Gen-X
post Apr 7 2013, 07:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 7 2013, 05:21 PM)
Another visit to my Doc Yesterday.. Bad result - eyes pressure now stood at 23!! So she stopped me on Trimotol but prescribed me COSOPT twice a day + the usual Travatn....sad day...  cry.gif ...Lucky my OCT & Visual field test showing no further deterioration and maintained the same level as last year..phewww...

BTW, Gen-X , On your other thread and also your blog, interested to know how's your glaucoma now. If I can recall you was also on Travtan +Cosopt and that brought your pressure to 13?  notworthy.gif  shocking.gif
Wah, so cool man, how come I get shown reply message in this thread when I did not even know this thread exist? Now I know I can call for other member by using nickname smile.gif

By the way, in my article titled Glaucoma Operation Singapore, I did mention I was prescribed Lumigan + Cosopt by my SG doc after Travatan failed.

I am pleased to inform that my pressure has been hovering around 13-17 for 2 years now.... and the odd thing is, my gorgeous SG Doc said there is an "improvement" to my left eye which I do not really know what she meant and did not bother to ask. Every 6 months in addition to visual field test, the SG doctor also scan both my eye's nerves. Since mid last year I have been visiting my SG doc every 6 months as my pressure has been constant.

And the best thing is I am still go to the KL doctor just to check my eye's pressure in between my trips to SG, and everytime he's surprised that the pressure remains relatively constant laugh.gif He has no idea I am on Lumigan. It is like as if he know my pressure will increase if I stayed with Travatan.

Bro, do you go outside often exposed to the sun? I believe in addition to Lumigan+Cospot, my pressure has remained constant because I no longer spend hours in the sun and change my lifestyle by doing nothing much except eat shit and sleep.

Do you believe in Chinese Medicine? If you do try out "Ho Ti Cho - porcupine stone". Try it once and see if it makes any diff to you BUT do not take it often.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 7 2013, 07:20 PM
Gen-X
post Apr 8 2013, 04:18 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 7 2013, 08:37 PM)
Haha. New function started not too long ago. Btw,i was on lumigen b4 but without any combination drug and result not so )good till the doc put me on xalatan. Now  bck to travatan and new  cosopt. This morning was my 1st wth cosopt and 1 thing i find diff is the crystalclear feeling after applying cosopt. On other drug, for the 1st 1/2 hr, i feel vision blur instead of clear.. Something new here and i hope this will bring better result when i meet my doc nxt mth
Hmnnn p isaw the porcupine ball in one chinese herb store b4 but dunno what for haha. Btw, other than glaucoma are you a diesbetic?
I am not diabetic yet....... possibility high as both my parents are.

As for the porcupine ball, you no need buy the whole ball (which cost a bomb) but you can buy in a small pack for a few hundred Ringgit. It's a miracle medicine sweat.gif But more importantly is that you must be able to trust the person selling it as there are fakes around.
Gen-X
post Dec 12 2013, 11:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cocolala @ Dec 12 2013, 09:54 PM)
Glad to find you here! I just read your blog about glaucoma before I bumped into this thread. What a coincident.

My dad has glaucoma for a few years and since he was government servant so he goes to government hospital for treatment, USM in Kelantan.

He has had operation done, putting a tube in the eye, but the eye pressure still fluctuates. If i'm not mistaken his eye sights are only 15%/20% now.

A relative intro him to ISEC and that's how i found your blog. I would like to know how much it costs for your treatment in Singapore. Mind to share?
Bro (if sis, please excuse me), ISEC is in KL, SNEC in in Singapore.

As for the cost, just say treatment is Ringgit for Dollars.

Examples:

Consultation is SGD80.

Vision test about RM100 at ISEC (cannot remember the exact amount). In SNEC is about SGD100.

And my Singapore doctor does more tests than ISEC, example, often does another test to see the "nerves" which cost about another SGD100.

Also need to add air fare to the cost. For me, got to add hotel and shopping cost when my wife follow me to SG, haha.

By the way, what is the pressure in your dad's eyes? Fluctuates by how much? Mine also can fluctuate. Reading also depends how good is the doctor is, no kidding. No two doctor will give you the same reading. And my doctor said it also depends on the time of the day.

And she knows I am not keen for operation, and few months back my pressure increased and she recommended laser treatment which I agreed. If you want to know exactly how much then PM me when your dad needs it. And guess what, after the laser,I felt my vision improved slightly and it was reconfirmed that this is indeed the case a month later when I took the vision test - it's a miracle, haha. But, I don't think it will last. BUT, laser is not for everyone as it only last for 6 months to 2 years max. And the doctor told me some people don't even response to laser treatment.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 12 2013, 11:10 PM
Gen-X
post Dec 13 2013, 05:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cocolala @ Dec 13 2013, 05:22 PM)
Previous checkup the pressure is ok. But sometimes increase to 17-20.

