Glaucoma ( 青光眼 ), Need help !

stimix
post Dec 16 2013, 04:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Latest update: Last check-up Both eyes still ~ 17. No changes even taking supplements - Lutein/Bilberries & even Fish Oil. I have stopped Lutein/bilberries supplement since early this month after realising that it will improve the eyes preasure as what I Doc told me.

My Nxt Appointment will be nxt Mth just b4 CNY. At this moment of time, I have started doing eye masaging using my palm & circulating softly to both eyes atleat 20times just beofre each drop.

Well, I find this way much better and my eye sights actually improving by days sine I started this in Nov. Will update my actual preasure reading after my nxt mth visit.

Here's the eye massage techniques that I found.. Almost similar to the palm technique that I currently practised. smile.gif

http://anglnwu.hubpages.com/hub/Eye-Exercises-for-Glaucoma
hoera75
post Feb 25 2014, 09:20 PM

57 posts

Dear all,

My dad is having glaucoma. In the past he did his checkup in Singapore and this time he would like to do it in KL. Could you recommend the best glaucoma specialist here in KL? My friend recommended Prof Dr. Tajunisah Iqbal from University Malaysia, not sure whether she is real glaucoma specialist.

Many thanks in advance for your help!!

Rustaman69
post Feb 26 2014, 04:05 AM

56 posts

Primary open angle glaucoma is the most common type of glaucoma. If it left untreated (around 25years) or poorly controlled it may leads to permanent vision loss.

First choice for drug treatment is either beta blocker or protaglandin analogue, they both come in the form of eyedrops. They normally initiate treatment on one eye and compare the outcome to the other eye. Obviously the specialist will set the IOP target for individual patient.

Alternatively, there is more invasive approach like trabeculoplasty.

Just sharing my little knowledge on the topic.

jnls
post Oct 8 2014, 01:57 PM

112 posts

Hi, just wandering if Diabetic retinopathy & glaucoma are the same? After doing laser, can the patient take lutein which helps vision? Thanks...
Another ques is Tun hussein onn hospital & UKM still reliable for treating diabetic retinopathy?

This post has been edited by jnls: Oct 8 2014, 02:19 PM
jialat
post Oct 12 2014, 03:30 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(jnls @ Oct 8 2014, 01:57 PM)
Hi, just wandering if Diabetic retinopathy & glaucoma are the same? After doing laser, can the patient take lutein which helps vision? Thanks...
Another ques is Tun hussein onn hospital & UKM still reliable for treating diabetic retinopathy?
Diabetic retinopathy and glaucoma are very different. U can google for more info.

I would rather go to any other eye specialist center than tun hussien onn hospital. Its not cheap but still need to wait a long time. Some doctors there scold patients and dont explain much. Go PPUM or UH if you want good but much cheaper.

If u can afford then pm me for private good doctors.
Ngto
post Oct 12 2014, 09:24 AM

4,350 posts

I am just curious, how much does it cost to specifically do test at the specialist for Diabetic retinopathy & glaucoma currently? Has the price gone up since 2 yrs ago?

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 12 2014, 09:26 AM
yahiko
post Oct 13 2014, 02:15 PM

1,215 posts

hey my in laws using xalant as well .. support by government hospital but take it monthly basis
however due to they lost the medic once so kind short of the medic..

you guys know where to buy it in penang? kindly PM me.. thanks

This post has been edited by yahiko: Oct 13 2014, 02:16 PM
lectus12
post Nov 5 2014, 10:09 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(cocolala @ Dec 13 2013, 05:22 PM)
Previous checkup the pressure is ok. But sometimes increase to 17-20.

His left eye vision is only 10%. First valve failed to function after some time and second valve was implant. I remember one of the ops was done by an expert lady professor in UKM.

He is currently on timolol, trusopt and xalatan eye drops.

I'm thinking maybe he should get a second opinion from other doctor.

