longer spend hours in the sun and change my lifestyle by doing nothing much except eat shit and sleep.

Do you believe in Chinese Medicine? If you do try out "Ho Ti Cho - porcupine stone". Try it once and see if it makes any diff to you BUT do not take it often.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 7 2013, 07:20 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:30 PM