His left eye vision is only 10%. First valve failed to function after some time and second valve was implant. I remember one of the ops was done by an expert lady professor in UKM.

He is currently on timolol, trusopt and xalatan eye drops.

I'm thinking maybe he should get a second opinion from other doctor.

U said laser can last 6-24 months. After that need to do again?
Even the valves don't last forever, like you mentioned. All current glaucoma treatments don't last.... that is why they keep adding tubes and I am sure you have read that some even have more than 10 valves!

If you had read my articles, you will note that I said when it comes to operation, get second and even third opinion. But with your dad vision only 10%, I guess he will be fed up going to see too many doctors as they can't improve his vision much.

Click below to read my article where I told of a story where a guy was told he need to go for brain operation and....

http://ringgitwisefool.blogspot.com/2011/0...prosperity.html

Coming back to your dad, when it increase to 17 to 20, does it drop back??? And very important, did the same person took the pressure reading? Like I said , no two persons will give you the same reading. Actually, the same doctor can even have different pressure reading if he/she take it again in 2 minutes. And those machines that shoots air into the eye to get pressure readings are really useless and inaccurate.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 13 2013, 05:37 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 6 2016, 04:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Jan 6 2016, 10:42 AM)
I was getting a bit of eye irritation and itchiness at the inner
bottom corner of my right eye.
So when I was in Sri Hartamas Shopping Center last night, I dropped
by at Optique Eyeworks optometrist on the ground floor, where they
had one of these ''puffer'' machines.

The reading on the right eye came out to .....  20 !

The two optometrists there, however, said this was normal, and
they usually referred their customers to eye specialists only above 25.

It was one of those newer improved models, Reichert 7CR, which
accounted for the cornea's curvature in its computations :

http://www.reichert.com/product_details.cf...kuTk=1035455555
This was the reading :

IOP cc -
Right 20.0, Left 13.8

IOP g -
Right 18.6, Left 15.5
'' IOP cc ''  compensates for the corneal curvature.

'' IOP g '' is the Goldman standard with the older machines, such as
their Reichert 7, or the readings usually done by an opthalmologist.

http://www.reichert.com/product_details.cf...kuTk=1035259555
Now I'm wondering if I should get this checked out at an opthalmologist.
Bro, you stated the one that you tested with is the never model. So, I guess it should be more "accurate" than the older models that I was tested with.

And what qualification the so called 2 optometrists have? Only recommend to go see specialist if reading is 25 and above!!!

FYI, my daughter at age 14, while in Melbourne went to an optometrist (who obtained a Doctor of Optometry from Uni of Melbourne) and had her eyes' pressure tested with the puff machine ( Ramjade - you taught me an easier way to described the machines, haha) and got readings of 24 and the Optometrist was so worried that she insisted that my wife takes my daughter to a specialist and was willing to refer my daughter to one! And when my daughter revisited the optometrist to get another pair of specs a few months later, she reminded my wife to make sure that my daughter go seek an specialist's opinion in respect to her high eyes pressure readings. Of course, my daughter have since then visited a specialist.

Bro, if any family member (auntie or uncle included) of yours have Glaucoma, I strongly recommend that you go a specialist to have your eyes pressure test taken. And if you feel your vision has deteriorated, even slightly, I suggest to go take a vision test too for your records so that in the future you have some reference to check if you vision deteriorates any future.

Seeing a specialist and taking the vision test here in Malaysia is cheap compared to what I pay in SG (afer conversion). But, if you are ever told you need to go for an operation, best you get a second opinion from SG. I have been seeing my SG specialist for 5 years (after being told here by a so called top Glaucoma specialist in KL that I need to go for an operation) and my pressure has maintained and I'm still using the same medication she prescribed to me when I first met her.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 6 2016, 04:04 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 7 2016, 01:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Jan 7 2016, 08:37 AM)
Thanks. I will get it checked out at Dr Harris Loo in Sentosa Medical
Center next week.

I was examined by him a few years ago. If I remember correctly,
I believe he actually measured the IOP in the same eye at about
19 or 20 at that time, but found no problems with my fundus or
retina, or any visual problems, so he said I did not need treatment.

Regarding your daughter who tested 24 on the puffer, what did
the eye specialist find out when she saw him ?

On calling the optometrists at that place today to enquire whether
a reading of 20 was common and normal with their other customers,
they replied correct - many in fact, and they did not have glaucoma !

The surgery which the glaucoma specialist advised you to do -
trabeculotomy - does not last very long, typically 5 years.

My late mum had glaucoma. She had a trabeculotomy done by
Hardeep Singh in Ipoh Road in the early 80s. Results were not
very good and did not last anyway.

Hardeep and Shukri Eye Center was one of the more well-known
eye specialists in Ipoh Road in those days, if you check around.