U said laser can last 6-24 months. After that need to do again?
hi, may i know how's your dad? as my mom is having the same condition as well. only left 10% for her left eye. plus she has cataract. all the while having check ups in sg buloh hospital. then last month the doc there found out the iop was high n did not decrease n referred her to specialist in selayang. the doc there said only 10% of the good nerve is left. so said need operation for the glaucoma n cataract but said its a 50:50 chance n the risk will be vision lost. even with operation, it will not improve vision just to maintain the 10% of the nerve left but she said there r chances that the remaining 10% will be damaged during operation too n lead to loss of vision.

so im trying to get a second or maybe third opinion from other specialists but having difficulties finding one here in klang valley. have u found an experienced specialist yet?
cocolala
post Nov 13 2014, 03:20 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(lectus12 @ Nov 5 2014, 10:09 AM)
hi, may i know how's your dad? as my mom is having the same condition as well. only left 10% for her left eye. plus she has cataract. all the while having check ups in sg buloh hospital. then last month the doc there found out the iop was high n did not decrease n referred her to specialist in selayang. the doc there said only 10% of the good nerve is left. so said need operation for the glaucoma n cataract but said its a 50:50 chance n the risk will be vision lost. even with operation, it will not improve vision just to maintain the 10% of the nerve left but she said there r chances that the remaining 10% will be damaged during operation too n lead to loss of vision.

so im trying to get a second or maybe third opinion from other specialists but having difficulties finding one here in klang valley. have u found an experienced specialist yet?
Sorry for late reply. Has your mom go for the operation?

My dad actually came for a check up at ISEC mid valley, just to get an opinion but was told that nothing could be done to improve, which sadly, is true. I can't remember what else was said but my dad was given an eye drop. Weeks later he went back for scheduled check up at USM Kelantan and was told that the eye is swollen due to infection, which gets worse until now. He can't read even the biggest letter now.

Actually I dont like the service of ISEC, or maybe it's just that particular doctor. He didnt say much, we have to keep telling him the situation and asked him questions, then he would just reply with a sentence or two. Such consultation attidute with such exp fee, and that doctor is even from our hometown and used to stay in the same neighbourhood! (I found out this after the consultation session).

Perhaps you can go get a second opinion.

muimui123
post Apr 18 2015, 11:02 AM

Hi all,

My mom just diagnosed that she has glaucoma. Would like to get your advise & experience where can I bring her to for treatment. Tun Hussein Onn, ISEC, KPJ pusat pakar mata....
Your reply & advise is much more meaning & useful.

Thanks for advance.
Mui Mui

plumberly
post Apr 24 2015, 01:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 25 2013, 05:10 PM)
SInce the last posting last Feb, my Doctor already changed my medication from Travatan to Lumigen in Mar 2012 since I complain about red eye. Thereafter my pressure was ~ 18-19 and by the nxt appointment 6 mth later ~ Sep 2012. Lumigen was like Travatan and most of the time still red eyes and result after 6mths still no good.. still 18-20.

By this time, Doc decided to change again to Xalatan...boy this is one of the most comfortable & well torelated drug for me BUT - the reading getting worse after my Nov appointment. now reading ~ 23-24. So by now, She added Trimotol XE as Morning drop & Xalatan ..I met my Doctor again last week and bad news.. Xalatan failed me - pressure still ~ 20-21 although adding trimotol.

So she now prescribed me to Travatan again since I got the best result using Travatan....see how the result during my Apr appoinment  cry.gif
You mentioned about red eye on applying the drops. I am about 2 yrs late in sharing here. Ha.

I used to get red eyes quite frequently. Later realised the wrong things I was doing which I have shared some where in LY.

Avoid hair shampoo or face cleanser from getting into the eyes. My trick now is to rinse away the hair shampoo after cleaning instead of leaving it there till I have used my body shampoo.

Also, dry the eye areas before applying face cleanser.

Rinse the eyes well before applying the eye drops. I guess the reaction between the eye drop solution and hair/face cleanser will give the eye a stinking feel and then the red eye.

This has helped in reducing my red eye frequency.

Cheerio.

P/S And my eye pressures are in 10-16 range. Got to 22 once, many years ago.
stimix
post Apr 24 2015, 09:20 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 24 2015, 01:25 PM)
You mentioned about red eye on applying the drops. I am about 2 yrs late in sharing here. Ha.

I used to get red eyes quite frequently. Later realised the wrong things I was doing which I have shared some where in LY.

Avoid hair shampoo or face cleanser from getting into the eyes. My trick now is to rinse away the hair shampoo after cleaning instead of leaving it there till I have used my body shampoo.

Also, dry the eye areas before applying face cleanser.

Rinse the eyes well before applying the eye drops. I guess the reaction between the eye drop solution and hair/face cleanser will give the eye a stinking feel and then the red eye.