While waiting for the surgery in his ward, Hardeep gave her
indomethacin, knowing very well she was a gastric ulce patient.
Needless to say, she went into severe gastric pain and complications,
and we nearly had to transfer her to a better equipped hospital
for treatment.

Hardeep's place was just a small ward on the upper floors for
eye surgery.

Common sense would tell anyone, even a layman like me, that
indomethacin would be the last drug you give to a gastric ulcer patient.

Indomethacin must have been the strongest NSAID at that time.
They didn't have COX-2 selective drugs like Celebrex or even
meloxicam in those days.

It's like giving strong steroid eye drops to a glaucoma patient.

(That is why you read so often of iatrogenic deaths being causd
by doctors.)

They didn't have the newer prostaglandin drops which you are likely
on now, nor the newer carbonic anydrase inhibitors like dorzolamide
- all she has was Timoptol and Propine (dipivefrin), a prodrug
of adrenalin.

Before that, one hopeless elderly Singh opthalmologist in Campbell
Road placed her on antique pilocarpine eye drops, which caused spasms
in her eyes.
Basically my daughter is still young and we just have to monitor. I was actually warned that I will have Glaucoma more than 25 years ago by an Optometrist while I was doing my undergraduate in USA. I then returned to KL and went to Husein Onn Eye Center and the doctor told me not too worry... fast forward 20 years, one of my eyes 70% damaged.

Actually my eldest son also has high eyes pressure readings and took him to see my specialist in SG. She said that some people are more tolerant that others, and having reading of 20 and above does not necessarily means one will have Glaucoma. So for the last few years my son have been performing vision tests to monitor.

Yeah, like I said, always get a second opinion. The so called top specialist in Glaucoma here said I needed to go for an operation where as the specialist in SG just changed on of the eye drops (I use 2 types daily) that was prescribed by the KL doctor. With the new eye drop ( that can be bought from any Pharmacy in Malaysia) prescribed by the SG specialist, the pressure in my eyes drop and has been maintaining for the last 5 years. However, FYI, I did do a Laser Treatment by the SG specialist about 2 years ago on my right eye and it only took 5 minutes and within 1/2 hour I can walk to the train station to be on the way to the airport to go catch my flight back to KL. And since my pressure has been stabilizing within 14 to 17 in the last 5 years, and no further deterioration to my vision since the first day I saw her, the SG doctor told me to only visit her every 6 to 8 months!!

The first eye doctor I went to here in Malaysia, worst still, the eye drop he prescribed caused my eyes to turn red and damn freaking sensitive to light. He said it was normal and I will get use to it. And he did not even ask me to go for a vision test... so I had no idea how bad my eyes were damaged!!!

Had to suffer for about 1 year before I finally switch to the so called top Glaucoma Specialist in KL where he changed the eye drop and the suffering stopped; but after about a year he said I got to go for an operation (the pressure in my eyes less than 20)!! I asked him about Laser Treatment and he gave me some excuse that we Asians are not suitable for it!!! I was not going to do any operation and therefore seek another opinion... in SG.

Anyway Bro, since your mum has Glaucoma, just check your eyes every other year and your children's (if you have any) too. Better to be safe than sorry.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 7 2016, 01:40 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 9 2016, 01:19 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Jan 9 2016, 01:11 AM)
Obviously one can't expect miracles, and your optic nerve damage
is already quite old, but have you ever considered homeopathy ?

I do not know If he can treat adult vision loss, but Dr Zuhairni,
well-known and experienced homeopathic doctor in Jalan Gurney,
related to me years ago that he attempted to treat a case of
congenital blindness, one of many he had treated in his practice.

http://zuhairnihomeopathy.com/
Obviously both the physician and the infant's mother did not 
exactly have high hopes in such a difficult condition.

I do not know how long the treatment went, but apparently one day,
the mother was stunned out of her daylights when she realized that
her child could actually SEE.

The overjoyed mother quickly took her baby to show Dr Zuhairni,
probably the happiest woman in the world.

When I met him a few months ago at his daughter's wedding and
asked him again about this case, Dr Zuhairni said that the vision recovery
was not perfect, but the infant managed to regain about 70 to 80 percent
of his sight.
Role of homoeopathy in ophthalmological conditions.

Optic Atrophy 

'' From the usual stand point, this should be an irreversible change.
Please do not ask what is the mechanism of the reversal, but I have
seen considerable clinical improvement in a number of such patients.
The remedies most used are Phosphorus and Tabacum. ''
http://www.ijo.in/article.asp?issn=0301-47...48;aulast=Chand
Bro, if you really free and got nothing to do - click here and read my freaking long article titled - The Secret To Eternal Happiness where I mentioned I do not want to be cured, hahaha.

0.0232sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:40 PM