This has helped in reducing my red eye frequency.

Cheerio.

P/S And my eye pressures are in 10-16 range. Got to 22 once, many years ago.
Tnx for sharing smile.gif .. Since my last posting in Dec 2013, & after eye massaging techniques + another drug change in early 2014 by my doctor, I'm now on Cosopt & Alphagen 2 times daily (Morning & Evening and Lumige before slee. My reading had stabilised to ~17 and once dropped to 13 in Jul 2014. Anyway, that result was on newer air machine rather than common eye touching old technique. If using old machine my reading was 17.. well the results were on same day and different of 1hr.. haha.. duno which machine is accurate.

Latest visit, my pressure still ~17... well the latest trial & error combi drugs did wonders..
plumberly
post Apr 25 2015, 10:30 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 24 2015, 09:20 PM)
Tnx for sharing  smile.gif .. Since my last posting in Dec 2013, & after eye massaging techniques + another drug change in early 2014 by my doctor, I'm now on Cosopt & Alphagen 2 times daily (Morning & Evening and Lumige before slee. My reading had stabilised to ~17 and once dropped to 13 in Jul 2014. Anyway, that result was on newer air machine rather than common eye touching old technique. If using old machine my reading was 17.. well the results were on same day and different of 1hr.. haha.. duno which machine is accurate.

Latest visit, my pressure still ~17... well the latest trial & error combi drugs did wonders..
Good to hear on the drop in your pressures.

Mind elaborating on your eye massage technique you have perfected over the years?

Though I have lower pressure, my previous eye specialist told me that glaucoma can still deteriorate even with low pressure (I think there is a name for this which I have forgotten). So need to be aware of this.

My retina layer is thinner than most. Thus a worry. My previous eye specialist has a special machine that can take a thickness analysis of the layer. My current GH specialist told me that my retina layer is rather pale, indicating less blood there. So, a concern.

Need to step up my eye care in addition to my eye drops! Ha.

stimix
post Apr 25 2015, 04:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 25 2015, 10:30 AM)
Good to hear on the drop in your pressures.

Mind elaborating on your eye massage technique you have perfected over the years?

Though I have lower pressure, my previous eye specialist told me that glaucoma can still deteriorate even with low pressure (I think there is a name for this which I have forgotten). So need to be aware of this.

My retina layer is thinner than most. Thus a worry. My previous eye specialist has a special machine that can take a thickness analysis of the layer. My current GH specialist told me that my retina layer is rather pale, indicating less blood there. So, a concern.

Need to step up my eye care in addition to my eye drops! Ha.
Are you suffering from diabetes? Because the thining of retina is common for those ppl wth diabetes like me. Well although my retina is very thin but it has been maintained like that since the last 2 years and no longer thining anymore.

The massage is by way of circular palming by eye 20 times before I start applying the drops.
jialat
post May 2 2015, 02:10 AM

2,364 posts

Just private message me if anyone wants a private practice glaucoma specialist referral. definitely better than ISEC doctor that refused to talk to patients, more caring and ethical.
petersimon
post Aug 28 2015, 10:58 PM

i came across a good doctor that specialise as Consultant Ophthalmologist & Glaucoma Specialist, Dr LEE Ming-Yueh. Her website can be found on http://glaucomaspecialist.my
jialat
post Aug 29 2015, 01:21 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(petersimon @ Aug 28 2015, 10:58 PM)
i came across a good doctor that specialise as Consultant Ophthalmologist & Glaucoma Specialist, Dr LEE Ming-Yueh. Her website can be found on http://glaucomaspecialist.my
Yes, I heard she is good, according to my optometrist friend in usj, subang jaya.
busyman
post Oct 19 2015, 05:53 PM

1,465 posts

Where can i check for glaucoma in penang ?

Any good spcialist here ?
jialat
post Oct 19 2015, 06:40 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Oct 19 2015, 05:53 PM)
Where can i check for glaucoma in penang ?

Any good spcialist here ?
your family has history of glaucoma?

if no, i can ask my optom friends to do the free fundus check for u to see the optic nerve head 1st.
polarisie
post Nov 17 2015, 10:19 AM

Has anyone heard of Top Vision Eye speciliast in Setia alam ? Practiced by Dr. Leslie Wong Tat Way..

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:52 PM